XCharge (x-charge.com), also known as Accelerated Payment Technologies (acceleratedpay.com) or, formerly, CAM Commerce, is a merchant account provider headquartered in Pleasant Grove, Utah. “XCharge” appears to be the name of both a product and a DBA of Accelerated Payment Technologies, which was acquired by Global Payments in August 2012. The XCharge website now bears a significant amount of OpenEdge branding, which suggests that it now functions as a department of OpenEdge. This review will evaluate the available information about both company names and treat them as one entity.

XCharge is a registered ISO/MSP of HSBC Bank, National Association in Buffalo, New York, a registered ISO and MSP of Wells Fargo Bank, N.A., Walnut Creek, California, and a registered ISO for Synovus Bank in Columbus, Georgia. Robert Cortopassi is listed as the senior vice president and general manager of XCharge, which is headquartered at 2436 W 700 S, Pleasant Grove, Utah 84062-3740.

Key Points

  • Sales & Marketing: XCharge appears to hire independent sales agents and has received some complaints about its sales team.
  • Costs & Contract: XCharge appears to offer a three-year contract through Global Payments with a liquidated damages early termination fee.
  • Complaints & Service: XCharge has received more than 10 public complaints.
  • BBB Rating: XCharge’s alternate name of OpenEdge does not have a rating with the Better Business Bureau and has received 21 complaints in the last three years.
  • Rates & Fees: How Merchants Got The Best Rates With XCharge

XCharge Products and Services


  • Retail
  • Restaurant
  • E-commerce
  • Accounting
  • Hospitality
  • Canadian businesses

Response from XCharge

Are you with XCharge? Add your own voice here!


Sales & Marketing

Key Points - Sales & Marketing

Employs Independent Resellers Yes
Advertises Deceptive Rates No
Discloses All Important Terms No

XCharge appears to rely on paid-by-commission independent agents to market its services. This practice is common within the merchant services industry and is often a major cause for complaints among small business owners. In this case, we are able to locate a handful of negative XCharge reviews that accuse one of the company’s sales reps of misrepresentation or nondisclosure of rates. We have also found documents online that indicate that at least two lawsuits have been filed against the company by former sales agents, and these documents seem to suggest that these former employees feel they were denied appropriate compensation for their services.

Without knowing the specifics of these cases, we will not factor them into the company’s score, but it is worth noting that it appears that some former XCharge employees are unable to resolve their own complaints with their employer outside of the legal arena. As a point in the company’s favor, XCharge does not appear to engage in deceptive advertising strategies in its official materials.

Response from XCharge

Are you with XCharge? Add your own voice here!

XCharge Marketing Example


Costs & Contract

Key Points - Costs & Contract

Swiped Rate Variable
Keyed-in Rate Variable
Early Termination Fee Liquidated Damages
PCI Compliance Fee $99 Per Year
Equipment Lease Terms Variable

The standard XCharge contract (available below) is a three-year agreement through Global Payments with automatic renewal for one year. The contract includes a Liquidated Damages early termination fee, and we have found some merchant complaints that mention an annual PCI Compliance fee of $99. Although this particular copy of the company’s contract does not include the full fee schedule, it is also possible that merchants are subject to application fees, minimum monthly fees, chargeback fees, and service fees.

The contract’s Liquidated Damages early termination fee is figured in an uncommon way. It charges the merchant “the lesser of (a) the maximum amount permitted by state law, and (b) all monthly fees assessed to Merchant under this Card Services Agreement and due to Global Direct for the remainder of the then existing term of the Card Services Agreement, including all minimum monthly fee commitments.” In other words, merchants who cancel service will be on the hook for either the maximum allowable fine under state law or the remaining cost of their contract, depending on which amount is smaller. Regardless of how expensive this may be in practice, it is clear that it bears little relation to the actual loss suffered by the company upon the merchant’s cancellation. At this time, we are only able to locate a couple of merchant complaints about the company’s terms, but it seems that the service can get very costly very quickly for a merchant. See the XCharge Merchant Application.

Response from XCharge

Are you with XCharge? Add your own voice here!


Complaints & Service

Key Points - Complaints & Service

Total Online Complaints 10+
Live Customer Support Yes
Most Common Complaint Poor Service

We are currently able to locate over 10 XCharge complaints, none of which describe the company as a scam or a ripoff. Common themes among complainants include equipment issues, poor customer service, and undisclosed fees. The company has seen a moderate uptick in complaints over our last few updates, which indicates that it may be growing very rapidly or may have made an unfavorable alteration to its contract terms in that time.

A handful of complainants mention that they only use XCharge because it is the payment processing partner for Mitchell 1, a business management product for the automotive repair industry. At this time, we are able to locate complaints that mention XCharge, Accelerated Payment Technologies, and CAM Commerce, so the company may be conducting business under all three names. XCharge appears to offer dedicated support phone lines on its website, but it is unclear whether these are serviced by Global Payments or by XCharge.

Response from XCharge

Are you with XCharge? Add your own voice here!



Key Points - BBB

Product & Service Complaints 13
Billing & Collection Complaints 8
Advertising & Sales Complaints 0
Guarantee & Warranty Complaints 0
Delivery Complaints 0

Note: We have adjusted this company’s BBB rating according to our own standards. To better understand why we adjust BBB ratings, please see our Rating Criteria.

As of this review, XCharge is not listed with the Better Business Bureau, though its alternate name, Accelerated Payment Technologies, is listed as “OpenEdge” with the BBB. Accelerated Payment Technologies currently does not have a rating with the BBB and has had 21 complaints filed against it in the last 36 months. Eight of these complaints stemmed from billing or collections issues and 13 from problems with products or services. Of the total complaints, four were successfully resolved. The remaining complaints either were resolved to the dissatisfaction of the merchant or did not receive a final response from the merchant. In light of the company’s complaint rate and resolution ratio, we have adjusted the BBB’s rating to a “B.”

Response from XCharge

Are you with XCharge? Add your own voice here!

XCharge Logo

XCharge Bottom Line

XCharge rates as an average merchant services provider according to our rating system. The company is showing few complaints online, but its overall rating suffers from the poor contract terms it offers through Global Payments. Merchants should be aware that XCharge, X-Charge, OpenEdge, Accelerated Payment Technologies, and CAM Commerce are all current or former names for this business.

Hi, I’m Phillip Parker and I believe that the merchant account industry has been overrun by people who engage in fraud and deception in order to steal from hard working business owners. I created this website to help you avoid the bad players, save money on fees, and get peace of mind with your merchant account. If you would like to help support my work, check out my cost analysis service. I can evaluate your statement and tell you exactly how much you're overpaying for your merchant account. Get more information here.

Schedule a Consultation with Phillip

14 Reviews Leave Your Review for XCharge Below

  1. Horrible Customer Service, on hold for over an hour. my terminal still does not work. I would seek service else where!!!!!!!!

  2. Let me just say, i have had to deal with a lot of stressful things being a young inexperienced entrepreneur…BUT one thing that i feel should never be a factor is where my money is going when i swipe a clients credit card. I have found out today that for the past month all of my transactions were being batched but never met my bank account. Someone had canceled my account unknowingly and i am just now (one month later) being notified. Yes i should have probably noticed but it has been a good month for the business and i did not notice. I have sat on hold for 3 hours with tech support for them to tell me that they will be getting it resolved in the next 3-5 business days. That is not enough. Who is going to pay me for the 3 hours of time i have sat on the phone to get this all resolved!? Also the old account that they never canceled that i assume they meant to cancel, i have been charged every single month. How can you trust anyone when your own credit card processing company has betrayed you.

    -Feeling hopeless and irritated.

    -Thank you x-charge and global processing, and thank you Salon Iris for your only recommended

  3. Horrible company. Lied to us about fee schedule. Charged us for PCI compliance and PCI non-compliance on the same bill, for months. Kept promising to reimburse. Only did for one month which to us, acknowledges they shouldn’t have charged us. Could never get anyone to return your calls. I could go on but it angers me everytime I think of them!

  4. I have been trying to get these clowns on the phone for 22 hours. I have left my call back number twice. but you can get sales who want do anything except transfer you to tech support who want answer the phone. So if your customer is willing to wait 22 hours, go for it.

    Are you with XCharge? Learn how to resolve this complaint.

  5. I made the terrible mistake of switching to XCHARGE to go with my Mitchell software and have multiple issues. I have tried for weeks to get anybody on phone from technical support and its not possible. I have left call back numbers each time but its a total waste of time. STAY AS FAR AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY AS YOU CAN !

    Are you with XCharge? Learn how to resolve this complaint.

  6. I have been with x-charge for many years. I would have changed to a different company years ago but they have a monopoly on the veterinary industry as far as credit card processing through our software system is concerned. We have had numerous issues with credit cards not being processed correctly, and when I call to get it corrected I am left on hold for a very long time. I called today to update our equipment to the new EMV processing terminals and was left on hold for over half an hour. I had to hang up to help a client, and when I called back I requested that a technician call me at their earliest convenience so that I would not be placed on another extremely long hold. I was told that they are unable to take messages. I asked if I could order the equipment online and was told no. I asked what my options were and was told the ONLY option was to hold. I asked how long my hold time was expected to be, and was told they had no way of knowing. I would suggest that they hire more people or get an updated phone system that allows for phone messages to be left, or at least have basic card reading equipment available for sale on their website.

  7. we currently use X-charge through our Mitchell one software also. They have horrible customer service I asked 3 times the other day to put me through to a manager and still was not able to speak with one. If you use them you better hope you never have a chargeback. We had one on July 31st which was a mistake made by our customers credit card company in the amount of $5800 and it is now August 11th and we are still waiting for our money to be returned. I had myself, the cardholder, and a rep from citibank on the phone with X-charge and we were all saying the same thing and all agreed that it was a mistake and that our charge was a valid charge and I still got the answer that it was under investigation. I said INVESTIGATING WHAT? we are all on the phone and in agreement that the charge is valid he told me there is a process time of 7-10 days from the time they recieve all the info they need. So in other words no matter what I do or information I provide you with it will take 7-10 days to get my money back and in the meantime I’m bouncing checks and scraping to make payroll, taxes and sales tax. Meanwhile they are collecting they are accruing interest on my money. DO NOT USE THEM THEY ARE HORRIBLE AND DON’T CARE. As soon as I get my money back I’m switching. We do $15,000 – $30,000 month in credit card sales and this is totally uncalled for especially when I can’t even get a manager on the phone. If I’m going to pay the ridiculous fees a manager needs to be available to listen to my complaint not some snotty little representative with an attitude becaused asked for a manager.

  8. I have used X-Charge for both companies I own well 1.5 million in annual sales. I have no complaints whatsoever. Most processing companies are absolutely awful.

  9. Used x-charge with the Mitchell manager integration. Worst experience ever. STAY AWAY. It is a shame that Mitchell only works with this company.

  10. I started with accelerated payments x-charge with being told they had an iPhone 5 compatible card reader. I received the reader and found out that it in fact was not compatible, so I contacted the sales rep and he told me it will be compatible when I purchace the 30 pin lightning adaptor. From the start my reader wouldn’t read cards correctly. I called with complaints numerous times, and would get the blame game. I asked if they could send me a new reader and was told I would have to purchase another one. I told them it never worked in the first place and the best they could do for me was offer me a 20% discount.

    I recently have been having to charge the majority of my transactions manually because my reader continues to not work. Being fed up, I called again. My phone call lasted over an hour and I got nowhere!! They said, after being on hold for at least 15-20 minutes that they could get me a new reader at 50% off. At this point I felt like this is going to be the best u can get with this poorly operated company! So I said I said I’d take it. Come to find out, I can only purchase the reader by submitting a fax with my cc info. Being a small business, I don’t have access to a fax machine. They told me this is the only way I can purchase it.

    From that point, I’m at my wits end and tell them I want to leave my contract with them. (Which I was never told I was agreeing to a 3 year contract in the first place when their representative helped me remotely on my computer). They put me through to a department that couldn’t help me and said I’ll receive a call within 48 hours. This has been the WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE EVER!!! I would have remained happy if they would have replaced my faulty reader in the first place. I wouldn’t recommend this company to my worst enemy.

    1. How did you get out of the stupid 3-year contract they never mention?? I’ve been told they charge $1000 + all monthly fees until the 3-year contract ends. I’ve been told to lawyer up before canceling in order to avoid… How did you avoid the 3-year scam?

  11. We are a small seasonal business and this is a rogue company which practices business nothing short of robbery. A problem on their back end caused over a month of payments to go unprocessed last summer. In our off season months when we were closed, they charged us various monthly fees anywhere from 70 to 160 a month in charges, amounting to 100’s of dollars when we weren’t even open. No one in customer service was responsive. By the time we were going to reopen, we wanted to quit doing business with them altogether after which they went in to our bank account and took out almost $2500.

Leave a Review for XCharge

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please do not use profanity or ALL CAPITAL LETTERS in your review. Reviews must provide a detailed account of your experience. By submitting a review or comment to CPO, you are agreeing to our Comment Policy.