EVO Merchant Services Review


Overall Rating Breakdown
Sales & Marketing Tactics
Costs & Contract Terms
Complaints & Service
BBB Rating

EVO Merchant Services

"C" Credit Card Processor Rating

Top Rated Processors | Get Rate Quotes | User Reviews


Jump to: Sales & Marketing | Costs & Contract | Complaints & Service | BBB Complaints

EVO Merchant Services Overview

EVO Merchant Services Logo

EVO Merchant Services Logo

EVO Merchant Services (www.evopayments.com), also known as EVO Payments International, is a U.S.-based merchant services provider that serves merchants domestically, in Canada, and in Europe. Reports show that the company was started as a small ISO in 1988 and has grown to be one of the larger non-bank merchant account providers in the United States today. EVO Merchant Services primarily offers electronic payment processing services and products. These payment processing services include credit card processing, debit card processing, EBT (Electronic Benefits Transfer) card processing, gift and loyalty cards, wireless payment acceptance, internet/electronic commerce, chargeback fax notification, and terminal leasing among its other various financial services.

The company has various offices located throughout the nation but is headquartered in Melville, New York. EVO Merchant Services is a registered ISO/MSP of Deutsche Bank AG, New York, NY.

EVO Merchant Services Sales & Marketing Tactics | C

Key Points – Sales & Marketing 
Uses independent resellers? Yes
Promotes deceptive rate quotes? No
Discloses all important terms? No

EVO’s primary marketing and sales strategy appears to follow a common method used by most large merchant services providers, which is the recruiting and hiring of independent sales agents. The company also allows other sales organizations, such as Evolution Bankcard, to operate as sub-ISOs under their own business names. Both of these strategies often result in complaints because the sales tactics of the resellers are difficult to control, and the company’s policies often allow for predatory pricing/terms whether they encouraged it or not. It appears that EVO Merchant Services is suffering from the typical reports one would expect with this marketing strategy, which is the primary reason for the lower rating in this section and will be covered in more detail below. The company does not appear to use any deceptive advertising or rate-quoting tactics in its marketing materials.

EVO Marketing Example

EVO Merchant Services Costs & Contract Terms | C

Key Points – Costs & Contract Terms
Swiped rate: Variable
Keyed-in rate: Variable
Termination fee: $250-$500 or none
PCI compliance fee: $120 per year
Equipment lease: 48 mos./non-cancellable

EVO’s merchant account fees and contract terms appear to vary based on several factors including a merchant’s business type, processing volume and the agent/sub-ISO setting up the account. Service length agreements and early termination fees may also vary from one account to the next as merchants have reported cancellation fees ranging from $250 to $500. Additionally, several merchants have reported expensive, non-cancellable lease terms for processing equipment that is sold by EVO agents but managed by third-party leasing companies. EVO also appears to charge an annual PCI Compliance fee of approximately $120.

[Related: Get quotes from a provider with “A” rated contract terms]

EVO Merchant Services Complaints & Service | C-

Key Points – Complaints & Service
Total complaints: 150+
Live customer support? Yes
Most common complaint: Hidden fees

EVO Merchant Services has a moderate amount of public complaints listed for a company of its size and time in business. The types of complaints fit mostly into four categories: EVO holding deposits or withdrawing large cash reserves suddenly from a merchant’s checking account, complaints of deceptive sales tactics (especially around equipment leases and mostly attributable to resellers), former employee and agent complaints of deceptive business practices, and poor customer service experiences when attempting to resolve disputes. A complaint detailing issues with EVO’s hold policies and customer service can be seen here. Strangely, there is a recent rash of complaints filed against EVO Canada, which may indicate that the company is focusing its expansion efforts on that region, or it may just be that EVO’s policies are less favorable to Canadian merchants.

EVO Merchant Services BBB Report | C (CPO Adjusted)

Key Points – BBB Report
Product/service: 36
Billing/collection: 17
Advertising/sales: 9
Guarantee/warranty: 1
Delivery: 0

The Better Business Bureau (BBB) has several separate reports listed for EVO Merchant Services, but the correct one appears to be for an office listed in Melville, New York. This report lists the primary business name as “Merchant Services Incorporated” and gives “EVO Merchant Services” as an alternate business name. The report states that the company has been accredited since November 26th of 2010 and awards EVO an “A+” rating despite 63 complaints filed within the last 36 months. Of the total complaints, 36 have been listed as problems with products and services, 17 with billing and collection, 9 with advertising and sales, and the last one with a guarantee/warranty issue. The BBB has determined that 10 of the complaints were not resolved to the merchants’ satisfaction, although it believes the company made a good faith effort.

We have adjusted EVO’s BBB rating for the purposes of this review. You can learn more about why we adjust BBB ratings in our Rating Criteria.

Bottom Line

EVO Merchant Services can improve its rating in future updates of this review by improving its policies in the common areas of merchant grievances and eliminating future complaints. Merchants are strongly encouraged to fully read and understand the terms of their EVO merchant account agreement before signing as the terms may vary widely based on the agent and/or sub-ISO setting up the account. Additionally, merchants would be wise to avoid equipment leases as this appears to be a common area of dissatisfaction.

This review was originally published on 4/24/12 and was last updated on 7/30/14.

Leave your review of EVO Merchant Services in the comment section below:


EVO Merchant Services Review

Rated 2.375 Out of 5 Stars
Reviewed by Phillip Parker
Reviewed on 2014-07-30 13:06:02

EVO Merchant Services (evopayments.com) has a moderate amount of negative reviews listed for a company of its size and time in business. The types of complaints fit mostly into four categories and this reviewer located approximately 170 complaints filed against the company… Learn more in this EVO Merchant Services review.

Related Articles:

Top Rated General Use Processors (Retail, Service, E-Commerce, etc)
View Website See Review View Website See Review
Top Rated Mobile Processing Apps (iPhone, Android, etc.)
View Website See Review View Website

See All Best Rated Processors


Getting paid to re-write this page? Click here to earn a reward.

Copyright © CardPaymentOptions.com (Digital Fingerprint: 0d38c6720f0d78a701b74d58653af608)

About the author

Phillip Parker

Phillip Parker is a former merchant services agent turned small business advocate and the author of "Fee Sweep," which teaches merchants how to dramatically lower their processing rates, eliminate junk fees, and avoid fine-print scams. He founded CardPaymentOptions.com to help merchants enact positive change in the credit card processing industry.



 
Phillip can help you find an ethical and honest processor that will offer you great rates. Click here to request a free provider consultation.

Permanent link to this article: http://www.cardpaymentoptions.com/credit-card-processors/evo-merchant-services-review-complaints-and-rating/

59 comments

Skip to comment form

  1. Claudia

    I agree with all the comments above, especially customer service, that are truly rude. We have had Unexpected money come out of our account several times, last being $717.00, for “not returning our machine in ten days, which I was never informed it had to be 10 days, but did ask when I cancelled the address to return it. We had all kinds of “fees” taken out without letting us know, usually around $100.00 Worst company I ever dealt with. Would NOT recommend them to anyone.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  2. Anver

    Never ever do business with Evo…ever. I guess the company should have a name called Never Canada. They charge you by debiting your account with false charges which you never signed. They put charges on your contract without you knowing. The most notorious people you ever come across. My advice Never Ever Evo. Be safe.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    2 / 2 found this review helpful.
  3. Bruce

    I too was a victim of EVO Canada. In 2012, I cancelled my services with them. Then, in December 2013, my bank account was getting hit with a $199.50 charge on a monthly basis. I got busy with year-end and didn’t catch it until mid-March. Anyway, my bank investigated and said it was EVO Canada.

    I called them up to find out what was going on. They said it was for a 411.ca subscription and I would’ve been called in October and given a two month trial before getting charged. I scratched my head and said, “Huh? I don’t remember that?”

    Luckily, I record business calls for quality assurance purposes and I listened to the conversation I had with the sales rep from EVO. Half way through I said, “EVO Canada? You mean Evil Canada!”

    The rep said that wasn’t a nice thing to say. He says try it out for two months but call back before December. I said, “Yeah. We’ll talk to you later.” and hung up.

    Next thing you know, they’re charging me. They have a thing or two to learn about what is consent and what’s not consent. And that’s not the worst of it! Apparently, according to EVO Canada, my company has given them authority to hand over my bank info for preauthorized debits to any third party.

    So anyone that wants to start a class action suit against EVO, I’m there!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    6 / 7 found this review helpful.
    1. Brad Walker

      I have a very similar sounding experience with EVO Canada. Over the course of 2013, I had $2,552 withdrawn from my account. First two months were $226 and then $210 until I finally figured it out and got it cancelled.

      I was taking over finances, and never had any invoices to show for these monthly charges. I finally figured out that the charges were supposedly related to some 411.ca charges. When I call 411.ca, they transfer me to EVO Canada, who tell me that 411.ca is responsible for the charges. I have managed to get EVO Canada to refund three months worth of direct withdrawals. I also got them to send me a fake,post-facto invoice that showed some of the charges, but had some of the amounts wrong, including the calculation of the GST amount.

      I really don’t feel as though EVO Canada has dealt honestly with me in any way. One person called me a liar when I claimed that I was part owner and was responsible for the finances. I have had people tell me that that supervisors no longer want to talk to me. I have been repeatedly promised some type of evidence that there was ever an agreement of some sort, and they have not provided it. 411.ca tells me our account was cancelled in June 2013, even though the direct withdrawals by EVO Canada continued until December.

      Bruce, in your comment, you say that you said “Yeah”. I think that was enough. I got one of the call center guys to basically admit that all you had to do was say “Yes”, in some form, and that would be enough for them to enter into an agreement with you where they could withdraw money directly from your account without ever sending an invoice or transaction confirmation or something to explain what the charges were for. And best of all, that this was perfectly legal. I beg to differ and would like to pursue this further as well.

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

      3 / 3 found this review helpful.
  4. Tom

    I agree that this is the worst of the worst credit card processor. I had a credit card machine installed on an outside vending machine 3-4 years ago. The machine NEVER worked not once, ‘NO SALES’ went through the machine. I attempted to close the account many times and were told that I was under contract until November 2013, and I needed to close it closer to that date. Now, they tell me that my contract automatically renewed in November and to close the account I will have to pay a $395.00 early termination fee or wait until November to try to close it again, meanwhile they are STEALING $36.50 each month out of my checking account. I asked for a waiver from the $395.00 fee due to having a machine that I could not use for the entire time. NO, was the response.
    If the BBB rating is F, I wish the BBB had a rating worse than F for these crooks.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    2 / 2 found this review helpful.
  5. Jessica Miljour

    MENESS Towing is our company name. we are a small registered company in QC canada. We have been ripped off by evo since we signed our contract in Sept 2013. Our representative Christine Fortin has never returned our calls since our initial contract meeting. During this meeting, she told us we were signing a 3 year contract for services, and for machine rentals. 1 wireless and one LAN machine. Our wireless machine that cost 60/month did not work for 7 months however we were still charged the whole time.

    When we called to cancel our contract we were told we would be charged for the full three years of service fees (50.month) and we would also be charged 100/month for machine rentals for 5 YEARS!!

    As naive new business owners we trusted her that the whole contract was for 3 years. Now after constant battles we understand that we have actually singed contract with about 3 different companies! First Data that takes our money for rental but will not speak with us directtly – GLOBAL Payments that takes our money for services – who also will not speak with us directly – and EVO. Who will speak with us but are the RUDEST people i have ever encountered.

    Our Rep Christine Fortin also told us that we could cancel our contract for 500$, and that if we no longer needed our machines she would transfer our contract to another new merchant. LIES, LIES, LIES and she still has an active number but will NEVER call us back.

    I guess i need to find a lawyer to get our of this contract. Also, monthly fees are usually 50, but since Dec 3 2013 i have been charged 316$, now i will need to spend a few days on the phone trying to figure our what these “MYSTERY” fees are…

    This is the absolute worst company i have ever dealth with! NEVER do business with them.

    I have filed complaints with them on BBB and they have even lied on those sites and the files have been closed as unresolved because they would not provide information.

    [contact information redacted]

    If anyone has been able to successfully get out of their contract i would like to know. i am ready to send back their machines and see them in court. the stress is just too much to deal with on almost a daily basis.

    Jessica

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    2 / 2 found this review helpful.
    1. Julio del Carpio

      Jessica:
      Be careful. They will take money from your account. They took $ 16,000 from mine. It took me 6 months to recover the money. I was forced to change bank accounts. They operate under different companies. Their excuse was that they needed a reserve fund for my account.

      Can the DA or Federal Gov’t investigate this fraudulent company?

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

      1 / 1 found this review helpful.
  6. Angela

    This company is complete crap. Our sales rep lied to us about EVERYTHING. Everyone is extremely rude and when i complained, I think it may have been a manager or someone i talked to but she basically told me that he was one of the “best” customer service reps they have. Last time i checked good customer service isn’t yelling back and arguing with your customers.

    Half the time our machine doesn’t even work, calling the technical support line is a never ending wait.
    Never ever use this company because now Im suck with a very expensive paper weight

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    1 / 1 found this review helpful.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *