Sterling Payment Technologies Review

Sterling Payment Technologies Overview

Updated 12/28/2018: As of this review, the Sterling Payment Technologies website (sterlingpayment.com) redirects to a subdomain of EVO Payments International and states that moving forward, Sterling will conduct business under the EVO name. We will therefore no longer update this review. For current information on this company, see our  EVO Payments International review.

Sterling Payment Technologies (sterlingpayment.com) is a merchant account provider based in Tampa, Florida, that has been in the credit card processing industry since 2001. Sterling was acquired by EVO Payments International in January 2017 and is now a seller of EVO contracts and services. The company is a registered ISO/MSP of Wells Fargo Bank, N.A., Walnut Creek, California. The company is located at 1111 N Westshore Blvd Ste 500, Tampa, Florida 33607-4713. Paul L. Hunter is listed as the president and CEO of Sterling Payment Technologies.

Key Points

  • Sales & Marketing: Sterling Payment Technologies appears to employ independent sales agents and has received some complaints about its sales team.
  • Costs & Contract: Sterling Payment Technologies appears to offer a three-year contract through EVO Payments International that may include a $395 early termination fee.
  • Complaints & Service: We have found over 30 Sterling Payment Technologies complaints from merchants.
  • BBB Rating: Sterling Payment Technologies has an “A+” rating from the BBB and has received nine complaints in the past three years.
  • Rates & Fees: How Merchants Got The Best Rates With Sterling Payment Technologies
Are you a decision maker with Sterling Payment Technologies? Claim this review.

Products & Services Offered

Types of Businesses Served

  • Retail
  • E-commerce
  • Mobile
  • B2B

Response from Sterling Payment Technologies

Are you with Sterling Payment Technologies? Add your own voice here!

Our unbiased reviews are supported, in part, by helping you find highly rated merchant accounts. You can learn more here.

Sterling Payment Technologies Rates, Fees, and Costs

Key Points

Swiped Rate Variable
Keyed-in Rate Variable
Early Termination Fee $395
PCI Compliance Fee Up To $150 Per Year
Equipment Lease Terms Variable

The standard Sterling Payment Technologies agreement (available below) is a three-year agreement through Chase Paymentech with automatic renewal for one year, an early termination fee of $395, a PCI Compliance fee (sometimes called an annual fee) that may approach $150, an undisclosed monthly minimum fee, and a tiered pricing schedule. It appears as though some of these fees may vary according to the agent setting up the account and a merchant’s size, business type, and time in business. It’s likely that Sterling’s contract terms have changed since its acquisition by EVO Payments International, but we have not found any information about its new contract.

Above all else, merchant complainants report frustration with the company’s early termination fee and service length. These contract terms appear to be slightly more expensive than industry averages; we have therefore awarded Sterling a “C” grade in this category. See the Sterling Payment Technologies Merchant Agreement.

Are you happy with your Sterling Payment Technologies fees? Tell us about them before your go!

Response from Sterling Payment Technologies

Are you with Sterling Payment Technologies? Add your own voice here!

Sterling Payment Technologies Complaints & Customer Reviews

Key Points

Total Online Complaints 30+
Live Customer Support Yes
Most Common Complaint Hidden Fees

We are currently able to locate over 30 Sterling Payment Technologies negative reviews, a few of which accuse the company of being a ripoff or a scam. Common themes among complainants include undisclosed fees, poor customer service, and unauthorized charges after terminating service. A company representative responded to most of the complaints in the comment section of this review, but these responses were all issued on the same day and did not appear to resolve some of the merchants’ complaints. Overall, the company has a low-to-moderate complaint volume for its size and time in business, and we are therefore assigning it a “B” in this category. The Sterling Payment Technologies website lists a phone number for live customer support.

Do you have a complaint or testimonial about Sterling Payment Technologies? Make your voice heard before you go!

Response from Sterling Payment Technologies

Are you with Sterling Payment Technologies? Add your own voice here!

Sterling Payment Technologies BBB Rating Summary

Key Points - BBB

Product & Service Complaints 5
Billing & Collection Complaints 3
Advertising & Sales Complaints 1
Guarantee & Warranty Complaints 0
Delivery Complaints 0

As of this update, the Better Business Bureau is reporting an “A+” rating for Sterling Payment Technologies with nine complaints filed in the last 36 months. Three of the complaints were due to billing and collection disputes, five were product and service problems, and one was related to advertising or sales. The company resolved seven of these complaints with BBB assistance, while two either were resolved to the dissatisfaction of the merchant or did not receive a final response from the merchant. Given the company’s relatively low complaint total and solid resolution ratio, we agree with the BBB’s rating at this time.

How has Sterling Payment Technologies treated you? Tell us about it here!

Response from Sterling Payment Technologies

Are you with Sterling Payment Technologies? Add your own voice here!

Truth In Marketing & Advertising

Key Points

Employs Independent Resellers Yes
Advertises Deceptive Rates No
Discloses All Important Terms No

Sterling Payment Technologies appears to utilize ISOs and independent sales agents to market its services. These practices often result in an elevated complaint rate for a company, as it is difficult for any business to monitor the conduct of independent sales entities. In this case, we are able to locate multiple Sterling Payment Technologies complaints that report nondisclosure of contract terms at the point of signing, specifically with respect to the company’s early termination fee. A company representative has responded to many of these complaints claiming that it is company policy to disclose this fee up front. The company does not appear to engage in any deceptive advertising strategies in its official materials.

Did you get what you expected from Sterling Payment Technologies? Tell us why, or why not.

Response from Sterling Payment Technologies

Are you with Sterling Payment Technologies? Add your own voice here!

Sterling Payment Technologies Marketing Example

Sterling Payment Technologies Logo

Our Opinion of Sterling Payment Technologies

Sterling Payment Technologies rates as an average merchant services provider according to our criteria. The company appears to engage in standard hiring practices and offer slightly less-than-competitive contract terms, but its low complaint rate both outside of and with the BBB raises its score considerably. The company can improve its overall rating by continuing to lower its complaint rate and making more of an effort when responding to public complaints.

We rely on your feedback about Sterling Payment Technologies to keep this review accurate and up-to-date. Please take a minute to tell us about your experience. We and the small business owners of this world thank you!

Thank you for reading my review. I hope that it has helped you with your research.

Why I'm Qualified to Write About Credit Card Processing and Merchant Account Services

I'm a former credit card processing sales director who left the industry because I didn't like how it takes advantage of small business owners. It feeds like a leech on businesses and thrives by imposing fees that are nearly impossible to comprehend. Seeing a need for change, I left and built this website help business owners better understand the industry, research merchant services providers, and get refunds of excessive merchant account fees. My experience of working "behind the curtain" in the industry, and using that knowledge for good, has resulted in millions of dollars returned to hard-working small business owners as well as enterprise-level companies.

From the time that I starting working in the merchant services industry to when I left to create this website, I've been on the pulse of payments for nearly 15 years. It didn't seem fair to keep this "insider" knowledge to myself. To lift the fog, I've reviewed hundreds of companies, read thousands of user reviews, and learned the pricing tricks of every provider. If you have questions about credit card processing, you can find the answers on this website.

How I Can Help You

I specialize in helping businesses get refunds of excessive fees and have recovered $1,567,184 this year alone! Submit a recent statement below to find out if you are getting overcharged. I'll take a look at it for free. If I find fees that can be refunded, hire me on contigency. I only get compensated if I put money back into your pocket.

Submit a Statement

  • Accepted file types: jpg, png, pdf, xls, xlsx.

31 Reviews Leave Your Review for Sterling Payment Technologies Below

  1. Sam says:

    After processing for 5 years with this company, I requested a gift card liability report from Sterling 2 weeks ago. I have yet to see it. I have been told at least 3 lies directly about how the process works and when to expect the report that takes less than 5 minutes to run. They kept blaming the third party vendor. We were told the truth on a conference call with the third party vendor yesterday who ran the report for me while on the phone but Sterling will not give it to me! (The call ended rather quickly) I would not recommend this company for ANY service! They are full of deceit!

    From The Editor
    This Post Might Help: Best Merchant Accounts for Churches

  2. Vasileios Dimitroulas says:

    This by far the worst company and representatives it can be, the hold our processing CC money for a week now and nobody have a answer we have to hire a lawyer in order to get our money. We trust them with our money and now they act like they do us a favor. STAY AWAY

    From The Editor
    This Post Might Help: How to Make Your Payment Processor Release Your Money

  3. Jay Tav says:

    As you can see from all the previous reviews, there is a $400 early termination fee, so I kept my account until the contract was up. I was very clear in my communication to Sterling that my business was closed and I would not be renewing my account. I filled out and submitted all appropriate paperwork that they asked of me. They told me I could not cancel before 9/1 or I would be charged the fee. So I canceled my account on 9/1 to make sure I would not get the fee. As per emails from customer service, I need to put the date 9/1 on the paperwork so as to not get debited the fee. I did as so. What no one bothered to mention was that I would be charged for the day of 9/1 as if I was using the the precessing. So if I cancel before 9/1 I get charged a fee. If I cancel on 9/1, I get charged. either way I get charged. What a deceiving business practice. At least make your client aware of these ridiculous charges before hand. Wish I would have read these reviews before. And they don’t care about customer service at all. Look at these responses they are giving? They just will nickel and dime you. Oh and they also locked me out of my online account and did not send me an invoice for my 1 day of service on 9/1. So I have no access and no account, but I still get charged? If my cancel date was 9/1 I should not get charged for 9/1 of service. No other company does this. Stay away people!

    From The Editor
    This Post Might Help: Cancelling a Merchant Account Without Paying a Fee

  4. Joanna Ahearn says:

    Not a helpful Processing company. They promise lots and deliver little.
    Reports are more for management then back office; CSR team most common response is “It is working for us”; not a promising answer if you are on the other end trying to get a report.
    If there is a problem with their Pay Trace and/or SNAP program, you are given the general troubleshooting techniques that most everyone knows and most try before calling.
    As the calls continue you will have a response of “we will contact our technical support team” unfortunately, no one contacts you back, you have to keep trying to get your reports until it works.
    Office Hours are only til 6:00 pm eastern time; after hours no one available – call goes to voicemail then someone will get back at later time-not very helpful for those on the West Coast.
    Very sad was very excited about this Processor at the beginning, now have to find more ways not to use their system to get work done.

  5. Jean says:

    As a Sterling customer, I would say Stay Away from this credit card processing company. They showed you low rates when you sign the contract with them then you will receive whole a lot unexpected charges every month. I got charged about 8% every month with several different fees. I’m glad I cancelled their service. Do your research, there are no contract, no hidden costs credit card processing companies out there, Stay AWay from Sterling.

  6. Dino says:

    Bad customer service
    Long wait time
    Only one agent working at nights when assistance needed.
    Many mistakes and double charging customers
    Funds missing

  7. Michael says:

    We started with Sterling in September of 2016 and closed our business in May of 2017. We notified them and moved on. Checking our account in August I discovered that they were still charging us. Customer service is terrible….no calls back. We eventually got a cancellation form from them in October and returned it. They continued to hit our account, so I stopped payment…..only to be hit with a $395 early termination fee!
    We were promised the moon on signing up….gift cards, low rates, etc. None of it happened…..
    We are opening a new business…..needless to say we are staying far away from Sterling.

  8. Ijaz Khan says:

    We used Sterling for over one year we were told that they would match any rate offered to us, we were offered a much lower rate and sterling would not match it. I was told there was less than a year remaining on the contract (turned out to be a lie) so we kept the service and didnt use it then thay stared charging an inactivity fee finally we canceled at the end of the term only to find out Sterling hit us with the $395 fee for terminating them saying there was more time on the contract.
    The company that sold me the service was based out of South carolina told me there are no cancelation fees and that this was a 1 year contract.
    A very dishonest company. Shady sales people. STAY AWAY FROM THEM.

    I can’ believe this is legal!!

  9. ash says:

    this credit-card-processing company sterling payments …is terrible! I have cancelled service over 2 months ago – and AM STILL GETTING CHARGED for services I do not use! This company has deceptive business practices and uses every sales technique to screw you into staying with them — out of fear of losing money — not out of a desire to stay a client. This company needs to be overhauled – and my next step is simply to file a lawsuit

    1. Ash,
      We’re sorry to hear that your experience with Sterling has not been a positive one. If you would like to provide your contact phone number we will call you to discuss the specifics of your issue and work with you toward a resolution. All of our customers are important to us and we strive to provide the best products and services possible.

  10. David Yale says:

    I would never use this company again. They were very misleading and fees were not what I was promised.

  11. Linda S says:

    FINALIZATION OF STERLING 3-YR CONTRACT – FINAL FEES/CORRESPONDENCE
    Businesses may consider these issues/fees for themselves. NOTE: my Sterling contract included equipment, a personal rep and help/repair if needed. This is a sizeable, cost-effective benefit for a busy business.

    From: Olivia Nunez [mailto: email address]
    Sent: TH, December 05, 2013 9:42 AM
    To: Linda S
    Cc: Brandon Potter (Retention MGR)
    Subject: RE: Merchant ID: *** – Annual Regulatory Admin Fee Inquiry

    TO: Olivia Nunez
    DATE: DEC 5, 2013 – Email receipt of Sterling Merchant Statement for NOV 2013: Annual Regulatory Admin Fee Inquiry

    RE Merchant ID ***: Request for written YES/NO answers

    Ms. Nunez,

    My Request #1:
    Quote from my Sterling NOV 2013 Statement advising of the DEC 31, 2013 fee assessment: We sincerely appreciate your business and will do everything in our power to minimize the impact to your business. Perhaps a waiver of this fee would be both amenable and appropriate to best serve each of our businesses.

    “Is Sterling Merchant Services in fact going to debit my business account THE DAY BEFORE my 3-YR contract ends with this $49.95 Annual Regulatory Fee? a specific one-word-answer is requested, i.e., YES or NO?” Please respond here: …(response from Ms. Nunez) You will be charged $49.95 12/31/13, your account will close 1/2/14.

    My Request #2:
    My 3-YR contract OFFICIALLY ends JAN 1, 2014, a date that Sterling itself set. Will Sterling Merchant Services Credit-Card Processing Specialist electronically close this contract ON its termination date? “a specific one-word-answer is requested, i.e., YES or NO?” Please respond here: …(response from Ms. Nunez) Your contract ends 1/21/2014, as a courtesy we are closing it at the beginning of the month 1/2/14 to avoid month end fees for 21 days of non usage in Jan.

    A timely response is appreciated.

    Linda S
    ________________________________________
    From: Olivia Nunez [mailto: email address]
    Sent: Wednesday, December 04, 2013 5:52 PM
    To: Linda S
    Cc: Brandon Potter (Retention MGR)
    Subject: RE: Merchant ID: *** – Annual Regulatory Admin Fee Inquiry

    Good afternoon,

    Sterling Payment Technologies advised all of their merchants of the Annual Regulatory Fee of $49.95 on their November month end statements. This information was advised to my department on the same day the month end statements were sent out to our merchants. No information was held or not given to you at the time of our correspondence. Your account is set up for a future close dated 01/02/2014 per your request and per our correspondence.

    If you would like to review the Terms & Conditions of your contract you will see the earliest day we are able to close your account without charging an early termination fee (ETF) is 01/02/2014/. Our offices are closed on 01/01/2014. If you would like to close the account prior to the end of the 36 month contract term that you agreed to we can close it and charge the account the ETF of $395.

    The Annual Regulatory Fee is billed for services rendered for the closing year, not the year in advance.

    Please let us know if you have any further questions or concerns.

    Thank you,

    Olivia Nuñez | Retention Dept
    Sterling Payment Technologies
    1111 N. Westshore Blvd
    Tampa, FL 33607
    Office (800) 383-0561 ext 5452
    Fax (866) 827-3648
    email address|www.sterlingpayment.com

    From: Linda S [mailto: email address]
    Sent: Tuesday, December 03, 2013 12:53 PM
    To: Olivia Nunez
    Subject: Merchant ID: *** – Annual Regulatory Admin Fee Inquiry

    TO: Olivia Nunez
    DATE: DEC 3, 2013 – Email receipt of Sterling Merchant Statement for NOV 2013

    RE Merchant ID: ***: MY NOV 2013 MERCHANT STATEMENT advisement of DEC 31, 2013 collection of ANNUAL REGULATORY FEE OF $49.95

    Ms. Nunez,

    Perhaps you recall on your to-do-list, this 3-year account closes 1/1/2014.

    While a merchant processing company processes millions of transactions on every day of the year, Sterling (correspondence with Olivia Nunez) insists that the only way to close this 3-YR contract is the day after it has ended. As a reputable service-business owner, I find this response irrational, unreasonable, and dishonorable. However, not as much as finding a DEC 31, 2013, $49.95 FEE on my NOV 2013 Statement to be debited from my business account the day before the 3-YR contract ends.

    Sterling has been asked repeatedly for assurance that this account will close amenably without any unexpected or additional fees. Today’s receipt of my November 2013 statement includes the following notice:

    On December 31, 2013, Sterling will bill an Annual Regulatory Administrative fee in the amount of $49.95. This cost is associated with offsetting significant ongoing regulatory costs and security enhancements imposed by the Card Brands. We sincerely appreciate your business and will do everything in our power to minimize the impact to your business.

    Is Sterling Merchant Services in fact going to debit my business account the day before my 3-YR contract ends with this $49.95 Annual Regulatory Fee?

    Whatever your response – a specific one-word-answer is requested, i.e., YES or NO… it will be published on a merchant customer review website.

    The public can evaluate your business services/fees for themselves, as other Sterling customers have done with their various pro/con published experiences.

    The Credit Card Merchant Review Website gives Sterling an overall grade of “B.” It gives a BBB rating of “A” According to its own guidelines, it downgraded the actual BBB grade as it reserves “A+” for complaint-free companies; Sterling has 11 filed BBB complaints in the last 3 years. The REVIEW is dated 10/8/2013. Congratulations. This reflects the Review’s position that Sterling genuinely worked to resolve the issues and in all cases showed good faith effort (3 were not resolved to the merchants’ satisfaction).

    The Review also gives Sterling a “C” for Sales/Marketing Tactics and “C-“ for Costs/Contract Terms.

    A timely response is appreciated.

    Linda. S

  12. Linda S says:

    RE the end of a 36-month contract, an “INTENT NOT TO RENEW” (Merchant Guide P13) letter (BELOW) was sent to Sterling 90-days prior to the contract termination date of 1-1-2014, along with the signed/dated MERCHANT ACCOUNT STATUS CHANGE REQUEST (close form required by Sterling):

    THIS LETTER WAS FAXED TO THE NUMBER ON THE STERLING CLOSE FORM on 9/30/2013.

    The letter quoted the Merchant Guide P13 “INTENT NOT TO RENEW.” It stated the contractual dates of 01/01/2011 to close on 01/01/2014. (Note that the contract began/closes on New Years Day.) The letter stated Merchant Guide Page 13 compliance in that 1) our bank account would be open for 9 months after the close (“We expect no fees to be deducted from our account other than the customary monthly fee of $17.50 reflecting our contract through December 2013”) and 2) “Furthermore, we have complied with our contract regarding competitive offers; there are no competitive offers for processing services.” My letter ended with “Thank you” and “Kind regards.”

    48 HOURS LATER I REQUESTED A CLOSE CONFIRMATION THROUGH THE EMAIL ADDRESS ON THE STERLING CLOSE FORM and received this reply (copied from my email):

    “From: Olivia Nunez [mailto: email address]
    Sent: Wednesday, October 02, 2013 5:23 PM
    To: (my email address); Retention
    Subject: RE: (Merchant Name) Merchant ID: (#)

    Good afternoon,

    We have received the account closure request and will process it 1/2/2014 per your request. Please let us know if you have any questions or concerns.

    Thank you,

    Olivia Nuñez | Retention Dept
    Sterling Payment Technologies
    1111 N. Westshore Blvd
    Tampa, FL 33607
    Office (800) 383-0561 ext 5452
    Fax (866) 827-3648
    email address|www.sterlingpayment.com”

    PUZZLED BY 1) NOT CLOSING THE CONTRACT ON THE CONTRACT-END DATE but on 1/2/2014 AND 2) STATING THAT THIS WAS “PER MY REQUEST,” I SENT THE FOLLOWING RESPONSE EMAIL TO STERLING (copied from my email):

    “From: (my email address) [mailto:email address]
    Sent: Thursday, October 03, 2013 12:37 AM
    To: Olivia Nunez
    Subject: RE: my business name Merchant ID: #

    My request, dated 9/30/2013 (Sterling’s required 90-DAY NOTICE OF “INTENT NOT TO RENEW AGREEMENT”), is quite clear per the contract agreement:

    Sterling will process whatever they need to do to see that our account is CLOSED on 1/1/2014, the final day of our 36-month agreement (no unexpected/additional fees).

    Thank you.”

    I RECEIVED THIS REPLY (copied from my email):

    “Thank you again Ms S (my name),

    Our offices will be closed on 1/1/2014, your account will be closed first thing 1/2/2014.

    Have a good day,

    Olivia Nuñez | Retention Dept
    Sterling Payment Technologies
    1111 N. Westshore Blvd
    Tampa, FL 33607
    Office (800) 383-0561 ext 5452
    Fax (866) 827-3648
    (email address)|www.sterlingpayment.com”

    HOW SHOULD A MRECHANT RESPOND TO THIS KIND OF OFFICIAL BUSINESS-CLOSE OF A THREE YEAR CONTRACT? How can a major credit-card processing firm which processes transactions every day of the year not amenably close a contractual agreement on its close date? i.e… how can a contract closure be processed the day AFTER it ends?

    ANY EXPERIENCE OR THOUGHTS FROM OTHER MERCHANTS?

  13. Roch Eshleman says:

    The customer service is terrible! I have cancelled service over 18 months ago – and AM STILL GETTING CHARGED for services I do not use! This company has deceptive business practices and uses every sales technique to screw you into staying with them — out of fear of losing money — not out of a desire to stay a client. This company needs to be overhauled – and my next step is simply to file a lawsuit

    1. Alice says:

      At Sterling we have a standard process for merchants to close their accounts. This is to ensure that an account is not closed erroneously. Mr. Eschleman did not use this process or submit anything to us in writing until a year after he claimed to have requested his accounts be closed. When we received his four closure forms, we closed three of his accounts. We refunded his account for the one that was closed after his request.

    2. D Clark says:

      At this point, I am totally in agreement with you. The concern and care for a merchant is not an attribute of Sterling. It’s sad, but one person positioned in a company can destroy the reputation of a busy. Yes in this case for me, it is a “Team Leader” named Jackie Sanderson by way of Iyanna Reeves. To thrust your authority and decision upon a customer as she did, in my case, is just all out bad business. To make a long story short, this all stemmed from the PCI compliance fee (that Sterling mandates by passing the fee onto their customers). It’s appears that they are not absorbing any of the charges that Security Metrics bill them. I don’t see how this could be all lawful. I foresee one day the government cracking down of this type of abuse from companies. Anyway, with being a long standing customer as we have been and to be handled in a non-caring manner as we have, is just inconsiderate. Maybe this is the reason Sterling preys on small business, because they know big retailers won’t be allow themselves to be such easy targets. Sad but true, I dislike this company now because of their non-concern and unwillingness to assist properly. Maybe we are a small business, but my mouth is not small. So if I am ever asked would I recommend Sterling, my answer would be no; unless you desire a company with poor customer concern. Thank you Ms. Sanderson. Yes, you did make an big impact for your company.

  14. Mark Barnett says:

    My company has been using Sterling for the past 5 years and we have never had a problem. Their customer service is excellent and always very prompt in resolving an issue if any. After being overcharged by our local bank’s processing service, we switched to Sterling and saved 3k per year. We look forward to saving more in 2013.

  15. TJ Andersen says:

    I had an account for two years with Sterling. They charged me a termination fee of $395 upon termination, which I was not made aware of. Sterling presents itself as a trustworthy company, however, they engage in some interesting extra fees. For example, in Dec they charge a stealth $49.99 “office” fee. Their PCI Compliance annual fee is $150 for high speed and their monthly penalty fee for non-compliance is $19.95. Their customer service does answer quickly to. Their system had two outages last year for approx 1/2 day.

    1. Alice says:

      Like most phone companies, there are early termination fees when a contract is ended before its completion date. Most processors have this agreement and Sterling discloses this when a merchant signs their contract with us. It is also clearly displayed on the closing request form signed and submitted by TJ Andersen.

      All fees are clearly shown on the merchant’s monthly statement. Our Merchant Services team is always willing to address any questions about fees and pricing. This is reflected in our A+ rating by the Better Business Bureau.

      PCI [Processing Card Industry] compliance is mandated by the card industry to ensure that cardholder data is not put at risk. Anyone using a credit card today will appreciate the fraud protection these standards provide. All merchants processing with Sterling receive an explanation of this important program in their Sterling Welcome Kits, and may select to pay the fee on an annual or monthly basis.
      We take our company motto very seriously when we say, “At Sterling, Our Name is Our Reputation.” Thank you for the opportunity to respond.

  16. rk daniels says:

    My wireless machine went down 5 months before my contact ended. Two months later these clowns close my account and debit it for $395 “due to inactivity”…

    I had two accounts running at the same time and these ” Thieves” tried scamming me every year
    with the PCI fees. Now they close my account on a military installation and charge me $395 !!! If i did this i”d be in jail !!

    Don’t listen to the hype or other “sales pitches” from these modern day snake oil salesman of this company…they hide behind small print to steal your money !!! YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED !!

    1. Alice says:

      Sterling refunded Mr. Daniel’s account for the majority of the early termination fee in early May of 2012. We also had adjusted his PCI fees in 2010, as soon as we were notified that we could reduce the fees on his second account with us. These actions area a part of our continuing effort to work with our customers.

  17. bill gillette says:

    Just found out that a $5400 transaction was put on hold for 5 days and they didn’t even tell us. Sterling now tells me that all merchandise has to be delivered in 30 days. The customer service rep my wife talked to literally said ‘that’s not my problem’. That is the one phrase a customer never wants to hear. We make bikes, sometimes with lead times of 8 weeks. We almost lost this $8100 sale when we went back to the customer and told them we needed a check. I can’t find this ’30 day clause’ anywhere in my Sterling contract. The nature of our business means we could get $20,000 in two or three transactions and still not deliver for 8 to 12 weeks since we make to order. If Sterling can’t handle the way we do business, then it is time to find another merchant account provider.

    1. Alice says:

      Our risk and fraud systems are set to alert us if a card is processed beyond the parameters set for a given merchant. This system serves to protect both the merchant and the card holder from fraudulent activities. When Mr. Gillette’s account was approved it was with the understanding that he had a set dollar limit per card. He signed a document agreeing to this limit. The $5,400 processed by Mr. Gillette’s business was outside of the parameters to which he agreed. We were able to resolve the issue with him and he continues to process with Sterling. We appreciate his business and are glad we could work through this issue.

  18. darryl says:

    I was with sterling for over 3 years. I cancelled to get lower rates but they keep making auto withdraw from my bank. Since I have called them many times and seem to only get hung up on after doing everything else to correct the problem I have called my bank. They say I have to come down to them to file a dispute and have my banking account changed so they cannot steal any more money, then they will file a dispute which I can take to small claims court.I definitely will recommend to anyone I know not to use this company.

    1. Alice says:

      Sterling’s merchant contract is for a 36-month initial term. It renews for successive 12-month terms, unless the merchant provides Sterling with a notice of intent not to renew 90 days prior to the expiration of the current term. If a merchant stops processing with us and fails to provide this notice, an early termination fee is assessed.
      Our Merchant Services team makes every attempt to work with a merchant to ensure that any issues they may have are resolved , and enable them to avoid terminating their contract early.

  19. Steve m. says:

    After using sterling for 7 years I decided to cancel my contract because they were charging a lot more than they did when I original started. I never thought i would have a contract after 7 years, or that they would just take $395 out of my account with out any kind of WARNING!!! But that’s what they did!!’ I give my banking information to Sterling to put money in to my account. But they went into the back door to take my money without asking.

    Why not it’s in that contract I signed 7 years ago. The same contract they changed many times to increase my monthly fees. You never expect a company to practice this way. Truly very very disappointed !!!

    1. Alice says:

      Sterling’s merchant contract is for a 36-month initial term. It renews for successive 12-month terms, unless the merchant provides Sterling with a notice of intent not to renew 90 days prior to the expiration of the current term. If a merchant stops processing with us and fails to provide this notice, an early termination fee is assessed.
      Our Merchant Services team makes every attempt to work with a merchant to ensure that any issues they may have are resolved , and enable them to avoid terminating their contract early.

      1. Alice says:

        At Sterling we have a standard process for merchants to close their accounts. This is to ensure that an account is not closed erroneously. We sent Darryl a closure form three times before it was completed by him and returned to us. We closed his account as soon as we received Darryl’s closure form.

  20. Brian Phillips says:

    Sterling hit me with the $395 fee after my company went out of business. But first, they charged me $80 a month for two months for “non-use” even though I notified them of my business closing. The company that sold me the service based out of Texas told me there are no cancelation fees if my company goes under, but would be if I just changed to a new processor.

    I can’ believe this is legal!!

    1. jo miglino says:

      Like most phone companies, there are early termination fees when a contract is ended before its completion date. Most processors have this agreement and Sterling discloses this when a merchant signs their contract with us. We focus on our relationship with our merchants seriously and our merchant service representatives work very hard to resolve any issues our merchants may have quickly and successfully. In this case, we refunded half the fee back to the merchant. We’re proud of our A rating with the Better Business Bureau. We do our best to provide outstanding service and support to our customers and believe that an open, honest relationship is the key to keeping our merchants with us. We take our company motto very seriously when we say, “At Sterling, Our Name is Our Reputation.” Thank you for the opportunity to respond.

    2. Alice says:

      We regretted that Mr. Phillips went out of business before the full term of his contract with us, and therefore was assessed an early termination fee. Most processors have this agreement and Sterling discloses this when a merchant signs their contract with us. When he called us to request we close his account, we asked him for a signed closure form. This form also includes information about the early termination fee. Sterling pro-rated his fee for the half of his contract term and credited his account for the balance.

Leave a Review for Sterling Payment Technologies

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please do not use profanity or ALL CAPITAL LETTERS in your review. Reviews must provide a detailed account of your experience. By submitting a review or comment to CPO, you are agreeing to our Comment Policy.