DonorPerfect Review

Overview

DonorPerfect (donorperfect.com) is a donor management solution offered by a Pennsylvania-based software company called Softerware, Inc. DonorPerfect’s Insta-Charge payment gateway utilizes TransFirst as its default payment processor, which means that organizations may have some difficulty directly integrating their existing third-party processors with Insta-Charge. TransFirst was acquired by TSYS in April 2016 and was subsequently absorbed into the TSYS Merchant Solutions brand, so TSYS may now act as DonorPerfect’s backend processor. Softerware, Inc. is headquartered at 601 W Office Center Dr #200, Fort Washington, Pennsylvania 19034. Doug Schoenberg is the co-founder and CEO of DonorPerfect.

Key Points

  • Sales & Marketing: DonorPerfect does not appear to hire independent sales agents and has not received any complaints about its sales practices.
  • Costs & Contract: DonorPerfect appears to offer a month-to-month contract through TransFirst with no early termination fee.
  • Complaints & Service: DonorPerfect has received fewer than 10 public complaints.
  • BBB Rating: DonorPerfect has an “A+” rating with the Better Business Bureau and has received zero complaints in the past three years.
  • Rates & Fees: How Merchants Got The Best Rates With DonorPerfect

DonorPerfect Products and Services

Industries

  • Non-profit

Response from DonorPerfect

Are you with DonorPerfect? Add your own voice here!

a

Sales & Marketing

Key Points - Sales & Marketing

Employs Independent Resellers No
Advertises Deceptive Rates No
Discloses All Important Terms No

DonorPerfect offers payment processing through a partnership with TransFirst, meaning that NPOs who use DonorPerfect’s Insta-Charge gateway will be encouraged to set up a TransFirst or TSYS merchant account in order to accept cards through DonorPerfect. This model limits the amount of contact that organizations will have with TransFirst sales representatives, which is a factor in its favor. It also reduces the possibility that organizations will encounter misleading rate quotes or nondisclosure of important terms, as DonorPerfect does not utilize independent merchant services sales agents to market its services.

At this time, we cannot find any DonorPerfect complaints that mention misrepresentation or deception by the company’s sales team. In addition, the company’s official materials do not promote any “teaser” rates or unrealistic claims.

Response from DonorPerfect

Are you with DonorPerfect? Add your own voice here!

DonorPerfect Marketing Example

b

Costs & Contract

Key Points - Costs & Contract

Swiped Rate 2.99% + $0.20
Keyed-in Rate 2.99% + $0.20
Early Termination Fee Variable
PCI Compliance Fee Unknown
Equipment Lease Terms None

According to an Insta-Charge sales sheet (available below), the standard pricing of a TransFirst merchant account through DonorPerfect includes a $95 setup fee, a $10 monthly fee, and a per-transaction fee of 2.99% plus $0.20. An additional per-transaction fee of $0.25 is assessed for transactions that require an authorization. A company representative has contacted us to say that this pricing information is outdated, but the representative neglected to provide current rates and fees to replace it. It is unclear at this time whether a long-term contract, early termination fee, or PCI compliance fee is included in this agreement, but it seems unlikely that an equipment lease will be involved due to the fact that the Insta-Charge software is an internet-based virtual terminal.

This pricing is fairly average for the credit card processing industry, and the per-transaction cost of 2.99% plus $0.20 is higher than that found in most flat-rate pricing structures. The linked sales sheet does mention that higher-volume organizations might qualify for reduced pricing, but it does not specify exact benchmarks for this type of reduction.

It appears possible for organizations to utilize a payment processor besides TransFirst, but Softerware warns that this solution is potentially more expensive in the “Commonly Asked Questions” section of the sales sheet:

We have integrated and partnered with a leading credit card processor to provide the necessary online merchant account. Integrating with other processor merchant accounts is possible, but generally cost-prohibitive.

Given this warning, it appears that the software’s pricing through TransFirst is its best available option.

DonorPerfect offers multiple monthly pricing plans of increasing cost and corresponding increases in available features: “Express” ($159 per month for up to 2,500 donor records), “Essential” ($269 per month for up to 7,500 donor records), and “Premier” ($459 per month for up to 25,000 donor records). These pricing tiers appear to be independent of the company’s merchant account pricing.

Since DonorPerfect’s available listed pricing is average for the industry at best, we have lowered its score in this section to a “B.” However, it should be noted that the complete lack of online complaints regarding DonorPerfect’s credit card processing solution indicates that the majority of the company’s customers are currently satisfied with the rates and fees they pay. See DonorPerfect’s Insta-Charge Pricing.

Response from DonorPerfect

Are you with DonorPerfect? Add your own voice here!

a

Complaints & Service

Key Points - Complaints & Service

Total Online Complaints <10
Live Customer Support Yes
Most Common Complaint N/A

We are able to locate only two DonorPerfect reviews online, and there is no evidence that the software is considered to be a ripoff by nonprofit organizations. In fact, DonorPerfect has overwhelmingly positive reviews on most independent user forums. Users praise its scalable pricing, detailed reports, central donor database, seamless updates, and customer service in particular. Two complaints found in the comment section below this review cite difficulty migrating to DonorPerfect from a previous processor, inadequate customer support, and poor product design as the primary factors behind their negative reviews.

DonorPerfect offers basic maintenance support for all of its pricing plans, but organizations can pay a variable monthly fee for full support (phone, email, chat, automatic backups) or premium support (24-hour emergency support, 2-hour response time guaranteed). Although we do not typically approve of companies charging their customers for support, it seems that in this case DonorPerfect’s staff has been able to justify the added expense.

Response from DonorPerfect

Are you with DonorPerfect? Add your own voice here!

a

BBB

Key Points - BBB

Product & Service Complaints 0
Billing & Collection Complaints 0
Advertising & Sales Complaints 0
Guarantee & Warranty Complaints 0
Delivery Complaints 0

DonorPerfect does not have a dedicated Better Business Bureau report, but its developer, Softerware, Inc., does. Softerware currently has an “A+” with the BBB and is showing zero complaints in the last three years. The BBB cites Softerware’s length of time in operation as a major factor in its high rating (Softerware, Inc. was founded in 1981). Softerware has also not received any informal reviews on its BBB profile. In light of this information, we agree with the BBB’s rating of “A+.”

Response from DonorPerfect

Are you with DonorPerfect? Add your own voice here!

DonorPerfect Logo

DonorPerfect Bottom Line

DonorPerfect rates as a reliable donor management service for most nonprofit organizations according to user feedback. The company’s standard credit card processing solution through TransFirst isn’t especially competitive in its pricing, but it seems the company makes up for this with solid software and support. Despite the company’s high grade, NPOs should be sure to read and understand all contract terms through both DonorPerfect and TransFirst (or TSYS) before signing up for service.

Phillip Parker is a former merchant services sales agent who believes the industry has been overrun by people who engage in fraud and deception in order to steal from hard working business owners. He created this website to help you avoid the bad players, save money on fees, and to get peace of mind with your merchant account. If you would like to help support his work, learn more about our cost reduction service. We can evaluate your statement, tell you exactly how much you're overpaying, and then help you dramatically reduce your fees with your current credit card processor. Looking to switch instead? See our list of the best merchant account providers.

Schedule a Consultation with Phillip

2 Reviews Leave Your Review for DonorPerfect Below

    Eliminate hidden fees and mistakes without switching merchant accounts. Get a free statement audit today to see how much you are overpaying.

  1. Carl says:

    Horrible product. It clearly has been put together with band aids and crazy glue.

    DO NOT get involved with this product, It is an absolute nightmare. Integration with other programs is worse than bad.

    Support can only answer basic questions as they are not allowed to actually help. The support group are good people. But their hands are tied by the faceless development team who have no idea waht they want this product to be.

    STAY AWAY. It’s too late for me. But do not get involved with this horrible product.

  2. Jack says:

    Is this the right software for us?
    We were using Access and switched to Donor Perfect. There was no conversion support to walk me thru how Access compares to Donor Perfect, especially with reports. We have no down time as donations needed to be posted in the system. Our training was scheduled one month after conversion, leaving me to call support for guidance. And, we paid extra for training! We have a simple format, and I just needed the basics. I’m not sure of the value gained as I continue to lose productivity by constantly searching for a solution. I continue to struggle with running reports having to rely on help online, not intuitive. Maybe we should have had DP write all the reports before we converted? They had our data for a few weeks and could see our reporting needs. Is it “Buyer be ware?”

Leave a Review for DonorPerfect

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please do not use profanity or ALL CAPITAL LETTERS in your review. Reviews must provide a detailed account of your experience. By submitting a review or comment to CPO, you are agreeing to our Comment Policy.