About the author

Phillip Parker

Phillip Parker is a former merchant services agent turned small business advocate and the author of "Fee Sweep," which teaches merchants how to dramatically lower their processing rates, eliminate junk fees, and avoid fine-print scams. He founded CardPaymentOptions.com to help merchants enact positive change in the credit card processing industry.


Google+

 

Phillip can help you find an ethical and honest processor that will offer you great rates.
Click here to request a free provider consultation.

Permanent link to this article: http://www.cardpaymentoptions.com/credit-card-processors/north-american-bancard-complaints-review-and-rating/

99 comments

Skip to comment form

  1. Stacey

    Patriot Payment Group PPG sent out a free trial offer on a credit card processing machine. I called Jonathan Whitman an employee of PPG and asked about hidden monthly fees that he did not disclose. I tried via phone, email and facebook to get a cancellation letter and address to mail the machine back since I did not want the service, this started in Oct of 2013 it took until March of 2014 for the company to get me an address and cancellation letter and they said all was good and that I was done with them. They never said I owed anything since I never used their service. July 25, 2014 I received a collection letter from North american Bancard an affiliate with PPG stating that I am being sent to collection for unpaid fees dating all the way back to last year and this is the first I have heard of this. They have made no effort to contact me regarding any billing up until this one email I received and someone from the department is stating that I owe up to $1,600 to this company and I have never even used their services. I spoke with 6 different people from PPG and they refuse to lift the 3rd party charges unless I sign up for their services then they will supposedly buy me out of collection. I cannot find them being listed anywhere with the BBB and the reviews online are not good. I have all of my email communication saved that I sent them regarding trying to get a hold of them last year and that still isn’t enough to lift these bogus charges. The PPG people even told me today they have taken over the billing for North American Bancard so I am not sure that either company is legitimate and now they are trying to ruin my credit over something I should not even owe.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  2. dillonsparks

    “Gypsies, tramps and thieves”, at least their many resellers are. worst bunch of harassment i’ve ever received. Closed my account because of them. they still want me to pay ‘termination fees’. crappy processing device also. i read all the problems on line. before i sent back the unit, i read where they routinely say that the item was received in ‘damaged’ condition. i threw mine away. why send it back only to be told a lie that it was ‘damaged’? Creeps should be punished by law. call me if you want more info.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  3. Bob

    Worst financial company I have ever dealt with in 30 plus years of business. Customer service has no idea of what they are doing regarding and don’t care. Was told be a supervisor that the batch couldn’t be deleted only to be told by another that it could have been. This has effected over 2000 of your patients and the company doesn’t care. Blamed it all on Global Pay who in turn said they had no call from NAB regarding the situation.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    4 / 4 found this review helpful.
  4. Abram

    I used this service and it was by far the worst bank I ever used. Other than having a 1500$ cancellation policy after you are told cancel at anytime, It has now been 48 hours and my account is still active. When I call them I get placed in the same voicemail box for Priscilla with no response. This company does not care about it’s reputation nor its clients. Do yourself a favor and look elsewhere!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    3 / 3 found this review helpful.
    1. Al G

      If you have closed your account with them, have your bank put an ACH/debit hold on them as well. It will cost you 25 to 35 dollars, but its worth it. They often try to keep taking money out of your account claiming they “never received” your request for cancellation.

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

      2 / 2 found this review helpful.
  5. Henry Dickens

    We closed our account due to constant increases. Additional charges were then added on. Then after not using acct. for more than 30 days. Nearly a month and a half later all kinds of charges were put on our account again.
    Paperwork was signed and equipment returned when we closed account. Oct 26. billing Nov 29.
    After contacting them they claimed we were responsible to pay all these charges because it took them until Dec 4 to close account. So we were charged fees for the month of Nov and were not even using service.
    So if you want to get ripped off give them your bank account number.
    Will never use them again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    2 / 2 found this review helpful.
    1. Al G

      You can simply have your bank put an ACH/debit hold on them once you close your account with them. They tried to do the same to us claiming they never received our cancellation notice despite us having proof they did. They could not debit us another penny after we had our bank put a hold on them

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

      1 / 1 found this review helpful.
    2. Roger

      They are the worst!! I had to have my bank do the same thing put a hold on any of there transactions. After 120 days had gone by ( I never used there processing at all because they could not get it to integrate with QuickBooks like they promised) we removed the hold as I figured it was done. I received more charges. I went to my bank they reversed the charges and I closed my account and opened up another. What a pain it cost me about $200.00 I guess in change over new check and time but it was well worth it.

      [Last sentence redacted: promotional content]

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

      2 / 2 found this review helpful.
    3. Hank

      Upon cancelling I sent them a letter advising that due to rate increases I was disconnecting their service at the end of the year. In Feb. I got a Jan. billing for $179 for processing three tickets January 2ed that totaled $26. When I called customer service said “Well your tickets were processed in Jan. so you were billed” Ya I will billed alright almost 700%. My part of the contract ended Dec. 31st. but apparently not on their part $179 later.

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

      1 / 1 found this review helpful.
  6. Maritza Torres

    I wish I would have read these comments before making a decision to use North American Bancard. They truly are unscrupulous and their customer service is the worst I have every experienced by far.

    It seems their employees have to been on the defensive since they do nothing but screw people over. So of course they are going to get it, I can only imagine the multitude of frustrated and irate customers they have.

    Try closing your account and see the run around you get. Don’t even think about keeping the same business bank account open because they will just keep invading your account for fees even after you have mailed them back their equipment.

    Stay away from this company because it can hurt your business and cause you more problems then good and tie of your time with nonsense.

    I still can’t close an account I have been requesting to close since May of this year. This is a slimy and slithering company so stay way! or you will pay! for nothing….Just a totally bad experience all around.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    1 / 1 found this review helpful.
    1. Al

      Have your bank put an ACH debit hold on them. They wont be able to debit your account

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

      1 / 1 found this review helpful.
  7. T Andersen

    I am currently an independent agent for North American Bancard(NAB). I do not understand many of these negative comments about NAB. In three years I have never seen them charge prices above the agreed upon contract with one exception. In this case their First Data Platform mistakenly double billed the merchant for one months Interchange fees. NAB corrected this and credited my merchant the following month. In fact, internally they did somesaults to corrects this. There have been occasional random non billing mistakes whereby the errors where corrected quickly. As far as PCI fees go, this whole PCI situation is a nightmare for the industry. NAB charges$79 after merchant complies which is fair for the industry. I have seen other processors charge $150 and $195 over the past 2 years. In fact, I have seen independent Tech companies quote $3500 to my $79 account!Their non compliance “penalty” is $6.95 which is way below industry charges. Most processors charge between $9.95 and $19.95 for monthly non compliance. I have seen 3 upper level managers respond to one customer problem and quickly resolve it. Although NAB is not perfect, they have resoved every issue that I have had with my merchants. I admit it is a very difficult industry. Almost all merchants will tell you some horror story or stories about a previous processor(s). Because of this sad fact, many merchants will jump the gun, and anticipate problems. For example, I had a merchant call me early in morning complaining that he hasn’t recieved his “Durbin Dollars”. I had the merchant on Interchange pricing and he had receieved his Durbin amendent discounts when they had gone into effect, 6 months before! This suspicion is common and is industry wide.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    2 / 2 found this review helpful.
    1. AJ

      This Statement is TRUELY A LIE! I am an actual merchant, now I have had an account with North American Bancard for nearly 6 months. They have increased the actual contract rate, mothly rate, and they have no respect for your account or statements. PLEASE BEWARE AND STOP DOING BUSINESS WITH THESE THIEVES. I am going to discontinue doing business with them and will post everyehere about my VERY TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE with this company.

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

      1 / 1 found this review helpful.
      1. Thomas Adams

        To A.J.
        I am an independent agent with NAB and have been with since 2005 I have signed hundreds of accounts,
        I am spending large amount of time helping my customers who received Fraud like the restaurant told save 500.00 month unknowingly signs 399.00 lease for 6o months or the guy told another 1% straight fee never disclosed the 1.99 surcharge or the 139.00 lease.Obama I think or some Gov agency has recently started
        requiring Merchant Service Providers to now verify every account we board with the IRS data Base and if not check ,We follow threw make sure Gov does not take 28% of your money TIN Check law and require a tax filing ,,These regulations require a whole new Dept , new Employees new Magament If you saw a increase I bet you can thank your new Goverment Regulations for that?
        I carry every one signed on a list with phone #’s for referalls I have lowed rates 3 X since the Durbin Bill Passed for the area most my accounts cards accepted large % are not the regulted banks, So i have pulled the pin pads saving large % as I can run those with signatutre for 1/2 what they charge with pin..My biggest problem I’ve had is I give free equipment, If this free equipmet has issues the 1st yr Company will replace free 2 X but after 1st Yr Then if the merchant has the MyBperks cost few dollars extra they will continue to overnight new equipment as needed with out MyBperks 99.00 swap fee after 2nd yr, , Competitors often 39.00 to 139.00 month lease for same..
        If you have issue and you not getting attention from Customer Service you want Do what I do Hang up take
        breath Call back get new person Might get response you want,,I signed Contracts with 20 other Processors
        Merchantware House HarborTouch, IRN, Biggies Smallies, I looked at virtually every one in The USA
        You have no idea how good This litte Company with 800 employees signing ? 4000-to 5000 a month new
        Why–Truth is This the only ones give agents like me full disclosure threw my Agentinfocenter.. I trust them!!!
        With my acconts my pay and mostly my reputation…..

        Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

        2 / 3 found this review helpful.
    2. Tina

      I am a NorthAmerican bank card merchant and the pci fee is not $79. It is $99. I own a salon so I have 5 different accounts on my terminal for each hair stylist, they used to charge the main acct the $99 but now they say each account is getting the fee! Absurd! They also stopped sending us statements,you have to go to a different company’s website to try and get it. Probably so it’s hard for you to find out all the shady charges they’re giving you. I just noticed I’ve been being charged $9.95 a month for some gold plan that I never signed up for. They said I must have at some point and won’t refund the charges. Also you can only print out the last 3 months of statements! Should you be able to print out any of your statements whenever you want. They are mine and since you won’t send them to me without a charge anymore they should be available anytime! I am looking for a new company right now. This company is super shady! No transparency at all. I don’t k ow how they get away with this! Look elsewhere.

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

      1 / 1 found this review helpful.
  8. Karen

    These people are crooks. Don’t ever get signed up with them and I am filing a complaint with my state attn general against them. They should be stopped. They just took $1200 out of my checking account and I don’t even know why. This is robbery.

    I NEVER even seen a contract!!!so how in the world could I have signed one!!!BEWARE OF NABANCARD!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    2 / 2 found this review helpful.
  9. John

    I have been waiting on release of almost 20K since June 13th. As a small business this is devastating to our cashflow. The SEC should look into their deceptive, and misleading tactics.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    1 / 1 found this review helpful.
    1. Misty

      Was it ever released?

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

      1 / 1 found this review helpful.
  10. Dennis Morris

    I emailed North American Bancard representative Mary Scorpio on 3/29/2013 to fulfill my requirement of a 60 day notice to cancel my account with them on 6/25/2013. In that email I requested to be contacted if anything additional was required.
    I then received an auto email on 4/1/2013 confirming receipt of my request and confirmation that the request for account closure was completed. It further stated that a signature was required and that they would be sending me a cancellation letter to sign.
    That same day I received an email containing an attachment with a letter requesting my signature to complete the cancellation. However, it was NOT a letter confirming my termination of the account on the expiration date even though it referenced my cancellation date of 6/25/2013. It was instead a form to cancel the account early. I admit that I did not do a good job of reading the letter, but any average person would assume it to be the follow up to the previous notice that a signature was required.
    IF, they had cancelled it on 6/25/13 as I requested I would have been charged the monthly fee of $35 for April, May and June. Instead they are charging me an early cancellation fee of $295.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    1 / 1 found this review helpful.
  11. Cornell

    These people are crooks. Don’t ever get signed up with them and I am filing a complaint with my state attn general against them. They should be stopped. They just took $1500 out of my checking account and I don’t even know why. This is robbery.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    1 / 1 found this review helpful.
    1. Karen

      These people say I have a contract with them for 3 years. I’ve never even seen a contract and never ever signed anything….they have taken over 1200 dollars from my checking account…has anyone on here gotten any of your money back that has been rob from you?

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

      1 / 1 found this review helpful.
  12. Carla

    I NEVER write bad reviews but in this case it’s due. This is THE WORST credit card company I’ve ever dealt with. I’m stuck in a 3yr cotract when in just the last 8mon’s I’ve been without a terminal 6 times for a week at a time!!! They don’t care and tell me it’s going to be $500 to cancel when I’m a year and a half into my contract. I have every email and interaction with them and have contacted a lawyer. Their are 7 of us that use this terminal and are all taking action. How does this company expect us to run a business when thier machines break down constantly. What kills me is thier costumers serivce is of no help what so ever. The people that work the phones have no idea what they are doing and have screwed up my account numerous times. This company is a joke and I highly advise NOT using them..from one business owner to another. trust me save yourself the time and aggrivation.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    1 / 1 found this review helpful.
  13. james ashley

    pay anywhere set my business up for failure. they sent out a free credit card reader, so i started excepting credit cards. however after the services was render and after 4000 sales, i have to wait 180 days to get paid. thanks a lot pay anywhere.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    1 / 1 found this review helpful.
  14. Michele Roberts

    Back in November 2012 I was very unhappy with my current credit card processing company. I was very hesitant about going with a different one, and I ran across an article in a magazine about North American Bankcard. I called there and spoke with Chris. He assured me there would be no ‘extra’ fees monthly that I wasn’t made aware of, and there was apsolutely no contract to stay with them and I could cancel my accounts at any time with no early cancellation fees attached!
    Well, here we are only February 2013, and I’m seeing additional fees on my statements and am very unhappy, therefore, I called and wanted to cancel, and was told I have a 3yr contract and would have to pay a $990 cancellation fee!! I even spoke with the salesman that lied to me and scammed me to go with this company, all he did was insult me the whole conversation! I spoke with the ‘so called’ manager as well ‘Brian’ and as well insulted me, and offered no help in this matter, Just continued to lie as Chris did!
    I tell you, I have no faith in ANY credit card processing company, they’re all liers and scam artist! It’s a sin they get away with robbing people blind! This is a crime!!
    ‘ DON’T EVER USE NORTH AMERICAN BANK CARD’, WHAT EVER YOU DO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    1 / 1 found this review helpful.
    1. steve hammell

      Ditto, to Michele Roberts. I joined same dates as Michele and have same problem with fees, etc. as Michele
      and same people that set up my account without full disclosure of cancel fees and equipment fees that were
      supposed to be free with contract but not so. I also completed my PCI compliance questionaire with them in November 2012 and found they charged me $79.00 to do this. My previous processor charged $25.00 fee which I thought was a ridiculous charge but paid it without complaining. I wouldn’t be surprised to see another
      class action lawsuit in a couple years as you see today with so many of the crooked financial institutions.

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

      1 / 1 found this review helpful.
    2. j l schilling

      RUN AWAY !!! FROM NORTH AMERICAN BANCARD.
      I agree with the above comments. I have spent all day chasing fees. Example: North American Bancard charges $79/yr, per location for PCI Compliance fees. Then you must go onto http://www.mypci.com and complete their PCI compliance and pay an additonal $59 annual fee, per location to be PCI Compliant. If you do not do this thousand question questionaire, and do the scans then North American Bancard will charge you additional fees for not doing this.

      I was charged by Mypci.com the $59 annual fee in Sept 2012 and again in March 2013. Annual Fees… try to talk to someone and North American Bancard knows nothing about the Mypci.com fees. Try to call Mypci.com, and you will be on hold hours, and… well, I’m still on hold as I write this.

      My question:
      Why am I paying $79/yr PCI compliance fee to North American Bancard, if I still have to go through another company and pay more ($59/yr) to be PCI Compliant? And if I do not do the ‘other’ PCI Compliance via mypci.com they (North American Bancard) will charge you an additional fee of $4.95/mo for not being compliant!?!

      Still on hold…

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

      1 / 1 found this review helpful.
  15. Lisa Hefner

    It’s amazing the amount of complaints here and elsewhere that are so similar to ours. We run a small bar and grill and a representative was here multiple times pushing us to get this company. My other half finally agreed, but said he would not sign a contract whatsoever and the salesperson assured him that he would not need to. Everything went okay for a month or two, but then when looking over the fees, they were astronomically higher that what was agreed upon. We tried contacting our salesperson, he said his sister had cancer in another state and was going to see her and would come and explain the bill to us when he got back. This has been over a year ago. We called the company and wanted to cancel and they said it would be around $800 to do so since we signed a three year contract. Well, we had no contract per our agreement with the salesperson so we asked them to send us another copy of one. When we received it, sure enough, it was initialed and signed with my spouses name, but it wasn’t his signature or initials. Sure, it was his name, but it most definately wasn’t the way he writes it. We called and talked to a supervisor, and he stated that since we ran a credit card through the machine it was called “implied consent”. Well, the salesman is the one who ran the first transaction through. We didn’t consent to anything. The supervisor on the phone also basically admitted that it was not right, but there was nothing he could do about it. We put a stop payment on their EFT’s out of our account and then after about 6 months of them being denied their payment (we haven’t used the credit card machine since we called law enforcement about the FORGERY!), they tried to take out $900 out of our account using a different name than we had a stop payment on. Went to the bank, they filed out an unauthorization form and sent it to them. They next day, they changed the name AGAIN, and tried again. Bank went back and did it again. Now they are still trying to get $30 out of our account every month but it keeps getting bounced back to them.

    If we forged peoples names in our business, we would be in prison. Pat Dolan (salesperson extraordinairre hah!), you should be too, along with everyone at that company that this is “business as usual”.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    1 / 1 found this review helpful.
    1. alexander

      This same thing has happen to me….I’ve never even seen a contract. but this company is saying Im in a 3 year contract!!what a rip off!

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

      1 / 1 found this review helpful.
  16. annabelle

    the rep chases me for 1 year to change my merchant i finally gave in.
    big mistake! total lies and je said you have no contract, best fees, etc They continously deducted credit card deposits then credited them then deducted them again. my account became a mess.
    I do not owe them money they are a credit card processor which should not be in business.

    I had to change my bank account & returned to more expensive provider.
    then suddenly I havea over $3000 amount on my credit report. this is crazy. This hurts my score and is not a real debt.
    I tried to have this removed but equifax does not care thsat this is basically a fraudulent company.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    1 / 1 found this review helpful.
  17. Luis

    Dont use this companie this a joke , they charge me fees that i didnt know they were going to charge me , an agent told me i didnt have any contract, when i realize all the fees they were charging me i call to cancel it but the surprice was bigger when they told me i had a 3 year contract .they call this people “agents” but for me they are thefts

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    1 / 1 found this review helpful.
  18. Michael Choron

    This place is a JOKE! I was told my monthly charge would be $15.00 a month some months its $25.00 some its $21.00. The problem I have is that I NO Longer use that account and haven’t for the past year. The termination fee is ridiculous so your better off to pay these monthly fees until your contract is up. As soon as this contract is up in Feb. 2013. I’m outta here!!! There are much better deals out there than this place. Hopefully cancelling this contract will not be one more pain in my ASS!!!!!!!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    1 / 1 found this review helpful.
    1. Val Hebbe

      hey, I just got hit with a $90.00 annual fee. Holding out to the contract ends and then I am done with this company!

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

      1 / 1 found this review helpful.
    2. Jane

      You better call them and find out exactly what you have to do to terminate your contract when it ends .If you don’t they will continue it. You have to give them a certain amount of advance notice in writing.Log every time you called and the name of the person you talked to. Send your terminals back registered mail with signature required .When you are sure they have paid you for all your charges, call your bank and put a PERMANENT stop payment on them so they cannot debit. It will cost you around $35 but well worth it as once they debit you for whatever ridiculous fee they choose you will never get it back from them. I am stuck in a contract with them and HATE this company.

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    3. Sandy

      Have great news for you when it comes to canceling your account at the end of contract. Make certain that you send them a notice at least 60 days prior to the the contract ending. I did 9 months in advance. They did not cancel the contract when it ended. They continued to deduct the month fees after my contract ended. I am still fighting them over it. Best thing to do is contact your State Attorney Generals office. This is what I will be doing. They are taking millions of dollars from merchants in small amounts.

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  19. amy

    There was a representative that come by my shop and told me about this company, and I went ahead and signed up with this company and within a months time, I never received a terminal but funds where withdrawn from my business acct…these people are lying and getting your information with no results, and then they tell you to call the NA bank itself to get your money back, and they in return tell you to call the represenative that signed you up….so this is totally a scam to me, don’t give them any information and I have reported this to the BBB, and im hoping for a resolution to this problem, but I will never do that again…and now I am out of $200.00, an being a small business, money is already hard to come by and to have people like this to come in and steal from you is not right, and my search to this problem is not over yet…

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    1. Duke

      Amy,
      Please carefully review the ACCEPTANCE section. You should find out that If you have never performed any transaction, then you would not bind to the contract.
      You might need 1st to stop their withdraw $ from your account by closing the account, and then wrote a letter telling them you have not accepted nor agreed with the contract yet because you have not performed any transaction, and you make clearly to them that you reserve the right to seek for any damage caused by their illegal acts or their associates’, and demand them return the illegally withdrawn $ from your bank, including the law suit fee if you file a lawsuit.

      They did it to me exactly what you said, and I stopped them as I did above.

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  20. Karl

    I was told by Casey my outsourced salesman that if I gave him a reference to the new owners that purchase my store that I would be able to get early termination fees removed. I gave the reference and he never released me from contract. This company is horrible!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  21. charles e higgins

    signed up in may was told by salesman no contract no fee only a percentage taken from sale. six months later never got a machine but realized they have taken approxx. $400.00 out of my account since may . I never ran 1 credit card dont even know how to use the system no machine ? . called in the other day now they want to send me a machine that they have been charging for.. spoke to a guy named tyruss he told me i had two options only. send me a machine or a cancellation application that will cost me $ 930.00 . I asked to speak to a supervisor he said that was not an option . only the two he told me. what kind of company won.t let you speak to a supervisor. they must be workin out of there house .this place is a scam . Its not over i spoke to a lawer yesterday and the left a complaint with attorney general in michigan & new york. & also better buisness .i alredy signed up with another carrier. of course i would not recommend you.. all these phone calls ive been making takes up my time. im a buzy guy ‘ never even realized the money missing from my account till this month they took $145.00 out . $ 45 a month i didnt notice. its not over trust me.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    1. sam

      Charles. Call and ask for Ken Owens or Rick. Both of them are supervisors. Don’t ask for a supervisor, just ask directly for one of them. Give them hell, they crack under pressure.

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  22. Al

    In reading all the posts here regarding unauthorized debits from your checking account by this company, you have an easy option. Just contact your bank and put an EFT hold on NAB. It will cost you a one time fee from 25 to 35 dollars from your bank, but the withdraws will stop. Be sure to do this only if you feel you are a victim of breach of contract. You still have a legal obligation to pay NAB if you knowingly signed a contract with them for a period of time.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  23. Michelle

    This company is doing exactly what all the above folks are saying. They do NOT Help you on the phone. The actual customer service ppl are not that knowledgeable and do try to help, but since they can’t actually do anything, you are referred to the corporate headquarters and then you get a man, who doesn’t give you his name, doesn’t do anything of a helpful nature, he tells you and I quote ” tough, you are in a 3 year contract, call customer service” and also talked to me like I was not a ‘paying customer’ but nothing to him. It was 212-889-1800. The office of Bryan Ross. I don’t know who exactly I spoke to, again because he REFUSED to give me his name. He didn’t even answer the phone in a polite way. I am not easily offended, I am not easily angered either, but he managed to do both in a short phone conversation.
    When I explained that I had never even touched the machine, and that I had sent my paperwork in to be approved only, he told me it didn’t matter, I was in a contract. There is a high early break fee… Which he did not even mention, or offer. I am frustrated, aggravated and all around pissed off about it.
    If the fees were consistent and low enough, I would ‘eat’ those. I spend $10-15 a month on junk, but they are taking anything out they want… One month it was $15, one month $2, one month $28…. I could not even get this man to tell me why they weren’t consistent. Ugh!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  24. RG

    Agree with ALL THE NEGATIVE reviews!! Lie, Cheat and Steal. Totally unethical, immoral business practices. We have been in business for over 13 years (separate business that doesn’t use North American Bancard, NABANCARD) and NEVER had problems with our processing through other companies. We opened a small garden center, economy tanked and we found out that there was the $895 cancellation fee plus all the other fees. The equipment wasn’t free as advertised. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  25. TJ Andersen

    I have been processing with NAB for a little over a year. They signed me up on a month to month contract. So far they have done everything they say. I like their rates (interchange plus) and their paper program that doesn’t charge freight. My only complaint is that their customer service line can sometimes take a while to get through.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    1. Phillip Parker

      Can you reply with your business contact information to verify that this is a legitimate review from an actual merchant?

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    2. Jane

      Their contracts like most processors are for three years. Are you sure we are talking about the same processing company?

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  26. hagit

    North american bancard is a horrible company.
    they will sign you on 3 years lease and will not mention it. their rates are the higest in the filed, their customer service is poor, they will put you on hold for an hour and when you want to cancel the account they ignore you.
    don’t do business with them.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  27. Jaelyn

    DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY!!!!

    This company uses “independent reps”….these reps LIE to you. I asked for a ONE YEAR CONTRACT and a FREE wireless terminal in writing through EMAIL. That is NOT what has happened. After one year they have turned me in to collection for 1600. The REP LIED to me…there are NO one year contracts with free terminals. They use a BAIT AND SWITCH process……they have you sign a contract and only give you certain pages so you do not see the entire contract that is sent off to North American!!!!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    1. Jane

      You are absolutley correct in saying you never see the entire contract ! Sekure Cards salesman( who sold me NAB’s services) lied about most things he told me. When I complained to Sekure Cards, I was told that yes, he did lie and that’s why they fired him..SO that leaves me stuck with North AMerican Bank Card .I never saw the full contract until I asked them for a copy of it 6 months into my 3 year contract. I signed a merchant agreement, not a contract, very sneaky the way they have it written. Run, don”t walk from this company. They should be responsible for whoever they contract as salespeople!

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  28. Wayne Edelman

    I should have cancelled my agreement with them as soon as I figured out that they would not be able to interface with my processor and POS system.
    Long story short we never processed 1 cent through them but our bank account has been debited monthly since 2009. My staff has tried to rectify the issue with them numerous times to no avail. I tried myself to call the 800 number and after 2 transfers they finally transferred me to the representatives cell phone who signed me up and has done nothing to fix the problem. I would not recommend anyone using this company.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  29. LCS

    Note that on their website they advertise, NO CANCELLATION FEE! If you fall victim to this ploy, make sure you print out this statement. Ha! I have waited out my contract and am now on hold for who knows how long, have left one message already and doubt I will get a call back. I am curious to see what they now say since they told me anytime after June 7 I could cancel without any fee.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    1. Ron F

      Your cancellation fee is governed by the contract you signed. If you signed a 3 year agreement, which is almost all agreements until a few months ago, then you’ll have to wait out that term. When it’s time to renew, or if you’re signing a new contract today, just tell your agent you want a month to month agreement, and make sure he shows you in the paperwork where it states that before you sign.

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    2. Shukyo Mithuna

      Just be sure to cancel in writing, my contract ended May 23, then on June 5 they billed me $200. for some yearly fee and refused to refund it, because they said they hadn’t received a written cancellation ( although my contract had expired)

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    3. Sandy M

      I made the horrible mistake of entering into a contact with them based on promises made by one of their representatives – Sekure Services. I had nothing but problems from day one. Set up our account wrong. Corrected two months later with a new account but failed to close the original account. Never updated our terminal so charges kept being processed under old account #. Was charging me for two accounts. Got that corrected and then they started multiple daily debits to me account due to their computer problems. Caused addtional fees charged by me bank under our account agreement for excessive debit fees. This occurred for two months and although they finally reimbursed the costs, it took multiple phone calls. Trying to get troough to their customer service dept. is a nightmare. So finally got so fed up i disconnected their equipment and went back to may previous processer. Now they state they are going to charge me an $839.72 early termination fee. (Had a 3yr contract)

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

      1. Jane

        have had some of the same problems.. Call your bank and put a PERMANENT stop payment which will not allow them to debit any $$ from your account. The fee at my bank for doing this was 35$. well worth it!

        Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  30. Dana

    Hidden Fees. Automatically sign you up for optional services. But here’s the kicker:

    $875 cancellation fee! Yes, $875. I signed up with another company who told me they would pay my cancellation fee, but when they found out it was $875, they said “no way” and let me out of the contract.

    I have 5 months left with these jokers and I’m outta here!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  31. DukeL

    Rebecca of the NAB said “we have canceled your account and removed all amounts from the collection agency”. But now the NAB has placed the cancelled/clear account with another collection agent! (May 24, 2012)

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  32. dillon sparks

    DON’T EVER MAKE THE MISTAKE of letting North American Bancard get access to your checking account. I did and regretted it. I finally had to cancel my checking account, open a new one and get new checks.

    And DON’T EVER THINK that by retuning their equipment that you’ll be off the hook for further fees. Their receiving department ALWAYS indicates that your returned equipment is damaged.

    More prospective customers should GOOGLE before signing anything.

    dillon sparks– sadder AND wiser

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    1. DukeL

      In September 2010, we had made the same mistake as Dilon Sparks did to let the NAB got access to our bank account and we had to close our bank account Around the end of 2011, the NAB placed the merchant account with a collection based on a NON-BINDING contract agreement. After hassle with them for about a month, they said that they had cancelled the account and removed all amount from the collection. However, now they have placed the account in another collection agent.

      My advice is DON’T EVER THINK DOING BUSINESS WITH THE NAB. Period.

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  33. Keli Sindelar

    http://www.bbb.org/detroit/Business-Reviews/credit-card-processing-service/north-american-bancard-in-troy-mi-27000275/

    I just went online to BBB myself and they’re rating is A+.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    1. Phillip Parker

      As stated in the review, if you read our rating criteria, we adjust the rating for the purposes of our grading in some cases.

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  34. Kalena

    I have a new complaint to add and I’m sure you will all find this interesting. I worked with North American Bancard until around six years ago when I canceled my account and switched my processing to Wells Fargo. Fast Forward to April 2012 when I receive a bill from North American Bancard for $101 that has already been automatically removed from my checking account! I called their customer service and explained to them that I do not have any account with their company and was told that my account had never been canceled?! The three customer service representatives I spoke to repeated over and over that I would need to fill out a request for cancellation form and return it to their company. I refused to do that because that would be somehow acknowledging that their was any merit to their argument.
    I have filed a complaint with the Federal Trade Commision and I hope that any other companies with a similar problem will do the same. When you work with a Credit Card Processor, they have access to your personal information including direct access to you checking account. This information should not be hanging around in their files for them to use as a slush fund whenever they desire. One more point I would like to make…As a merchant I am required to secure my customers data, you would think a processing company would be required to do the same!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  35. Tom Rush

    DON’T ANYONE SIGN ON WITH THIS COMPANY. THEY ARE UNETHICAL, NON-RESPONSIVE, AND THEY ENGAGE IN UNLAWFUL BUSINESS TACTICS. i had nothing but problems with this company and the customer service department from the first day i signed up. so after 3 months, i canceled my accounts with North American Bancard. that is when the real nightmare began. they said i would be charged a cancellation fee of $890 PER ACCOUNT!!! I then explained to them that my salesperson who signed me up told me i would not be subject to any cancellation fee if i decided to stop using them. i also explained i never signed anything saying there would be a fee. they then sent me a contract that i supposedly signed. but it turns out my salesperson ONLY SENT ME THE FIRST PAGE TO INITIAL, AND THE LAST PAGE TO SIGN! SHE DID NOT SEND ME THE 8 PAGES IN BETWEEN! One of those pages said there would be a cancellation fee, but i did not initial that page. turns out i was a victim of a BAIT AND SWITCH BY THIS DISREPUTABLE AND DISHONEST COMPANY. not only did my saleperson tell me there would be no cancellation fee, but i never received or initialed any part of a contracft except the first an last page of the contract! all of my phone calls and emails fell on deaf ears. employees promised to call me back and they never did. Supervisors promised to call me back and they never did. and finally, nobody answered any of my emails regarding the fact that i never saw or signed a contract agreeing to a cancellation fee. now, the company has withdrawn their $1980 in fees from my corporate checking account, and now i have to take them to court to try and get my money back. STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY – THEY ARE THE WORST IN THE BUSINESS!

    Tom Rush
    Rush’s Inc.
    Minneapolis, MN
    phone: 612-250-2163

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  36. debbie

    I wish that I had read these listings prior to setting up an account. I got sucked into high fees and contracts that I was unaware of. I want out but the agent never returns my calls. He must be watching the caller ID. I will take the hit of the cancellation fee because this company is grossly fraudulent.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  37. Shukyo Mithuna

    I have just spent over an hour with North American Bancard trying to reverse charges on my Business credit card merchant services account and I AM FURIOUS!!!!!! My contract for their merchant card services expired April 23, 2012, and they are claiming that because I did not read the SMALL print that says I have to fax in a letter to close my account, they will not REFUND the $126. they robbed from my account—nevermind that my contract had expired . Have you ever heard of an acccount remaining open after it expires???

    TO ED SCHULTZ and RACHEL MADDOW of MSMBC (post on their facebook page) and ALL OF MY FRIENDS, FAMILY and ASSOCIATES (posted to my facebook page) , STAND UP AGAINST THE DAILY TYRANNY OF THE BANKS OF THE WORLD—move your money to credit unions. WHO WILL STAND IN SOLIDARITY WITH ME AND THE OCCUPY MOVEMENT????

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  38. Sam

    Here’s how their sales team works.

    When they get you on the phone they tell you about 2 rates each with a $0.19 transaction fee. The first is for swiped debit and the other for swiped credit. Those rates change constantly, so I won’t lay them out here. Then, they tell you about the monthly fee. “That’s it!” They say.

    What they don’t tell you, and they do this to hook new businesses, is the fees for rewards cards, business cards and the rare government cards. They leave out batch fee’s and additional fees for monthly minimums, PCI fees… You literally have to ask about all other fees. Their philosophy is basically to not teach their agents the pricing. This is handed down by the manager. Don’t talk about pricing and tell them how awesome of a company they are instead. 24 hour customer service, 24 hour tech support etc… They want to win you over with all that instead of being up front about fee’s that are not necessarily hidden because they are on the contract you sign. Rather, the omit telling you about it. They do their best to get you to sign.

    The company president is friends with the head of the BBB and that’s how they get their A+ Rating with the better business bureau. Which has shaken my faith with the BBB.

    They have other programs and services. Such as PayAnywhere AKA Phoneswipe (you’re better off with Square or Intuit and Match Rate Plus. Match Rate Plus is basically a pyramid scheme for merchants. You sign up, then get your friends and their business to sign up and so on. It fits the definition of a pyramid scheme.

    They also operate under the name Advanced Payment Solutions. In addition, they don;t care if sales reps are rude. Many businesses call to complain after finding out they’ve been duped. There sales team will be terrible to you right back. They expect sales agents to make 200+ cold calls a day with a cold calling machine they have and give their agents fancy titles like “Senior Account Executive” which is essentially just a guy with very little education who can talk fast.

    Your best bet, avoid this company and stick with your bank. They at least have standards.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    1. RLF

      I don’t know who Sam has dealt with at NAB. His experience with his NAB agent may have very well gone much as he described. However, the vast majority of NABs sales team consists of independent outside agents. As an independent agent, there is no formal training program from NAB. There are no sales quotas, nor a manager calling you every day to see how many sales you made. They do make basic product and sales training available, but nowhere in any of the training materials do they encourage agents to be deceptive in any way about the pricing for accounts. In fact, the agent agreement is very explicit that FULL DISCLOSURE of all rates and fees is expected and required.

      Advanced Payment Solutions and Match Rate Plus are independent companies that associate with NAB as agents, the same as any individual salesperson might. They are NOT subsidiaries of NAB, and their policies or business practices are not endorsed by NAB other than that they must follow the same rules as any other contracted agent.

      As for Sam’s experience, in all likelihood, he probably dealt with an agent that had prior experience in the payments industry and was trained to sell that way. No sales manager I know of at NAB would tolerate what he described if they knew about it, much less train other agents to sell that way. That’s what many agents in this industry are doing to their customers, and the reason it’s so easy for me personally to convert new customers is because I offer an experience 180 degrees opposite of that. I myself was trained by an agent who sells for NAB, and I don’t do anything like what he describes. It’s unfortunate because as a merchant, you really have no way of knowing ahead of time that the agent you’re dealing with is simply an authorized agent and not actually a well-trained employee of the company unless someone like me happens to come along and tell you. It’s detrimental to the company’s brand when this happens, but unfortunately the independent sales force is the model that most companies in this industry operate by (except for the large banks, but they typically aren’t any different when it comes to their sales practices anyway).

      I can only hope that his experience will help educate others here about what to look for in a good agent, and don’t make any assumptions about how he’s going to behave or deal with you just based on the company he’s selling for because that often doesn’t have much to do with it.

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

      1. sam

        RLF,

        this is not based on a business dealing. I worked there this year in the sales department for one month. I have been in sales for years and never had to use the tactics that Ken Owens sales manager wanted me to use. A directquote from ken during training

        “F*** pricing. You don’t tell people about that. Just do whatever it takes to get them to sign”

        Another gem

        “I don’t want you to lie, but basically omit the other prices.”

        I understand your need to deflate the negative comments about a company you have a vested interest in, but really, this is a very bad company interested in bottom lines and less about customers.

        Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  39. Lorie

    poorly trained or unethical agents wants fight with customer who has questions about mysterious charges on the statement. I am canceling my account with them after I talk with terriable customer service agent. Watch out for their charges!!! Never Again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    1. sam

      Lori,

      We were trained to talk back to the customers. I quit a month into this “job” because I could not subscribe to their ideas of selling. It’s 2012 and they act like they sell cars in the 70′s.

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  40. Ron Fleming

    As an agent for NAB, I would agree with the thrust of this review that the vast majority of issues with NAB stem from poorly trained or unethical agents. However, those issues are not unique to NAB. As with any sales profession, merchant services relies heavily on the honesty, integrity, knowledge and professionalism of the individual salesperson to make sure that the client receives exactly what they expect to receive and that there are no unpleasant surprises. And if the company management is more concerned with turning a tidy profit than doing business ethically and in a transparent, upfront manner, then that’s exactly how the agents will behave.

    A merchant is no likely to get a better deal, or to thoroughly understand the terms of his or her contract in dealing with a large bank, who would typically maintain much tighter control of their salesforce, than with an independent agent. It comes down to the individual’s integrity, and whether management supports him in doing ethical business by paying a fair share of the commissions and not imposing unreasonable sales targets that force him to overprice or desperately chase business to meet monthly quotas. Often the processors who most tightly micromanage their employees are the least attractive to knowledgeable and enterprising professionals, who get into this industry to get away from the whip-cracking boss.

    Just like big banks don’t necessarily give better service than credit unions, or major franchise plumbers don’t always do better than a local independent guy, employee merchant services agents of large banks are not necessarily better than independent ones. You just have to take the time to investigate the individual, and use your basic intuition and street smarts to judge his character before agreeing to do business with him, just like you would with any other service provider.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  41. Sharon Douglas

    I wish I too had known about the complaints. Sales agent was very deceptive. I had my own cc machine before signing on with these people. I had no idea that I was signing on to rent a machine on top of all the fees that Bancard charges. My sales to not go into my business account for sometimes up to 5 days later. I try to call tech support for machine issues and can NEVER get a response!!! Now we are stuck in this stupid contract and the big guys are once again stomping on us little guys in small business!!! There was an extra 18.00 charge on my account today from LOGI Lease……The Charge??? The tax man takes them on their property……so they pass this on to us when they get the bill!!!!! STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY!!! I am contacting my representitive to at least make another complaint…..and the BBB!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    1. RLF

      I know you would have like to have heard this a day before you met your particular NAB agent, but NEVER sign a lease for a credit card terminal, unless your accountant (or likely your accounting department) has told you it’s in your best financial interests to do so. As anything other than a large corporation needing to install 100′s of terminals at once across many locations, it will almost never make financial sense. The average credit card terminal costs $300 brand new in the box from any number of equipment outlets; the standard lease is $39 over 48 months or $1,872. As you might imagine, about 85% of that is pure profit, most of it directly to the agent, paid the same week he signs the contract. Contrary to what you might have been told, NAB can reprogram 95% of all terminals out their to work with their service, and in all likelihood, your terminal ISN’T out of compliance. He just wants to make more money leasing you a new one.

      And even if you couldn’t afford to buy the terminal new yourself, NAB actually offers a free terminal for as long as you maintain an active processing account with them (if you cancel, just send the machine back). Of course the agent didn’t tell you that because the company pays him a $100 bonus if he doesn’t provide a free terminal when setting up the account. There are other, more equitable ways for him to recoup that money, but with a $1,400 commission on the table for selling you an outrageously expensive lease you didn’t need, his greed got the best of him.

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  42. LCS

    Stay far away from this company. I wish I had read this article before signing on with them, they are crooks, could care less about what you are told, take on extra fees and charges, have horrible customer service that could care less about its merchant’s satisfaction. There is poor tech support and training to use your equipment, your salesman disappears into nowhere, you get put on hold forever when you call or get transfered, even to an operator. I spent over an hour and a half trying to find out why I was never paid for the charges I accepted, was told I will have to pay $5 per transaction to find out the information. I have had no communication from the company since last September, none what so ever. Looks like 5 customers got my merchandise for free and I have already paid over 500 to NA Bancard for NOTHING!

    DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THIS COMPANY!!!!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  43. Val Hebbe

    Is there anyone in the North American Bancard company who understands what customer service is? I have my doubts! Can a company as big as NAB really provide the LACK OF CUSTOMER SERVICE? Yes, they sure are. If you are a small busines you are having to wait at least 10 days to get your statement. Try their customer service number and you are on hold for 7 minutes then they tell you to leave your number and they will call you back. When? Is the question! My only option will be to look for another company which should not be too hard.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    1. RLF

      The next time you hire a sales agent to set up your processing, ask for his personal cell phone number and ask whether he will always return your call, on the same day during standard business hours if you have any issue with your services. I offer that at a minimum to every single client I do business with (actually 24/7 to my clients, but I understand if every credit card processing salesman doesn’t want to take calls from a bar owner at 1 AM about his terminal not working properly). The agent gets an ongoing commission from the fees you pay each and every month to process credit transactions – I think they should PERSONALLY offer some type of service in return for that compensation, or either agree to refund to you *permanently* their share of the ongoing commissions once you’re up and running.

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  44. Joseph Cirino

    North American Bancard are scammers, ripoff and they just suck you dry financially. My contract is up on March 16, 2012 and they are slamming me with a $295.00 early termination fee plus they had $275.00 on hold since May of 2011. They used that money to pay monthly fees plus other associated fees that go with it, but you have to read the 3 page fine print that they give which nobody reads plus you need a magnifying glass to read it.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  45. Al

    Our relationship with this company was good for the first couple of years. Then they introduced “Biz Perks” which turned out to be an “auto enrollment” scam set up by them to bring in more money. We opted out right away, but they still managed to debit our account the 9.95 fee. We called to complain and the did credit us back the charge. Then, they decided out of the blue that charging us a 10 dollar monthly fee was not enough. They jacked our monthly fee overnight to 25 dollars per month, which is outrageous by credit card provider standards. We called to cancel our account at which time we were informed that they could “reduce” our rate back to 10 dollars per month. We still opted out. We signed and sent in our cancellation letter. To no surprise, they did not cancel our account until several days into the next month, which allowed them to debit our account another monthly service charge. The following month, our account was debited again the monthly fee, despite confirmation that our account was closed. They even denied debiting our account, for which we have proof that they did. They have since declined to respond to our email inquiry regarding this debit. We were forced to go to our bank and submit this debit as fraud. If they debit us again, we will be forced to put a block on them from debiting our account again. Our bank will charge us 35 dollars for this, which we should never have had to do. It is my feeling that this company wishes to force out customers who dont meet their quota of a certain amount of transactions per year. We feel that they have a “blank check” to our checking account and will continue to debit us whenever they feel like, despite our signed cancellation letter. We started to get the impression it was all about the bottom line with this company. Now that we have opted out, they have proven it to us.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  46. Kay

    It’s astounding to me, as a business owner, the lack of accountability from the business owners listed here. Regardless of if the company is good or bad, it is your job as a business owner, and a person who is freely providing your social security number and checking account number, to make sure you fully understand the details of such an important venture. I have an account with NAB and although some improvements need to be made with the customer service, I can never say that I was scammed because I read each page of the agreement. The agent tried to pull some funny business by not giving me all of the pages of the agreement but because I was READING I noted that the center pages were missing and refused to move forward until I got them. If you feel scammed, blame yourself for focusing on dollar signs and not using baseline business wisdom. They are a good company.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    1. Elisse cortez

      You must be a company employee or someone invested in this business.
      You would have to have studied contractual law to understand the 10 pages that where given. Yes it makes us responsible by law but I have never had a company misrepresent themselves in such a reprehensible a way. Aperantly you are smarter than most to have understood the fact that pages were missing.They tried to pull one over on you but that is OK because you caught it? No good honest company does that. I have been in business for over 30 years and I can tell you that is not normal nor good in any way. Companies should be able to get their business honestly. It is unfortunate that it is not and so I am here to warn those that are doing the research to be very careful with this one.
      If you are an independant contractor or a small business then I recommend Square. An app on Smart phones with no contract, no fees and a high rate of 2.75%. At least you know what you get. by the time I added fees and everything in, I averaged 3.6%-10% with NAB.
      And customer service? Please, don’t insult us. It needs more than improvements. I could not access my account for 3 months. It would say account does not exist, yet I was charges $37.00 for not using it!
      “Blame yourself for focusing on dollar signs” REALLY!!! Go to a reputable business not a shark ready to steal you blind AFTER breaking your leg.

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

      1. Kay

        I don’t need to study contractual law to ask questions. If I don’t understand, then I’m not signing. That goes for credit card processing or a supermarket receipt. That’s just smart. Everyone is out to make a dollar and everyone protects their best interest, so I was to make meaning decisions for my business and not get roped into something confusing just because I’m too busy to investigate. You’re suffering now so just leave to do better for your business and yourself in the future.

        Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

        1. Elisse Cortez

          I asked the representative all the right questions. Myself and 15 of my co-workers are all unhappy because we were told that the ONLY fee would be a $7 service fee and a rate of1.59%. I asked directly if there were any other fees hidden or otherwise and was told “no”. We were told that by signing a 3 year contract, they could keep our rates and fees low. We asked all the right questions, but the company. Was misrepresented and we were lied to. It is the company that should be responsible for insuring that their agents represent the company properly. Any other contract I have signed was represented clearly and have not ever had this sort of problem. I am glad that you are “smart” and have not had these troubles, but it does not excuse what has happened to us.

          There is no suffering going on, just the need to warn others to be wary of getting involved with this company and a long unnecessary contract. So many other company’s do not do this and are a much better choice. It is great that you are happy. So too am I now. Just not with North American Bancard.

          Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

          1. Ron F

            I’m an agent of NAB, and I understand where you are coming from. I operate in a large metropolitan market where there are literally thousands of agents representing almost every processor doing business, and I’ve seen more than one case where an NAB agent has screwed a merchant. Notice that I don’t say fellow agent, because I personally have nothing in common with anyone who does business that way other than that we happen to have the same company name on our brochures and applications.

            Now, as has been pointed out, if you’re going to sign a contract for what is essentially a banking service, you do bear some level of responsibility to ensure that you understand what you’re signing and what you’re getting into. But as a professional who has seen the inside of this industry, I will freely admit that virtually NO company in the entire industry has as a corporate policy to educate customers first, so that they can make the most informed decision possible. The model is more “just get them to trust you any way you can so that you can close the deal, and then we’ll take care of them.”

            But there are agents out there – working with NAB and other processors as well – who do business with the utmost level of integrity, transparency, and fiduciary responsibility to every single one of their clients. I myself came into merchant services from another industry where we were required by law to operate that way. I can assure you that there are no NAB policies or training at the corporate level that encourage any unscrupulous behavior whatsoever. But it comes down to the individual, how and by whom they are trained, and how seriously they take their profession whether or not they take the time to properly explain ALL the terms and costs of the contract to you before you sign. I always do because I couldn’t imagine waking up every morning to screw over another fellow small business owner – or fellow human being for that matter. But not every NAB agent does, just like not every agent at any other company in this industry or any other you can name.

            Many companies that sell commoditized services such as credit card processing employ largely independently contracted salesforces because it’s very expensive to train sales people properly and subsidize them until they have the necessary experience to be profitable for the company. And it’s extremely difficult to identify ahead of time who will be good at sales; companies spend billions of dollars consulting on how to do that very thing. The companies rely on the fact that those who don’t take the time to learn their profession or who lack the necessary sales skills to succeed in this industry will fall off before they can do too much harm to the company, and overall, I don’t think NAB has a worse share of bad apples than any other large company in this industry. It’s unfortunate that some people will get burned by these guys, but for those of us who are serious professionals and do business in an ethical manner, it’s just an opportunity to win a new client over by doing right by them from the beginning.

            Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  47. Luis

    Terrible companie. I was told by an “agent” they cold them agents but they really are liars. I asked this agent like 5 times if I had any kind of agreement. She told me no. after 3 months I discovered that I have a contract for 3 years and a lease in the machine for other 3 years. The costumer service is wort nothing. they dont even have costumer service in spanish. Dont get this companie. You will have a lot of trouble

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  48. Brenda

    I have been using North american bancard and they are constantly charging my account 119.00 a month when all they are only supposed to be charging me 15$ a month for non usage. They keep telling me I have to pay an outrageous fee to get out of the contract and they refuse to give me my contract showing my termination date. Everytime I ask I get another date that is further away from the last one. HORRIBLE COMPANY!!!! DO NOT USE!!!! THEY WILL JUST CHARGE YOUR ACCOUNT WITHOUT YOUR APPROVAL AND YOU WILL HAVE TO FIGHT THE BANK TO GET IT BACK!!!!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  49. Elisse Cortez

    When an agent from NAB came to our salon, we were promised that it was only a 7$ monthly fee, 1.59% rate. I asked specifically if there were any other fees or charges and was told no.
    We did not get copy of the original contract. We were told it would be sent and it never was. We were told the reason they could offer a great rate is due to a standard (turns out not to be standard) 3 year contract. Upon bill review there were fees for everything. Debit use fee, batch fees, PCI compliance fees and more. PCI compliance is if you are using a PC and we are not.
    When I called the company to complain about these issues, I was given the run around with a fast talking agent. After a very frustrating conversation I was sent an altered copy of the original. I was told the only way out of this was to pay $960.00. A co worker was told buy out was $200.00 before signing.
    I know there was a fee for low or no use, but that exact amount was not given. They stopped sending statements and I could not access my account on their online site. It stated that the merchant acct # does not exist. The fee was $37.00 a month for non use.
    I and about 15 of my co-workers are all very unhappy. We are independently contracted small businesses. We cannot absorb these types of fees.
    I tried to write a letter and thought they were going to be nice and close the account without further trouble, only to be surprised 2 days later with a email saying they were debiting my account for early termination without my approval.
    It is a misfortune for this company that we are being so badly treated. If they had been reasonable, many of the employees would have embraced using the company for their transactions at the front desk. We have 60 stylists and many other employees that would benefit from this. I discourage every new employee and recommend they get Square now. The money that this company, had they been honest and fair, would have been great with this big a group. It is beyond me why they think that doing bad business is better.
    Now I will be sending out a warning on every blog site that I can to help others avoid this trouble. I am happy for those that like it but for the small merchants that are being taken advantage of I must speak!
    I have noticed a note on some complaint boards for a class action lawsuit. Does it really have to come down to that for this company to be fair and competitive in the market?

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  50. Eric

    After reading these reviews, I’m feeling pretty lucky about getting away from these scammers when I did. NAB was the 1st credit card processing service that I tried. I accepted their sales pitch and signed the contract. BIG MISTAKE. At first, the extra charges seemed reasonable and not worth a complaint. Then, one day, my bookkeeper went over my merchant service accounts and noticed that the monthly charges had increased even though my company’s credit card charges decreased. The sales pitch guaranteed “THE LOWEST RATES IN THE INDUSTRY” with “NO HIDDEN FEES.” You will notice that they mention the PCI fee as something that every merchant service provider is charging. NOT TRUE. When I terminated my contract with them, they then tried to debit my company’s checking account for a further $145.21 even though they assured me of NO EARLY TERMINATION FEES. The reason that I’m writing this review is that upon opening the mail today, I received a collection notice from a co. called Allen & Associates that lists NAB as having placed my account with them for collection. I closed my account because they steal, cheat, lie and provide lousy equipment. Now, I’m going to sue them.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    1. Kimberly

      If you want to put together a class action suit, count me in! They have just recently debited my account 3 separate charges: $495, $300 and $295. All in one day, They literally used my checking account as their personal ATM. I am now way over drawn on my account as I have hundreds of $35 bank charges to boot! I want to SUE them sooo badly!!

      I am single mother and they have literally taken the food off our table. I can’t even buy groceries right now. They completely screwed me. I am so livid and depressed right now.

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

      1. Neil Ventrella

        Kim they did the same to me on 3/7/14 (four) withdrawals totaling over 1300.00, they have screwed me so bad as well, but what can we do? Neil I also was never told their was a 3 year contract, nor when asked to produce a copy they ignored me and as far as a call back, never heard from them!

        Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  51. Jay

    I am a small business owner, and have been a North American Bancard (NAB) customer. I’m a bit surprised at the amount of negative comments here, as my experience with NAB was pretty much an excellent one, if rather uneventful. What I mean is that they did what I expected them to do, there were rarely any problems in them doing such, and my experience with them was fairly seamless.

    There were RARE occasions where my terminal would screw up, the wait on the phone for customer service was lengthy but the problem would always be solved, and if that was the least of my worries then call me happy. They handled my processing at a competitive rate, and never had any hidden fees. They were also flexible about my rates, as whenever another processor would call to quote me some rates, if they were ever cheaper (which honestly was rare) then NAB would match or beat the rates. The only real downside is when they started assessing that yearly PCI compliance fee. I understand that all processors are now required to do this PCI thing (which by the way is nothing but an unregulated, non-mandated scam by VISA/MC to get more fees out of merchants), but that $100 fee cuts into my bottom line & pisses me off to no end. But outside of this, I can say that NAB has met & in some cases even exceeded my expectations.

    Now, I see alot of reviews here about people getting fees & such that they didn’t know about. Unfortunately, I can only say that is their own fault for not reading & understanding the contract they signed. To be honest, I am fairly knowledgeable & very shrewd when it comes to credit card processing, but that comes from lots of research after having been burned long ago. However, that time I was burned was my own fault for not being informed about what I was getting into, and what to expect. But I learned that with card processing (like any aspect of your business), you need to make INFORMED decisions, not just decisions. You HAVE to do your research!!! Ask all the right questions, and you’ll never meet an unexpected situation.

    Have a conversation with the Rep/Salesperson before you sign the contract & ask all those crazy questions you can possibly think of. MAKE them explain to you the details of any fees or assessorials. Ask them the “what if” questions. Essentially, make the Rep do their job. If you don’t’ understand the wording on your contract or a fee on your bill, MAKE THEM EXPLAIN IT IN PLAIN ENGLISH UNTIL YOU DO. They are trying to make the sale, so MAKE THEM make it. Don’t make it for them by just signing based on their initial pitch & rate quote.

    I guarantee that if you are informed, it not only prevents problems with service satisfaction, but also GIVES YOU BARGAINING LEVERAGE. My gaining knowledge on how this whole thing works has saved me thousands of dollars, as I was able to negotiate a ridiculous rate (around 2% of **TOTAL VOLUME**), and a service agreement that has ZERO EXTRA FEES. I basically pay my 2% and THATS IT. You can to, just DO YOUR HOMEWORK. Hope this helps!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  52. Wilbert

    By far the worst credit card transaction company. They are bunch of scammers who send you hidden fees every month and lock you in contracts. Don’t make the mistake we did by signing the contract with this company. Never said on front that it is for 3 years, one young woman called Mimi Moresteanu, came to our office, to offer the service, we found 3 months later that she shown to us only 2 pages of the 10 pages original contract, and a person named Maurice Hall thinks he owns the company and the whole world, poor judgment and very low education, it sound like an idiot, a ghetto person, what a shame to hire people like him.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  53. Roger Semro

    Absolutely the worst company to deal with.
    We signed on because there representative had been working for a year trying to get a program that would work seamlessly with Quickbooks. NABancard said there system would work with Quickbooks with no problem. We signed up in December 2010, we installed there software and we tried to make it work but it was so complicated that it was to difficult to use. We cancelled in January 2011 and they refunded our $129.95 set put fee. I sent them a cancellation letter in Feburary and I received a reply via email from there representative that our account had been cancelled. We are still getting deductions from our account. They told us that they did not have the correct form and that as soon as they had the correct form they would cancel. We sent them the correct form because now the letter that I wrote and the confirmed cancelation from there representative in February is not good enough. I received a letter September 9th 2011 confirming the cancelation and they still billed me on September 29th 2011. They also said that they could only credit 4 months worth of charges but they still continue to bill us.

    We never even processed one transation.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    1 / 1 found this review helpful.
  54. Jay Reed

    North American Bancard is a awsome company. They gave me free equipment and told the truth about processing. They saved my company over 300.oo a month and gave a full detailed ledger of my savings. By the way I had ten different companies review my processing statements and North American killed the others.
    Thanks! For the huge Savings….

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  55. Carol

    These people are a rip off. DO NOT sign a contract with them for processing as you will have to keep paying them even if you no longer have a business. They will just keep debiting your account forever unless you close it.
    Try Merchant Warehouse, Squareup, or some other company that has some integrity in order to meet your credit card processing needs.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    1 / 1 found this review helpful.
  56. Zijo Nils

    Terrible, terrible, terrible, terrible, company. Canceling the account was the last option for me since I know it will take a lot of my time to switch merchants. But I finally god fed up, and decided to dedicate whatever time is needed just to get rid of them. Their methods make me sick to my stomach.
    Now they made canceling the account a very hard task. Today I’m in the third day of trying just simply cancel my account.

    If you care about your time or money, NEVER, NEVER, NEVER, even think about signing up with NorthAmerican Bancard.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    1 / 1 found this review helpful.
  57. jessica

    HORRIBLE company! Worst customer service. They bungle EVERYTHING. They send the wrong forms, they misspell important words, they put you on hold forever, they charge hidden fees. I HATE dealing with them and can’t wait to switch.
    awful, awful, awful company!!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    1 / 1 found this review helpful.
  58. Erjon

    This is the worst credit card transaction company. They are bunch of scammers who send you hidden fees every month and lock you in contracts. Don’t make the mistake we did by signing the contract with this company.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    1 / 1 found this review helpful.
  59. Julie

    This company makes it’s profits by scamming people. I called and asked my account be closed in October 2010. The representative assured me it would be done in the next 30 days. She did not mention that I had to send a signed statement indicating I wanted the account closed.

    I called when I got another notification in December that my bank account had been debited $35.00 (normally 25.00) and was told that because I did not return the signed statement (never mentioned) , my account was still active. I informed both the operator, Michelle, and her manager Sheila, that I was never told I needed such statement and one had certainly never been sent to me. They happily emailed me a copy of said statement, acknowledged my call in October requesting the account be closed but refused to refund me the December withdrawl.

    I know $35.00 is not a huge sum of money, but I stopped using these North American Bancard two years ago because the service was unbelievably poor and I lost money on transactions. Unfortunately I was in a contract and paid the monthly fee. Now that I can finally “get out” they use deceptive tactics to squeeze as much money out of me as possible. More than likely they will debit my account in January as it “takes up 30 days” for the account to show inactive.

    Some of this is my fault for not researching this company in more depth, however, since googling fraud and North American Bancard and reading the many complaints from people who DID do all their homework, yet were still scammed, I am not sure any amount of research would make a difference. Learn from us and DO NOT do business with this company. They have no integrity.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    1 / 1 found this review helpful.
    1. HEATHER

      HELLO JULIE, WOW I ALMOST MADE A VERY BAD DECISION YESTERDAY AND I DID NOT DO MY OWN HOME WORK, MY BOSS SCHEDULED AN APPT WITH THIS COMPANY SO NEEDLESS TO SAY A YOUNG MAN SHOWED UP AT MY OFFICE AND MADE THINGS SEEM LIKE THIS COMPANY HAD OUR BEST INTEREST IN MIND, WRONG. AFTER READING YOUR COMMENT I AM VERY THANKFUL I SENT HIM PACKING INFACT MY BANK IS NOW OFFERING GREAT RATES FOR OUR COMPANY WICH THEY SHOULD HAVE ALREADY DONE BUT ITS A BANK AND THEY ALSO ARE ALL ABOUT THE MONEY. IT JUST MAKES MORE SINCE TO ME TO KEEP OUR FINANCES IN ONE GENERAL AREA “THE BANK” IM TAKING IN YOUR ADVISE. THIS COMPANY SHOULD BE ASHAMED OF THEM SELVES. THE REP WAS VERY ADAMANT ABOUT MAKING A DECISION IMMEDIATLEY AND THAT ALSO WAS VERY BOTHERSOME AND NOW READING ALL THESE COMMENTS IM VERY GREATFUL AND RELIEVED.

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

      1 / 1 found this review helpful.
  60. Amanda Holloway

    I sold some equipment in two charges of $1000. This exceeded my “transaction key limit” and so NA Bancard put the second $1000 charge into the ozone somewhere and I was routed to the Risk Department. The person their who thinks she owns NABancard is named Deanna.

    I have provided all the information requested including my customer’s phone number but Deanna is sitting on my transaction because of??? An attitude? Low pay? So now my customer has the merchandise at 50% of the agreed price. Thanks NA Bancard. You suck.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    1 / 1 found this review helpful.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

 
Follow Us
 :  :  :  : 
Sitemap | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | User Review & Comment Policy | FTC Disclosure
x 
Get Rate Quotes