About the author

Phillip Parker

Phillip Parker is a former merchant services agent turned small business advocate and the author of "Fee Sweep," which teaches merchants how to dramatically lower their processing rates, eliminate junk fees, and avoid fine-print scams. He founded CardPaymentOptions.com to help merchants enact positive change in the credit card processing industry.


Google+

 

Phillip can help you find an ethical and honest processor that will offer you great rates.
Click here to request a free provider consultation.

Permanent link to this article: http://www.cardpaymentoptions.com/credit-card-processors/evo-merchant-services-review-complaints-and-rating/

58 comments

Skip to comment form

  1. Anver

    Never ever do business with Evo…ever. I guess the company should have a name called Never Canada. They charge you by debiting your account with false charges which you never signed. They put charges on your contract without you knowing. The most notorious people you ever come across. My advice Never Ever Evo. Be safe.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    1 / 1 found this review helpful.
  2. Bruce

    I too was a victim of EVO Canada. In 2012, I cancelled my services with them. Then, in December 2013, my bank account was getting hit with a $199.50 charge on a monthly basis. I got busy with year-end and didn’t catch it until mid-March. Anyway, my bank investigated and said it was EVO Canada.

    I called them up to find out what was going on. They said it was for a 411.ca subscription and I would’ve been called in October and given a two month trial before getting charged. I scratched my head and said, “Huh? I don’t remember that?”

    Luckily, I record business calls for quality assurance purposes and I listened to the conversation I had with the sales rep from EVO. Half way through I said, “EVO Canada? You mean Evil Canada!”

    The rep said that wasn’t a nice thing to say. He says try it out for two months but call back before December. I said, “Yeah. We’ll talk to you later.” and hung up.

    Next thing you know, they’re charging me. They have a thing or two to learn about what is consent and what’s not consent. And that’s not the worst of it! Apparently, according to EVO Canada, my company has given them authority to hand over my bank info for preauthorized debits to any third party.

    So anyone that wants to start a class action suit against EVO, I’m there!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    4 / 5 found this review helpful.
    1. Brad Walker

      I have a very similar sounding experience with EVO Canada. Over the course of 2013, I had $2,552 withdrawn from my account. First two months were $226 and then $210 until I finally figured it out and got it cancelled.

      I was taking over finances, and never had any invoices to show for these monthly charges. I finally figured out that the charges were supposedly related to some 411.ca charges. When I call 411.ca, they transfer me to EVO Canada, who tell me that 411.ca is responsible for the charges. I have managed to get EVO Canada to refund three months worth of direct withdrawals. I also got them to send me a fake,post-facto invoice that showed some of the charges, but had some of the amounts wrong, including the calculation of the GST amount.

      I really don’t feel as though EVO Canada has dealt honestly with me in any way. One person called me a liar when I claimed that I was part owner and was responsible for the finances. I have had people tell me that that supervisors no longer want to talk to me. I have been repeatedly promised some type of evidence that there was ever an agreement of some sort, and they have not provided it. 411.ca tells me our account was cancelled in June 2013, even though the direct withdrawals by EVO Canada continued until December.

      Bruce, in your comment, you say that you said “Yeah”. I think that was enough. I got one of the call center guys to basically admit that all you had to do was say “Yes”, in some form, and that would be enough for them to enter into an agreement with you where they could withdraw money directly from your account without ever sending an invoice or transaction confirmation or something to explain what the charges were for. And best of all, that this was perfectly legal. I beg to differ and would like to pursue this further as well.

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

      1 / 1 found this review helpful.
  3. Tom

    I agree that this is the worst of the worst credit card processor. I had a credit card machine installed on an outside vending machine 3-4 years ago. The machine NEVER worked not once, ‘NO SALES’ went through the machine. I attempted to close the account many times and were told that I was under contract until November 2013, and I needed to close it closer to that date. Now, they tell me that my contract automatically renewed in November and to close the account I will have to pay a $395.00 early termination fee or wait until November to try to close it again, meanwhile they are STEALING $36.50 each month out of my checking account. I asked for a waiver from the $395.00 fee due to having a machine that I could not use for the entire time. NO, was the response.
    If the BBB rating is F, I wish the BBB had a rating worse than F for these crooks.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    1 / 1 found this review helpful.
  4. Jessica Miljour

    MENESS Towing is our company name. we are a small registered company in QC canada. We have been ripped off by evo since we signed our contract in Sept 2013. Our representative Christine Fortin has never returned our calls since our initial contract meeting. During this meeting, she told us we were signing a 3 year contract for services, and for machine rentals. 1 wireless and one LAN machine. Our wireless machine that cost 60/month did not work for 7 months however we were still charged the whole time.

    When we called to cancel our contract we were told we would be charged for the full three years of service fees (50.month) and we would also be charged 100/month for machine rentals for 5 YEARS!!

    As naive new business owners we trusted her that the whole contract was for 3 years. Now after constant battles we understand that we have actually singed contract with about 3 different companies! First Data that takes our money for rental but will not speak with us directtly – GLOBAL Payments that takes our money for services – who also will not speak with us directly – and EVO. Who will speak with us but are the RUDEST people i have ever encountered.

    Our Rep Christine Fortin also told us that we could cancel our contract for 500$, and that if we no longer needed our machines she would transfer our contract to another new merchant. LIES, LIES, LIES and she still has an active number but will NEVER call us back.

    I guess i need to find a lawyer to get our of this contract. Also, monthly fees are usually 50, but since Dec 3 2013 i have been charged 316$, now i will need to spend a few days on the phone trying to figure our what these “MYSTERY” fees are…

    This is the absolute worst company i have ever dealth with! NEVER do business with them.

    I have filed complaints with them on BBB and they have even lied on those sites and the files have been closed as unresolved because they would not provide information.

    [contact information redacted]

    If anyone has been able to successfully get out of their contract i would like to know. i am ready to send back their machines and see them in court. the stress is just too much to deal with on almost a daily basis.

    Jessica

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    1 / 1 found this review helpful.
    1. Julio del Carpio

      Jessica:
      Be careful. They will take money from your account. They took $ 16,000 from mine. It took me 6 months to recover the money. I was forced to change bank accounts. They operate under different companies. Their excuse was that they needed a reserve fund for my account.

      Can the DA or Federal Gov’t investigate this fraudulent company?

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

      1 / 1 found this review helpful.
  5. Angela

    This company is complete crap. Our sales rep lied to us about EVERYTHING. Everyone is extremely rude and when i complained, I think it may have been a manager or someone i talked to but she basically told me that he was one of the “best” customer service reps they have. Last time i checked good customer service isn’t yelling back and arguing with your customers.

    Half the time our machine doesn’t even work, calling the technical support line is a never ending wait.
    Never ever use this company because now Im suck with a very expensive paper weight

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    1 / 1 found this review helpful.
  6. dembis

    I have proofs to attach and justify that EVO merchant services AKA Commerce Payment group AKA EVOLUTION BANKCARD have been DISHONEST and BEWARE BECAUSE their sales reps (DANIELLE CIRILLO in my case)
    are VERY misleading and are BIG LIARS. I signed up with them since June 28, 2013. But the rates have been going up constantly. I have been calling to discuss rate hikes in a more reasonable manner because I DID NOT WANT TO HAVE TO POST NEGATIVE COMMENTS ON THE INTERNET. But I receive my statement again and I have been taking less and less credit card payments. I was processing about $800 monthly and this month $445. my account was debited $108.34. They are leaving me very little choice.
    And DANIELLE CIRILLO, to get me signed up, told me a series of LIES, including:
    1- “P.P.S. Open a new merchant account with Evolution Bankcard within the next 10 days. We’ll waive all transaction fees for your first week of service.* That way, you pay nothing to start!
    *Up to $50 in fees waived.”
    2- Monthly minimum fee will be waived for me.
    3- The beginning of her email:
    “YOUR RATES ARE JUST .25%” a VERY SMALL FRACTION OF TRANSACTIONS ARE DISCOUNTED AT .25% BEFORE OTHER FEES.
    MOST TRANSACTIONS ARE DISCOUNTED AT 1.59% BEFORE ADDITIONAL FEES (higher than average), just to name a few. (proofs attached You will read it around the BOTTOM of the email she sent me. AND I still have a copy of the email From her in my inbox.)
    GUESS WHAT: AGREEMENTS NEVER FULFILLED, When I called customer service and email them the email I received from DAnielle Cirillo, they saw that I was right but STILL THEY NEVER FULFILLED THE AGREEMENT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Dear DEMBA:
    I still haven’t had the opportunity to help you get set up taking credit cards for your business. I know that as a business owner that you are busy so I am writing to remind you of what you will get with Evolution Bankcard.
    1— Your rates are only 0.25%
    All of the credit card companies say their rates are the lowest. But at Evolution Bankcard, we guarantee it.
    2—You can get started right away.
    We approve 98% of applicants, usually within 24 hours – even those with less-than-perfect credit. That means you can start taking credit card orders within a day or so.
    3—You get a FREE credit card terminal. (value $300.00)
    You get a FREE signature-capture credit card terminal (value: $300) when you open a new merchant account with Evolution Bankcard. Swiping cards with the terminal can actually help lower your transaction costs, as credit card companies reduce their rates for terminal sales.
    4—You get live customer support around the clock.
    Problem with a customer’s credit card order? Evolution Bankcard gives you instant live support any time of the day or night – even on weekends and holidays. Quick resolution of problems keeps your customers satisfied.
    5—You can try our service 100% risk-free.
    You are fully protected by our unconditional money-back guarantee of satisfaction. If you’re not 100% satisfied for any reason … or for no reason at all … just let us know within 30 days and we’ll refund ALL your monthly fees.
    Ask other credit card processors what kind of guarantee they offer. Or whether they’ll give you a refund if you’re not happy with their service.
    6—You’ll be in good hands.
    We’ve been helping small businesses make more credit card sales at lower cost for nearly a decade. Over 45,000 organizations – including the Better Business Bureau – count on us for reliable, accurate, affordable credit card processing.

    You can also hear some of our more recent testimonials here:

    DEMBA:, you may have specific needs that are different from others, so it might make sense if we had a brief chat over the phone… would you be open to that?
    And if you prefer to give me a call, that’s fine too. Our call together would simply be a question-and-answer conversation to learn more about your situation and your needs.
    You’ll never feel any sales pressure from me — it’s against our philosophy of how we treat people.

    Warmest regards,
    Danielle Cirillo
    Senior Account Executive
    Evolution Bankcard
    P.S. , I urge you to compare our rates, terms, and guarantees with other merchant account providers. You’ll quickly find there’s NO comparison … and that Evolution Bankcard is the smart choice for reducing your credit card processing costs up to 25% or more.
    P.P.S. Open a new merchant account with Evolution Bankcard within the next 10 days. We’ll waive all transaction fees for your first week of service.* That way, you pay nothing to start!
    *Up to $50 in fees waived.

    Evolution BankCard

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    1 / 1 found this review helpful.
  7. Devon

    EVO is absolutely awful. I terminated my contact and was told my “signature” didn’t match. No one ever called they just kept drafting the bank account. I called the following month AGAIN to find out why they were still drafting money. This time i get 4 more different stories. No one had any real answer they just were scamming to get mote money. I advise every one to stay far away from this scamming company.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    1 / 1 found this review helpful.
  8. Karli

    STAY AWAY!!! They will make promise that they will not keep and will be no help when you confront them. At my office, we signed an agreement with EVO. The sale representative couldn’t set up the terminal correctly and never transferred us over to their services. So, our company couldn’t get out of our agreement (which was a 3 year contract) and they were very difficult to resolve the issue. So we ended up having to pay for services each month that we were not receiving! This company will take your money and you will not receive anything in return. No refund was given and the company was very disagreeable to work with. PLEASE, LEARN FROM MY EXPERIENCE AND STAY AWAY!!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    1 / 1 found this review helpful.
  9. hallie

    EVO is absolutely awful. I canceled my contact and was told my “signature” didn’t match. No one ever called they just kept drafting the bank account. I called the following month AGAIN to find out why they were still drafting money. This time i get 2 more different stories. No one had any real answer they just were scamming to get mote money. I advise every one to stay far away from this scamming company.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    1 / 1 found this review helpful.
  10. Demian

    I called Evoultion Bankcard earlier today. I couldn’t find them listed here, but according to their own website, they are a subsidiary of Evo Merchant Services.

    I spoke with one of their sales reps, Caroline, who gave me a rundown of their costs and services. She quoted me .25% for check/debit cards and 1.69% for all other credit cards.

    After reading this site and the Fee Sweep download, these prices seemed way too low.I asked her if the 1.69 was a qualified rate and if there was a rate for non-qualified cards. She said, no it was just the one rate.

    I asked her if it was 1.69% + interchange. She said no, it was just 1.69% and something about how they work directly with the credit card companies so that they have the lowest rates.

    I said it seemed to good to be true since it seemed like their rates were below the average interchange. Her response was that she had been doing her job for 13 years, so why don’t I keep telling her how to do it and explain to her how the industry works, in a very snide tone.

    I told her that no matter how low their rates were that I wouldn’t be doing business with her company because of her attitude. I then called back and asked for a manager and got sent to a voice mail system.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    1 / 1 found this review helpful.
  11. traci collins

    This company does nothing but lie…our account was closed and they still took money out of our account…we are now seeking legal advice …customer service is the worst…DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    1 / 1 found this review helpful.
  12. Dennis

    Having huge problems with this company. They messed up my 1099s with another company and won’t even return my calls. It’s now 3weeks and I call everyday. Julie O Connor were waiting for you to correct this or even call us back.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  13. Matthew Parks

    This company has horrible customer service, absolutely the worst! They also charged me $250.00 to cancel my processing agreement with them so that I could take my business elsewhere. Steer clear of this company at all costs!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    1 / 1 found this review helpful.
  14. Dale K

    It seems Evo is becoming notorious for holding funds under the guise of risk management. I understand fraud can and does happen, but there should be better communication and more expeditious ways of handling these instances. Beware, if you make a great extraordinary sale to a customer, they will hold your funds and charge you fees for money you may never recieve. This happened to me in October. I sent through a transaction that was larger than my “normal” amount. Due to the perceived “risk” they never would authorize payment to my bank. After holding the money for over a week, I was able to have my buyer pay cash, which I deposited in my bank, and had Evo cancel the transaction. Evo held that money and the subsequent daily receipts. It took over 10 days to get paid on transactions that had nothing to do with the original “risk” transaction, Sure enough my statement in November showed the fees they charged for the transaction as if I had actually received the money . EVO never sent that money to my bank!! I have been trying since early November to get those fees reimbursed. How can you take fees and charges out of my account when no service was delivered?
    I have called numerous times and their customer service rep, I use that term loosely, promises she has escalated my concerns for a refund to a supervisor. She also has promised to call me back “later that day”. She never does and they just continue to stall. It is like a reverse collection agency. They just keep promising to ‘look into it” and “call back” but never do. They just want you to give up and quit following through. I would not recommend Evo to any merchant. The response and customer service is terrible.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    1 / 1 found this review helpful.
  15. Susan Meszaros

    I had $3,000 in refunds, I believe it was a manager who set up with EVO (AKA) MOCA in Western Canada. As my business is a restaurant we do NOT do refunds (think about it).
    Now you have me wondering if this manager was the thief (he also stole from us in other ways) or was it something MOCA did.
    I have tried, and so has my bank, to get information re these refunds – no luck, the H.O. Is in Texas.
    I really don’t understand how this can happen, like a fool I always believed we had some sort of protection via our government – obviously I’m wrong because I have been told by RCMP that I have to prove my case – even though EVA/MOCA refuse to give me information about whose card refunds were issued to.
    I could pay a lawyer to subpoena the information, however this would cost me more than was stolen.
    I did manage to stop any further payments to these thieves, however I am stuck with paying the fees to the machine rental people (separate contract).
    If you learn anything more on this please let me know. I will do the same for any of you out there.
    Sue Meszaros

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    1 / 1 found this review helpful.
  16. Amanda

    This is the most HORRIBLE credit card company I have ever dealt with. The customer service is HORRIBLE!!
    When you ask to speak to a Manager you get hung up on.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    1 / 1 found this review helpful.
  17. Steve Atwater

    i have been using EVO here in southern California for about 2 years now and I am very suprised to find some negative reviews . My Rep is local and I can always count on his good service. he prices me interchange plus and I get easy to read statements with 48 hour deposits, I have reffered my good friends to EVO several times.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    1. Phillip Parker

      Please reply to this comment with your business name and location to verify your testimonial.

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

      1. Kasmira

        Why aren’t negative reviewers required to leave their business name and location? They can be just as bogus as good reviews.

        Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

        1. Phillip Parker

          For several reasons:

          1. We already reject nearly 50% of negative reviews because they violate our strict comment rules.
          2. We reject any review that appears to have a bogus email address, seems fake or lacks detail.
          3. We have found that it is far more common for providers to attempt leaving bogus testimonials on their own reviews than leave fake negative reviews on the hundreds of other competitors it has. In fact, we recently caught one provider hiring people of fiverr.com to write fake testimonials on various review sites.
          4. If a merchant is leaving a positive review, there is no reason s/he would not want the free promotion by publishing his/her business information. Other than its not really a merchant.
          5. If a provider is attempting to leave bogus testimonials on our site we want to call it out publicly since it is unethical and merchants should know what type of provider they are dealing with
          6. We have seen providers threaten merchants who leave a negative review and personally identifiable information.
          7. Providers can reply publicly to negative reviews in an attempt to resolve the matter. If the merchant fails to respond, we may delete the review.
          Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    2. Julio del Carpio

      I experienced the same problem as Brenda Fraser. EVO took $ 14,000 from my account and left me with lots of hots checks to cover. I was not aware of their intention to do so. They kept blaming their associate company for taking the money as a security measure. It took 3 months for my bank to recover the money from EVO. Stay away from them to avoid lots of headaches. I am filing complaints with the DA’s Office and credit agencies

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  18. Brenda Fraser

    This company has just withdrawn a large cash amount from my business account within 48 hours of telling me that would not happen I have been told by at least two other processors that their method was highly unusual. They cannot or will not fully explain why and the do not return phone calls they also began withholding my deposits without telling me. In twenty years of business I have never experienced this kind of unfair practices . I also have had to close my checking account , file for fraud against them as we’ll

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    1 / 1 found this review helpful.
  19. Julia

    I’d advise you all keeping away from EVO Canada. They simply do not deserve any cent you are going to pay for their fees, first of all because of a terrible customer service and 2nd of because of technical issues with their terminal. When you refund a customer and the customer is not getting his funds for more than one month, what the client does? He goes and file for a CHBK. The you call and you prove that the refund has been processed, however because of technical issues at EVO the funds never reach the recipient. Result – you end up with a high CHBK ratio, with a screwed business and at the end they are the ones cancelling the agreement because of a high CHBK ratio. Sounds funny, but this was my experience with them. I’d simply not wish anybody going through what I’ve gone for the time being with them. And my simple recommendation would be – if you want to be safe deal with a merchant account provider directly and NOT with a 3rd party, like EVO.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  20. David Divine

    EVO made it very difficult to get out of the three year contract. They did not make it clear how to end their services. The early termination fee was around $600 and you have to cancel in their specified time frame or they restart your contract. After over two years with them, they charged me around $600 to terminate my contract.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  21. OFCC

    Do not use EVO, The company is very scandal. I call, email and mailed this company a requests to cancel account. Whereas, the machine doesn’t give clients receipts if they use certain cards and then there is no proof of the transaction. When you call them they say that the money is probably floating around out there somewhere. The representatives aren’t very knowledgable to assists with issues. Also, the representative Deliah is very ignorant and aruge in that they have rights to remove charges from you account after you have cancelled the account; how can you charge someone and they cancel the account before you deduct the charges. DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THIS COMPANY AND A COMPLAINT IS BEING FILED WITH THE BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU AS WELL.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  22. Nancy Goolsby

    Honestly, I would like to know how to get out of this ‘contract”, that wasn’t supposed to be a contract…. Or, as the sales rep put it, “easy to get out of”. The same rep that will not return my calls~
    I do not want bad credit, but didn’t know if anyone knows how to work around this and also the lease on the equipment, that is ridiculous!
    I would appreciate any help what-so-ever!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    1. Mayra

      Nancy unfortunately all leases are non-cancellable and you cannot cancel because they WILL ruin your credit. If you do not want to ruin your credit keep paying and when you have 90 days or 120 days prior to cancellation send them a notice “certified return -receipt” stating your intentions of returning the equipment when your lease is up. If you dont some of most leasing companies with automatically renew the lease for the original term.

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

      1. Nancy

        thanks Mayra for letting me know~ I should have looked at all the reviews online, but didn’t actually think of it~ The company I was with was cheaper, by the time I went with EVO, this salesperson just wanted a sale, and really cost me a lot more~ As soon as my contract is up~ I will send a letter prior (certified) like you said~ thanks for the info~

        Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  23. Stuart

    Phill Mittleman and merchant services are very unethical and very unproffessional. They stole money out of my bank account without warning. I had chargebacks from them without warning or explanation. I filed a complaint with the BBB. Stay away from these thieves !!!!!! I had to close my bank account and open another one to prevent them from continuing to steal from me . Phill stopped returning my phone calls and would constantly lie to me, in the 10 years I did business with them. He would always say ” we are handling it , not to worry someone will call you”, but no one ever did !!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  24. Bill B.

    EVO is the absolute worst credit card processing company, I have ever dealt with. I have a portfolio of nearly 800k monthly credit card processing and it is continuing to grow and should be well over a 1MM by July 2012

    EVO has the worst customer service and the NY Long island I don’t care attitude to go with it. Their fees are ridiculous and their chargeback department does not work hard for the merchant. EVO’s customer followup is non-existent.

    EVO does not have a website functional to manage your account statement online.

    EVO’s main bank is HSBC out of Buffalo.

    I would never ever recommend another business or merchant to use EVO for credit card processing.

    I felt it was my responsibility as a business owner and portfolio manager to share my experiences with EVO.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  25. Ex-EVO

    I’m ashamed and embarrassed to convey, that I once worked for those CROOKS AND LIARS.
    I referenced my findings about this company on RIPOFFREPORT.COM, over a year ago.
    Rather than for me to repeat myself, please go to RIPOFFREPORT.COM and read.
    If EVO wants to challenge me on what I have claimed…GO FOR IT! I ‘CAN’ prove E-V-E-R-Y-T-H-I-N-G I’ve made comment on, against EVO/Merchant Services, Inc.

    Save others from this menace. Tell your friends, co-workers, neighbors, banker, waitress, pastor, or anyone about this company. I rate them as close to real evil as one can be.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    1. Sheila Paris

      WE had similar issues like everyone else, being misled at the time the contract was set up. The biggest issue was the unsubstatiated fees charged for “supposed” return fees. They stole $400 of our money without any documentation of those fees.

      We shut down our website for 45 days, closed our bank account and found another payment processor. EVO is hounding us for early termination and a charge back. We dont dispute the chargeback, however, until the documentation for the return fees is produced, we will pay them NOTHING!!!!

      We will contact you if we pursue litigation with EVO.

      Thanks
      Sheila Paris

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  26. Marrion Baker

    I sign up with evo in 2010. I had no problem because I kept my processing low under $3000. I had a major job. I process a large amount and Evo refused to tranfer the funds to my account. They have no charge back and spoke to the credit card holder who happen to be the federal goverment. They told them the charge was correct. We send them all the correct paper work, invoice, copy of the card holder signiture ect. Still Evo refused to deposit the funds in my account. Now the job as being delivery and they are still holding on to the fund say they are trying to prevent a chargeback. The customer as call them and told them they are completely satisfied with our product and service. Futhermore the customer as filed no charge back. This company is a fraud. I would like to warn other merchant to please stay away from Evo they lie in their contract. It is a scam, and a bad nightmare. Anyone with information that could help please let me know. I would hate for these scam artist to get away with stealing from small business.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    1. R A Zafari

      I have read your reviews for the Elavon and we are the victim of the same category. The have put hold on a large amount of the sum giving as false reasons about chargebacks. We have joined them since last 2 months and we do not have any chargebacks as well. I want to seek your advice that did you managed to get back your funds . And if so can you advice as accordingly.

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  27. Brianna

    I too was falsely signed up and lied to. Luckily, after 2 months seeing that they were taking more than my previous company, I unplugged the machine. So, I have been paying the minimum every month for almost 2 years. I am trying to get out of the contact but have been told I have to pay $500. I was told there was no cancellation fees and I do not have a copy of the terms of agreement.

    In fact, the contract I have is 10 pages. It says on the top, 10 pages, so I know the terms were deliberately not sent. From what I’ve read here and at Rip Off Report, this is common.

    I tried to report these guys to the BBB, but since their Canadian head office is in Quebec, I am not able to. I looked into how to file against a company in Quebec but it is not easily done. There are many hoops to jump through.

    Now that I see here that a person can file against them through the US BBB, I just may do that.

    I have sold my company and my account will soon be closed, so they will no longer be able to debit my account. I don’t want this to go to collections, but I will continue fighting as long as I am able.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  28. Sheila Paris

    EVO Merchant Services charges fees for returned transactions whithout any documentation provided to the client. When we signed up, we were not told that there would be monthly charges posted our account for their services. We understood the charges would be deducted from the payments before the funds were transferred to our business account. Instead they charge your account for their fees at the end of the month. If no funds are in your account (which we to pay their fees, they assess a return fee. They keep processing their fee for days, amassing $30 per transaction until they run the bill up the client supposedly owes them. We were charged return fees which was deducted from payments before they would release our funds (why not deduct the fee from the payment in the first place). When we requested a copy of the return fee charges, we were told that they would not send any information in the mail or via internet. We have summized that the reason they refuse to do so is because they could be charged with WIRE OR MAIL FRAUD if they did. We are getting out of this contract and would NEVER recommend this service to any company! We are considering a class action lawsuit against them.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  29. Nancy Goolsby

    I am in a current contract with EVO (processing Co.) and Logicalease (for the credit card terminal lease). I have been in this lease since Nov. 2010. I was told this was not a contract, and I asked that question up front, and was told it was easy to get out of, as the credit terminal was a lease contract.
    I called the person that sold the products to me, and she never returned my calls. She said she was local, and would take care of everything. She said she would fax my present processing company to cancell my business with them (they were NPC). I had an older terminal, and NPC was charging me $10 extra per month for security purposes, since my terminal didn’t have a pin pad.
    The EVO representative said I would save so much more money that what NPC was charging~ I found out that NPC ever got the fax, and the evo rep didn’t get a confirmation number to prove it. I was charged over several months, and not knowing these fee’s were going through, because it was an account I didn’t have any debits going through after I signed up with EVO, so I didn’t look at the account~ then I started getting overdraft fee’s! IT cost me hundreds of dollars, then I called NPC and they said they never took cancellations by fax, that I had to write a personal letter!
    To say the least, i feel like this was a scam, because she just wanted to get me signed up, and I decided to do the lease of the credit card terminal, because I didn’t have the upfront fee to buy the machine outright at that time~ So in stead of paying $800 upfront, I am paying $29.99 per month (of which $35.45 is being withdrawn every month). So I have already paid $420.00. I called to cancell and they will charge me another $1,156.00 to get out of the logicalease contract and to buy the machine! The contract was for 4 years, and i feel like a fool for letting this older lady (60′s), so I thought i could trust someone a little older~
    IT will also cost me $250 to get out of the EVO lease, that this sales rep told me it was not a contract, but she will not return my calls…. Merchant services said they could possibly get me out of the lease if I go with them, among other companies telling me the same, but I’m afraid they will require a contract to buy me out~ What should i do??? Please help!
    Sincerely,
    Nancy Goolsby

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  30. Jeff Bowen

    EVO is a complete scam. They will NEVER return your calls and will give you a run-around when you cancel by saying they never received your cancelation fax and they continue to debit your account for fees and “services”.

    I used their service for 8 months and when I canceled…they continued to draft my account for funds for 4 months before finally stopping after numerous phone calls and an eternity on hold.

    They kept saying someone would call me back and no one ever did. They still owe me for 2 months of drafts and they say, “the accounting department has denied my claim”. But I have never been able to speak with a manager who can make a decision on the matter….it’s always someone who “has to call me back”.

    BIG TIME SCAM

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  31. Belkys Santos

    During the past few months I have received collection letters from a Collection Agency (Commercial Services Group, Inc.), stating that I owed Evo Merchant Services an early termination fee in the amount of $335.05, for Merchant Account Number [omitted], with Claim File Number C0945731.

    Please be advised that our letter dated July 29, 2011 and addressed to Commercial Services Group, Inc., we explained them that when we were initially approached by Mr. Carlos Galgano, whom is the Sales Rep, assigned to our account I was lied and he misrepresent himself as he told me that if I would start making Credit Cards Transactions with PREWAY (as he never identify himself as working as an independent sales rep for Evo Merchants, as a matter of fact I was under the impression until this day that my Credit Cards payments were been handled by Preway, as this person did not sign and agreement, as he promissed he would return with a certified copy of signed agreement adducing as I expressly told him I needed something to back up his word of No Monthly Fees, No Early Termination Fees, that the only fees would been access would be regular fees at time of customer transactions. When I contacted Preway reps they were very upset that this rep use their name for our business transactions, I told them that more than 4 months ago and because of all the inconveniences arising for all the fees that were been collected into my bank account and for which I had to close my bank accounts with Chase, as he offered me that no fees were going to be withdrawn from my bank, he was even promissing to reimbursement in cash, which I started to feel uncomfortable as I smell something fishing from the way he was handling this situation, I then was told by him that due to all this discrepancies he was going to remove the equipment and that he was going to take care of everything. My surprise was enormous as what I end up receiving was all this collection letter from Commercial Services requesting an early termination fee of $335.05.

    Mr. Galgano, has not even been able to provide a copy of the “Supposed Signed” Agreement, as I am sure I did not received one at time of our first meeting, and when I have tried to talk to him over the phone he is always telling me he would get it as I have been requested by the office of the Attorney General of New Jersey to provide a copy of this contract in order to file a formal complaint against your company.

    I am kindly requesting to have Commercial Services Group Inc., stop their collection procedure letters and to have someone from Evo Merchant Services (for whom I dont even have a telephone number to reach, as the information sheet we were given at our initial meeting with Mr. Galgano is from Preway, so I have not choice than to search the Web where I found this email address.

    If someone can contact me and give me a clue as to wether if we can settle this situation before we file a formal complaint at the New Jersey Attorney General Office, and the Better Business Bureau of I would highly appreciate it.

    Thank you for your consideration in this matter.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  32. Marbella Banquet Hall

    Beware!!!! This is a rip off company. We contracted with them 3 months ago for credit card processing. The company never made a deposit to our account for credit cards transactions that were approved by them. Instead they debited our account $ 6000 for “credit risk management” without notifying us. They owe us over $ 8000 that they refuse to return. We were writing hot checks without knowing that they never deposited a penny of the credit card transactions but in addition they debited $ 6000 that they never deposited.
    Beware business owners. This is the worse rip off artists you will encounter

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    1. Ebben Aley

      Could you please send me your contact Info, and who you have been dealing with.

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

      1. Julio del Carpio

        I wrote letters to the Presidents of EVO and Commerce Payment Group
        Account 272800038080. I contacted James at EVO risk management 800-705-2559. He claims that Commerce took the money from our account and Commerce claims that those were orders from Evo Risk Mgmt. I sent them a letter from customer indicating that he does not have any claims from our company and he received his money from his credit card company. Why did EVO took $ 6000 from our account when you never deposited a penny to my account since we retained your services. There is an additional $ 1800 in transactions that were approved by you but you never deposited that money. I was forced to close my bank account because your company keeps debiting my account.

        Julio del Carpio, M. Arch
        713-926-7265

        Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    2. Mario

      Same here EVO is holding 38 000.00 of my money giving excuses on risk management its been since July. They said they would release half on the 19 Sept and as I expected samething. Do not do businees with this coming it looks like they are cash strapped.

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  33. Natalya S

    Hi. I don’t see how EVO’s grade can drastically change when their sales associates contiue in their ways of shady sales practices, deceptive advertisement, and poor customer service. I dealt with one in particular, Jeff Gates. He puposefully decieved on term limits and fees associated with EVO account. After he was confronted with the issue, he began actively avoiding his client.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    1. Ebben Aley

      It didnt drastically change. It was never a F to begin with.

      Who Is Jeff Gates? what office is he from.

      Also are you the customer or are you posting on someones behalf.

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    2. Ebben Aley

      Natalya Could you please respond to my post about your comment?

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  34. Ebben M Aley

    Please explain were you are getting your info?

    Evo Merchant services better business rating is A+

    http://www.bbb.org/columbia/business-reviews/credit-cards-and-plans-equipment-and-supplies/evo-merchant-services-in-columbia-sc-3401470

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    1. Phillip Parker

      Hi Ebben,

      Thank you for bringing the updated rating to my attention. I have amended the review to reflect the accurate BBB.org report.

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    2. David Williams

      I had used EVO merchant processing up until about a year ago. I was upset with the fees and that it would take between 8 – 10 business days to post a credit to my account. Since I have found less expensive and more timely service to handle my credit accounts.
      About 8 months ago I called to cancel my account and even though I had been a customer for 4 years, my contract had not yet expired. It was easier to just pay the monthly fees on the account until my contract terminated in January 2011.
      I stopped receiving statements when there was not any activity on the account and I never agreed to receive statements electronically. Quite frankly, I forgot about EVO.
      That is until January, when a charge for $120.00 appeared on my bank statement. I contacted EVO regarding the charge and was told that it would be handled once they receive a fax to that effect. I prepared the fax according to what I was told and sent the fax later that day.
      I didn’t expect a expeditious resolution to the situation and regularly checked for my refund. Instead I found that I was charged my $21.00 monthly maintenance fee in February. I called again and discovered they did receive my fax but because the fax was not signed it was ignored. I was not contacted regarding the missing signature.
      I was finally directed to Ms. Sullivan. After relaying the events she told me that none of fees I had paid were refundable.
      I feel that if EVO had continued to provide me with statements even though there was not any activity on the account, I would have realized that I needed to formally cancel the service. To change my statements to online without notice and authorization is a clear act of fraud. For EVO to reject my termination fax and not notify me and then to charge me again I believe clearly reveals the type of company is. To give this company a BBB rating of an F is very generous.

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

      1. Ebben Aley

        David please send me a email with your contact info so I can help you.

        Thanks

        Ebben M Aley
        ealey@goevo.com

        Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    3. Keith S

      This information is from the NYC Better Business Bureau’s website.
      EVO
      It states as of 2-8-2011 that EVO Merchant Services in not accredited with the BBB and that it has 7 complaints. 4 were closed. The complaints included, billing/collection issues, contract disputes, refund/exchange issues and selling practices.

      This is a quote from the BBB site:
      “..BBB Rating
      Back to Top

      “Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of F on a scale from A+ to F. ”

      Here’s the link: http://www.bbb.org/new-york-city/business-reviews/credit-card-processing-service/evo-merchant-services-in-new-york-ny-101814/

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

        1. Julio del Carpio

          Mr. Parker:
          What credibility are you talking about?
          They took $ 8000 from my account. That money was not theirs because they never deposited a penny on 5 transactions I had with them. Instead they illegally took an additional $ 6000 without our permission.

          Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

          1. Ebben Aley

            Julio could you send me your contact info, and who you talked with in the risk department.

            Thanks

            Ebben

            Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

      1. Ebben Aley

        The address listed is wrong for the New York Office which is why complaints or issues go un answered.

        Evo has over 300,000 Merchants

        I have called the BBB of New York and had to leave a message.

        Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  35. Ron Tedwater

    Great work keep it coming

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

 
Follow Us
 :  :  :  : 
Sitemap | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | User Review & Comment Policy | FTC Disclosure
x 
Get Rate Quotes