Global Payments Review

Overview

Global Payments Inc. (globalpaymentsinc.com) is one of the largest credit card processors in the payment processing industry and has been in business since the 1960s. It’s also one of the few merchant account providers to be publicly traded on the New York Stock Exchange (NYSE: GPN). In December 2015, the company announced its acquisition of Heartland Payment Systems, another very large credit card processor based in the U.S. Headquartered in Atlanta, Georgia, Global Payments supplies nearly every service a merchant would need, from setting up the merchant account to supplying the processing hardware. The CEO of Global Payments is Jeffrey S. Sloan, while the company’s president is David E. Mangum.

In March 2015, the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB) filed a complaint against Global Payments, Electronic Merchant Services, Frontline Processing, and Pathfinder Payment Solutions in connection with a “phantom debt” scheme that allegedly attempted to collect nonexistent debts from consumers. The CFPB’s complaint alleges that these four payment processors facilitated transactions for multiple debt collection companies owned by Marcus Brown and Mohan Bagga. According to the complaint, these debt collection companies used robocalls to target millions of consumers, who they then threatened in order to obtain debt payments that were not actually owed or that didn’t even exist. The CFPB further alleges that Global Payments “ignored numerous red flags of the debt collectors’ illegal conduct, including consumer disputes that described the scheme and communication problems with the debt collectors.” The outcome of the CFPB’s complaint is currently pending.

Global Payments Products and Services

Industries

  • Retail
  • Mobile
  • E-commerce
  • MOTO
  • International
b

Sales & Marketing

Key Points - Sales & Marketing

Employs Independent Resellers Yes
Advertises Deceptive Rates No
Discloses All Important Terms No

The only strike against Global Payments in this section is how the company acquires new merchant customers. Global Payments relies heavily on partnered independent sales organizations (ISOs) and independent sales agents (both are also called “resellers”) to market and sell its merchant accounts. Although this is a common marketing practice among larger processors, it can result in numerous merchant complaints because the resellers’ sales tactics are hard to control. In Global Payments’ case, it appears that most of the complaints against the company can be traced back to resellers; however, the overall number of complaints is relatively low (details covered below). Global Payments also does not promote any misleading “teaser” rates in its official marketing materials.

Global Payments Marketing Example

c

Costs & Contract

Key Points - Costs & Contract

Swiped Rate Variable
Keyed-in Rate Variable
Early Termination Fee $500 or Liquidated Damages
PCI Compliance Fee Variable
Equipment Lease Terms Variable

Pricing and fees of a Global Payments merchant account will vary based on several factors, including a merchant’s business type, processing volume, and the reseller setting up the account. A sample Global Payments agreement from April 2014 (available below) lists an early termination fee of $500 per location or Liquidated Damages, whichever is greater, which is as expensive as termination fees get. However, it appears that the service length agreement and early termination fee can also vary by reseller. Merchants are encouraged to aggressively negotiate pricing and contract terms under this type of scenario because it usually means that fees and terms are highly flexible. Learn everything you need to know about rates and fees as well as how to negotiate merchant account contracts in “Fee Sweep.” See the Global Payments Terms & Conditions.

b

Complaints & Service

Key Points - Complaints & Service

Total Online Complaints 100+
Live Customer Support Yes
Most Common Complaint Poor Service

Global Payments has a low-to-moderate complaint count for a processor of its size and time in business. The most common themes within these complaints are reports of fund holds and poor customer service, although hidden fees are also occasionally mentioned. There is no specific circumstance that appears to result in fund holds, but holds often happen because of suspicious transactions or transactions that exceeded a merchant’s processing limit. Since most of these complaints appear to be unique incidents, they will not count heavily against the company’s rating in this section.

It is worth mentioning, however, that as of this update there has been a recent increase in complaints posted in the comment section of this review. Most of these comments cite poor customer service or undisclosed fees, such as early termination fees. The uptick in complaints contrasts with Global Payments’s diminishing complaint rate found on other websites like Ripoff Report. While this trend is slightly troubling, it barely alters our grade for a large, established company like Global Payments.

b

BBB

Key Points - BBB

Product & Service Complaints 20
Billing & Collection Complaints 39
Advertising & Sales Complaints 2
Guarantee & Warranty Complaints 0
Delivery Complaints 0

Note: We have adjusted this company’s BBB rating according to our own standards. To better understand why we adjust BBB ratings, please see our Rating Criteria.

As of this review, Global Payments is not accredited with the Better Business Bureau and is showing an “A-” rating. The company has had 61 complaints filed against it in the last three years, all but two of which cite problems with products and service or billing and collection. Global Payments has resolved 18 of these complaints to the merchants’ satisfaction. Most of the remaining complaints either were not satisfactorily resolved or did not receive a final assessment from the merchant. One complaint received a response from Global Payments that the BBB determined was not made in “good faith,” while another complaint received no response whatsoever. In light of the company’s low complaint volume for its size, we have adjusted the BBB’s rating to a “B” for the purposes of this review.

Global Payments Logo

Global Payments Bottom Line

Overall, Global Payments scores reasonably well for a provider of its size and time in business. Many of the company’s merchant services are set up by resellers that can set their own pricing and contract terms, so merchants are encouraged to negotiate aggressively and to thoroughly review contracts before signing.

Phillip Parker is a former merchant services agent turned small business advocate and the author of "Fee Sweep," which teaches merchants how to dramatically lower their processing rates, eliminate junk fees, and avoid fine-print scams. He founded CardPaymentOptions.com to help merchants enact positive change in the credit card processing industry. Schedule a Consultation with Phillip

Schedule a Consultation with Phillip

54 Reviews Leave Your Review Below

  1. I’m actually being charged to replace a pinpad that is defective that they just gave me as a replacement of a faulty pinpad a week ago….I know right?!? You mean when a pinpad stops working and you get a new one that doesn’t even last a week you still have to pay for a new one? I guess. Nothing but problems with the service and no accountability from the company regarding defective and faulty pinpad’s.

  2. Avoid global payments. They don’t provide the service they promise. Hugely disappointed with this company. I am just thankful that I have only signed a one year contract.

  3. Global Payments Mobile is the least user friendly application for accepting mobile payments. Creating and account is nightmarish, having tried more than a dozen times to do so. The application is create merchant account is buggy and does not recognize information input…Don’t waste your time on this one!

  4. Very poor. Difficult to get any action following e mail. Charges excessive. Would never use again

  5. Terrible. Terrible. Terrible Service. Will continue charging you– changing charges without any sort of customer service to answer. They can’t find accounts and randomly shut down or change processing information. Impossible to deal with and to shut down accounts with.

  6. I would Never do business with this Co. again! I should have read the comments above before getting on board with this Co. I guess leaving it up to my sales person was the first mistake. I changed Co., in doing so one would think putting this kind of money through their business account, someone would call to let you know something has happened or why did you leave. After catching the monthly charges late, I called to cancel and ask for a refund. With my notes I show the date I called and what was said. It was a verbal cancellation. My CPA caught them charging every month still. I called and Now have to fill out a form to cancel because they have no records of my cancel call. And I told them I’m still waiting for my refund. Over $1,700.00 worth of over paid charges. I’m told no refund because the signed copy was just received. How they can be even a B rated Co. is beyond me. This is why Large Co. doing business like this are despised!

  7. This is the worst company in this business, I signed up wit authorize.com, and they thought that I do not have a merchant service so they send my information to 3 companies, after the first I receive a welcome email from all the 3 companies, I immediately called all these companies to inform them that I never signed up with them, and they need to cancel my account, the 2 companies cancelled my account and send me a cancellation email. Global payment said that they cancel the account but they never send an email, then after a month they charge my account $52.00 so I called and told them that I never signed up and that I called and cancel it, they said ok, then they charge my account $500 cancellation fee. I called my bank to dispute the charge but because it was about 10 days when i called (with business account you need to dispute charges within 2 days which is stupid rule) so since then, I have been calling them again and again, and they refuse to refund the monies, so I told them that I need the service, so I signed to get the service back, then they refunded all the money, and after that immediately, I closed my account and give them the finger. This is an evil company, and all they care about is money, no customer service, no good service, no competitive prices, just pure greed. Stay away from them and do not sign any document, and do not do business with them even if it is free.

  8. I have been using Global for my credit cards for 7 years, I have a small business and did not check their rates. I just found out that I have been paying close to 4%. I was furious, and had another vender come in and give me a quote, which was about 2.4%. That is a difference of about $2400 monthly in my office. I was furious, and called them as they had originally told me that they would update the rate yearly. They now told me that they would re-evalutate and give me my last month back. I switched. It took them a month to follow my instructions on the switch.


    Are you with Global Payments? Learn how to resolve this complaint.

  9. complete rip off Rascals , thieves , took almost thousand dollars out of my account when i try to claim it back sob’s tell me its to late when it was only two days please do not give these thieves your business you’ll really regret it i promise you


    Are you with Global Payments? Learn how to resolve this complaint.

  10. Wow, I am not alone
    Just like the previous reviewer , you can’t win a charge back dispute. The reason is simple, that is their cash cow, they charge you back for charge back ( $ 25.) They do not bother presenting your dispute to the card issuer. Either the fax is not clear or you did not respond on time, always the same. They do not use E mail so one can scan and E Mail. No next day deposit, extra minimum processing fee, extra PCI fee, and o customer service
    They suck. For those who have problems with them accessing their accounts, Close the bank account


    Are you with Global Payments? Learn how to resolve this complaint.

  11. We have been processing through Global and Mercury Payment Systems for nearly 8 years. This year we have had a rash of unsupported Disputes filed. We have lost every one, even though we have supplied all signed receipts, filed rebuttals, and provided all documents that were requested. More than not, the reason why we have lost disputes that we have was because Global claims to have faxed us the info on chargeback but they have supplied no copy of a fax transmission, we never received the Notice, and when we noticed the deduction from our bank when our CPA did our monthly statement, and we responded immediately, we were told that we responded “Too late” (4-5 weeks later). Global cannot offer any documented proof that Notice was ever sent, they simply tell us that it is computer generated notice to our fax machine. Each and every one of the Disputes filed were customers that received medical/surgical services, took product, etc. One dispute was filed because the customer claims that our receptionist was “rude”. she then received services, paid by credit card, and then filed a dispute. We lost! One client took product, signed a non-transferable/non-refundable contract, then a week later had a change of heart and disputed the charges! We lost that one! The Merchant has 100% responsibility to document everything, respond in an incredibly short period, provide all that is requested, to fight for the payment that we have earned and worked for…….but Global has no responsibility to give us an appropriate time frame to respond, has no obligation to prove that they sent a Notice, and just like that, we are all paying these credit card companies, and loosing a ton of money! This is the most unfair system/company and we are seriously considering not accepting credit cards any longer! Surely we will leave Mercury/Global!!


    Are you with Global Payments? Learn how to resolve this complaint.

  12. Absolutely terrible service. DO NOT USE.
    We were transferred by our credit card company from World Pay to Global Payments on October 21st.
    However, between that day and November 7th – NO credits from credit card payments have been paid into our account!!!!
    I have telephoned Global Payments 12 times and still nothing has been credited.
    DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY

  13. It appears alot of Companies who accepted card payments on the 29th October did not have the funds transfered into their accounts on 30th October as there was an issue with Global Payments system. After spending an hour on the phone trying to rectify the matter I was told they had no real idea when the issue would be resolved & when the money would show in my account. HSBC whom I bank with are now saying although theres an issue they probably will not honor standing orders due out on 1st November so people like me may find things like their rent bouncing. All the advice I got was call back Monday, so I dare say I be trying to find the time to spend another hour on the phone.

  14. Contracted with Open Edge, a division of global payments in August of 2013. Rate was quoted as .01695 for our Car Wash facility ( 2 merchant accounts) and our Lube facility (1 merchant account). The merchant fees on the Lube center were calculated as contracted. The merchant fees on the Car Wash calculated to 3.6 effective rate. The Car Wash recurring charge merchant account effective rate is around 15% and although the fees are substantial on that account we do not object because the volume is small and none of the cards are swiped. When we contacted Open Edge we were advised that the accounts had been set up at different rates. We were also advised by Blaine with Open Edge that they were only willing to credit a portion of the fees on the Car Wash for the last six months as they believe we should have noticed they were overcharging us. We calculated the difference between 3.4% and 2% ( allowing for effective lube rate of .019) from May of 2014 through September of 2015 and came to an overcharge of $3004.00. Open Edge decided the only credit we are entitled to is $354.09. As a service provider ourselves, or code of ethics dictates that regardless of the length of time it would take our customer to notice an overcharge we would refund every penny over the agreed price. If you elect to use this company be sure to double check your statements, especially if you have more than one account with them. Also be prepared to spend days and numerous emails before anyone will even address the issue with you.

  15. Don’t ever sign up with global payments! I am a new business owner, I sign a 3 yrs contract with GP. In the beginning they promise low rate and low fee. However that change in one year, they up both dramatically, and I didn’t read the fine prints of the notice of rate increase 3 months prior to the change, so I can’t do anything to make them adjust the rate as it was. The fees goes double and I have to sign up with other company to cut loss. I called and make sure they promise after 3 years the account will be closed. Yet, 3 years passed and still they keep on charging me 40 dollars a month. I am still trying to find ways to cut loose from them…

    If you are reading this and thinking what company to choose, just remember, anything but global payment!

  16. The credit card processing machine worked INTERMITTENTANTLY. So, as a hair salon owner, a staff member did hundreds of dollars of service for someone, but when they paid with a credit card…it was like playing Russian roulette! Sometime the machine accepted it and sometimes it didn’t. It kept saying that the machine need to be AUTOMATICALLY BATCH PROCESSED”….whatever that means. Not only were we not paid for services sometimes, we were made to look extremely unprofessional and shady. Shady because we had to attempt to process their card a few times. I would not recommend this processing machine to my worst enemy! Yes, it is that BAD! This company is still attempting to hold me hostage for a machine that has already cost me thousands of dollars in non-acceptance of funds for services done.

  17. Global Payments are incompetent, lying scammers. Please choose ANY other card processor over them.

    Last year, after several years of being quietly milked by GP, we were approached by a rep from another card processor. The deal they offered was substantially better than GP’s ripoff rates, so we decided to switch.

    We informed GP by telephone on October 12 2014 that we no longer required their services and asked for them to arrange collection of their terminal ASAP. We had been advised to do this by the other company’s rep, because of GP’s reputation for attempting to scam merchants out of a “lost or stolen terminal” charge. We were assured by GP that someone would contact us from their terminal supplier to arrange collection.

    A month later, we had heard nothing from them. At that time, I went into hospital and was away from my business until early January. On opening mail, I found that GP had written 2 days after I went into hospital, saying that they had been unable to contact me to arrange collection. They had also subsequently written informing me that I would be charged for non-return of the terminal. I immediately rang their customer services and explained that the mail had not been read, due to my hospitalisation. The Filipino call-centre agent assured me that I would not be charged.

    Later, I noticed that despite that assurance, my account had been raided by GP on December 24 for £288 “terminal charge”. There then followed numerous wasted hours speaking to barely understandable “customer service” agents in the Phillipines, being lied to, fobbed off and stonewalled. E-mail contact with someone called Martin, also of their alleged “Customer Service” department also got me nothing more than a lecture on not opening my mail promptly!

    In communication with Martin, it transpired that GP’s failure to contact me was due to their employees dialling the wrong number! Despite this, I was informed that I would have to wait until the terminal had been returned to stock with their supplier, Igenico.

    after much more wasted phone time, I eventually got them to collect the terminal on january 9th. following collection, which I got signed for, I again contacted Martin to demand an immediate refund, as their terminal was now in the hands of their courier. No, I’d have to wait until it was back in stock.

    today January 19th, I again phoned them and wasted yet more of my time talking to another filipino lady who had no clue and no authority. Eventually, after keeping me on hold for several minutes, she passed me to her supervisor, who told me that although Igenico had verbally confirmed receipt of the terminal, we couldn’t have our refund until they’d sent a written report. We demanded that someone in authority call us back.

    About an hour later, we were called by someone called Giam Orteg, who claimed to be a supervisor. He told us that Ingenico hadn’t received the terminal because of bad weather. We told him that either he, or the previous, female, supervisor was lying to us. we asked to be transferred to someone in management or for him to get someone in management to call us. He claimed to be unable to do this. Eventually, we got Igenico’s number from him.

    We called Igenico, where a charming lady in logistics, called Jane, was instantly able to tell us that, Yes, they’d received the terminal but it was amongst others awaiting scanning back into stock. We asked her to contact GP and confirm this fact, which she did.

    about an hour later, Mr Ortega rang to say that Igenico had called and that GP would “make an exception in this case” and process the refund. I asked how soon would the money be back in my account. He told me it would take up to 12 days! they intend to hold onto MY money, following THEIR mistake, for up to 12 days!

    To add insult to injury, no apology has been made by GP for their mistake, for their lies and mis-information, or for the stress caused to us at what is already a difficult time by their appalling excuse for a customer service.

    My advice to any small business looking for a card services firm is DO NOT USE GLOBAL PATMENTS!

  18. I own a small retail business and recently switched processors via an independent sales rep. Global was not identified as the processor, but soon appeared on my bank transactions.

    While reviewing my November, 2014 statement, I noticed a $89.05 additional debit that I could not find a basis for. I contact the rep who informed me it was a “PIN Debit” issue. Not certain what this was exactly, I requested an explanation. They responded that it was simply a pin entered debit transaction. I informed them that this had not happened due to the fact we did not have that capability with my reader. They responded that Global had told them this was the issue. Upon requesting contact information for Global, I was told they would contact them instead of me. I started researching every transaction in November and discovered 3 AMEX charges that equaled the amount debited and notified the rep of this. My rep immediately responded that this was now a AMEX issue. (Apparently, when someone else does the work they and Global should have done, they are able to narrow the problem down to exactly what you discovered for them.) I was then informed that this was an AMEX initiated debit. Now I am informed I was not authorized to accept AMEX. I then told them I had not experienced any problems with AMEX prior to or after that specific date the 3 transactions were done and I had “Authorization Numbers” for those 3 that were disputed. 28 days later, the funds were put back into my account. If I had not put forth the effort to uncover this, they were perfectly content with keeping my money and had no interest in helping me recover it. They just made up lies thinking I was too dumb to know the difference.

    In my opinion, Global Payment Systems is single-focused on making a profit without any concerns for there customers. I will leave them as soon as I locate a processor that at the very least has a favorable customer service reputation. I advise everyone to avoid them.

  19. What a scam they have. I canceled them over three years ago now and I just received a charge on $250!! I cannot believe that they still have access to my checking account still after three years?? After I contact them they tell me that it is because I didn’t return the terminal!! I owned the terminal outright before I even signed up with them. She tells me sorry once it charged your stuck. She sent me a copy of a contract that for one, wasn’t even signed, and second of all it wasn’t even the same contract that I signed, (yes I did find my copy after all). What a scam they have going on for them. I am still trying to get my money back!! So let me tell you, if you terminate them make sure you block them from your checking account because they will help themselves anytime they want to, even 3 1/2 years later!!! Global/Citadeleftinc. Beware

  20. This company is ripping consumer off overseas! In Spain, and I’m sure other countries, they are creating a default to charge in USD and add on a hefty service charge when consumers use their credit cards overseas. This is significantly higher than the fees charged by credit cards for translating foreign currencies into USD. The firm should be looked into by the consumer fraud agencies around the globe. They are taking an additional 2-4% of all overseas transactions beyond what the credit card user would normally have to pay! I would this is against tens of billions of dollars of spending, so a huge amount of money! Please look into this!

  21. This company charged our business twice a month (with steady increases) for 15-16 months, after we faxed and verbally requested the services be terminated. We chose to discontinue their services due to rapid increases in charges; and due to those fees being charged twice a month. The charges appeared as if different terminals were used. The names beside the debits appear differently on our statements.
    We were told the duplicated fees were being removed. And the reason we were charged double fees is because we offer services, and we sell parts. Therefore, “we have two businesses in one building”. Huh??? We are the sole owners, with one company name! Our business has been in this building for over thirty years. But, we have never heard of a policy such as that.
    The duplicated fees began on the second statement. We addressed, immediately. And, we were told it would be corrected. Plus, the charges would be removed. It stopped a month. Then it restarted. But, the initial charges were never removed.
    Now, more than a year later, they are determined to stick with the old excuse for duplicate charges without refund. In addition to those charges, they will not reimburse us for and the 16 months they continued to withdraw fees for a (non-active) closed account. The rep claimed they never received the termination form we faxed iSeptember 2012.
    She added, that “without seeing that form, they’re not allowed to stop an automatic contract renewal. Really? We initially signed up, over the phone. On that day, we were told there were “no contract” terms.
    Regrettably, we have been unable to find that form, thus far.
    Though, we remember signing and faxing the form. It now stands as “he said, she said”. I plan to check with our phone/internet company.
    I told the representative I was curious about the Double Standards. I’m curious how an account can be created over the phone with verbal permission. But, that can’t eliminate an account over the phone with an adamant request.
    Especially, since she clearly remembers remembers my husband calling and speaking with her in 2012, ADAMANTLY, repeating that we no longer want their services. She also admitted the account displayed no activity since September 2012. We’re considering an attorney.

    1. Global Payments inc, is a horrible company! Do not sign up with merchant services for your credit card processing needs. I signed up with them on a month to month base, after two years I decided to close my shop. They penalized me by deducting from my checking account 82.90 per month and again in January of 2016 180.60 DOLLARS. I called their representatives and demanded my money returned because I did not have a contract that would penalize me for stopping services as I was on a month to month. They apologized and gave me excuses after excuses about how I was on a 3 year contract…all lies! I had my rep call them and explaining to them he did not sign me up for a long term contract which would open me up for a penalty for breaking the contract and he told them i was on a month to month base with no penalty. They said they could refund me 40 bucks, which I never received. Do yourself a favor if you want to open a small business and need credit/debit machine, shop around. This company is huge and will steal your money.


      Are you with Global Payments? Learn how to resolve this complaint.

      1. I never received my 40 dollars ….they pretty much deducted 300 dollars from my personal checking account. You won’t get any straight answers from them. Every time you call you get a different person and get the run around and empty promises. Legalized corporate crooks….protected by high end lawyers….will never do business with them again.

  22. Global payments account was terminated by me in June 2013. i called,emailed, faxed and mailed every document requested by global payments necessary to close the account. Months later, I called emailed faxed and mailed documents again due to continued billing.

    Months later the billing continued and I emailed, called, etc. again!

    I was certain that eventually they would succeed in closing the account which finally occurred a year later in June 2014 with all the billing for an inactive account , no credit

    After many phone calls, global payments refunded six months of charges but refused to honor my request of a total refund!

    Global payments had a record of all the conversations, dating back one year,of my asking for termination of the continued billing of an obviously inactive closed account.
    Bad Business! Global Payment Sucks! Stay Away from Global Payments!

  23. Global Payments raised my rates TWICE this year. The sales rep will sign you up by offering low rates. 2 months later, the rates will go up. I am paying 3 times MORE than I was with my previous processor. DO NOT SIGN UP WITH THESE PEOPLE.

  24. Global Payment is a very irresponsible company, they upgraded my account from physical terminal to virtual terminal and changed details but didn’t inform me that I need to re-enroll with the SecurityMetrics again. I only find that out after £50 been charged, and called them they say I have to ‘be aware of it’ myself…. How can I aware of that without they telling me or even put anything on any paperwork????

    They refuse to refund, and the security metrics company also told me I have both old and new accounts alive.

    So when you apply be aware of their bad quality service!

  25. Do not sign up with Global or any of their affiliates. The salesmen they use will tell you anything to get you signed up. They are worse than buy here pay here car salesmen! Then the monthly fees start kicking in. They even fee your for delivering an online statement. They also fee your for canceling an account EVEN WHEN YOU ARE OUT OF CONTRACT! I have never in my 20 yrs of business dealt with a more greedy dishonest company. We are going to remove Global from all 6 of our locations as soon as possible!

  26. Global Payments — an absolute joke. The number of mistakes they made in processing our application was outrageous. One careless mistake after another, and each mistake taking days to resolve. They requested the same information again and again, after it had already been provided. They sent sent multiple copies of letters we were never supposed to receive in the first place. After 2 months, the application is still ongoing.

    The are wholly incompetent and worst of all, unaccountable. They make a small percentage out of every transaction made by every business in their system and yet act like they are doing their customers favors by granting their services.

    A disgrace — and part of a banking system that is fundamentally, hopelessly flawed.

  27. I have a seasonal garden business in Georgia and just started using Global last April. I was not told about all the hidden fees and I was not told that they had a seasonal program . In October , when or business started to slow down , the fees started to increase. In 3 months the fees went from $88 to $143. I’ve had it!! I think it’s time to notify the Attorney General— maybe a class action suit.

  28. NEVER EVER USE THEM!!!!! They have charged me after telling them to stop! I never used the service, and for months was charged odd amounts. I have no idea what this is anymore!!!!!

    $49.95 for 3 months, then $149.00 flat another month. Over $300 in charges to my account after I told them to p iss off.

    THIS COMPANY IS HORRID!!!! DO NOT EVEN LOOK AT GLOBAL PAYMENT SOLUTIONS.

  29. Not sure if this is the appropriate location to post this, but I am writing due to issues I have with Global payment right now as a check writer. I have decent credit (not that it matters) do not write bad checks and always have money in my account (since I work 6 days a week leaving no time to spend it). I have had two checks declined in the last week due to Global payments. One from a grocery store and one from an auto parts store. I don’t have any debt in collections, have not received anything in the mail, on the compter or on my phone explaining what is going on despite having called their automated line and requesting a report on the declined checks. Not a big fan of Global.

  30. Have always received very poor service from designated Account manager.
    Account manager does not respond to or even acknowledge emails. I have to call customer service and make a complaint which is passed through to supervisor who contacts and follows up with account manager.
    Mailing address of our busines was changed to an “unknown” and “unrelated” address where statements were sent for three months. This, to me, represents a breach of privacy. Still trying to find out how our account mailing address could have been changed. Finally, did my own internet search of address and found name of business where statements were being mailed in error. Also discount rate changed on past two statements although we have a 3 year contract and also charged for statement fee on last two statements which was waived on 3 year contract. Also, other new fees have just appeared on last two statements which we have never been charged for before.

    1. I have the exact same issue with Global Payments about sudden change of my business address to some unrelated address in September. I called customer service to inquire who did/authorize the change. They said they could not find any information or track down how the change happened. Based on my past experience with their call center reps, I doubt that they are competent enough to correct my address, it took them 20 min to ask verification questions to confirm my account (One would think that they run high security control, yet they don’t have record who made the change). So I called my designated account manager the next day to make sure the correction was taken care of. Over a month later, shocked to find out that the incorrect address still shows on my statement. I called customer service and asked to speak with a supervisor or manager for complaints. Was put on hold for 15mins before I can talk to a “manager”. Wasted another 20min to answer his verification questions.

      STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY!!! IT IS NOT THE CHEAPEST AND YOUR TIME IS FAR MORE VALUABLE!!!!

  31. NEVER NEVER go with global payment. Global payment is a horrible company to go with, the idiot that set us up did it all wrong so that we had such limitations on our funds that they release to us. Never had this problem with other companies, then when I was trying to cancel them, I got the run around call this # no you need to call customer service then you wait for a sale person to call, they never did so after trying to cancel this dysfunctional company I am still in the same boat waiting to get a call. It’s been a week and no one can really help you. NEVER NEVER GO WITH THIS JOKE OF A COMPANY they will give u the run around.

  32. Dreadful company, you best hope nothing goes wrong if you go with GlobalPay.

    Sadly I’ve had a problem for the past seven months with their card machines and besides replacing the units they seem unable to resolve the issue losing me thousands. Worst of all they don’t care, customer services don’t care, the account manager doesn’t care., even good old HSBC seems unable to do anything about it. Not a good result, having to use another Merchant service AT THE SAME TIME as these useless rip off merchants just so I don’t suffer downtime. Absurd.

  33. I am absolutely disgusted with Global payments, holding all funds for over a month because of a refund.
    Refund is 15,000. but you hold back 100,000.
    There is no excuse for this kind of business, why is the interest not paid to the merchant, for 30 days you hold money or longer. Our company does not receive the interest and all the customers terms are affected because of this.
    When calls are made good luck getting someone who understands you.
    Who owns this company and how can they be allowed to operate in Canada.

    As you can see no kind words for global, dealing with them the past seven years has been a nightmare.

  34. I have dealt with Global Payments for 2.5 years. I switched after I
    showed them my then current processors rates (very transparent, simply
    two tiers – personal cc’s and business cc’s). They assured me they
    could beat this. There was much upheaval in my life at the time with a
    dying parent, and I told the sales rep I was very stressed, but if they
    could promise me they’d save me money, they could have my business.

    And so, the thievery began…

    They have charged me at minimum $40/month in addition to the rates I’m already paying. Last month, $250+ was added to the almost $1000 in regular rate fees! They charged me for ecommerce check cards, rewards cards, statement fees (they had in their contract no statement fees), check key entered (I don’t take checks), another statement fee, and more! They are dishonest, and I’m leaving them.

    Run FAR away from this company’s deceptive business practices. Their contract is a farce, because it does not disclose these additional fees. When I call, they give me the total runaround draped in ‘concern’ but no satisfaction. Yuck.

    Advice? Seek a company with transparent fee schedules to process your cards. Use one that does not make you sign a contract.

  35. Would not recommend working with Global Payments, no paperwork is ever sent! Terrible service, cannot contact directly, very obscure and inconsistent on how things are paid and terms.

    WILL NEVER USE AGAIN! FIND ONE ONE ELSE OTHERWISE YOU’LL HAVE A TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE

  36. This is the VERY WORST company I have ever dealt with! they tell you one thing do another. When trying to cancell the caccount I was told on the phone 2 different times it was cancelled and nothing further to do. Then noticed money still being pulled from my account as I had told them they no longer had permission to do this. They said they would not and continued to do it. I talked to several people and then was finally told after 3 months of fighting with this company to stop that I had to talk to the lady that opened the account for me. But when I first called her she was one of the people that told me not to worry all was taken care of and then later atempts she did not answer nor return my calls for a long time. Now having to jump through hoops to get my 1099K. Very BAD COMPANY VERY BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE. They do not know from person to person what they are supost to do everyone in the company always tells me something different.. go to a different company people!!!!

  37. We signed a contract with Wholesale Merchant Services and received a bill from globalpayments. They are charging us every month event though we never signed a contract with global and we even don’t have their card-processing machine.

    They’ve been ignoring our repeated request of cancelling a contract.

    We’ve never signed a contract if we knew Wholesale was actually globalpayments.

  38. after 8 months of using Global credit processing with little to no problems, we are in the process of selling the business, so we need to cancel our contract.
    Global says read the terms Pay a cancellation fee $903. to not use there services,
    and dont forget to send back the card reader.
    We will never use them again, and would not recommend them to anyone
    shame on global

  39. they are holding, without notice, 125 k of payments because of a W-9 discrepancy that does not exist, they have told us we will have our money in 3 days after they receive our w-9 which we faxed, and they told us it was the same Tax #, called back later and they said they never received it , i have been on hold for 20 minutes as i am writing this, does anyone have any advice?

  40. Global Payments is not going to be processing my credit cards payments any more. Last Wednesday I ran two charges through for the same amounts for the same client (one exhibitor and one sponsor for the conference) at nearly the same time.

    I had to manually input each one so there was a time lag between. I had tried one charge earlier than day for the total amount but it was denied–not due to insufficient credit on the card, just some communication error over the Web.

    Global Payments got the money from Bank of America for these two charges and then noticed the Authorization Number for each was the same. These numbers are generated automatically and I have no way of influencing this. GP tried to blame this on Volusion, but I have two separate order numbers and paperwork from Volusion. How the error occurred is not clear.

    But, GP refused to give me the money out of, I finally got them to admit, some wildhair fear that should they give me the money Bank of America, which had already authorized the charges as my client had pre-authorized the charge, would later realize the two numbers were the same and demand the money back! This despite verbal and written (via e-mail) assurances from BOA and my client to GP that this would not occur.

    So, today GP agreed to give me 50% of the fee and the client must wait at least two weeks to get the other 50% back. Needless to say, the client is not keen on writing me a check for that 50% until they have it back on their card.

    GP had frozen a week’s worth of credit card transaction payments while “reviewing the matter.” Supposedly, though, that has been unfrozen, yet I must still deal with getting the rest of the money out of the client. I would not be surprised the client decides to cancel the order.

    All through this, despite my calls to customer service and the company HQ, they would not put me through to a manager. So, I was left with Mark who did a class CYA move–and lost the company a customer in the process.

  41. This company has the worst customer service ever. Every time we had problems and it was their fault the resolution time was more then a month. We lost a few good customers because of them. On one matter I spoke with 4 different agents and they all give me different information. We left messages and never received callbacks. Even talking with supervisors didn’t help much. If you are a small or medium company is not recommended to go with them.

  42. Don’t use Global Payment Solutions! I was led to them by my x-charge processor and they totally screwed me over! They totally are unresponsive to messages, you cannot get hold of an actual person without waiting on the line for 45 min or more, mostly you have to leave a message when you actually get through to the person supposed to help you.. Then, in my case, they double credited an $9K+ mistake to the buyer who was trying to make an end of year pmt on her cc, then tried to double debit MY account! When I stopped the double debit, they kept debteding my acct for small amts which totally sent my checking acct out of balance! They are incompetent! AND once again, I want to repeat, that when you DO have a problem at YEARS of using them, you cannot get hold of a real person to help you! RIPOFF!!!!!

  43. After having a nightmare experience with a different provider, I ran into a similar situation with Global – funds that failed to reach my bank account. Global was courteous, efficient and I had my problem corrected within a day. I am gunshy of switching to any other processor and thus far am very satisfied.

  44. Global Payments no longer cares about the customer! Only care about the bottom dollar
    going to the shareholder. Long term employee’s are being laid off and the jobs
    are being outsourced to India , Manila and Hong Kong. Too many chief’s
    and not enough worker bees. Management is too busy hiring friends over in house
    employee’s . The VP’s and the Exec VP’s have a “Golden Parachute” and sucking
    the company dry. Stay far away from this company they are taking our jobs to
    India and laying off American workers. Many employee’s saw this coming
    when Global Payments hired Jeffery (snake) Sloan from Goldman Sachs to be the
    president of our company.
    (Less than three years after receiving $10 billion in bailout money from American taxpayers, Goldman Sachs informed its employees recently that it will fire 1,000 workers in the United States and elsewhere, shifting their jobs to the cheaper Singaporean labor market)
    read on ……….. http://thinkprogress.org/economy/2011/06/28/255724/goldman-sachs-outsource-1000-jobs-singapore/
    Yep Global Payments is going over sea’s and drowning your loyal employee’s.

    Shame on you Paul Garcia CEO for taking our jobs away to India. Shame on you!!!!

  45. This company is an ABSOLUTE MESS. if i ask them to make a refund to a client, theyd do it twice. If i charge my client, next day i find out theyve charged him TWICE. Customer service is sloppy, service of all kind with GP is sloppy. It seems to me this company is run from a daycare center!!

  46. I’m disappointed with Global Payments, been processing with them for about 9+ years.
    Without warning they froze my account and is holding almost $40,000 (yes $40K). Numerous of calls and emails was made to Global trying to get the issue resolve for the past 30+ days and still have not heard back. Because of Global Payments freezing my account and holding my money, my business is having financial difficulties. If this does not get resolve soon some of my employees are going to be out of work.

    I’m hoping someone at Global Payments is reading this that can help and get this resolve ASAP.

  47. I’m so disappointed with their service, all the promise they made was a lie and kept charging me over the market rate, all the complaints I made no matter a formal letter or by phone call, those csr are all ignored and never responded to me. I end up goes to the others payment service company to fix it and of course they pay for the demage of the contract termination. What a nightmare service they provided.

    1. GlobalPay is screwing us with one client. They caught what they claim to be a Russian cc scam with a couple who is a client of ours – he a retired Army officer, she active in her church and a lover of horses. Their CA-based bank found no evidence Russian fraud. Clients were never shown proof of any of this. They cancelled their cc transaction and paid us cash. We met them and know them to be good people. The way GlobalPay dealt with us, the clients, and the entire issue couldn’t have been less transparent. We received absolutely nothing in writing from them about this alleged $5000 fraudulent transaction. GP doubted everything we told them about our interaction with the client.

      GP’s ineptitude has now been shown to be even worse than this last episode. Same clients, new cc – GlobalPay has been holding a $13000 transaction for 10 days now and rudely and poorly placating us – again nothing in writing, no consideration of the fact that the clients are honest people who have received the materials we will build on their site, no return calls, and of course, worst of all, we lack this cash that we need for working capital. They are deaf to this issue. The client’s credit card is new and good – even the client’s bank vouched for the card and client. Still no deposit of funds into our account.

      We will be switching processors as soon as this is resolved. We are lucky not to have lost the client through all this – asking them about their card, their bank, if they’ve called their bank as GP requested, if their bank has called GP as requested, on and on. Unacceptable.

  48. I am SO disappointed with global payments. I have yet to receive any of my money. Each customer service representative that I have spoken with keeps giving me different stories. There customer service is not educated in their products or how the system really works. All they say is “we understand”, I don’t think that they do. They are not running a business or worried about paying bills for a company.

    I will NOT recommend this company, its productrs or services to anyone else.

  49. I am glad there is someone like Phillip Parker doing all the research for a new company to choose and obtain material for options in card processing. Thanks Mr. Parker!

    1. Hi Meghan,

      Thank you very much for the kind words! I’m glad that you found the site helpful. Be sure to follow on Twitter or Facebook to get updated on new posts. In addition to merchant account reviews, I also do posts offering tips and advice on credit card processing.

Leave a Review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *