Mercury Payment Systems Review

35 Replies

Credit Card Processors
Mercury Payment Systems Logo
Category Breakdown
Sales & Marketing rated C
Costs & Contract rated C
Complaints & Service rated C
BBB Rating rated B

Overall Rating

"C+" Credit Card Processor Rating


Based in Durango, Colorado, Mercury Payment Systems ( is a merchant account provider and independent sales organization that began operations in 2001. The company also has a Canadian headquarters in Toronto, Ontario. Mercury Payment Systems once existed as a sales channel for the direct processor Global Payments; however, the company was acquired by Vantiv in May 2014 and may now be an exclusive reseller of that processor. Mercury has recently managed to secure the role of backend processor for a number of industry-oriented POS systems, most notably SalesVu.

On January 30, 2014, Heartland Payment Systems announced that it was filing a federal lawsuit against Mercury Payment Systems for false advertising, unfair competition, intentional interference with contractual relations, and intentional interference with prospective economic advantage. In the case, Heartland alleges that Mercury intentionally misrepresented interchange rates in order to convince Heartland customers to switch their service to Mercury. According to Heartland, Mercury would add its own markup to the interchange rates assigned by card networks without informing merchants, and then the company would falsely demonstrate that its markup above interchange was lower than that offered by Heartland. This case is unusual within the industry, as it involves one company suing another over deceptive sales tactics. Although this issue is far from being resolved, it bears mentioning so that merchants can monitor its progress.

Mercury Payment Systems is sponsored by HSBC Bank of Buffalo, New York, as its Acquiring Bank. Matt Taylor is listed as the company’s integrated payment president.

Mercury Products and Services Industries Served
  • Debit and credit card processing
  • Gift and loyalty programs
  • EBT acceptance
  • POS equipment
  • PCI compliance
  • Retail
  • Restaurant
  • Grocery
  • Convenience store

Related: Find The Best Processor For Your Business Type

Sales & Marketing | C

Key Points – Sales & Marketing
Uses independent resellers? Yes
Promotes deceptive rate quotes? No
Discloses all important terms? No

The reviewer found no uses of misleading advertising or rate quoting by Mercury Payment Systems. The company does, however, market its services heavily through the use of independent resellers/sales agents. This marketing practice often results in merchant complaints because it is hard to control the sales tactics of the resellers. In the case of Mercury Payment Systems, the majority of its complaints (covered below) can be traced back to the sales agent or reseller that set up the merchant account. However, in some cases, Mercury Payment Systems appears to enforce the terms of its agreement even when merchants report that an agent misrepresented the conditions of the contract.

These complaints, in addition to the allegations set forth by Heartland Payment Systems, have lowered Mercury’s grade to a “C” in this category.

Related: Find The Best Providers By Processor Type

Costs & Contract | C

Key Points – Costs & Contract Terms
Swiped rate: Variable
Keyed-in rate: Variable
Termination fee: $295-$495+
PCI compliance fee: $150 per year
Equipment lease: Variable

Rates and fees of a Mercury Payment Systems merchant account will vary based on a merchant’s business type, processing volume, and the agent setting up the account. The company’s standard service agreement (available below) is a one- to three-year term that requires merchants to give 30 days’ notice before ceasing processing or switching to a new processor. Merchants who fail to abide by this requirement may be subject to an Early Termination Fee ranging from $295 to $495; however, a few complaints report cancellation fees of up to $900. The reason for the varying cancellation fee could not be determined as of this review. The company also charges an annual PCI Compliance fee reported to be $150, which is well above average. Several merchants have complained about experiencing other unexpected fees. so businesses considering Mercury Payment Systems are strongly encouraged to read and understand their merchant account agreements before signing any documents.

See the Mercury Payment Systems Terms and Conditions

Related: Best Processors For Quickbooks Integration

Complaints & Service | C

Key Points – Complaints & Service
Total complaints: 40+
Live customer support: Yes
Most common complaint: Hidden fees

Mercury Payment Systems has a fairly low volume of complaints filed online for its size and time in business. The majority of problems appear to originate with agents and resellers who failed to verbally disclose important terms of the merchant account agreement prior to setting up the account. Nearly all complainants report nondisclosure of the $295 cancellation fee, $150 annual PCI Compliance fee, and other additional fees. Many of the fees appear to be buried in the fine print of the contract, and Mercury Payment Systems is quick to point out this fact in its rebuttals.

Other common complaints that merchants have reported are of sudden rate increases without notice, deceptive rate quotes by agents, and hidden fees. Several reports indicate that agents regularly quote the Qualified Discount Rate without also stating the Downgrade Fees. Mercury’s grade has been lowered to a “C” in this section due primarily to the severity of the complaints rather than the quantity. You can learn everything you need to know about rates and fees in “Fee Sweep.”

Related: Best Processors For E-Commerce

BBB Report | B*

Key Points – BBB Report
Product/service: 30
Billing/collection: 31
Advertising/sales: 3
Guarantee/warranty: 0
Delivery: 0

As of this update, the Better Business Bureau has awarded Mercury Payment Systems BBB accreditation as of December 2012. The BBB is giving the company an “A+” rating despite 54 complaints filed in the last 36 months, which is up from 40 complaints as of our last update. Of the total, 20 are regarding problems with service, 31 due to billing and collection disputes, and three with advertising or sales issues. Of the complaints, 49 were successfully resolved, while five left the merchant dissatisfied despite a good faith effort by Mercury Payments. In many of the unresolved complaints, Mercury responded by quoting terms and conditions of the merchant account contract. Given the company’s complaint count and resolution efforts, we are adjusting the rating to a “B” for the purposes of this review. You can learn more about why we adjust BBB ratings in our rating criteria.

* Denotes CPO-adjusted BBB score

Related: Best iPad & Tablet Point of Sale Services

Bottom Line

Mercury Payment Systems Review

Rated 2.8 out of 5 Stars
Reviewed by Phillip Parker
Reviewed on 2015-03-24

Overall, Mercury Payment Systems scores as an average merchant services provider. The company can improve its rating in this review by drastically lowering or eliminating its PCI Compliance fee, eliminating its cancellation fee, and preventing future complaints about hidden and undisclosed fees.

This review was originally published on 12/22/11 and was last updated on 3/24/2015.

Leave your Mercury Payment Systems review in the comment section below:


Top All-Purpose U.S. Processors

See The Top Canadian Processors

Copyright © (Digital Fingerprint: 0d38c6720f0d78a701b74d58653af608). Getting paid to re-write this page? Click here to earn a reward.

Disclaimer: While the information in the above article is believed to be accurate as of its publish date, the author and publisher make no representation or warranties with respect to the accuracy, applicability, fitness, or completeness of the contents. The author and publisher shall in no event be held liable to any party for any direct, indirect, punitive, special, incidental or other consequential damages arising directly or indirectly from any use of this material, which is provided “as is,” and without warranties. Any and all use of trade names and/or marks are for identification purposes only and shall not be construed as a claim of affiliation, or otherwise, with, Inc. ("CPO") in any form. The sole purpose of the material presented herein is to alert, educate, and inform readers. It is not intended as legal or financial advice.


  1. Denise

    I would never recommend this company. Every time we try to contact the service/tech department, however, “due to high call volume” the wait is hours long. We leave a phone number for a return call, wait hours and then finally assume they will not be calling. Their customer service has to improve or we will be looking to leave this company. Forget if there’s an immediate issue trying to process a card. Totally unexceptable!!

  2. Erin

    Mercury is the worst payment processing company I have ever had the unfortunate opportunity to do business with. I think I put fire to the phone line between our office and their technical support. In two weeks, we had more problems than I have ever had in 18 years of operating my business. I am in the process of closing my account. Luckily they said they are going to close down the account without any fees because of all the continuous problems. Out of two stand-alone terminals, at least one or the other has been non-functioning. I started getting error messages from the first day they were set up. My most current headache is the large number of debit transactions that were declined, but then put through and debited form my customer’s accounts — however, the monies were never credited to our business account. I am now in the position of having customers banging down my door for refunds when I have none of their funds to return to them. Mercury is passing the buck, saying that it is beyond their control, and that this could take up to 6 weeks for the issue to get resolved. I would tell you to run as FAR AWAY from Mercury as possible. A terrible company with client service associates who are trained to give excuses for the many mistakes.

  3. Jennifer Clements

    I called today 9/2/15 to find out the process of closing out our accounts. We switched to a new POS program, which required we use their credit card processor to eliminate the need for extra accounting steps. About 2 weeks after we purchased the new software and started the training my father (a patriarch of our small family owned business) became terminally ill. Since the switch to the new system was going to be a difficult transition, and unsure of what was going to happen with my father, I decided to leave our account with Mercury open in case we had to abandon the new software and return to the old. During my months of absence (due to my father’s illness and death), my employees were able to make the transition to the new POS system. Upon my return to work I determined that we have operated safely for a couple of months with the new system, so it’s time to close out our accounts with Mercury. When I called to find out the process I was told we were past the three year agreement, on a month to month basis, but because we had not given 30 days notice that “we were going to stop processing with Mercury”, so we were getting hit with a termination fine ($295.00 x 2, one for each of our 2 stores). We were told to try to get the new processor to pay these fees. This is ridiculous—and nothing short of a rip off! It is a poor way to treat a long term customer particularly considering the extenuating circumstances. We would have stayed with Mercury if we had been able to, but the new software required we switch. We couldn’t give notice that we weren’t going to be processing through Mercury, because we didn’t know if we were going to be able to stay with the new program. I am beyond disgusted with how this has been handled. We have worked through difficulties before with Mercury. This takes the cake! My rating of Mercury is a D. My recommendation anywhere I can put it on the internet is: Don’t do business with Mercury Payment Systems!

  4. Kenneth Smithson

    Crooked company when talked with on the phone 2yrs ago they told me it was 1% interchange rate and 5 cents per transaction. Thenjoy to find out they had me at over 2% with 6-7 cents. They would not give me what they told me unless I agreed to a 2yr contract when I was told it was month to month. Now that I’m closing shop they want me to give them 30 day so they can charge me over $60 for maintenance fees on a business thats packed up in my garage. If there is no 30 days they want to charge me a $260 something for a cancelation fee for month to month. Company is total bull shit and it came with my pos so I was stuck with them or would have had to spend over $800 for new software or an iPad to do business with at a drive thru you no some one would drive off with a new iPad

  5. L Brett Wells

    I moved my credit card processing carrier over to another company a few months ago because of all of the hidden fees that I was noticing with mercury. Once I stopped using them I noticed after a few months I continued to get charged fees of around $50/ month for NOT USING THEM??? Then once I completed their formal letter to cancel their service I get hit with a $295 cancellation fee. This absolutely isn’t right and sounds illegal. STAY AWAY FROM MERCURY. They are crooked. Thank god I didn’t switch my other 2 companies over to Mercury like the sales guy so strongly pushed for. I would be out nearly a thousand dollars in cancellation fees!

  6. Julie Pittman

    Very unethical company. On top of continously charging new fees, they do not refund fees for services not received. We were charged an annual fee of $169 on our June invoice, closed our business and they refuse to refund that fee that which was to cover June 2015 to June 2016; then they tried to tell me that was a monthly fee because the full 169 was charged on one month’s invoice. Yet I was charged the same 169 one time for the whole past year in June of last year. In addition, when we tried to close our account we were on hold for over an hour, got the run around and contradicting information on the process to close the account.
    Basically, they can come up with any fee they want to and add it on your invoice anytime they want. Read the contract very carefully.
    We increased our credit card transactions and they added a 10.95 monthly maintenance fee because they said they weren’t making enough money off our business, yet we were large enough to sign us up.
    After our total monthly costs increased drastically they offered to lower my rates if I signed up for another contract term, yet with the same clause so they could increase fees again however and whenever they wanted.

  7. gentry alexander

    In the state of California, does anyone know if a customer is able to get a refund from the merchant on the purchase of a Mercury gift card? Thank you

  8. Kalpesh

    Giant fee charge from Mercury…
    horrible customer service…
    I called them today to find out about batch settlement fund deposit into my bank account….
    over the phone they had put me on hold about four hours (4 Hours) to answer my question, and my answer came out less then a minute…and he were hurry to answer my question…why????… I did’t had my lunch and pee, to get answer for my question….
    they not deposit the same amount of the batch settlement, they seprate all transaction like credit, debit , ebt…. so you can’t find how much exactly they transfer into your bank…and the customer rep told me that Mercury Payment System, can’t do anything….
    so if you wants to figure it out total batch settlement with your bank you will need an hour everyday….who knows they transfer all of your close batch fund everyday or not….there is ton of other hidden fees….

  9. Industry Dude

    A really big/deceptive point that should have been pointed out is there’s not a lot of processors that mess with interchange or some of the components of interchange but I’ve been seeing Mercury do just that. Example, all processors, whether they show it or not, charge a NABU fee on MC and a Visa APF fee. The fee for both is .0195% However, instead of just passing it through as they should, they’re actually marking it up to .0595% for both which for a lot of merchants is a huge difference and the merchants aren’t being told about this. This is very deceptive and more merchants need to look out for this.

  10. clint

    I have been a customer with mercury for almost 2 years now. for the past few days I have not been able to check anything in my account. Every time I would try to check -anything- their website would throw up an error message. Finally after days of this I had enough and contacted customer support. Then, and ONLY THEN was I informed that their portal was no longer compatible with firefox. Their suggestion was to (obviously) use a different browser. There were several problems with this.

    1. I was NEVER informed of this prior to my contacting them. That left me, and probably thousands of others, trying to figure out what the heck was going on.

    2. There was never any kind of notification, message, warning, nothing, when logged into the portal. There is a message section in your portal, for important messages. For whatever reason, mercury felt that this crippling error was not worth even mentioning to their customers.

    3. The customer support agent was rude and gave me the impression that it was perfectly acceptable that there was no warning or notification about this crippling error ANYWHERE in the portal, or via message, or anything.

    I had read that mercury got bought out some months ago, I am starting to wonder if this is a sign of how they plan on continuing their business going forward. As it is, I am absolutely disappointed in how mercury has handled this situation.

  11. Kelly Rees

    Same story. Ridiculous fees for hundreds of dollars to prepare the 1099 form, PCI fees and data security fees. They are thieves and scammers. Charged me $495 to cancel my contract after being with them nearly 3 years and getting tired of their garbage. It was cheaper to pay $495 than to stay with them another 10 months until the contract was up.

  12. Bethany Wyatt

    We have experienced the same cancellation issues, as well as undisclosed fees as everyone above has stated. Every month a new message appears on statement about rate ‘changes’, which translates to increases. Systems Solutions RMS recommended Mercury Pay, as they said they were great to work with. Biggest mistake ever. We have switched back to a local processor, and are much happier. We do feel we were mislead by the sales team about underlying fees and other charges. Suddenly, when we are in our last 30 days, there are additional fees, because we are no longer ‘under contract’. Very unscrupulous company.

  13. kenny

    Mercury has hidden fees and charges $15 a month for a printed out statement. Theu also remove negative post to there facebook account. And why should I pay you $169 a year for security itsnt that your job. Also always trying to help you by asking for a 3yr commitment. I was told one pricing on the phone then when I recived the digital agrement things were changed and they wouldn’t give me the rates I was told unless I signed for 3yrs

  14. Kerri

    Mercury Pay and Revel systems has been a nightmare and a two headed monster for our small food truck business here in Charlotte, NC. We are still missing $2600 in sales from weeks ago they keep you on the phone for 11 plus hours going back and forth between Mercury and Revel with No resolution. We are about to make a You Tube video expressing how upset we are with our revel and mercury service. We will be taking this to every single place on the internet until we receive our money. Internet reviews, better business bureau, you tube and social media outlets and lawyers. 72 hours is our deadline for you to pay us from October 10th and 11th or we and every friend and family member will be in board with our new hashtag we created just for revel #reveldown#mercurydown #twoheadedmonster #dontuserevelormercury #justgettingstarted #revelreviews #revelipos #revelsystems #restaurantpos #franchise #letsgetrealreviews#donotusethem #trustus #mercurypaysucks

  15. Jay

    I’ve been with Mercury Payment systems for about a year and half and one thing I’ve come to realize is that this company will nickel and dime you to death. There has been nothing but fees on top of fees. I run a small restaurant in a very competitive tourist/college area so it’s tough and these fees really add up. We haven’t had any problems with the credit card processing but it’s hard to make a profit when fees are piling up. On our most recent statement the additional junk fees were higher than the actually processing fees. Every time I contact Mercury to get these junk fees removed they always tell me the same thing: “We can remove the fees if you extend your contract.” This seems to be their strategy. Unfortunately you’ll be stuck in a never ending cycle of them adding additional fees and you constantly renewing your contract to get rid of said fees. Very, very shady business. Avoid them at all costs!!

  16. Archer Bagley

    Mercury Payment System is an organization of Professional Thieves. Do not do business with Mercury Payment Systems. Mercury will not honor their own contract and will overcharge you all sorts of fees that were never disclosed. Mercury stole over $600 from Archers BBQ over a 1 year period.

  17. Joel C.

    Mercury Payment Systems apparently has no trouble calling you back rapidly when you are ready to set up a new account, however, after canceling my account, I find a month later that they have billed for a monthly maintenance fee and monthly statement fee along with some other minor charge.
    When calling in to question why I am still being billed monthly fees, they claim that a 30 day notice is required and monthly fees continue for that additional 30 days even though the account has been closed.
    It would make sense to pay the final statement fee, but NOT a monthly maintenance fee. After 3 phone calls and one email, nobody called back. On the fourth phone call, I finally got a person on the phone that was not only rude, but when I asked to speak to someone in management, I was bluntly informed that nobody in management would tell me anything different, and they were in charge of my account.
    As president of my company, I feel that requesting to speak with management was not unreasonable, yet I felt like I was belittled.
    I would not recommend Mercury Payment Systems to anyone that doesn’t like hidden fees or rude customer service representatives. Very unprofessional.
    Service during the time we were with them was satisfactory, albeit high fees and unexpected costs associated with their services.

  18. glarson

    Has anyone heard that Mercury guarantees online ordering charges? There is an online ordering site that integrates with mercury. Mercury is saying that if the restaurant takes an order with a stolen card, Mercury will guarantee that the restaurant still gets paid. I’m sure that they find a way to get their money anyway, but I’m wondering if anyone has ever heard of this?


  19. Jessica Litton

    I am very dissapointed with the customer service the we have been given from Mercury. We haven’t processed a payment through them for about 7 months because we found a simpler, less expensive way to process them…(I won’t say which service because I don’t want people to assume that I am advertising someone else, this is purely a review). We were charged about $37 a month for not using them (which is on us since we didn’t cancel sooner). Then when we called to cancel we were told that we would be charged over $200 to cancel our service if we didn’t send them written notice one month in advance. SO, we sent in written notice and cancelled a month later. In the meantime our monthly service fee for that month went up to $106 and the following month we were charged an “annual service fee” of $222. This was nowhere in our service agreement with them. We called to get reimbursed, were on hold for nearly an hour and then sent to a voicemail which was never returned. RIDICULOUSLY SLIMY!!!!!

  20. Sarah Piccinini

    I used MPS for almost a year for my Esthetics business and found it very useful to take payments through my phone. Stupid me I should of just stuck with the SQUARE which had no hidden fees every month. But I did like the Sales Vu app which kept better track of my business. So I decided to switch. Wow stupidest mistake EVER. Now that I am no longer using the card swiper on a regular basis I decided to go ahead and cancel the service. Well I called and gave them the 30 plus days notice they required, talked in length with some guy named Beau that assured me that as long as I gave them the 30 days notice and did not use any other system to process my payments that the $295 fee would be waived. I was happy with that answer and went about the cancellation process, which he also said that the 30days wouldn’t start until they received a faxed form with my signature, which I did not send until a couple of weeks later. Well low and behold I get a letter from my bank 1 week later stating that they tried to collect the $295 before the 30 days was even up. So I had to pay insufficient funds charges to my bank. MPS was not able to collect money from me at that point. I called MPS and spoke with Beau again and oh my how the tables had turned! He was not the nice, helpful rep I had spoke with a couple of weeks prior. He told me how stupid I was for not reading the contract and lied about the conversation we had prior. Saying he never said any of those things to me and I was stupid for not understanding what he was saying. I have NO intentions of paying these people. I did everything they asked and they are still trying to collect this fee. I do not recommend MPS to anyone! It is not small business friendly. Their fees are exorbitant for a small business owner. And very unprofessional when dealing with customers that want to cancel due to changes and fluctuations in your business.

  21. Ed

    I switch to Mercury three weeks ago since the software in my service vehicles supports them. On Friday January 24th 2014 they had a problem where merchants did not get funded. So here I sit without my funds for visa’s I processed. When I call the information they tell me is they are working on it but do not have a ETA. I would not switch to this company. Worst part is I am stuck with them due to the software I use.

  22. James D

    The car wash equipment company I purchased only had MPS as the provider for their equipment, UNITEC. So I had no choice in using them believing in the fact that if one uses their equipment then the provider should be fair…NOT!
    THESE CROOKS KEPT ADDING ADDITIONAL CHARGES EVERY MONTH! And I am talking $195 PCI fee, $99 maintenance fee, $14.95 statement fee along with all the other fees associated! Upon calling them to figure out what the fees were, they had trouble telling me any explanations.
    Finally after so many complaints to UNITEC, they changed how they do processing so I changed gladly and was able to make my own choice for a processor.
    I was paying over 10% plus fees for using this provider. Every month new fees…CROOKS! I was actually glad to pay the $295 cancellation fee just to get rid of them. My new provider paid me $250 to switch, BB&T. So I lost $45, which would have been less than a month of fees. Hope I just save one person in going through the hell I did with them.

  23. Laura G

    I was a customer of Mercury’s for over four years. Their cancellation policy, along with a multitude of fees, was hidden in the contract. They sent me a credit card swiper machine that wasn’t the correct machine for my cash register. They sent the correct swiper, called a Twin Tran, and the incorrect one was sent back to their equipment company, Data Cap. This was in 2010. Fast forward to August of 2013, and we closed our business. We were told that we would be charged $295 for cancelling our account, even though we argued with this because, as I said earlier, this tiny little clause was never disclosed and was hidden in the contract. Then they sent me an invoice for $380 for non return of equipment – the Twin Tran device, which we hadn’t yet returned. I spoke with at least five customer service reps and two managers, and was informed that the $380 would not be taken out of my account as long as I provided them with tracking information for the return of the Twin Tran. Two days later, they took the $380 out of my bank account without my knowledge or consent. I disputed this and they said that they would reimburse me for the $380 once they received the tracking information. I sent them the tracking information proving that the Twin Tran had been returned and received by Data Cap. Then Mercury Payment reps called me back and said that they still had in their notes the fact that I had THREE Twin Tran devices and they could not refund the money that they owed me. I informed the two reps and one manager that I spoke with that I’ve never had more than one Twin Tran since I’ve only ever had one cash register, and why would they have sent me another Twin Tran in 2011 and then another in 2012 without having received any payment for the original Twin Tran that I received in 2010? It makes no sense. They are erroneously charging their customers and when you speak with the reps on the phone, they literally laugh at you, they sigh these big sighs, they get enjoyment out of the fact that they know they have you and there’s very little you can do about it. I am now complaining to every outlet available to me because I think their business practices are absolutely disgusting.

  24. Randy Reed

    I have been with Mercury since May 2008 and I can say that when you call in for customer service to have a charge reversed the representatives have always been polite and helpful. However, the issue that i dealt with on a regular basis was regarding the fees the company charges. I monitor my net cost and watch the trend each month to ensure that I am paying in line from the month prior. Every few months, the rate would slowing go higher by at least a half a percentage to as high on as three quarters of a percentage. The highest was just short of a one percent increase when I advised the retention department that I was over the ongoing issue of their rates slowly increasing month after month.
    The last time that I called in to deal with this and to ultimately advise them that I would be canceling my account, the representative advised me that he could not lower my rates and understood that I would be going somewhere else.
    I found a new processing company with our first month under our belts and the savings is 1.1% lower then the net charges that Mercury was charging.
    Today, I received notice from Mercury that I am responsible for a $295.00 cancellation charge. I was on the phone with Joel for forty-five minutes attempting to have this fee removed since I called in and was advised to go elsewhere if I could find lower fees. With nothing from Joel but NO, NO, NO, you have to pay the $295 to cancel the agreement. I was upset and i am still upset.
    Very frustrating and I would not recommend Mercury and/or Global for your merchant processing as it got to the point that using Square, the little attachment to your iPhone and/or iPad was charging less then Mercury. Ugh!
    Anyway, great customer service representatives, horrible company practices to collect and charge as much as they possibly can from their clients. Run, Run, Run from this company.
    Randy Reed

  25. Charles

    These guys will bend over backwards to get your business and expedite requests as long as it serves to keep money flowing into their company. As soon as you mention you want to suspend or cancel your account due to seasonality or renovations, they will stall and give you the run around. Hidden charges are plentiful too, do not use these guys. NOT RECOMMENDED.

  26. Thomas

    After I returned my card processing machine to Mercury Payment Systems and canceled my services with them, I was further charged for three months of services that I did not receive totaling $329.77. The account was never actually closed on their system and I was still being charged every month unknowingly.

    The Account Closure Manager, Joel Chambers informed me that I need to submit another request for account closure because the account is STILL active and that I should be happy that he is not charging me a $295 cancellation fee on top of that and that we are “meeting in the middle” so-to-speak.

    **Tip: Once you cancel their services, make sure that you close your bank account that you had attached to the credit card machine because they will continue to debit fees each month following account closure. Open a new account so that they have no access to your money without your authorization.**

    I will gladly be a part of a class action lawsuit if we can put one together. Please contact me at [email protected].


    1. Kristen

      Thomas –

      We are in the same boat. We notified Mercury Payment Systems that we were terminating our contract with them on March 30 with a cancellation date of May 31, 2012 (more than 60 days’ notice). We actually switched over to our new processor on May 3, and not more activity occurred on MPS equipment past May 4. We returned all equipment to MPS well before the May 31 cancellation date. I received the statements for our 5 locations for May charges in June…no problem. That should have been the last batch of statements. However, in July I received 5 statements, charging each location between $97 and $118 in miscellaneous charges! And we’re no longer a customer!

      I called the toll-free number and spoke with two different people, including someone who was to notify Joel Chambers. I emailed James Russell after the charges weren’t reversed, as he was my contact during our cancellation. NO RESPONSE FROM ANYONE.

      And this is all after they resorted to extortion-like scare tactics when we announced we were leaving, telling us it would cost almost $8,000 in “gift card conversion assistance” to keep our active gift card balances valid. (FALSE. The balances and active card numbers were all easily accessible & everything works fine on the new processor. NO GLITCHES.) They tried to scare us into staying.

      Since these July charges occurred, I contacted my bank to de-authorize any and all future ACH debits/credits from Mercury Payments and Global Payments, as we would consider them “Theft by False Pretenses.” I’m not sure if we will ever re-coup the ~$500 in unauthorized charges they stole from us in July, but I can assure you we won’t allow a penny more to go their way.

      I can’t even begin to describe the horrors of Dec 20, 2011 – Jan 6, 2012 in which all credit refunds of $100+ took 3-4 weeks to post to customer accounts due to “infrastructure upgrades” at the Global Payments level. Yes, customers returning Christmas presents were not seeing refund post for FOUR WEEKS as Mercury/Global Payments were having to re-enter refund transactions manually, one-by-one. It took 2 weeks of that mess before Mercury sent us a bulletin announcing the “slight delay”. Needless to say our customers were not satisfied with Mercury’s “response.”

      So in addition to gross negligence/incompetence in with the refund delays they are just plain crooks, and we would recommend any retailer considering them to RUN AWAY.

      1. Chris Lanno

        Hi Kristen,

        I am sorry to hear about your issues with Mercury. I have a client in the same situation with the gift card “extortion” policy, yet they are having trouble accessing the full gift card numbers we need for a conversion.

        Can you help by telling me how you were able to get the gift card data?

        This client has completed the terms of their agreement, but now they are being told it will cost them $17k to get gift card data.

        Thank you in advance for any assistance.


        1. JulieP.

          Hi Chris,

          I wanted to see if you or your merchant were ever able to find a way of getting a hold of the Mercury gift card balance report for conversion without it costing them an arm and a leg. I have a merchant that is wanting to get away from them as soon as possible. Anything you could share would be helpful.


      2. Justin BRink

        I’m trying to switch from Mercury as well. I’m having problems with getting the gift cards converted to the new processor though. Is their gift cards proprietary? I’m not quite sure how to use the pre existing cards with active balances, etc. Do we know the back end company? First Data (ValueLink) perhaps?

        I’m lost. Please advise.


  27. David

    You must be kidding Me
    Now they are adding giant fees anytime they have compliance issues….last Year We had a $99.00 annual and a $150.00 compliance and they started this year (only 6 months after their $150) with a $42.25 annual data security and a $99.00 maintenance fee. As a small retailer (< 20K on cards) they are billing Us at a rate exceeding 17%…and They have nothing with Our signature authorizing new fees….thanks to congress for fixing the credit card fees…now they can go after thr retailers for more money!!! Time to contact Our State banking Commisioners…any Ideas, I have none other than Pleading and dropping the credit card sales, Unfortunatly sales will be affected.

  28. Rishi

    They stole the cancellation fee from me as well. I tried to give 30 days notice to cancel, as is stated in their contract, and they said the cancellation fee will still exist. They do have monthly minimums and tons of other hidden fees. Please don’t use these guys!

  29. Lola f.

    If you would like to join in a consumer lawsuit against this company and would like them to sink their ship then start posting your problems with them here.

    The issue is regarding their thirty day notice and $295 fee. They will take that fee from you no matter how many hoops you jump through.

    This company is fraudulent in their business practices.

    If we can get enough interest we can sue them.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By submitting a comment on CPO you acknowledge acceptance of our Comment Policy. All comments are moderated prior to publishing. Comments containing ALL CAPS, contact information, profanity, or that lack a detailed account of your experience may be denied publishing or subject to redaction of the offending information.