Overview

Founded in 2008, ShopKeep (shopkeep.com) is a cloud-based point-of-sale (POS) system for iPad. ShopKeep is designed for businesses in the service and small retail industries, although it is by no means limited to these business types. ShopKeep offers a bundled merchant account service called ShopKeep Payments, but its POS software can also be integrated with most other credit card processors without issue. ShopKeep is headquartered at 460 Park Avenue South, 7th Floor New York, New York 10016. Jason Richelson is listed as the founder and CEO of ShopKeep.

Key Points

  • Sales & Marketing: ShopKeep does not appear to hire independent sales representatives and has received only a few complaints about its sales practices.
  • Costs & Contract: ShopKeep offers a month-to-month agreement with optional add-ons and no early termination fee.
  • Complaints & Service: ShopKeep has received more than 50 public complaints.
  • BBB Rating: ShopKeep has an “A+” rating with the Better Business Bureau and has received 46 complaints in the past three years.
  • Rates & Fees: How Merchants Got The Best Rates With ShopKeep

ShopKeep Products and Services

  • MailChimp and QuickBooks integration
  • Always Online mode
  • Inventory management
  • Employee/hours management
  • Digital receipts
  • Custom menus

Industries

  • Retail
  • Restaurant
  • Quick Service
  • Bar
  • Cafe
  • E-cigarette

Response from ShopKeep

Are you with ShopKeep? Add your own voice here!

a

Sales & Marketing

Key Points - Sales & Marketing

Employs Independent Resellers No
Advertises Deceptive Rates No
Discloses All Important Terms No

ShopKeep does not appear to utilize independently contracted sales agents to market its services. Like most POS software providers, the company advertises monthly per-register pricing for its iPad-based register. ShopKeep does not actively advertise rates for its bundled credit card processing service (“ShopKeep Payments”), but it does state that all merchants will receive a customized interchange-plus rate. Merchants should understand that although ShopKeep’s monthly per-register pricing is all-inclusive and transparently quoted, there are other costs like per-transaction fees and monthly fees that will be associated with accepting credit cards through the service. This will be the case whether a merchant uses the company’s own ShopKeep Payments service or an integrated third-party payment processor.

Some recent complaints have stated that ShopKeep’s in-house sales team either failed to disclose the cost of one of the product’s add-on features or misrepresented how well-suited the product would be for the merchant’s business type. This does not seem to indicate a pattern of outright deception, but it does suggest that ShopKeep’s sales team may not describe their product as thoroughly as they should. Merchants should therefore be sure to ask very clear questions about the add-on features they will need and the charges they will see on their bill, and to resist any upsell attempts or rushed sales pitches.

Response from ShopKeep

Are you with ShopKeep? Add your own voice here!

ShopKeep Marketing Example

a

Costs & Contract

Key Points - Costs & Contract

Swiped Rate Variable
Keyed-in Rate Variable
Early Termination Fee Variable
PCI Compliance Fee Variable
Software Cost $69 Per Month

ShopKeep offers a free fourteen-day trial of its software, after which the service costs a flat $69 per register per month. Additional costs for merchants may include the early termination fees, PCI compliance fees, transaction fees, and monthly minimums enforced by their chosen credit card processors (or by ShopKeep Payments), and there could be hardware costs for merchants who require compatible barcode scanners, cash drawers, receipt printers, card swipers, or iPad stands. However, ShopKeep’s $69 monthly fee includes real-time sales analytics, inventory management, staff management, unlimited users, unlimited inventory, and customer support. One recent complaint mentions that the company’s QuickBooks integration feature costs $30 per month, which increases ShopKeep’s monthly costs by nearly half. Merchants should be sure to understand the full costs and capabilities of any add-on services they sign up for.

Overall, ShopKeep is competitively priced as an all-around cloud POS solution, and its simple flat rate makes it an excellent fit for smaller merchants. There are very few specifics available regarding its payment processing service, but it does not seem like an area of concern among most reviewers. If you have had any experience with the standard ShopKeep contract, please share it in the comment section below.

Response from ShopKeep

Are you with ShopKeep? Add your own voice here!

b

Complaints & Service

Key Points - Complaints & Service

Total Online Complaints 50+
Live Customer Support Yes
Most Common Complaint Limited Features

There are currently over 50 ShopKeep POS negative reviews to be found on this and other consumer protection forums, but none of these complaints describe the service as a scam or a ripoff. The iPad app has a 3.5 out of 5 star rating overall on the iTunes App Store based on 28 ratings. By far the most common issue cited is a lack of necessary features, followed closely by software and hardware glitches. As of this review, ShopKeep POS does not support multiple sales tax rates, online store integration, product exchanges, or detailed sales reports by item, all of which are cited by some merchants as necessary functions. In addition, some complainants report malfunctioning hardware and unreliable software. There has also been a rash of recent complaints about slow response times and a lack of resolution through the company’s customer support channels. ShopKeep claims to offer 24/7/365 support, but its support page strongly emphasizes email support tickets, live chat, and live text message support and does not seem to provide a dedicated phone number.

Response from ShopKeep

Are you with ShopKeep? Add your own voice here!

b

BBB

Key Points - BBB

Product & Service Complaints 33
Billing & Collection Complaints 11
Advertising & Sales Complaints 1
Guarantee & Warranty Complaints 0
Delivery Complaints 1

Note: We have adjusted this company’s BBB rating according to our own standards. To better understand why we adjust BBB ratings, please see our Rating Criteria.

ShopKeep currently maintains an “A+” rating with the Better Business Bureau based on 46 complaints filed in the past three years. The company has been accredited with the BBB since 2011, when the BBB first created its profile for ShopKeep. Thirty-three of the total complaints are related to product or service problems, 11 are due to billing or collection disputes, one is a delivery issue, and one has to do with an advertising or sales issue. Seven complaints were resolved to the satisfaction of the merchant, while the other 39 either were resolved to the dissatisfaction of the merchant or did not receive a final evaluation from the merchant. In light of these figures, we have slightly adjusted the BBB’s rating to a “B.”

Response from ShopKeep

Are you with ShopKeep? Add your own voice here!

ShopKeep POS Logo

ShopKeep Bottom Line

ShopKeep rates as a reliable point-of-sale solution for small businesses. The system appears to be an affordable option for merchants who do not require online store integration or multiple sales tax rates, and its customer service has received mostly praise from reviewers. ShopKeep POS may not be a good choice for merchants who require more robust feature offerings or very unique point of sale needs, so merchants should be sure to research the full host of features provided by ShopKeep and take advantage of the free trial. For more information, visit Shopkeep’s website.

Phillip Parker is a former merchant services sales agent who believes the industry has been overrun by people who engage in fraud and deception in order to steal from hard working business owners. He created this website to help you avoid the bad players, save money on fees, and to get peace of mind with your merchant account. If you would like to help support his work, learn more about our cost reduction service. We can evaluate your statement, tell you exactly how much you're overpaying, and then help you dramatically reduce your fees with your current credit card processor. Looking to switch instead? See our list of the best merchant account providers.

Schedule a Consultation with Phillip

35 Reviews Leave Your Review for ShopKeep Below

    Eliminate hidden fees and mistakes without switching merchant accounts. Get a free statement audit today to see how much you are overpaying.

  1. Kevin Heck says:

    ABSOLUTELY THE WORST EVER!!! Issue after Issue. Tons of $ per the annual fee and every update = a new issue. App crashes consistently. Had to buy new routers for CC reader to work. Still goes offline bi weekly. Boots my Apple music playlist with EVERY transaction! Doesn’t update inventory properly. Had to buy new ipads to support APP. $$$$$$$$. Call customer service and you will just receive excuse after excuse. LOL, they said that you should ONLY run the shopkeep app on the ipad and no other apps, playlists or anything! WOW ….OH and Now they charge you an additonal $15 a month fee cause we switched to another CC processing as Shopkeep’s fees are crazy!!!!!SCAM. HORRIBLE. WORST PRODUCT EVER!!!!


    From The Editor
    This Post Might Help: Best iPad Point of Sale

  2. Cosmo says:

    During the process of signing up, they were having a promotion for $500 off hardware. Great! I needed the whole package. Then the sales rep said as a separate service, they have their own credit card processor and they would beat my credit card processing rate if I switched to them. Sent them my last statement and he said no, they can’t beat it afterall. Okay… so he overpromised. I could overlook that but starting to feel wary of his word. I went to proceed with the setup and suddenly the sales rep said I don’t qualify for the $500 discount because I’m not switching to their credit card processor. The deal suddenly had a catch. What a liar. Trust gone. This company is so dishonest. Taking my business elsewhere.

  3. Eliminate hidden fees and mistakes without switching merchant accounts. Get a free statement audit today to see how much you are overpaying.

  4. Dave Fitz says:

    Shopkeep’s claim of no cancellation fee is a bold faced lie. There is a $500 cancellation fee. The front end of their POS is adequate. The back end is the worst. It takes me hours each week to balance my transactions. It has been a nightmare,

  5. ShopKeep deliberately mislead my business on two major features. First they told me it was Quickbooks integrated. I was never told until after I purchased that Quickbooks integration was an additional monthly charge. Even for that monthly charge the only thing ShopKeep does is send Quickbooks a journal entry with daily sales and how much the drawer was short. This takes around 1 minute to do manually. Second I was told that ShopKeep has the ability to enter in purchase orders and track inventory. It does not. When you get an order the only way to add the inventory is one line at a time without the ability to show a total for an invoice or look back at a later date to see was received and how much. I honestly do not understand how ShopKeep could work for any retail establishment. In the end with these major complaints ShopKeep would not refund one penny for my pre-paid annual subscription that I will not use. ShopKeeo cost me over $3,500 in usable hardware, yearly subscription and labor.

    1. ShopKeep has since fully taken care of my issues with the highest level of customer service.

      They refunded my full year subscription.

  6. Eliminate hidden fees and mistakes without switching merchant accounts. Get a free statement audit today to see how much you are overpaying.

  7. Randy wood says:

    Worst system ever credit card machine constantly becomes disconnected we have been entering card manually for months with no help from shop keep what a rip off why di they not have on site techs

  8. Adam says:

    I’ve used shopkeep for almost two years without serious issues. I can verify almost everything the other reviews say. The wireless credit card reader will die within 30 minutes of not being plugged in. The inventory will be randomly off sometimes. The customer service staff isn’t very helpful and the app is missing some basic functionality that most other POS systems have. I haven’t had issues with credit card processing and actually think that part of them works well. But now they are raising the monthly fee from $49 to $69 a month. They are offering a prepayment for a min of two years to lock in the $49 rate. But they can’t tell me for sure if the other integrations will or will not go up in price. I need to know this before locking myself in and paying over a $1000 up front. I also want to know what happens if they go out of business or are acquired. Is it spelled out in a contract? Aside from this I have had the BigCommerce integration for over a month and it hasn’t worked. They have supposedly expedited this issue to their to QA team over 30 days ago but have yet to resolve the issue or let me know what is going on in any substantial way. I’ve requested a Manager call me back and they just send an email making it not possible to answer my other questions. All I want is to talk to someone knowledgable on the phone for 30 min to resolve all my issues so I can make an informed decision about doing business with this company for another 2 years.

  9. Eliminate hidden fees and mistakes without switching merchant accounts. Get a free statement audit today to see how much you are overpaying.

  10. RAJ says:

    I have recorded the call from one of your reps and told her about this. I wish I could upload somewhere. These people are very good liars. I had asked for a temporary access to my account as I needed to download the reports. The Rep said ” Sure you shall have temporary access for 72 hrs. I downloaded the reports and after 4 months I see my bank statements and they have been charging me $69 every month. I Called them and they said This is our policy that if you don’t call us in 72 hours We start charging. Who the hell keeps the payment records once you have canceled the account permanently.
    SHAME ON SHOPKEEP!!
    These fraudulent business practices are never going to help you grow. Stop this fraud.

  11. melanie mcwhorter says:

    We switched from square to shopkeep, because the backoffice of shopkeep was supposed to be better and our business is growing to multiple locations. Unfortunately, we will be going back to square. Shopkeeps customer services has been awful. They are taking over 4% in processing fees and will not let me talk to someone because I refuse to pay for a premium account just to get the issue resolved. I thought shopkeep was known for their great customer service, but switching from square was an absolute nightmare. Wasted $600 in hardware to try it out.

  12. Eliminate hidden fees and mistakes without switching merchant accounts. Get a free statement audit today to see how much you are overpaying.

  13. Marie York says:

    We were with a different payment processor that we were satisfied with. The ShopKeep sales person tried to convince me that ShopKeep’s payment processing would cost less by undercutting our current processor’s fees, but that I had the option to continue using my own processor. I said I’d opt for deciding after I received my card swipe attachment then. I understood we weren’t to be billed for anything we didn’t use and would still have the option to begin the service. Although we hadn’t even set up the equipment, and continued with our own payment processor, ShopKeep began to charge us monthly for the service. When I told them to stop and offered to buy out the contract in full because we were closing the business 5 months into it, they refused and said I had to make payments for the remaining 12 months according to the contract. This means we are getting charged far more for nothing than what our previous processor charged us, and this was definitely not at all what the salesperson claimed.

  14. Michelle Kruse says:

    WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE EVER EXPERIENCED!
    I have been a successful business owner for more than 10 years. After adding a new line of business I decided to go with a POS system and chose Shopkeep. Their sales team was responsive and professional. I purchased the software and accessories. All was well until it came to use it. After experiencing a few technical issues I tried contacting customer support to resolve them. Thats where it fell apart. I called the support line a dozen times only to hear a voice mail stating they were closed for the day (a weekday at 11am) or the wait would be 30 to 45 minutes. Several times I waited for 45 minutes with no answer. I emailed the support team with no return email or phone call. At this point I don’t believe they even have a support team. DO NOT purchase this product!!!

  15. Eliminate hidden fees and mistakes without switching merchant accounts. Get a free statement audit today to see how much you are overpaying.

  16. Ahmed says:

    I have two stores and i am using shopkeep for 6 months now
    In both of them.
    It toke me 2 months to finish my stores inventory and entering it into shopkeep.
    One day the synchronization between the ipad and backoffice stopped, there was transactions on queue.
    I called the support, he guided me to keep pressing on force update button.
    It didn’t work, then he asked me to uninstall the app and install it back again.
    I did that, the queue is empty,
    Because the transactions was deleted !!!!
    The support replied oooops
    We shouldn’t do that.
    Now i have incorrect inventory on shopkeep.
    I have to recount all items one more time and enter it into shopkeep.
    Shopkeep doesn’t respond to my emails or my calls.
    Every time i call the support, somebody says one of our supervisors will call back.
    And never happens.

  17. Kevin says:

    The worst company ever! From the very beginning we had issues with CC reader working and had to buy (2) separate routers to allow the wireless CC reader to connect and to process cards. Seriously?? I was advised from SHOPKEEP from the very beginning (during on boarding process) that I was going to be charged $29 a month for monthly maintenance….WRONG… it was for the ability to process gift cards?!!? Really??? Finally, my inventory in the back office is consistently off and today I was advised that I must be imagining this as its impossible and not happening….interesting I must be hallucinating. The managers are rude and take NO accountability for what is going on. Some of the customer care reps are rude and demeaning. Yes I pay SHOPKEEP $ so the staff can talk to me rudely and/or ignore emails. If you want a company that will cause you CONSTANT issues and $ then SHOPKEEP is you POS system!!

  18. Eliminate hidden fees and mistakes without switching merchant accounts. Get a free statement audit today to see how much you are overpaying.

  19. David says:

    Shopkeep will not work correctly in a large restaurant environment of 18 ipads, even though they sold it to us anyway stating it would. I am still battling the issue of Shopkeep billing me even after I cancelled in July of 2016, they still owe me $4,065 and are stating it’s my fault that they continued to bill after I sent a registered letter stating that I cancelled. I know the product works very well in smaller settings, just make sure you are aware that they have big problems resolving any billing issues that affect them should they arise.

  20. mike says:

    They will fail to tell you during the sales presentation that the automatic Quickbooks integration is an additional $30/mo. When you complain about them failing to mention this to you, they will recommend manually exporting the data to CSV and importing it to Quickbooks. However, this data can not be imported into Quickbooks – this was verified with Quickbooks phone support. When you tell Shopkeep support that “manual integration” doesn’t work either, they will tell you that some of their customers find it easier to manually enter sales line by line. False advertising and horrible support, I will be looking for a new product.

  21. Eliminate hidden fees and mistakes without switching merchant accounts. Get a free statement audit today to see how much you are overpaying.

  22. Domata says:

    Shopkeep has HORRIBLE customer service. I cancelled my gift card service with them which I did not want from th beginning. I regret letting the pushy sales person really bother me into taking it. I knew I didn’t need it. So I cancelled before being card the monthly service fee. Of course it was not cancelled properly on their end so they kept charging me. I’m still after almost a month fighting to get me refund on the fees charged for this service. I love their system but God forbid you n ed service to resolve a concern good lick!

  23. Keely Butler says:

    I am a new small business that wanted to get a system in place to help me out. DO NOT USE THIS POS!!! POS will not stand for point of sale with this system.
    The use of the product is decent enough, definitely lacking some common sense applications (no export of payroll, clock in not required to start tickets, tickets open doesn’t prevent reporting, etc).
    The customer service is a joke. They say that they have 24/7, yet you have to wait at least 12 hours for an email response.
    The system itself doesn’t track all the tickets, but that is no concern of “customer service”, hey it isn’t their money that is lost.
    VERY DISAPPOINTED!!!!!

  24. Eliminate hidden fees and mistakes without switching merchant accounts. Get a free statement audit today to see how much you are overpaying.

  25. Benjamin Murphy says:

    PLEASE READ BEFORE BUYING:

    If anybody is buying SHOPKEEP for any type of retail environment please know that it is literally impossible to run a successful business with this software. The following are functions SHOPKEEP does not have: -NO record of receiving vouchers….cannot receive inventory, you can only add quantities in the system. -NO way to create Return Authorizations or credits -NO PO’S “PURCHASE ORDERS”. What retail shop can operate without keeping track of purchasing? -NO WAY TO DO EXCHANGES…..YEP, you cannot do the basic task of exchanging an item for another. This has to be done on multiple receipts……..please tell me what retail shop can operate like this. -NO way to have basic reports of size, color, style, vendor, etc. Very limited reports. -NO way to have commission on individual items for employees. I am so fed up with this company as a whole because of the way they have handled my situation. My Shopkeep expert assigned to me has not gotten back to my emails, and totally misrepresented the software in order to make a sale. This wouldn’t be a big deal if I could get my money and move on, but SHOPKEEP stated this is not an option. FYI I have had the system for only 10 days, but paid a year in advance.

    1. Fawn Raab says:

      THANK YOU VERY MUCH! I Truly appreciate your honestly.

  26. 808 Boards says:

    Customer service is a joke. We are unable to process credit cards because Shopkeep is too ignorant to change one code on their end. All they can do is blame someone else.

  27. Eliminate hidden fees and mistakes without switching merchant accounts. Get a free statement audit today to see how much you are overpaying.

  28. renee thomas says:

    Horrible set up issues. After you pay for shopkeep, $590 per register, it takes forever to get customer service. Wish I would have found another company to get my POS system from. Totally not worth it. Wasted money & wasted time. HATE Shopkeep.

  29. Brittaney says:

    While getting setup with shopkeep I informed the sales person the size of my warehouse that I planned to used this system. I explained the square footage and the fact that I will be opening a bigger warehouse with retail space. I was told that shopkeep will work with my setup with no issues. I had to run out and get an iPad to use as the register. I had to also purchase very expensive scanners (socket brand) that was shopkeep’s recommended and supported device. After doing my research on the scanners I discovered that I would need the scanner model that had over 300ft Bluetooth range (7Di). I purchased two and started counting and getting my inventory going only after a month of starting the service. I started noticing that the scanners weren’t scanning every item that I had counted (at this time only 15 items out of 2000) I had to recount these items for the next week because inventory was off. I called shopkeep’s customer service line a few times asking them what the issue could be. I was told it was my labels first that because I didn’t have specific dymo brand labels my scanner would have issues because of the way the barcodes were printed. I told the customer service rep that they didn’t work one day and then would work the next. I was then told that the scanners I had were not supported nor could they be guaranteed compatible with shopkeep’s interface and that they were unable to help me since I did not have a supported scanner. This is when I started to get frustrated because there are a lot of Bluetooth scanners out there, some much cheaper than socket, and with more range than the socket brand but I decided to try and stay with a brand they support to have the best experience with shopkeep. To prove my point I went out and got one of their recommended scanner models. When I started shopkeep and was told that I would have no issues with my size warehouse or future size warehouse I decided to pay for the full year March 2016-March 2017. Of course there was a small discount because I paid it all in full. Now I’m being told that because I paid ahead of time that shopkeep will NOT be able to refund me or cancel my account until March of next year. I feel this is unacceptable. This system hasn’t worked for me since day one constantly not scanning items out. Today I took my own time to scan the items (with the model that is supported by shopkeep) that have been counted when I could have been doing something else with my time and 20 out of 63 items were not accounted for. As a business owner myself, I’m appalled at how this company is taking care of this matter. It’s never been a fault on their end, they always point the finger at me.

    1. Joe Menaldi says:

      just bought shopkeep for 3 stores and i can tell u it’s the worst decision i have ever made, I have all the same problems and is a nightmare if your business doesn’t run exactly how their software is setup. THey set me up with wrong equipment and made me pay for equipment again while waiting on the right equipment and for credit. There
      to big and no one cares they have support that has no follow through or solution.
      I would compare it to dealing with the government it’s their way or tuff shit.
      i would give u a star rating if i thought they deserved one but if i had to then a scratch off one star and thats being kind.

      save your money vegas is a better investment then shopkeep.

  30. Eliminate hidden fees and mistakes without switching merchant accounts. Get a free statement audit today to see how much you are overpaying.

  31. Krissy says:

    ABSOLUTE WORST customer service EVER. I called because my card swiper was malfunctioning and I was told that the card swiper I had chosen wasn’t very good and that if I wanted a reliable one, I should upgrade to another unit.
    Also, when I initially set up my account, I chose Shopkeep because I already had several iPads from my old POS system. I ordered the equipment, notifying my rep that I used Ipad 2s. He sent equipment for IPad Air and when I called, I was told that I would have to upgrade my iPads because they no longer accommodate old technology. When I asked about changing my service level to a single register license because I wouldn’t be buying SEVERAL new iPads, I was told that I had signed a contract for multiple registers and there was nothing I could do to get out of it. You do not want to do business with a company this inflexible. I HIGHLY discourage doing business with them!

  32. Nishal Nandwani says:

    Like with someone else on the reviews, Shopkeep pretty much deceived me. They’re very nice and polite, which makes you trust them. I asked the Shopkeep rep Henry Rossof to sign me up. He said there is an annual option and a monthly option. I specifically said I wanted to pay per month. He understood this as pay per month on an annual contract! Now I’m stuck with Shopkeep for a year. They did send me a contract to sign, but being at my place of business on a very busy day, I didn’t take the time to read it. (That’s my mistake) But he didn’t even mention that there’s an option for monthly payment on an annual contract vs the plain monthly payment option. I made the assumption, trusting his politeness. I’m giving everyone a warning to watch out with this company.

    After talking to a manager, she simply wouldn’t consider the misunderstanding, basically saying live with it, even though I said the app is completely useless for my business needs. They keep mentioning “legally binding” but of course, if they’re willing, they can opt to cancel the contract as agreed by both parties. Didn’t happen! That’s customer service for these folks.

    The only good thing is their competitive price, but for this service, pay a little higher for honestly much better service and definitely a much more useful POS. Theirs don’t have matrix inventory, no automatic promotions. Basic retail stuff. I might as well create an excel sheet to do that, but I’m stuck with this for 1 year! They said they’ll be adding matrix inventory, but couldn’t even give me a timeframe.

    Basically, check all avenues prior to signing up to Shopkeep, and be utterly careful with what they say vs. what actually comes out in writing.

  33. Eliminate hidden fees and mistakes without switching merchant accounts. Get a free statement audit today to see how much you are overpaying.

  34. Garden Store says:

    I purchased and set up ShopKeep for my store about a year ago. There were some initial hick ups but our advisor helped to clear up our initial issues. What we were not told however was that the adviser only lasted 2 weeks(the length of their free trial). This was upsetting because their 24/7 on call support team, seemingly consisted of a group of teenagers to early twenty year olds who had never used the program before. I had the IT Manager for my store calling and working with them every other day and he was answering more of their questions than they could answer of his. Each phone call ended with a “well try this and maybe it’ll work. If not just call us back”. What I don’t think they understand is that each time we have to call them, there is a 15 minute wait(minimum) and then another 15+ minutes of giving our account information and re-explaining the issue that is occurring. It doesn’t appear that they take notes over calls or if they do, not detailed ones. The option to upload Excel spreadsheets to enter your inventory and to make changes was a very appealing feature for us. The downside of that feature being that there is a 1/100 success rate. Very rarely would the spreadsheet succeed in uploading and then when it did, it would take 7/564 items(Our last upload attempt), leaving us to manually enter a vast majority of our stock individually. To top it all off, every month ShopKeep was sending out notices about their “EMV Promise” and Newsletters about how the EMV Chips were coming and how ShopKeep “Has us covered”. As I am writing this post (5/19/2016) they still do not have compatibility for EMV chips or the ability to read them. About 2 months ago, we had an issue with an EMV card chargeback. The card read as correct and a few days after the transaction we received emails from our payment processor and bank, stating that the transaction didn’t go through and we got hit with a $5000 loss of inventory from that transaction. Our bank refused to reimburse due to the card being EMV chip enabled and not being processed using an EMV chip reader. So, we contacted ShopKeep to let them know of the situation and so that we could be re-imbursed(As their EMV Promise stated). They then informed us that they will not be fulfilling their end of the EMV Promise because the transaction was over $500 and because we didn’t use the EMV Reader to read the card(keep in mind that their software is not compatible with EMV Readers yet). Everything with this company is a gimmick. I haven’t even touched on how buggy the POS interface is or how god awful back office is. BackOffice is constantly crashing or will slow to a halt while you’re in the middle of using it. I have had to re-enter countless items and re-do several forms because of their buggy website.

    1. Chip reader rip-off says:

      Ditto on the Shopkeep EMV promise and chip-reader which they STILL cannot support months after I bought it with the promise that it would work and WAS supported. Meantime, I’m stuck with chargebacks. I feel cheated by this bunch.

    2. Bakery & Retail Operation says:

      Approaching 2nd year with ShopKeep. I believe the rating ShopKeep is getting from this service is Pay-To-Play, they do not deserve this rating. ShopKeep’s Ipad terminal is rather easy to use, but the back office capability is lagging behind the competition. Not the ideal choice if you have robust inventory demands. Currently no purchase order capability but in item setup it is linking to all the data fields you would assume could create purchase orders and receive the items much better than the current inventory option. Hardware integration has been a major issue with our single location. The ICMP Card reader had to be replaced and is very temperamental on a weekly basis. An earlier review mentioned the problems they encountered trying to enter inventory by bulk with an excel upload. We encountered the same issues with successful transfers forcing us to just set up items individually. To Shopkeep’s credit they did introduce an upgrade that allows you to set up items with variables to avoid having to individually set up each item of different size or color. This function is only good if your items have UPC codes, otherwise the dymo labelwriter will not print labels without having to go to Dymo site and become a programmer. You can look at earlier reviews that are spot on about the deterioration of customer service. They are quick to point finger at hardware manufacturer’s Apple, Ingenico, Socket, and Dymo, so you get bounced back and forth trying to correct your issues. Average call time for support to pick up is 20 minutes. Backoffice support directs you to a telephone number and then you receive a message for existing customers to call 929-371-3744. Will likely look for alternative POS.

      1. Jen says:

        Have you had any luck finding a new provider? I signed up w/ ShopKeep in Feb 2017. Like many features, but have had a horrible time with label printing. It is ridiculously inefficient. Took me 2 hours to print out labels for one order (35 skus/total of 198 pieces) b/c with variants you can’t print more than one sticker per sku. Have to create extra lines in an excel spreadsheet for the # of units , then upload, select individual lines, recreate the sticker. Also, with Dymo & variants, you can only print a 1 1/2″ inch by 1″ sticker (nothing smaller or jewelry labels). Very few of my skus are that large or require such a large sticker. I’ve been super busy in my first 2 months. Have given up completely printing labels and just writing them out by hand and using misc taxable to process customer sales. Pathetic! Customer Service blamed it on Dymo. Finally one guy at Shopkeep admitted that I was correct and that Shopkeep’s label printing sucks. Ugh! Furious and feeling taken advantage of.

  35. Andrew B says:

    While the product they offer is really intuitive and great for a small business use extreme caution when entering into a contract with shopkeep as they use very deceptive sales practice with. They will do and say whatever it takes to lock you into a contract and then not follow through with the terms or let you out of the contract based on those statements. I was quoted that they only charge interchange + .06 for a CC fee. I specifically asked about other fees that are not considered interchange by CC companies, but instead considered ‘in addition’ to. They informed me the only fees I will get charged are true interchange +.06.

    Upon receiving a bill with those additional NABU, APF fees, I contacted their support team. Only to be told by their rep the following (copied directly from email). This was following our phone call where he basically told me ‘it is what it is, deal with it’

    ‘The point is the fact that these fees are not in our control. They are charged by the card brands themselves and anything the the card brands charge are considered interchanges as its the wholesale rate of the card. Also note that it says these fees are across the board for all merchants.’

    He sent me an attachment which says the exact opposite, and states fee’s are in addition to, not considered part of.

    ‘There was plenty of negative publicity surrounding the NABU and APF fees when they were first implemented, since this money is in addition to the interchange fees you’re are already being assessed by the issuer’s bank and the card brand network for the part they play in processing your credit card transactions. These fees are the same across the board for all merchants, and they will appear on your monthly credit card processing statement, usually as a separate line item. You may see them listed as NABU, APF, Network Access Fee, or VS APF-CR indicating the charge was made with a Visa credit card, or VS APF-DB for a Visa debit card.’

    After a couple more emails expressing my displeasure of the deceptive marketing, and then not being let out of my contract (The fee’s not being part of it, was the only reason I signed the contract to begin with). I received a call from Mike Rosenbloom, their VP of Channel. While apologetic, he chalks it up to a ‘training issue’. That is not acceptable to take an issue of deceptive marketing and call it a training issue. At the very least they should have offered the opportunity to end the year long contract, but all they offered was a $20 statement credit, which was not the point. I wasn’t looking for a freebie, which may placate some customers. What makes the issue right is allowing the opportunity to get out of a contract that you only signed based on the information the sales rep pushed you.

    I would not use their product in the future after my contract ends, and would strongly urge you to find another option as well. At the end of the day, shopkeep is not what they claim, and are just another company taking advantage of a small business by offering one thing and delivering another.

  36. Eliminate hidden fees and mistakes without switching merchant accounts. Get a free statement audit today to see how much you are overpaying.

  37. GREG says:

    CAUTION!!! If you are a merchant services provider and you offer shopkeep as a solution, you may want to pay attention. They have been stealing business from other processors for the past few months!They have just flat out stolen one of my accounts after refering him to shopkeep. It works like this, you talk to a merchant, go to shopkeep website to fill out the referral, then shopkeep calls the merchant and sells them on their own processor! This is dirty dirty business. Please avoid selling their product.

    1. Jay says:

      Can you tell me more about this. I just started referring my merchant to use them through their referral program.

      Regards,
      Jay Jones

      [REDACTED – personal contact information]

  38. steven says:

    they are bunch of crooks, when you cancel the account they don’t refund you at all, go ahead if you want these people to get all your hard-earned money. also their serverless option is not user-friendly at all, always end up with ghost check and discrepancy with sales that haunted you day and night.


    Are you with ShopKeep? Learn how to resolve this complaint.

  39. Eliminate hidden fees and mistakes without switching merchant accounts. Get a free statement audit today to see how much you are overpaying.

  40. Salman says:

    I give zero start and -1, I used shopkeep and was their customer but I must say that Shopkeep people are crook, their hardware is expensive, their support people are ignorant and they don’t keep their words, I also referred someone to shopekeep signed them up and they promised give me $150 gift card and apple pay card reader but I got nothing..

    I would never recommend this type of service to anyone.


    Are you with ShopKeep? Learn how to resolve this complaint.

  41. dee says:

    I wish i could give a 0. By far one of the worst systems and even worse customer service and support. Fist and foremost if you are using this for a restaurant find a different system. Shopkeep doesn’t have the simplest function being a dine in or take out button. RIDICULOUS! second the receipt printers never function correctly and are always wasting paper and printing out of order receipts. Also their sales team will insist you buy this IGENICO hand held device for credit card swiping for $250.00. DO NOT BUY!!! THEY WILL TELL YOU IN OCTOBER ALL CARDS ARE GOING TO CHIP CARDS AND YOU WILL NOT BE ABLE TO PROCESS UNLESS YOU HAVE THIS DEVICE. NOT TRUE!!! all cards will still have a magnetic strip and you can always manually enter it. They will also tell you this IGENICO is handheld and wireless also a lie the thing dies within 30 min on a full charge . BAD BAD BUY and when i tried to return they told me company policy is no returns after 30 days. WHICH IS SOME BS! what if i bought the POS system and had some difficulties with permits and so forth with getting my store open and fell outside of the 30 day window????? ALL In all just a $1500 cosmetic change from my old pos system plus a monthly fee really REALLYBAD bad idea. STAY AWAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!! oh not to start with THEO the supervisor/manager/team leader/minion lol well keep that for a diffrent day

Leave a Review for ShopKeep

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please do not use profanity or ALL CAPITAL LETTERS in your review. Reviews must provide a detailed account of your experience. By submitting a review or comment to CPO, you are agreeing to our Comment Policy.