Riverside Payments Review

Overview

Founded in 2014, Riverside Payments (riversidepayments.com) is a Portland-based merchant account provider serving most standard-risk business types. The company is a registered ISO of Wells Fargo Bank, N.A., Walnut Creek, California.

According to an old version of the footer on its website and its filing with the Oregon business registry, Riverside Payments appears to have shared an address with National Paymentech at 9600 NE Cascades Parkway STE 220, Portland, Oregon 97220. However, the company’s contact page has also previously listed a different location at 111 SW 5th Ave #3150, Portland, Oregon 97204, and a representative of the company has stated that the company’s offices are actually located at 201 NE Park Plaza Dr #170, Vancouver, Washington 98684. Riverside Payments and National Paymentech have both been represented by the law offices of Mark Sampath in the past, and Mr. Sampath currently serves as corporate counsel to National Paymentech. Taken as a whole, these facts seem to suggest that there is some kind of connection between National Paymentech and Riverside Payments. A Riverside Payments representative has stated that the two companies previously worked together but have since severed ties.

Brandon Skinner, the president and CEO of Riverside Payments, is a former employee of Expect Payment Solutions, a merchant services provider based in Vancouver, Washington. However, the current owner of Expect Payment Solutions has stated that there is no current affiliation between the two companies.

Key Points

  • Sales & Marketing: Riverside Payments hires independent sales agents and has received a moderate number of complaints about its sales practices.
  • Costs & Contract: Riverside Payments appears to offer a three-year contract with an early termination fee of up to $695.
  • Complaints & Service: Riverside Payments has received more than 50 public complaints.
  • BBB Rating: Riverside Payments currently has an “A-” rating with the Better Business Bureau and has received 26 complaints since March 2015.
  • Rates & Fees: How Merchants Got The Best Rates With Riverside Payments

Riverside Payments Products and Services

Industries

  • Retail
  • Mobile
  • E-commerce
  • MOTO
  • Restaurant
  • Automotive

Response from Riverside Payments

Brandon Skinner, CEO, and Jason Reese, CFO, co-founded Riverside Payments in 2014 with the mission of becoming The World’s Best Merchant Service Provider. Former co-founder, CEO and President of Expect Payment Solutions for 8 years, Skinner sold his shares to form a national company that extends the best services, products, security, and savings in the marketplace across the United States. Headquartered in Vancouver, Washington, Riverside Payments has additional offices in Portland, Seattle and Columbus, experiencing a growth rate of more than 1400% over the past 2 years. To keep improving support Riverside has recently added a number of Dedicated Client Success Managers to become more proactive in support of our merchants, communicating through multiple means including phone, text, and email. We work with the best Sales Groups and Independent Sales Agents across the country, who align with Riverside’s core values of Integrity, Passion, Fun, Excellence, and Community. We’ve even implemented a Merchant of the Month Program to recognize community leaders for their contributions. Complaints are taken very seriously and may result in additional training or termination, as we do not tolerate behavior that defies our high standards. National Paymentech (NPT) was one such sales group that we worked with for
little over a year and have since terminated our relationship due to the volume of complaints lodged against them, which did not align with the integrity of Riverside. Our focus at Riverside is to truly partner with our clients, ensuring that all merchant service and processing needs are being met with the goal of “Making Merchant Services Great Again!”

d

Sales & Marketing

Key Points - Sales & Marketing

Employs Independent Resellers Yes
Advertises Deceptive Rates No
Discloses All Important Terms No

We have received a large number of similarly worded, unverified positive testimonials about Riverside Payments. We have reason to believe that at least some of these testimonials are fake. This has negatively impacted Riverside Payments’s score in this section.

Riverside Payments appears to utilize a combination of strategic partnerships, telemarketing, and both in-house and independent sales agents to market its services. The use of independent sales agents is typically linked to elevated complaint rates within the credit card processing industry, and we have found a few Riverside Payments complaints that mention aggressive telemarketing tactics and nondisclosure of contract terms. In this complaint, the merchant claims to have been told that she could close her business without facing an early termination fee from Riverside Payments. When she closed her business, she was assessed a fee. This complaint describes a poor experience with a sales representative over the phone. Other complaints that the company has received on other websites cite aggressive telemarketing practices and various misrepresentations by sales agents regarding fees and equipment lease terms.

Response from Riverside Payments

Standard practice in the industry, Independent Agents represent Riverside to thoroughly present our services to merchants across the United States. One thing that really separates Riverside is the ongoing training we provide along with quotes that are reviewed by National Sales Managers. We’ve recently implemented e-sign agreements, allowing clients to access instant copies of all documents, terms and conditions, as well as providing a comprehensive understanding of agreements through a complete explanation of all documents by highly trained representatives. Additionally, upon the install, clients receive another copy of the agreement. To take it a step further, Riverside offers a Guarantee of Savings, which ensures that clients are saving money throughout the entire term of the agreement, adding an extra layer of protection that goes above and beyond normal protocol for the maximum benefit of our clients. All agents affiliated with Riverside are expected to uphold the highest level of service, professionalism, and ethics.

Riverside Payments Marketing Example

d

Costs & Contract

Key Points - Costs & Contract

Swiped Rate Variable
Keyed-in Rate Variable
Early Termination Fee Variable
PCI Compliance Fee Variable
Equipment Lease Terms 48 Months, Non-Cancellable

Riverside Payments does not disclose its rate structure or contract terms on its website, but we have found descriptions of the company’s fees in publicly filed merchant complaints. According to these complaints and the company’s official responses to them, Riverside Payments charges an early termination fee of up to $695, a $9.95 “reg product fee,” a $99 “annual comp svc fee,” a monthly minimum fee of $25, and a monthly statement fee of $5. There are also multiple complaints that state that the company’s agents sell non-cancellable equipment leases that last for up to 48 months and cost up to $190 per month. These leases also come with Liquidated Damages-style early termination fees, resulting in reported cancellation penalties totaling thousands of dollars.

Some of the leasing companies mentioned by complainants or by Riverside Payments include First Data Global Leasing, Northern Leasing Systems, and Executech Lease Group. A Riverside representative has stated that the company has severed ties with Northern Leasing. Overall, these terms appear to be about average for the industry, but the common complaints about undisclosed lease terms are troubling enough to lower the company’s score to a “D.”

Response from Riverside Payments

Riverside Payments provides extensive training to all sales agents to minimize confusion during the sales process, and represent our company with moral integrity. Our new e-sign agreements allow clients to have instant access to the documents and another copy at the time of install, while extensively trained agents walk clients through each page one-by-one to ensure complete understanding and awareness of all terms and conditions. If a client is signed up in a lease, as an added layer of security, clients complete a verbal verification with our leasing partners to confirm full acknowledgement of the terms and conditions, that the agreement is in the form of a lease, and to review payment schedules. Multiple emails and texts are subsequently employed introducing leasing partners and reiterating terms and conditions, and payment schedules. The lease payment is always factored into the quote if being set up with a lease. If a savings is quoted Riverside backs that up with our Guarantee of Savings that goes above and beyond standard industry practices, ensuring that clients will save money during the term of the agreement. Dedicated to working with the best partners in the industry, Riverside aligns with First Data Global Leasing, Executech Lease Group, and Time Payment Corp., and has since severed ties with Northern Leasing for the good of the client. Riverside enjoys many strategic partnerships with POS companies such as Future, Revel, Digital Dining and Clover, and offer clients multiple leasing options that allow them to acquire brand new, state-of-the-art systems with zero upfront costs. We uphold the highest level of standards for our representatives and take immediate action at the first sign of any ethical violation. In summary, Riverside Payments is dedicated to simplifying the sales process to minimize confusion, providing continual training to support ethical practices, implementing the highest level of professionalism and expertise, acquiring feedback from clients to afford a greater overall experience, and offering the best product, service and support to each and every one of our clients.

c

Complaints & Service

Key Points - Complaints & Service

Total Online Complaints 50+
Live Customer Support Yes
Most Common Complaint Sales Tactics

We have located more than 50 negative Riverside Payments reviews, some of which accuse the company of being a ripoff or a scam. As noted in the above sections, most Riverside complaints mention persistent telemarketing calls and nondisclosure of contract terms, particularly in relation to equipment leases. There is also a negative news report related to a Texas business owner who claims to have been trapped in an unwanted equipment lease and subsequent lawsuit. A Riverside representative has stated that this merchant’s grievance was ultimately resolved.

Riverside Payments has responded to many of these complaints in a professional tone, although the company appears to offer refunds on a case-by-case basis. Some complainants were held accountable for the contract they signed despite their claims that they were deceived, while others received offers of refunds from Riverside Payments representatives. The company’s complaint total is moderate-to-high for the time that it has been operating. We have therefore assigned it a rating of “C” in this category. Riverside offers a phone number on its website, but it is unclear whether this is a sales line or a customer support line.

Response from Riverside Payments

With a client base of well over 3000 merchants and meeting with hundreds of potential clients per month, Riverside’s complaint ratio is less than 1%, and we are dedicated to minimizing that number even more. We have both outsourced and in-house marketing teams, focused on ensuring our product gets in front of prospective clients. Highly trained and experienced Independent Agents are dedicated to making sure clients know the terms and conditions of all agreements they sign, minimizing miscommunication or confusion during the sales process so that we can provide the best possible service. Every client receives a copy of the agreement at signing and again at installation. If the client signs up for a lease the client completes a verbal verification phone call from the leasing company after installation to further confirm full awareness and understanding of the terms of the lease. In addition, multiple texts and emails disclose leasing partners and payment schedules. In alignment with our goal of becoming the best, Riverside must in-turn offer the best service in the industry, and that is why every client we sign has a dedicated Client Success Manager to allow for a “go to” person, 24/7—365. Additionally, Riverside’s Guarantee of Savings assures clients receive a savings as promised. In regards to the negative complaint lodged by the business in Texas, a complete resolution has been achieved. There was a miscommunication, and the client has since been fully refunded, and their account with Riverside and all partners has been successfully closed. Riverside welcomes all feedback negative or positive as it gives us an opportunity to learn how to be better in the marketplace. Thank you to clients that have posted on CPO and thank you for working with us to resolve the issue at hand and find a solution to that problem. Also, thank you to the clients with all of the positive feedback as well. Riverside keeps thorough records of all communications and correspondence with clients and encourages close communication so that if a challenge arises, we can quickly arrive at a solution.

b

BBB

Key Points - BBB

Product & Service Complaints 18
Billing & Collection Complaints 5
Advertising & Sales Complaints 1
Guarantee & Warranty Complaints 0
Delivery Complaints 2

Note: We have adjusted this company’s BBB rating according to our own standards. To better understand why we adjust BBB ratings, please see our Rating Criteria.

Riverside Payments is not accredited with the Better Business Bureau and currently has an “A-” rating. The company has received 26 complaints since its BBB profile was opened in March 2015, with 18 related to product or service issues, five related to billing or collection disputes, two having to do with delivery, and one due to an advertising or sales dispute. Five complaints receive a satisfactory resolution, while the remaining 21 complaints either were not resolved to the satisfaction of the complainant or did not receive a final response from the complainant. In light of the company’s complaint total, resolution ratio, and time in business, we have adjusted the BBB’s rating to a “B.”

Response from Riverside Payments

The core of our foundation at Riverside Payments centers on providing excellent customer support, which we uphold to the highest priority. Continually implementing improved practices to support client needs and enhance the customer experience, Riverside is dedicated to responding quickly to any complaints to arrive at a swift resolution. With an improved score from a “B+” to the “A” rating we currently enjoy, Riverside strives to achieve an “A+” rating with The Better Business Bureau in the very near future.

Riverside Payments Logo

Riverside Payments Bottom Line

Riverside Payments currently rates as an average merchant services provider according to our rating criteria. Since its inception, the company has received a steady stream of complaints related to its sales tactics and contract terms. Riverside has taken steps to address some of these issues in recent months, but their efforts have yet to slow the rate at which the company accumulates negative reviews. We will continue to monitor the company and adjust our grade as more information becomes available.

Hi, I’m Phillip and I’m disgusted by the state of credit card processing in the U.S. and abroad. I believe that the industry has been overrun by people who engage in fraud and deception in order to steal money from hard working business owners. I’ve made it my mission to expose the companies and individuals who engage in predatory marketing, pricing, and contracts, or just provide terrible service. Along with uncovering the bad guys, I’ve also discovered the good guys who do stand out from the status quo. CPO is a website where you will find ratings and reviews of these companies along with advice on how to save money and which service providers consider. Together we can move the industry in a positive direction. If you would like to help support my work, please checkout “Fee Sweep” my eGuide to getting the lowest possible fees when accepting card payments. If you haven’t heard of “interchange” this advice will save you hundreds, even thousands, in processing fees.

Schedule a Consultation with Phillip

119 Reviews Leave Your Review Below

  1. I’m very happy with riverside payments because I’m saving a lot of money comparing with my previous company!!!

      1. As a manager of Casa Hacienda Grill, located in 1264 E Dublin Granville Rd, Columbus Oh, I’m very happy with Riverside Payments for their great rates and big savings we’re having with them; moreover for their fast respond to any issues or concerns we might have.

  2. Would recommend them to anyone that asks. Since I have switched I have received exceptional service. As a newer business owner saving time is crucial and they have cut out one of the biggest headaches I used to have while running my business.

  3. Riverside has treated me very well. They are in the business of saving me money, and the support staff is very helpful when I reach out. They seem to be interested in my best interest, and put in an honest effort helping me whenever I have issues. Also, the included card reading equipment is a perk that I never received from my prior processor.

  4. Riverside Payments has always made sure that my business including myself have been taken care of.
    When I was unable to process any longer with their company, they helped me close out everything without any fees, which they did not have to do.

    Thanks to Amy Grace and Jason Resse I will make sure to always recomend this company.

    I cant thank you enough Riverside!

    1. Hi Jessica,

      Please reply to this comment with your business name and location in order to authenticate your testimonial. Thanks!

  5. The customer service is always amazing. I have not had many issues but when anything has arised, I call in and its taken care of me. Amy Grace is always making sure i fully understand, I appreciate the hard work from Riverside!

      1. our adress is 2060 nw. stewart parkway, roseburg,oregon 97471.
        Owners are Cathy Martin and Sam Gross
        General Manager- Doug Longfellow

  6. April Wetzel in Customer Service was extremely helpful and answered all of my questions. She took extra steps to explain why and helped me set up my online profile. I would say she definitely goes above and beyond with her job. Keep up the good work April, you deserve a raise.

  7. Would recommend them to anyone that asks. Since I have switched I have saved money and received exceptional service. As a newer business owner saving time is crucial and they have cut out one of the biggest headaches I used to have while running my business.

  8. This business has been nothing but a pleasure for me and my company. Two years into business I was introduced to Phil from Riverside Payments. He told me he could save me money on my card processing fees. I was skeptical as any business owner would be, but his personality won me over. That was two years ago. Ever since that day I have been a loyal Riverside Payments customer and advocate. Present day, they continue to save me money, review my account regularly, and most importantly they treat me like my business matters to them. I have been exceedingly pleased with all experiences with them and highly recommend for any business.

    1. Hi Daniel,

      Please reply to this comment with your business name and location in order to authenticate your testimonial. Thanks!

  9. Justin and his team members cut my expenses in half, paid my former contract off without hesitation. Mypos system ie computer, programs, and reports will be transparent. unlike My former company that had hidden fees on every page. I give them 5 stars.

    1. Hi Geneva,

      Please reply to this comment with your business name and location in order to authenticate your testimonial. Thanks!

  10. I have dealt with at least half a dozen of their reps in different departments and have across the board had amazing experiences. Without exception every employee of theirs that I’ve interacted with has been extremely friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. As a business owner this had made my life so much easier.
    -The Waypost
    Portland

    1. Hi Dick,

      Please reply to this comment with your business name and location in order to authenticate your testimonial. Thanks!

  11. Very happy with Riverside Payments, I am happy I made the decision to take a leap of faith for the savings. Definitely well worthit

    1. Hi Jenny,

      Please reply to this comment with your business name and location in order to authenticate your testimonial. Thanks!

  12. Our company has been with Riverside Payments for 2 years and have been extremely happy with their services. They are quick to respond, solve and correct (if needed) any issues. I would highly recommend them to anyone looking for a merchant services provider.

    1. Hi Ken,

      Please reply to this comment with your business name and location in order to authenticate your testimonial. Thanks!

      1. Our company has been with Riverside Payments for 2 years and have been extremely happy with their services. They are quick to respond, solve and correct (if needed) any issues. I would highly recommend them to anyone looking for a merchant services provider.

  13. Amazing company with an amazing CEO, Brandon Skinner is the best CEO in the country! He is also the most appochable CEO, and this is coming from someone who worked for another processing company before this one, Jermey and Brandon have been a real honor to work for! They have requirements for us as sales reps in order to continue on the draw program, which is totally understandable, and unfortunately I didn’t meet their requirements, but told me what I needed to do to get reinstated on the draw program. I love Riverside payments and Brandon! Will proudly stand behind them, because they stand behind me!

  14. Riverside Payments is a great processing company. I switched my credit card payment to them and really satisfied with the service. No delay on any question or concerns that i have. Everyone with a credit card processing needs to reach out to them and switch over.

    1. Hi Luis,

      Please reply to this comment with your business name and location in order to authenticate your testimonial. Thanks!

  15. We’ve been with Riverside Payments for some months now. I am very happy with this service particularly the really excellent customer service. I’m not thrilled having to rent equipment I don’t use but it is what it is. My former merchant service batching procedures were almost impossible. Riverside with plug n pay is soooo much easier when reconciling. The customer service is really phenomenal and their help is worth everything!

  16. Update to my earlier review dated March 9, 2017. We are in the process of working out the issues we’ve had with Riverside Payments. Hopefully within a month or two all issue will be resolved and we will be able to say we are satisfied. To their credit I intend to write a new review then.

  17. Riverside Payments is the absolute worst credit card processor out there! They start out great until you sign contracts and then everything falls apart. The amount of problems is absolutely unbelievable. I am writing this review in hopes of helping someone else stay clear of these jokers. They lie, they don’t come through for you and they don’t follow through on what they promise. If you are thinking about going with this company PLEASE do your homework and research them carefully. They guaranteed us a savings of 24.17% and as of this post we have paid almost double in fees. They will tell you they are a full service processor. This is NOT true. They sub out everything and then take zero responsibility when you have a question or problem. Don’t fall for their marketing trap!

  18. Riverside Payments has been taking care of my merchant services for over two years and their service is exceptional. I really like the text every day telling me the deposit $$$ to expect. Great company. Thank you Riverside !!!

    1. Hi Randy,

      Please reply to this comment with your business name and location in order to authenticate your testimonial. Thanks!

  19. Great customer service and helpful local reps. They saved me over $400, so that was good too! – Sherry, Old Town Buffet, Bowling Green

  20. Riverside attempted to resolve the complaint below through our mediation program but Cole declined to participate. Below is Riverside’s response:

    Thank you for providing very candid feedback for us to consider and from which we can improve. After conducting a thorough review of your account, we had previously documented having provided trace numbers that indicate you are in fact receiving 24-hour funding. To double confirm, we took it a step further and performed a 3-way call with you and your bank, at which time they also confirmed that we are indeed providing you with 24-hour funding, which cleared up that matter. At your request, we conducted a rate review, revealing that we are indeed saving you money compared to your previous provider, which is the primary reason you switched to Riverside. Thank you for continuing to process with Riverside and for communicating your concerns. We are always available to help our clients with anything they might need to make their processing experience run smoothly. Please reach out if we can be of any further assistance.


    I have the same problem with riverside. They told me the same thing . Bs with the next day money in the account, bs with the 90 days . Now I’m stuck with this bs company

  21. Do not do business with this company.

    I fell for the “guarantee” that Riverside would save me money. They also attached a page that said they would be at 2.18%. The months following I was welcomed with rates as high as 5.5%, after complaining they would refund me down to about 2.18%, at least until canceled my old processor, then this rate started to increase and the excuses came out. It is incredibly time consuming to go back and forth with these guys to get a reasonable rate, the equipment is very poor and getting any assistance requires numerous complaints/contacts (even to get my personal cell phone number off of the customer receipts.)
    For more details see my BBB complaint (in process at the time of this writing.) They also committed fraud by pulling pages in and out of the contract as they saw fit (I can prove this with initials from their agent and time stamp from my scanner.) I am not sure where this will go but I imagine legal fees will be involved as I have had to switch my bank account just to get away from the numerous ‘accidental’ charges from this company. Save yourself some time and money and stay away… also be sure to look up the lawsuit in New York against Brandon Skinner.

  22. Riverside attempted to resolve the complaint below through our mediation program but Mary Stanley declined to participate. Below is Riverside’s response:

    First and foremost, we appreciate the feedback you have provided. We are definitely saddened to hear that you would not recommend us to other companies, as we pride ourselves on customer service and referrals, which is actually one of the primary ways we acquire business. To be clear, we never filed a suit against you or your business. We would also like to point out that we not only verbalized that you would receive savings, but also formally signed a written guarantee of savings in which we would abide, or release you without penalty. After signing up at the end of the month, your account was approved and went into an automated system, at which point we could not stop the billing, but immediately processed your requested refunds. The funds were then promptly deposited into your account. Before giving Riverside a fair opportunity to provide you with our promise of savings, you requested to cancel. We immediately started the cancellation process, which was delayed due to the fact that we needed you to complete proper cancellation documents, but we were unable to reach you for 2 months, though making multiple attempts via email, text, and phone. In our system, there was no record of your equipment being returned, which triggered the collections and legal department to reach out to you in inquiry. Once we were finally able to reach you and confirm the return of the equipment, your account was promptly closed with no early termination fees. We’re sorry to have lost you as a client, and once again thank you for the feedback.


    I do not recommend this company. They used high pressure sales tactics. Promised all kinds of savings verbally. Slipped in a lease for some chip card readers for an astounding cancellation cost of $12,000.00 for 4 chip readers. Insisted that I sign a contract stating I had already received the equipment when I hadn’t. I can prove this by the tracking numbers of delivery and date on contract. Promised to pick up all fees for transferring the account and for the equipment but there was no written assurance, just verbal. I started to receive statements listing charges that made no sense before we were even hooked up to their system. I immediately returned the equipment and informed them, my bank, and POS provider that I was not going to do business with them. Now they are threatening to sue me. Do not get involved with these people. They did return some of the charges but their system is so screwed up and the charges so unrelated to reality that it seems dangerous to my bank account to give them access to our processing, and since we had not connected their equipment and not begun to process credit card I decided to terminate our relationship. I also received a phone call from a merchant in another town who said I was being used as a reference and described the high pressure tactis, the verbal promises and the equipment contract that I experienced. I told him my experineces and that I had immediately returned the equipment because of the bizarre charges that appeared even before I received the equipment. He said the sales rep represented that I was a satisfied customer at a point in time when they knew I had not even begun to use their services. This is really scammy.

    1. Mary, please check your business’ facebook messenger so we can connect to work together to fight Riverside. I sent you a messager on Feb 18th and again today. Thanks.

  23. Riverside is nothing but the best. I can email or call Ms. Amy Grace and she is on top of it. This company never ceases to amaze me with the outstanding customer service!

    1. Hi Bethany,

      Please reply to this comment with your business name and location in order to authenticate your testimonial. Thanks!

    1. Hi Dafei,

      Please reply to this comment with your business name and location in order to authenticate your testimonial. Thanks!

  24. Riverside Payment Inc. has been there every step of the way to help my company, Southern 7 Vapors, work through any processing issues or to just answer questions . I have received excellent customer service from anyone of the staff I have had contact with and would recommend Riverside Payment Inc. to anyone looking to leave their present processing company or just starting a business.

  25. Riverside Payments. What can I say? Their customer service is STELLAR! As is their Tech support. I’ve called and talked to Ryan P. many times in customer service and he is quick to help, upbeat and has a personality that makes it hard not to smile. Mike in tech support is helpful and quick to identify issues and help me resolve them. My only negative is that they don’t have any service techs in my area, so any issue I have electronically I have to call and be walked through how to fix it. But that isn’t that big of a deal since they are very well informed on their product and CAN walk me through the issue. I’m very satisfied I switched to them!

  26. Good rates.. most important thing they have very helpful customer service !!
    Highly recommend!!
    Riverside is the perfect choice for your business!!

    1. Hello,

      Please reply to this comment with your business name and location in order to authenticate your testimonial. Thanks!

      1. It’s Juice Theory at Rolla Missouri
        809 N Rolla st
        Rolla , Mo 65401

        Thank you for your service much very blessed to do business with River side payment.

  27. We have had great service and problem solving with Riverside Payments! With the staff as well as management could not be more pleased.They are always easy to reach and quick to respond!

  28. We have been a client of Riverside Payments for 6 months. During that time we have been very happy with their service. They are professional and prompt to address any questions we have. The technicians we have spoken with have always acted promptly to explain and or fix any issues we might think we have. We consider ourselves lucky because we have not experienced this service in the past with card companies.

  29. Riverside sent me a cease and desist letter for posting a bad review about the company. They say that my contract prohibited me from saying anything negative about the company. I gave their legal department a rather graphic idea of what they could do with that order. I could have taken sales away from them since I was not paid and I went to work for a competing company. I didn’t do that. I could have taken other sales representatives with me with the offer of a better opportunity with a company that actually pays you for your sales. I didn’t do that.

    This shows you what they are all about and that little man, Brandon Skinner, thinks his legal staff can protect him from mean people who say nasty things about him. Guess again, Brandon.

    1. Legally, you cannot actually switch companies that you signed with one merchant service company to another. Secondly, if you have questions about deals you were not paid on please feel free to contact [email protected]. It appears all deals that should be paid out have been. Thanks again for the review.

  30. Thai café portchalotte I contact with River.I’m happy with the river company and I can contact with them any time.They are very great service.

  31. I signed on with Riverside Payments after taking over Vtopia Cheese Shop and Deli. We were using Square for simplicity, but the reduced processing fees with Rivermark will save us thousands of dollars. The team has been so helpful with setting up the device and answering any questions we’ve had.

  32. I am a recent account executive at Riverside Payments. Don’t go to work for these people. I made sales ranging from $100/month to $500/month and I had trouble getting paid on any of them. The one I did get paid on was a $14,400 lease that my national sales manager said I would be paid at least $1500 on. I got paid $245. I was never given any accounting of why this was all I was paid even though I requested it several times. I never got paid on any of the other deals. They take from four to eight weeks to install and verify every deal and they don’t pay until that deal is funded. They run a system where the national sales managers do all of the closing and they are woeful at it. The CEO of the company tried to close three sales for me and failed on all of them. The last one said that he would never process with Riverside because of the way he was treated by this man, Brandon Skinner. Another National Sales manager failed on two deals and my regular national Sales Manager closed at a rate of less than 5%. They provide very few appointments and expect you to cold call for the rest. The customer service issues led to four of the five deals I wrote cancelling. I am an experienced salesman and professional closer. I never got the chance to use that skill. I have been working in credit card processing and I had no trouble getting hired by another company that better matched my skills 24 hours after being let go by the company for complaining about their customer service. All of the money in this company goes to the National Sales Managers and they love strutting around on televised meetings with their expensive suits and shoes bragging about their Mercedes or Cadillac cars. They are all fluff and no substance and couldn’t close a deal if it was a walk in.

  33. Riverside Payments has great customer service not only are they great at communicating and staying in contact but they also saved me 42% from my previous provider thank you Riverside Payments!

    1. Hi Trevor,

      Please reply to this comment with your business name and location in order to authenticate your testimonial. Thanks!

  34. I would like to thank everyone at Riverside for their help in getting me setup. the follow up and customer service has been excellent and I would recommend their service to anyone.
    Tex

  35. We switched from First Data to Riverside Payments and they saved us much more money than our previous credit card processing company. They had really good customer service. The representative was very helpful and responsible. I would recommend this company to anyone.
    There was no long wait times!

  36. Riverside has great customer service especially, Masha, who has helped us out from getting us our equipment to getting gift cards she has been great.

    1. Hi Rafael,

      Please reply to this comment with your business name and location in order to authenticate your testimonial. Thanks!

  37. I am very happy to have switched over to Riverside Payments during this past year. They have been nothing but helpful and speedy to help me get everything I need from them whether it is supplies or questions that I need answered! From my personal rep to the tech team they have given me nothing but great service.

  38. We have had a great experience with Riversidepayments in Portland,Oregon! No problem is too small! We recieve great service, if it is imperative or just a little issue. Ryan and his staff are always there to answer the phone and answer questions! There is NO phone tree or just a message line but real people who care!

    1. Hi Jocelyn,

      Please reply to this comment with your business name and location in order to authenticate your testimonial. Thanks!

  39. Riverside offered to resolve the complaint below via our mediation program, but this merchant declined to participate.


    Exactly the same story like mine. They put the 48 months lease after i signed the contract. I did not know until i got that info from First Data..until then i know i have to deal with not only riverside payment but also a third entity First Data with a 48mond lease= $270. They ripped me off and never answer my email back when i raise some questions about the fees and deceiful contract. Too tired of high fees and non responsive emails from them i decided to cancel the contract. They did wrong at the first place but Now they told me i am responsible for the early termination fee with First Date (48mon×$270 – 2mon i have been with them i guess) because the contract was breached by me. Never use this company. Stay away from them. All they want is to trap you with the contract and rip you off. I am going to cind a lawyer and fight them. I have all the emails kept and some customers of mine will testify in case i need because they were there and also talked with the sale guy Jaccob to help me reassure of what he promissed too. It is going to waste my time but i will fight for my hard earn money.

    1. They are baiting and switching. I would like to start a federal class action lawsuit against this company. This is a scam. I just received a threatening letter today with a sample law suit against me. I have never bee hooked up to their service. I returned the equipment immediately. They took fees out of my account prior to me receiving equipment that was not needed. I do not have a copy of the contract because sale person took it before I could review it and did not leave me with a copy. I would post their letter and copy of lawsuit here if possible.

      I have a bet based on some research that some of the charges that passed through my account are link to a cell phone from Lawyer Mark Sampath’s office. Still investigating.

  40. Riverside offered to resolve the complaint below via our mediation program, but this merchant declined to participate.


    Ok. If you want a business name..here i am Lisa from Creative Nails, Reno, NV. I want to write the review to help other customers to stay away from this company.
    Their sale reps Jaccob is a crook. He came to my shop and offered a better rate (1.37) compared to my Square (2.75). He gave an example of calculation of how they would charge each month to show that they would save a half of what i was paying with Square. I asked him cautionously if there is any other fees. He confirmed that no any other fees other than 1.37 percentaged rate. Then he talked me to sign the contract with him. On the contract there was my company info, their info and 1.37 rate..and that is it…after few weeks i asked for the copy of the contract there was another $270/monthly fee ( 48 momths leasing from First Data). They put the $270/monthly with 48months terms there by themself after i signed the contract. When i was about to activate the merchant machines that i got shipped from Frist Data, the womman from First Data told me the $270/ monthly fee (48 months contract) i was suprised about the month fee so i stopped the activation process and call Riverpayment. Marsha from Riversidepayment told me just accept the term and fee with Frist Data to complete the activation process ( it is just a procedure to finish the activation), Riversidepayment would release me from the contract if i am not happy with them or they were not saving me. It was not true, they charged me more than what the sale guy promissed, i had to call or email to question about the charge. They then refund some money back. The next month is the same. I was tired of tracking down the fees, call to complain, and wait to get some refunds back like a begger . I felt so deceiful by this company.
    Their customer service representaives were ignogrant also. They know how to keep silent when it comes to questions about charges and terms in contract. They did not return to several emails.
    I got the mail from them today saying that i was resposible for the early termination fee with leasing merchant machine First Data
    They tied me with the contract and ripped me off. Time to find a laywer to fight with them. Such a bunch of crooks.

  41. I’ve been with Riverside for over two years at Low Bar and at Luepke Flowers and Finds. The service has been excellent and when I did have a problem it was resolved to my satisfaction. I was able to obtain a really good rate that exceeded my prior provider. I like having a local company to deal with and a local customer support person that I deal with and knows my businesses and is able to advise me.

  42. Riverside Payments literally rescued my business from the horrible company that is National Paymentech and their more than dishonest CEO Andrei Wirth.

    I have received everything I was originally promised and gotten some very personal attention from Jason and Amii. My rates are fantastic, the turnaround in receiving funds is under 24 hours. I have never been happier with a card processor.

    1. Hi Matt,

      Please reply to this comment with your business name and location in order to authenticate your testimonial. Thanks!

  43. We have had a positive experience with Riverside Payments. They have been supportive, responsive, open to feedback and their fees are reasonable. We would recommend.

    1. Hi Kim,

      Please reply to this comment with your business name and location in order to authenticate your testimonial. Thanks!

  44. I run a local non-profit called in Portland Oregon. Shortly after I had the idea for the organization I reached out to an insane amount of merchant service companies to acquire help getting set up with our merchant processing. I was told time and time again that my vision wasn’t feasible and that no company would work with me. After two years of exhausting all efforts with no results, I met someone at Riverside Payments. Riverside made it possible for us to operate by sacrificing their own profit in the name of giving back to the community. Riverside is always quick to reply with any problem I have. They are wonderful to work with and I am so happy I found them. Without Riverside my organization would not exist.

  45. Riverside payments inc, the majority of these reviews our employees of yours. I use to work for your company and still remember you telling us to write 5 starr reviews for your company. plus this establishment is not the best company to work for, I remember christmas when they bought a keg and where encourging miners to drink. WORST PART OF ALL IS THE SCAM THERE ACCUALTY DOING TO BUSINESS OWNERS. I was fired by Alann there marketing manger cause I had to call in, my kid was sick and had to take him to the E.R. He cussed me out and called me a dirt bag than fired me.

    1. Hello! I read your review and I’m sorry for your experience but I just wanted to say that I have been with them for a few months now and have YET to be asked to do such a thing for the company. On the contrary, we as account reps are supposed to give our merchants that join us, a form that lists all the review websites they may go on to give us a review. Positive or negative. I am not sure what your situation was but I can only say that one of the reasons I’m happy to work for them is because we are NOT allowed to lie or lead on which is not my cup of tea. I would only hope I’m never asked to do that and if so it’ll be a wrap for me. Hope this helps and yes this is a legit review :)

    2. We have checked our employment records and we do not have a record of a James working as a marketer during this time frame. If you would like to disclose your true identity, we would be happy to get to the bottom of your accusations. Until then, we would just like to say that Mr. Korr has always conducted himself in a professional manner with his employees and we are confident that these claims are unmerited. That said, we have a stellar reputation with the unemployment office where we have always provided legitimate proof of any termination.
      The occasion where “James” mentions underage drinking can be attributed to a fundraising event that was held to benefit Dollar For Portland, an organization that seeks donations of as little as $1 a month to help families with unexpected medical bills. We hosted pizza, beer, and soft drinks to reward our hard working staff for spending time after hours for a great cause. All employees over 21 were limited to a 2 beer max and were tracked through their employee records to ensure that no minors were consuming.

    1. Hi Jodi,

      Please reply to this comment with your business name and location in order to authenticate your testimonial. Thanks!

  46. We are a very small, family owned and operated business and every penny counts. We are new to Riverside Payments Inc. and am so very pleased with there outstanding customer service and commitment to filling our needs. We were recently presented an offer by an other company that would have save us money. I presented this offer to Riverside Payments Inc. and not only did they match what the other company presented, they suggested additional ways to save money and earn credit! Thank you Amii and Dave.

    1. Hi Carla,

      Please reply to this comment with your business name and location in order to authenticate your testimonial. Thanks!

  47. Incredible company! I was skeptical at first however they fought for my business and ended up saving me $300 a month! My only regret is I didn’t switch six months ago!

    1. hi Patrich, I am a small business and an needing a company to, process my credit, how much have they cost you in equipment and fees up front?

  48. Riverside is very geniue and seem hard working. I always get good customer service they are friendly and very helpful. I havent experienced anything with Riverside that would have me saying anything bad about them. I would recommend them to other business for CC processing.

  49. A very nice business change. Riverside made the transition painless and profitable. They did everything they said they were going to to quickly and efficiently. Everything meets my satisfaction !

  50. Staff is friendly and very supportive. They seem to often go out of their way to make everything as easy as possible for the merchant.

  51. Great company to work with. Fast and friendly customer service professionals, 24 hour support, and they stick by the savings that they promise.

Leave a Review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *