OpenEdge Overview

Are you a decision maker with OpenEdge? Claim this review.

A Division of Global Payments

OpenEdge (openedgepayments.com) is a division of Global Payments that specializes in integrated merchant account software. In other words, OpenEdge enables merchants to add third-party and custom software to their existing payment systems. OpenEdge was created following Global Payments’s acquisition of PayPros and XCharge. OpenEdge should not be confused with an identically named business software solution from Progress Software, as the two brands are unrelated.

OpenEdge Location and Ownership

OpenEdge is a registered ISO of Wells Fargo Bank, N.A., Walnut Creek, California; a registered ISO of BMO Harris Bank N.A., Chicago, Illinois; and a registered ISO/MSP of Synovus Bank, Columbus, Georgia. Robert Cortopassi is the president of OpenEdge.

OpenEdge Review Table of Contents

  • Costs & Contract: OpenEdge appears to offer a multi-year contract through Global Payments with an early termination fee of $300.
  • Complaints & Service: OpenEdge has received more than 40 public complaints.
  • BBB Rating: OpenEdge currently has an “A+” rating with the Better Business Bureau and has received 29 complaints in the last three years.
  • Sales & Marketing: OpenEdge does not appear to hire independent sales representatives but has received a few complaints about its sales practices.
  • Rates & Fees: How Merchants Got The Best Rates With OpenEdge

OpenEdge Statement Analyzer

Find hidden fees, pricing errors, and overcharges in your OpenEdge merchant account statement. Not with OpenEdge? That's ok, we can find excessive fees in any statement. In fact, We've found $777,476 in hidden fees in 2019 already! Submit a recent statement to try it out for free!

  • Accepted file types: pdf, doc, docx, png, jpg, xls, xlxs.

Products & Services Offered

  • Debit and credit card processing
  • EMV acceptance
  • Offline processing
  • Custom software integration
  • Tokenization
  • POS equipment

Types of Businesses Served

  • Retail
  • Mobile
  • E-commerce
  • Restaurant
  • Automotive
  • Dental

Our unbiased reviews are supported, in part, by helping you find highly rated merchant accounts. You can learn more here.

OpenEdge Rates, Fees, and Costs

Key Points

Swiped Rate Variable
Keyed-in Rate Variable
Early Termination Fee Up To $300
PCI Compliance Fee $24.75 Per Quarter
Equipment Lease Terms Variable

Multi-Year Contract

According to merchant complaints, the standard OpenEdge merchant account is a multiyear agreement with an early termination fee of up to $300, a monthly minimum fee of $40, a $24.75 quarterly PCI compliance fee, a monthly PCI non-compliance fee of $18 or $29, a $200 “infrastructure upgrade fee” that is somehow related to EMV compliance, and either tiered or interchange-plus pricing. Some of these fees may be legacy costs from PayPros, but the consensus among complainants seems to be that a number of new fees have been added since the company was acquired and rebranded as OpenEdge. One merchant in the comment section of our PayPros review states that his per-transaction rates more than tripled after OpenEdge took over, and that a company representative cited the acquisition as the main factor raising his rates.

Industry-Standard Pricing

Although the costs cited by merchants vary to some degree, they are generally average for the industry. OpenEdge has only been operating under its current name for a couple of years, so it may take some time to get an accurate sense of the company’s pricing structure. Given the available information, however, merchants are likely to obtain a better deal by working with a budget-friendly payment processor. If you have any specific knowledge of the standard OpenEdge contract, please share that information in the comment section below this review.

Are you happy with your OpenEdge fees? Tell us about them before your go!

Response from OpenEdge

Are you a representative of OpenEdge? Add your voice to this section for free!

OpenEdge Complaints & Customer Reviews

Key Points

Total Online Complaints 40+
Live Customer Support Yes
Most Common Complaint Hidden Fees

Moderate Complaint Total

We are currently able to locate more than 40 negative OpenEdge reviews, some of which accuse the company of being a ripoff or a scam. Issues cited by complainants include unexpected fees, poor customer service, difficulty cancelling service, and fund holds. Some of the available complaints go out of their way to state that they were satisfied with their service through PayPros but have been disappointed with the pricing and support offered after the acquisition and rebranding to OpenEdge. This is a clearly negative trend that appears to be worsening rather than improving over the past two years.

OpenEdge Support Options

OpenEdge offers live phone and email customer support channels. These options appear to do an average job of resolving complaints in-house, which has excluded OpenEdge from appearing in our list of top-rated merchant services providers for great customer service. We have assigned OpenEdge a “C” rating in this section due to its growing number of complaints.

Do you have a complaint or testimonial about OpenEdge? Make your voice heard before you go!

Response from OpenEdge

Are you a representative of OpenEdge? Add your voice to this section for free!

OpenEdge BBB Rating Summary

Key Points - BBB

Product & Service Complaints 15
Billing & Collection Complaints 14
Advertising & Sales Complaints 0
Guarantee & Warranty Complaints 0
Delivery Complaints 0

Note: We have adjusted this company’s BBB rating according to our own standards. To better understand why we adjust BBB ratings, please see our Rating Criteria.

Over 25 Complaints

OpenEdge has been accredited with the Better Business Bureau since 2012 and currently has an “A+” rating. The company has received 29 complaints in the past three years, with 14 related to billing or collection disputes and 15 having to do with product or service issues. The company has successfully resolved five complaints while the remainder either were not resolved to the satisfaction of the merchants or did not receive a final response from the merchants.

What Merchants Say

OpenEdge has also received 11 negative informal reviews to its profile. The most recent review describes a poor customer service experience:

I like to say that they told me I was not able to retrieve any information on the account because I was not listed as an Authorized User but I was able to speak to many agents in assisting for what I was looking for. I verify our accounts, Tax Id, Address, and Bank Account. I realized they did not sent me one invoice. This was my fourth time calling in less than 2 hours and was able to get the last statement that we did not received. The only reason why I called was because the statement was not listed online. It has been a month and no invoice and no statement available. I called again. The Manager Julia tells me that I did not call which is a lie. I called the same customer service number. I provided her the names who I spoke with and the person who email the information I requested. She stated that they do not work for Open Edge and that she do not know who I called. There is a list of calls that come in and out listed on the account for those who do not know that. I know that because I have found previous calls that myself and my Supervisor had made in the past in regarding in our accounts. I was told by the Agent before I spoke with the Manager that I can take a survey and gave me the case number knowing that my name is not a Authorized User. She stated that I can still take the survey. When I ask to take a survey at the end of my call with the manager, Julia stated that I cannot take a survey because my name is not listed. I do not know what is the deal. They keep saying one thing and do another. My experience was terrible. Please do not lie stating that those people who I spoke to does not exist, I have seen the logs calls online attached to our account. One of them email me the information I requested and did not email the last one and final bill because he did not have access to it. I am giving a two star because the agents before were helpful and did try to assist me as much as they can knowing that I am not an Authorized User but I was able to verified according. Other than that, one star for online website that did not have valid information and for the Manager and agent for stating that they have no idea who I have called, making it seem that I am lying when they clearly email me the information.

Merchants should be aware of customer support scams and keep a current list of contact information for their processors.

A “B” Performance

In light of the company’s complaint total and resolution ratio, we have adjusted the BBB‘s rating to a “B” at this time.

How has OpenEdge treated you? Tell us about it here!

Response from OpenEdge

Are you a representative of OpenEdge? Add your voice to this section for free!

Truth In Marketing & Advertising

Key Points

Employs Independent Resellers No
Advertises Deceptive Rates No
Discloses All Important Terms No

Inside Sales Team

OpenEdge appears to market its services primarily via an inside sales team and the existing marketing channels available to Global Payments. OpenEdge does not list any deceptive rate quotes or unrealistic guarantees on its website, but we have found a few OpenEdge complaints that accuse the company’s sales team of nondisclosure of fees. In particular, an unexpected monthly PCI non-compliance fee of $18 has been cited as a source of frustration for many merchants, as has the company’s $300 early termination fee.

No Major Issues

OpenEdge’s sales issues do not appear to be especially widespread, but they have been mentioned with increasing frequency in recent years. If you suspect that OpenEdge is applying undisclosed fees to your account, you can double-check your monthly bill with a third-party statement audit.

Did you get what you expected from OpenEdge? Tell us why, or why not.

Response from OpenEdge

Are you a representative of OpenEdge? Add your voice to this section for free!

OpenEdge Marketing Example

OpenEdge Logo

Our Opinion of OpenEdge

An Average Option for Standard-Risk Businesses

OpenEdge appears to be an average merchant services provider according to our rating criteria. The company has seen an increase in complaints under its new name and may be struggling as a result of its acquisition by Global Payments, but its overall complaint total remains low-to-moderate. Merchants are encouraged to request and review all contract terms before signing up, and to compare those terms to top-rated credit card processors.

We rely on your feedback about OpenEdge to keep this review accurate and up-to-date. Please take a minute to tell us about your experience. We and the small business owners of this world thank you!

Thank you for reading my review. I hope that it has helped you with your research.

My Qualifications

I'm a former credit card processing sales director who left the industry to start my own a small business. From the time that I starting working in the merchant services industry to when I left to write about it, I've been on the pulse of payments for nearly 15 years. It didn't seem fair to keep this insider knowledge to myself, so decided to build this website to help you research which providers to use and how to save money on rates and fees. I've reviewed hundreds of companies, read thousands of user reviews, and learned the pricing tricks of every provider. If you have questions about credit card processing, you can find the answers here. Simply scroll to the top of the page to find the search bar. You can also message me if you need any guidance.

Need help understanding your rates and fees? Submit a recent statement and I'll take a look at it for free.

Submit a Statement

  • Accepted file types: jpg, png, pdf, xls, xlsx.

64 Reviews Leave Your Review for OpenEdge Below

  1. Leo Brown says:

    This company took over Payment Pros.I have been using them for 5 years. I had a situation where I had to close my bank account.

    I now am on day 4 with no money coming in while they give me excuses as to why they cant change my bank account number.

    Then when I overcome there issues they tell me it take up to 5 days to change the information.

    If your a small business using these people to process your credit cards they don’t care if you need the money that you are processing with them. I guess they take there time to draw interest on your money.

    I called American Express and they changed the information in 3 minutes.


    This post will help: Best Merchant Accounts for Great Customer Service

    -Phillip

  2. Doug F. says:

    Open Edge is way too expensive! Fees crept up to the point of being ridiculous. Customer Service is non-existent. Got the run around when I finally tried to close our account. PayPros/Open Edge must think customer service is optional – I can’t wait on hold for 30 minutes to talk with them. Before Paypros/Open Edge our previous merchant processor reached out quarterly to us (yes, they called us!) to discuss fee reduction..


    This post will help: Find and Eliminate Hidden Fees in Your Monthly Bill

    -Phillip

  3. kevin h harandi says:

    My company had to order 2 new credit card machine and they have sent bad machines to me 4 times now !
    I want everyone to know how careless this company is and how much they don’t give a damn about if the business has its hardware or not !

    I asked specifically to check the hardware before sending it out but they still send me defective hardware.


    This post will help: Best EMV Chip Readers & Terminals for Purchase

    -Phillip

  4. T Berk says:

    OpenEdge provides quality merchant services that interface with our software, making checkout much easier. Their customer service is top notch!

    1. Phillip says:

      Hello,

      Please reply to this comment with your business name and location in order to authenticate your testimonial. Thanks!

  5. Honestly some of the best customer service I’ve had in the business world. Very easy company to work with.

  6. Kim Erlich says:

    This is an unscrupulous SCAM company. They have enormous hidden charges and hidden fees, and they make it very difficult to cancel the contract. I have never been so ripped-off by a company.


    This post will help: Cancelling a Merchant Account Without Paying a Fee

    -Phillip

    1. Kim Erlich says:

      As an update to my previously stated frustrations and my negative review of Open Edge, I was contacted by a customer service rep (Brea G.), who agreed to refund me two months worth of charges. Brea G. was great in this process. While this does not completely negate the fact that their charges are confusing and seem excessive, I was pleased that they were willing to reach out and try to make amends. Perhaps they are listening to their customers concerns? This could mode well for their future.

      1. Phillip says:

        Hello Kim,

        Please reply to this comment with your business name and location in order to authenticate your testimonial. Thanks!

  7. This company makes you buy a new device every year !
    They send one to you with one year warranty but as soon as warranty ends, device goes bad.


    This post will help: Best EMV Terminals

    -Phillip

  8. ashley says:

    Was forced to sign up with open edge through my EHR medical company for billing. I have been in business for 17 years and have never had any issues with any merchant company. The installation took nearly a month to get scheduled which was a month after we started using our new EHR system. Therefore we were not able to process any payments through open edge for nearly a month. Our system was finally installed via phone a week and a half ago. Today March 26, 2019 we received a certified letter in the mail stating that our account was terminated. The reasoning was due to sales patterns, refunded patterns, services rendered etc. The letter was dated 3/21/2019 which was the same day as installation. Clearly this was an error because how could this company do an evaluation of our account before we could use it? I attempted to call Open Edge and was given the run around for 45 minutes only to be told that no one could assist me. They acknowledge there is an error as the letter doesn’t make sense yet refuse to send me to someone who could look into this further. Instead of was advised to email their legal department and someone would get in touch with me. I am very frustrated and after being forced to work with this company.


    This post will help: Best Healthcare Merchant Accounts

    -Phillip

  9. We have been working with OpenEdge for 5 years or so now and this has been, by far, the best partnership that we have entered into in a long time. They have a great product and their service is impeccable. Anytime that we’ve had an issue, then have been right there beside us making sure that things are taken care of and that our customers are up and running. I wish all partnerships could be this successful!

  10. Ashley K says:

    By far the worst customer service I have ever had the pleasure of working with.. I should have known from the very start. I would recommend NOT using this group or the company that they are owned by Global Payment Systems as they were the ones who held funds to the account hostage for 48+ hours. I would advise anyone considering this company to do their research.


    This post will help: Top-Rated Merchant Accounts for Great Customer Service

    – Phillip

  11. bill says:

    I own 2 businesses and this has to be the worst credit card processing company there is. To start with, I had a different company processing my cards for 9 years and then overnight OpenEdge takes over my account and everything changes. OpenEdge needs to get caught up with the times and move to next day deposits like every other company in the year 2018. They also decided to put my account on hold and not deposit 3 days worth of sales when they decided to try and take their monthly processing fee and there wasn’t enough in the account. Holding 10k from a small business account is a recipe for disaster and this company doesn’t care. OpenEdge has horrible customer service and is in the stone ages when it comes to processing credit cards. Do yourself a favor and skip these guys or move on like I did

    From The Editor
    This Post Might Help: How to Make Your Processor Release Your Money

  12. Seth Friedman says:

    I upgraded my business software a year ago and the upgrade locked me into Open Edge. They agreed to meet the rates I had before. In July they hiked the rates by 300%. .05 discount rate and 5 cents a transaction to .15 discount rate and 15 cents a transaction. I called and complained so they did a re-evaluation and put the rates back to where they were originally but told me it would take 2 to 3 months to return the rates back to my original agreement. They refuse to reimburse me for the exhorbitant rate increase they imposed but then decided was not correct…..

    From The Editor
    This Post Might Help: Let Professionals Monitor Your Monthly Statements for New Fees

  13. We no longer use OpenEdge’s services and have not since May. Due to a personnel issue we were never made aware that a ‘request to end service’ letter was require and not sent. This company has continued to bill us and bill us and bill us. When we finally did send the letter, you sent us another bill. I find their business practices and over all policies anti-customer and borderline criminal. I would NEVER recommend OpenEdge or their parent company, Global.


    From The Editor
    This Post Might Help: How to Get Out of a Merchant Account Contract

  14. Brenda Trammel says:

    I called to inquire if a charge had gone thru that did not complete on my Eaglesoft. The representative was indeed able to show me that it had gone thru and even helped me set up an online portal so I can look things like this up for myself in the future. Thank you.

    1. Phillip says:

      Hi Brenda,

      Please reply to this comment with your business name and location in order to authenticate your testimonial. Thanks!

  15. The best merchant we have worked with so far. Easy to use, easy access for help, friendly and quick help, and match all competitor rates. We use them through ChiroFusion which is even more seamless.

  16. Cristina Carreno says:

    I’m very pleased with Open Edge with the exception of very long hold times for technical assistance. This is a hardship for our small business as it ties up one of our phone lines in addition to the employee down time.

  17. Crystal Cary says:

    I am an OpenEdge Client, which means the software company I work has an integration with OpenEdge. They have improved their customer service, product, and delivery over the past two years, and I’ve personally seen the difference especially in this past year. The mutual customers we have that I’ve spoken with, are thrilled with OpenEdge. I am proud to recommend their service to our customers, and do so with confidence.

    1. CPO Admin says:

      Hi Crystal,

      Please reply to this comment with your business name and location in order to authenticate your testimonial. Thanks!

  18. brian roeder says:

    OE was a great provider for our business over several happy years. Then last year they were acquired by Global. Global has increased our fees by 40% without explanation, without communication. In fact, they have been non-responsive to all our eforts to understand their invoicing and billing. Global simply is stealing our hard earned small business credit card fees. We are leaving OE as soon as our specialized POS software provider can migrate us. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY!

  19. Carlos Santos says:

    Great Customer Service!

    1. CPO Admin says:

      Hi Carlos,

      Please reply to this comment with your business name and location in order to authenticate your testimonial. Thanks!

  20. Orin Sowers says:

    We have a POS system in a restaurant using OpenEdge and we liked OpenEdge because we would receive a free backup processing terminal. We need this and have used it from time to time. Sometimes the POS might have updates, processing issues or licensing issues. Sometimes the POS cannot read a card that the backup terminal can read. During those times we have to have the backup terminal. OpenEdge just decides one day to turn off our FirstData terminal and go with Global because they want everything in house. They did this with no phone call or notification to us. Claimed they sent email, where did it go? Email only are your serious!? No phone call, no customer service, just turn it off. So they turn this off and then when we need the terminal we find out….. Then a call to them says you will have to talk to sales, and by the way, they are not here until Monday. So if I turned off their electricity and said wait until Monday they would be happy? Oh we sent you an email regarding your electric meter that we would be changing it out and you did not call…..really? So you can turn off the terminal without talking to us and switch to another brand name (because you own that company now and want $$/business through that company) and do all this without talking to us but YOU WANT US TO CONTACT YOU TO GET ANOTHER ONE!? What kind of customer service is that? Wouldn’t you want to see to it that any transition is smooth and customers have no glitch if you are making changes without talking to them? These corporations get so big they lose all sense of customer service.

  21. Danielle says:

    Do not use OpenEdge! They charge outrageous fees! We recently were charged $125 in fees for $233 in credit card payments. We closed our account and then they proceeded to “push” through two transactions the next month so they could charge us all of these fees. I don’t know how they are still in business. It’s crazy how poor their customer service is.

  22. Jeff Llewellyn says:

    First of all Openedge’s bill has 8 lines of fees that make no sense. I thought I closed my account but found out 600.00 later that I didn’t fill out an on line cancellation which they never sent me. I called and complained and they gave me a case # but never sent me the cancellation notice to fill out or contact me but sent me another bill. The records show that Openedge did not provide me any services for 5 months but continued to bill me. I was told that they would not give me a refund. Very unethical in my book.

  23. Wilnerys says:

    Horrible customer service! Takes very long to just get any type of solution or answer. They have xcharge as a product which is useless since when checks are declined or account is not found it won’t communicate back to xcharge. When asked for an email report that would have the declined check but with a specific receipt # that xcharge generate, they can never do anything and only talk your ear off!

  24. Carrie says:

    DO NOT use this company! They are fraudulent in charging bogus fees and doing so without advance knowledge. When you contact them about them, they only offer a 2-month credit. They charge a $300 early termination fee when this fee isn’t mentioned in any of my paperwork. It’s weeks later and I am still waiting for that refund. Listed to these reviewers….stay away from them! And if you use a program that requires using OpenEdge, contact their tech department and let them know you will not use OpenEdge and they need to offer another company!

  25. VINCE says:

    Save yourself a lot of misery and DO NOT go with Open Edge. They should re-name the company to Misery Edge. We were with Pay Pros and it wasn’t too bad, just a few small things here and there. Then as soon as our statements starting saying Open Edge, ouch!!! fees skyrocketed. Called in to discuss and on hold for over 30 minutes.

  26. Jon says:

    While we haven’t had any problems with the service itself (downage, outages, etc), yesterday I looked over our bill closely and found several fees that were not disclosed to us, and added to bills that were set to autopay. I called and spoke to customer service and this is how they were explained:

    1) Infrastructure Upgrade Fee: $200 (per location)
    – “We needed to upgrade our infrastructure to handle the changing chip technologies” So you added $200 onto both of my bills without telling me?

    2) PCI NON COMPLIANCE FEE: $29.99 (per location)
    – This has been billed MONTHLY. “You are being charged this because whoever setup your account never filled out the online questionnaire to make you PCI compliant” (Lie; never informed of this)

    3) PCI PROGRAM FEE: $24.75 (per location; quarterly)
    -“This is a fee to use our online partner’s program to become PCI compliant. You can use any company to do this, but if you use our partner, its already billed and paid for by this fee.”

    I want anyone reading this to really understand what I just wrote. OpenEdge is charging me a monthly fee for being NON PCI COMPLIANT and a quarterly fee to be apart of a program that can make me PCI COMPLIANT, though I’m not.

    A fee so you can get compliant, a fee because you aren’t compliant and never being told anything about PCI Compliance…. This company has taken $1000’s from us in these fees in just over 2 years…

    DON’T WALK; RUN

  27. Jordan says:

    I originally contracted with PayPros for my card processing. They were great, but when they were purchased by OpenEdge/GlobalPayments, my fees began increasing dramatically. What’s worse, customer service has been abysmal. I have spent roughly 4 hours on the phone with 5 different people. They have been unable to tell me what various fees were for. They have told me they will research the fees and call back the same day, but they don’t call back. They told me I should expect their fees to be “about” 20-25% of my transactions. This is utterly unacceptable. This has been the worst merchant vendor experience I have had in my life, and the worst customer service experience I’ve had in my life. They are literally taking money without being able to explain why. I will be filing a complaint with the Better Business Bureau and exploring a class action lawsuit against these companies, as I imagine this is happening with many of their clients.

  28. OpenEdge is EXTREMELY deceptive when it comes to hidden fees. If you look at the their sign up form, NOWHERE does it tell you about their $300 cancelation fee. Something like that you would think they would make it very obvious. Evidently the found that not putting on the form would enable them to rip people off. Avoid these slime bags.

    1. Jordan says:

      Mr. Gilbert:

      It appears we have had similar negative experiences with OpenEdge. Could you let me know if you found a different company with fewer problems? I’m looking to change vendors immediately. Thank you.

      Jordan

      1. Gilbert says:

        Jordan, I’d suggest Cayan – (old Merchant Warehouse). They’re not the cheapest game in town, but they don’t try to screw you like the crooks at OpenEdge. Their customer service has been VERY good.

  29. JoDee Hunt says:

    I strongly suggest researching this company fully before making a transition. I wish I had done additional research before transitioning to OpenEdge for our business. We converted over 16 months ago and have not yet received our credit card payments from patients. The amount totals over $20,000.00 and no one seems to be interested in rectifying this situation. I worked with several representatives and the last individual who was assigned to correct the situation is not returning my calls or emails. This has been an ongoing issue. We are frustrated and my current recourse is to leave negative reviews hoping I will get their attention.

  30. Sean H says:

    Awful. We have used many providers and they were both more expensive and more difficult to work with then any of the other providers we use. Look elsewhere

  31. Century Auto Sales says:

    Definitely sign up with them if you want to call them and stay on the phone for 10 -15 min. for every transaction to get funded.

  32. Angela says:

    I have never dealt with worse customer service. I have been trying to close our account (of which we have not used since last July!) and every month I am assured it is closed and the next month, I am charged! I have applied for refunds and closures over and over again. Today, I waited on hold for 58 minutes, asked for a supervisor, was told one was not available and put into a voicemail. Horrible customer service!

    1. James says:

      I understand your problems. Cancelled all of my accounts in 2015 via fax based on their request (2 accounts). No statements or debits for months, and then all of a sudden mid-2016 I start seeing debits and receiving statements. After calling them, I am told one account is still open. I fax in another request to close this account. Although the debited amounts were credited, I hear and see nothing from them until May 2017, when all of a sudden I see an account debit and receive a statement. They try to explain it away as there is still an open account. But, this charge is apparently a monthly minimum charge, which has not (mysteriously) been applied for months. I am writing the attorney general. Do not trust this business.

    2. Jordan says:

      Angela:

      It appears we have had similar negative experiences with OpenEdge. Could you let me know if you found a different company with fewer problems? I’m looking to change vendors immediately. Thank you.

      Jordan

  33. Tom Brokamp says:

    The good days are gone. Find someone else.
    I’ve been a client for 8 years but they’ve gone downhill – fast.
    Calls are routed to voicemail and nobody returns calls.
    Garbage

    1. Kate Williams says:

      Open Edge is a terrible company. They fabricate fees to steal money from customers. Customer service is awful. They do not return calls and they make no attempt to resolve errors they create.

      I am filing a notice with the Attorney Generals office of my state because of their practices.

      1. Paul says:

        I’m glad to see we are not alone! This company keeps inventing new fees and slipping them in to blend with the monthly statement…their latest is a $44.00 “infrastructure fee” that is on top of the $49 quarterly “Network Security & Compliance fee” that just started in February, which is in addition to the “$24.75 quarterly “PCI Program Fee” they started last year…unfortunately they are the only company integrates with my practice management software so I’m stuck with them. I wonder what kind of incentives Patterson Dental is reaping for giving this company exclusivity to Eaglesoftware!

        1. Becky says:

          I completely agree with the Patterson statement (and don’t get me started with their fees). I have two doctors with two separate practices so each gets a statement and one has $29 Network & Sec Compliance fee and the other $49. It just went up to $39 and $59 in November. I dumped them in November. There was a “global atl” fee in 2016 that mysteriously started up and mysteriously disappeared 7 months later. If your practice isn’t so large that it’s prohibitive to run payments through Patterson after running through a credit card terminal that’s the way to go. It takes an extra 5 seconds per transaction.

  34. Tracy says:

    Highly recommend not working with this company. Have had several issues and they have not returned any of my calls or resolved any issues

  35. Sunn Wee says:

    STAY AWAY AN ABSOLUTE NIGHTMARE!!! Signed up with OpenEdge/Global in January 2017. I purchased a VeriFone terminal from Global. When I received it the people at Global made a mistake by inputting the wrong date January 2016 instead of 2017. Global and OpenEdge claimed that there might have been fraud and took out 300 debits in the sum of $7000.00! When I saw the 300 debits I immediately called and asked what is going on. They said our account might have been compromised because of the wrong inputted date and upper management is taking care of it. I asked about the 300 debits and they said there is nothing they can do. Our bank charges $35.00 for each chargeback which would have come out to $10,500 in NSF FEES!!! So I immediately took out a loan out with some crazy high interest which now I AM responsible for. After 3 grueling months I get my $7000.00 which of course they didn’t give me the full amount it was $3.00 short. Finally found another merchant service provider. PLEASE STAY AWAY AN ABSOLUTE NIGHTMARE!!!

  36. Danielle says:

    HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE!! Beware! You will be on hold forever and then when they answer they don’t know how to answer the question. Trying to make a simple change on your account is a nightmare and will take weeks. We have used several different credit card processors and they are the absolute worst by far! Their rates are not good either.

  37. rois says:

    Worst Credit Card Processor we have had in 20 years. Stay away!

  38. John Piccirlli says:

    Absolute worst merchant services company we have ever used.

    Customer service representatives are rude and inconsiderate. Business practices are shady at best.

    Definitely telling businesses to steer clear of this company. If I could give it less than a zero, I would.

  39. What a Joke says:

    Their (lack of) customer service is pathetic. HOURS of being on hold, then when you get someone on the line they sit in silence while they attempt to figure out how to fix THEIR problem. I only knew that the line had not been disconnected by saying “hello, hello?” and someone finally saying “what” back to me! I have never experienced a merchant processing co. as bad as O.E. Oh, and good luck if you dream of wanting to speak to a supervisor. I have been told all of the following: no one can talk to you, I have tried to make you happy, I don’t know what to tell you, Someone can call you back in 3-5 business days, and I have been hung up on (they claimed disconnected) twice. This has been beyond frustrating

  40. Robert Smith says:

    OpenEdge is the worst. I found their service to be horrible, and then when you cancel – it’s too late they steal $300 from you for the hidden early termination fee. I can’t believe these guys can sleep at night. If your dumb enough to sign up for their service watch out of the extraneous fees that they don’t tell you about.

  41. Larry Tapp says:

    These guys are crooks. We had a similar experience as others. Months and months of extraneous fees. Even after we left they continued to charge huge monthly fees. When we jumped though their final hoop to officially close our account they assessed anot early termination fee of $300. When we called we were informed that the early termination clause was in the contract we signed. Pulled out the original contract and sent it to them as well. Absolutely nothing about early termination. Please stay away from this company.

  42. Debra Spurgeon says:

    I used this service that was recommended by Corporate Housing By Owner to allow my one renter to charge his rent. This company is unprofessional and lacks competent people in customer service. I closed my account after they stole money from my account stating I did not do some compliance paperwork that I never received. They couldn’t even get my address right. I quickly closed my account got in writing from then that my account was completely closed and that I owed no fees. Yesterday I got an invoice that I owe them 300 dollars. I will be making a better business complaint and will see what legal action I can take. Beware of hidden fees and termination fees. I have made hours of phone calls and spoke to several agents thinking my issues were resolved…… what a joke.

  43. Priscilla Slagle, The Way Up says:

    terrible customer service. Have held funds due us for over 1 month & not available to fix. Essentially have stolen our money. Do not use them!!!

  44. Martha says:

    Do your research- We opened an account to give our clients an online payment option. Since June we have had a total of $81.00 as our deposits (mind you we haven’t received any deposits into our account thus far) and a total of $173.82 in merchant service fees. Ummmm, what is wrong with this picture?!?!? Steer clear of this company!!

  45. Howard Paskow says:

    After using this company for several years I found that they not only don’t disclose hidden costs but after I no longer needed their services in writing per their protocol, they still took service charges for three months after. They opened a case up and did not proactively follow up on it. I finally realized what had happened and had to call them back. They had no interest in refunding me funds they were not supposed to receive. ( I was obviously not using their services any longer). While it was only around $150 I am sure that anyone reading this will understand that this is not a game and will go unnoticed. I will be sure to let anyone that I can how this company treats people that want to part business ties with Open Edge. Apparently they believe they have a license to steal. Good luck to anyone who attempts to engage their “so called” services.

  46. 1.2 million in gross sales turned into bankruptcy because of PAYPRO’s AKA OPEN EDGE AKA Global Payments. I hired PayPros in December 2014 for my new business and May 2015 added a 2nd account for another new store. I have two accounts with OPEN EDGE and never had any issues till I received a email in a email account that was inactive for over a year in March 2016 saying that my first business I opened in 2014 had what they said was a TIN mismatch and to contact them before they take 28% of deposits. Its took two weeks to finally get a hold of this office to learn that $25,000 has been taken away from my business since December 2015. The issue was I used my SS# in place of a federal tax ID number and their employee started the TIN claim that allows them to hold my money till 2017 as a tax free loan. Our business at the time was growing and because of the amount taken it has caused us to close 50% of what was 7 months ago. I have all about lost everything because of them and they couldn’t even call me to say my application with PayPros in 2014 they felt was wrong to use a SS# and IRS employee badge number XXXXXXX said that I was never in mismatch and if they took money they need to make it right. I have emailed and called more times then I can count and their employees will not talk to me on anything any more and respond with your attorney needs to call. Well unfortunately Im now bankrupt and looking for legal help to make sure my rights have not been violated. RUN RUN RUN

  47. Ruth P says:

    OpenEdge’s monthly non-compliance fee has jumped from $18 to $75. I canceled service with OpenEdge 5 months ago, and am still getting charged monthly non-compliance fees and minimum processing fees($25) and an annual technology fee($75), and an annual membership fee($55), as well as monthly statement fees($6). I finally had to instruct my bank to Stop Payment to them. The issue is still not resolved as they will not return my phone calls. Also, they never reached out to me about PCI compliance, as my new company did. I was happy with PayPros for many years, but in hind sight, my PPs rep never once talked to me about PCI compliance either. $18 per month for 12 years? I don’t know if I can bear finding out the truth.

  48. Very Frustrated says:

    POOR customer service. Phone calls not returned. Took months to set up account and now when we are having trouble (our money isn’t being deposited into our account) CANNOT get ahold of ANYONE! Would not recommend to an enemy.

  49. Noel says:

    Be careful dealing with Open Edge! We had been a very satisfied user with PayPros but with the change we decided to recompete our business and in the process learned that Open Edge’s business practices are quite different than PayPros and disadvantageous: they now require businesses to engage with lower tier sales personnel who are incapable of providing package pricing (to include equipment and terms) and would only give a rate-only quote upon submission of a competing bid. Open Edge also took unfair advantage in changing their policy without notice requiring a $499 fee to convert our tokens — and even though we only submitted one token file for conversion, they charged us that fee twice because we had two merchant accounts with them. After their Director of Customer Service James Parrall did not return my 5 calls over a two week period, I finally got a call back from one of his lower tier supervisors Adrian who insisted that they could not refund the second $499 charge even while acknowledging that they only converted one file. Be very careful in that Open Edge is not Pay Pros and they are not interested in the long term success of their company in this market.

    1. Someone Something says:

      Adrian is not a supervisor, he is a low tier CS rep.

    2. dave walstad says:

      Open Edge is worse than dealing with Cable companies, paypros had no issue. OE is so bad to deal with. Terrible at all levels. IF you have a choice use anyone else

Leave a Review for OpenEdge

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please do not use profanity or ALL CAPITAL LETTERS in your review. Reviews must provide a detailed account of your experience. By submitting a review or comment to CPO, you are agreeing to our Comment Policy.