TransNational Payments Review

TransNational Payments Overview

Are you a decision maker with TransNational Payments? Claim this review.

A Global Payments Reseller

Formerly known as “TransNational Bankcard,” TransNational Payments is a merchant account provider that primarily serves small to mid-sized businesses in the United States. Founded in 1999, the company is a reseller of Global Payments.

TransNational Payments Location and Ownership

TransNational Payments, LLC is a registered ISO/MSP of  Wells Fargo Bank N.A., Walnut Creek, California and HSBC Bank USA, National Association of Buffalo, New York, with corporate offices located at 9550 W. Higgins Road, 8th Floor, Rosemont, Illinois 60018. John Pitzaferro is the founder a CEO of TransNational Payments.

TransNational Payments Review Table of Contents

  • Costs & Contract: TransNational Payments appears to offer a three-year contract with an early termination fee of up to $500.
  • Complaints & Service: TransNational Payments has received more than 30 public complaints.
  • BBB Rating: TransNational Payments has an “A+” rating and has received 23 complaints and 19 reviews in the last three years. The company has been accredited by the Better Business Bureau since 2005.
  • Sales & Marketing: TransNational Payments does not appear to hire independent sales representatives and has received a moderate number of merchant complaints about its sales practices.
  • Rates & Fees: How Merchants Got The Best Rates With TransNational Payments

TransNational Payments Statement Analyzer

Find hidden fees, pricing errors, and overcharges in your TransNational Payments merchant account statement. Not with TransNational Payments? That's ok, we can find excessive fees in any credit card processing statement. We've already found $1,156,834 in hidden fees this year! Submit a recent statement to try it out for free!

  • Accepted file types: pdf, doc, docx, png, jpg, xls, xlxs.

Products & Services Offered

Types of Businesses Served

  • Retail
  • Mobile
  • E-commerce
  • MOTO

Our unbiased reviews are supported, in part, by helping you find highly rated merchant accounts. You can learn more here.

TransNational Payments Rates, Fees, and Costs

Key Points

Swiped Rate 1.00% - 4.99%
Keyed-in Rate 1.00% - 4.99%
Annual Fee Up To $95
Annual Maintenance Fee $299
Early Termination Fee Up To $500
PCI Compliance Fee Undisclosed
Equipment Lease Terms 48 Month (locked)

TransNational Payments Pricing

According to various public complaints, the standard TransNational Payments contract is a three-year agreement through Global Payments with an early termination fee of $500 (in the first year) or $395 (after the first year), an annual fee of up to $95, and other associated fees. A typical Global Payments agreement also includes a monthly fee of $10, an annual maintenance fee of $299, and a non-cancellable equipment lease lasting 48 months.

A company representative has stated that TransNational exclusively offers interchange-plus pricing, but multiple merchant complaints mention a rate quote of 1.74%, which does not resemble a typical interchange-plus quote. It is also unclear at this time whether the company’s annual fee covers the cost of PCI compliance or the company charges a separate PCI Compliance fee.

Virtual Terminal and Payment Gateway Pricing

In addition to its storefront payment processing services, TransNational Payments also dedicates a portion of its website that advertises its virtual terminal and payment gateway.  However, pricing for these services is not disclosed.  Additional rates and fees, including gateway fees, technical support fees, batch fees, and additional transaction rates typically apply to these e-commerce services.

Unfavorable Equipment Leases

The primary cause of complaints about TransNational Payments is the fact that the company used to sell equipment leases through Northern Leasing Systems (a DBA of Lease Finance Group). Northern Leasing is notorious for offering long-term, non-cancellable, expensive contracts for equipment that sometimes doesn’t even work. There are numerous complaints about TransNational Payments’ equipment leases in which complainants state that they were misled about the terms of their leases and are now stuck with expensive machines that they don’t need. Some of these complaints received responses from TransNational Payments representatives, who held the merchants to their lease terms in most cases.

A Fully Terminated Relationship?

A company representative has stated that TransNational Payments terminated its relationship with Northern Leasing Systems in 2010 and no longer leases any equipment to merchants. Recent complaints filed against the company do not mention Northern Leasing, Lease Finance Group, or equipment leases, which seems to confirm this representative’s assertion. However, one complaint from 2011 reports an equipment lease through Northern Leasing, so it may be possible that the company did not completely terminate the relationship in 2010.

Industry-Average Terms

Overall, TransNational Payments appears to offer fairly average contract terms, but its score in this category has improved as a result of its terminated relationship with Northern Leasing. Merchants are encouraged to compare TransNational’s pricing to that of cheap merchant account providers.

Are you happy with your TransNational Payments fees? Tell us about them before your go!

Response from TransNational Payments

Are you a representative of TransNational Payments? Add your voice to this section for free!

TransNational Payments Complaints & Customer Reviews

Key Points

Total Online Complaints 30+
Live Customer Support Yes
Most Common Complaint Hidden Fees

Some Cause For Concern

We are currently able to locate over 30 negative TransNational Payments reviews filed outside of the BBB on various websites, and some of these complaints accuse the company of being a scam or a ripoff. The most common complaints are merchants reporting deceptive sales tactics, nondisclosure of hidden fees, expensive, non-cancellable equipment leases, difficulty closing accounts, and a cancellation fee of $500. Most of these issues appear to be related to the agent who set up the account rather than the company’s customer service staff, but there are also a handful of complaints that mention unhelpful or unavailable customer service.

TransNational Payments Lawsuits

We have not found any outstanding class-action lawsuits or FTC complaints filed against TransNational Payments. Dissatisfied merchants who wish to pursue a non-litigious course of action against the company should consider reporting it to the relevant supervisory organizations.

TransNational Payments Customer Support Options

TransNational Payments offers a dedicated support phone number and email address on its website, but these channels are not sufficient enough to qualify it as a top-rated payment processor for customer service. Overall, TransNational Payments’s complaint volume is about what we would expect for a company of its size and time in business, and we are therefore assigning the company a “B” in this category.

Do you have a complaint or testimonial about TransNational Payments? Make your voice heard before you go!

Response from TransNational Payments

Are you a representative of TransNational Payments? Add your voice to this section for free!

TransNational Payments BBB Rating Summary

Key Points - BBB

Product & Service Complaints 10
Billing & Collection Complaints 10
Advertising & Sales Complaints 0
Guarantee & Warranty Complaints 1
Delivery Complaints 1

Note: We have adjusted this company’s BBB rating according to our own standards. To better understand why we adjust BBB ratings, please see our Rating Criteria.

Over 20 Complaints

As of this review, the Better Business Bureau is showing that TransNational Payments earned BBB accreditation in 2005 and has an “A+” rating with 22 complaints filed in the last 36 months. Of the total complaints, 10 are regarding problems with products and services, 10 with billing and collection disputes, 1 with guarantee and warranty complaints, and 1 with delivery issues. TransNational Payments has responded to all of the complaints, but only 13 complainants verified that the issue was resolved to their satisfaction.

What Merchants Say

In addition to the 23 complaints posted to the company’s BBB profile, TransNational Payments has also received 19 informal reviews.  12 of these reviews are positive in tone while the remaining 7 are negative. The most recent review cites frustration with an unexpected fee:

Like most other processing companies, they will sneak (read: steal) money from you on your monthly statements. In my case, charging for non-PCI compliance, even though I am compliant. And “company policy” prohibits them from reimbursing me everything they’ve taken (read: stolen) from me. And then they won’t respond to emails about cancelation. They have great rates. But they are also thieves. If the price of low rates is you cannot trust them, then they are too expensive.

This merchant may have benefited from understanding how to cancel an account without paying a fee following unauthorized charges like these.

An Adjusted Rating

In light of these figures, we have adjusted the BBB’s grade to a “B” for the purposes of this review.

How has TransNational Payments treated you? Tell us about it here!

Response from TransNational Payments

Are you a representative of TransNational Payments? Add your voice to this section for free!

Truth In Marketing & Advertising

Key Points

Employs Independent Resellers No
Advertises Deceptive Rates No
Discloses All Important Terms No

Varied Sales Complaints

TransNational Payments appears to employ both inside and outside sales W-2 representatives to market its services, but a company representative has stated that TransNational does not employ independently contracted 1099 sales agents. We have located multiple TransNational Payments complaints describing nondisclosure of fees and terms by the company’s sales reps, specifically regarding the company’s termination fees. Merchants also report severe rate increases following initially offered “grace periods” and an in-person rate quote of 1.74% that is deceptively low. The TransNational website currently advertises interchange-plus pricing, which suggests that a tiered quote like 1.74% may no longer be possible through the company.

No Deceptive Advertising

Although TransNational Payments does not engage in unethical advertising strategies in its official materials, there is certainly some cause for concern according to complaints about the company. If you suspect that TransNational is overcharging you, we recommend seeking a third-party statement audit to eliminate hidden fees.

Did you get what you expected from TransNational Payments? Tell us why, or why not.

Response from TransNational Payments

Are you a representative of TransNational Payments? Add your voice to this section for free!

TransNational Payments Marketing Example

TransNational Payments Logo

Our Opinion of TransNational Payments

An Average Option At Best

TransNational Payments rates as an average merchant services provider according to our rating criteria. The company is showing a moderate amount of complaints for its size and time in business, but the consistency of these complaints is alarming. TransNational Payments can improve its rating by ensuring a higher level of disclosure and transparency among its sales agents, particular with regard to its termination fee. For now, merchants ought to consider a opting for a reputable top-rated credit card processor to obtain the best deal.

We rely on your feedback about TransNational Payments to keep this review accurate and up-to-date. Please take a minute to tell us about your experience. We and the small business owners of this world thank you!

Thank you for reading my review. I hope that it has helped you with your research.

Why I'm Qualified to Write About Credit Card Processing

I'm a former credit card processing sales director who left the industry to start my own a small business. From the time that I starting working in the merchant services industry to when I left to write about it, I've been on the pulse of payments for nearly 15 years. It didn't seem fair to keep this insider knowledge to myself, so built this website to help small business owners research which service providers to use and how to save money on rates and fees. I've reviewed hundreds of companies, read thousands of user reviews, and learned the pricing tricks of every provider. If you have questions about credit card processing, you can find the answers here. I can help you save money with your current merchant account or help you find a new one. Message me here to get started.

Get started right away! I've help businesses save $1,156,834 this year alone! Submit a recent statement and I'll take a look at it for free.

Submit a Statement

  • Accepted file types: jpg, png, pdf, xls, xlsx.

40 Reviews Leave Your Review for TransNational Payments Below

  1. Ellie says:

    If you can AVOID them. I had an inappropriate chargeback and they deceptively told me not to appeal it because it will not help. After I did more investigation I found that I could appeal and fight the charge back but they already closed the case. They give you very little warning regarding chargebacks and will pass you around and around hoping you will hang up and they will be able to keep their chargeback fees. The only reason I am still with them is because they are contracted with my platform but as soon as I can I will be switching. They really are motivated to keep your fees and could care less of the circumstances, they just ride on the back of the small businesses they “serve” and simply exploit them to make money. There are so many other good credit card processors, try STRIP, SQUARE or CHASE first. STAY AWAY from Transnational IF YOU CAN.


    This post will help: How to Fight Chargebacks and Win

    -Phillip

  2. Great people to work with. Had a problem with my terminal and Maria Hunt with customer service walking me through the whole process. I was back up and working in no time . Highly recommended.

  3. Beware TRANSNATIONAL PAYMENTS merchant services, they make you sign a long-term contract, specified in term and condition that they do not disclose to you at the time of the signing and then charge you a high fee to cancel the contract.
    This is what has happened to me and my small business in Tampa FL.
    DO NOT DO BUSINESS with them with their deceiving business practice, there are many reputable and honest companies out there.

    From The Editor
    This Post Might Help: Best Merchant Accounts for Spas

  4. I have been very happy with my service with Transnational. My costs have decreased, no change in processing and the customer service has been just fine. I would give them 5 stars.

  5. Joanne says:

    This company does not give Terms and Conditions until after you sign the “application” which they then use as a contract. After one year of use, I still cannot access their Terms and Conditions. They are deceptive in signing you up and then it is literally impossible to cancel service without paying a significant fee. On top of that fees are significantly more than they advertise. With all the merchant credit card processing for free, why anyone would sign with this company is beyond me. I’m deeply disappointed with their lack of transparency and the dishonest way they get merchants under contract.

    1. Ruth says:

      I am dealing with the exact same thing. They did not disclose the 3 year contract not did they offer the great customer service their sales reps convinced me of when I signed up with them. They charged me a ridiculous fee every month for PCI noncompliance and this was only disclosed on the last page of the monthly statements so I was not even seeing it. Once I tried to comply, the form was difficult and I spent so many hours working on it I decided it was less work on my part to pay the fee every month. When I tried to reach anyone from the Denver office, they all ghosted me and left me to deal with the team in Illinois, who have been far from helpful. I tried to cancel my service and they have argued with me over it so much that I am unable to cancel. I am paying a monthly fee for a service I am not using, nor was I ever happy with. Their deception and non transparency lead me to believe they are in the market to prey on unsuspecting small business owners. I have still been unable to close my account and will be looking into tactics to relieve myself from the anxiety this company has put me through. Absolutely regret being tricked into signing up with them and feeling completely helpless as a business owner dealing with a company like this.


      From The Editor
      These Posts Might Help:

  6. This company is dishonest. Avoid at all costs. Crooks.

  7. Lorn Estes says:

    I’ve been with transnational for several years. Review their contracts closely they have ridiculous termination fees. They are trying to hit me with 400 each for my brick and mortar and my website to close down.

  8. Mark Turo says:

    To whom it may concern,

    I spoke with Dennis Dhamer from TransNational yesterday regarding our current service provided by them We have recently been approached by another service company trying to get us to switch to their “Cash Discount Program” boasting how we can save hundreds of dollars. This was nothing short of changing our current business practice and charging our customers a “Convenience Fee”. The owners want nothing to do with it.
    Dennis was extremely helpful in guiding / educating me to a smart choice. He also recommended we upgrade our out-dated equipment and sent me the link to order a new one to meet our needs and help streamline our operation.
    Dennis was nothing less than professional in his demeanor and representation of not just your company, but the service as well.
    It was a pleasure to work with him.

    Respectfully,

    Mark R. Turo
    Operations Manager
    Classic Driving School

    1. CPO Admin says:

      Hi Mark,

      Please reply to this comment with your business location in order to authenticate your testimonial. Thanks!

  9. Neil Patel says:

    I used TransNational for almost 2 years (2015-2016) and I never had any issues with TransNational and their reps until NOW.

    About a year ago, I switched to BOA processing because I was receiving better rates. At the time of the switch, I gave TransNational every opportunity to meet or beat BOA rates but they were unable to come close so the decision to save on processing fees and make the switch to BOA was a no brainer, plus I received $1000 to make the switch.

    Last week, my old TransNational rep came to my business and with a loud piercing tone, she yelled and embarrassed me in front of my employees for making the switch to BOA, which occurred over a year ago. Her statement “You were receiving the best rates through me, anyone giving you better rates has hidden fees.” I mentioned I saved money on the rates and I received $1000 for making the switch. Her response was “there is no such thing as a free lunch.”

    After explaining to the TransNational rep that I’m the customer and I need to save money where I can, I asked the the TransNational rep to leave my business premise.

    One week later, the TransNational rep writes a 1-Star google review about me being rude on my businesses page because I switched to better processing rates??

    So I ask, who is the customer here? Me or the Rep? The TransNational rep came to me asking me for my business and when I said no, the TransNational rep writes a bad review on my business.

    There’s something morally and ethically wrong about this situation. I never asked the TransNational rep to come see me, she came to my business on her own. Then she proceeded to loiter and solicit, and finally when asked to leave the premise, she writes a bad review about me.

    I’m shocked and appalled how TransNational and it’s representative’s have treated me because I switched processing companies. I would never recommend TransNational to anyone because of what I just experienced.

  10. Seby Bell says:

    BUYER BEWARE!! Sales rep will promise you savings over your current processor. They will compare your current statement and tell you how much you can save with this company. They will tell you they will send you a free terminal and that all they ask is that you stay with them ‘at least a year’. What’s in the contract is very different. There is a $500 Cancellation Fee if you cancel within the first year and with the fees, they are more expensive than Square. They charge $395 to cancel after the first year. Also, there is a $95 ANNUAL FEE on top of everything else. If you get behind on your PCI Compliance, it’s an extra $40/month. These guys are RIPOFFS. They suck.

  11. Mark says:

    Stay away !!!!! They will take advantage of you and over charge you. They told us we had no contract but yet when we want to cancel we have to give them a 30 day notice ! We have them 27 day notice.
    They then said you owe $359 but charged us $425.
    There are so many better companies to go with.

  12. So far so good. Sales, service and support all great! Received equipment and ability to start taking credit cards as promised – next day service.

    Thank you!

  13. Julia says:

    Our firm has been very pleased with the assistance in implementing Transnational as our credit card processor. Friendly administrative staff and wonderful sales rep. I felt like they wanted to earn our business.

    1. CPO Admin says:

      Hi Julia,

      Please reply to this comment with your business name and location in order to authenticate your testimonial. Thanks!

  14. I enjoyed working with everyone associated with this company. The salesman was outstanding Colin Clippard showed me that he could save me money.
    I like the product where I can use the vault to store my repeat customers. So far so good, everyone I have talked to has been super helpful and pleasant.

  15. Ron Nelson - Auto Weave Upholstery says:

    We have used Trans National for over one year. We have not had any problems with fraudelent charges or hidden fee’s. I have recommended them to other company’s. And will recommend in the future.

  16. Eric says:

    Once they get you to sign up they tend to disappear along with customer service. I was told there wasn’t a cancellation penalty but there is, even if you sell your business and don’t switch to another vendor. Then they continued to charge me a few months after I canceled with their hefty fee.

  17. Jenny says:

    BEWARE!! This is fraudulent company. Deceptive sales tactics, hidden fees and an automatic renewal contract for life! The cancellation fees are very high $500.00. We tried to cancel and they debited our 2 accounts almost $500.00 each! They will financially destroy you! RUN!!

  18. Jenny says:

    This is a fraudulent company. They have deceptive sales tactics, hidden fees and they don’t tell you about the cancellation fees much less give you a copy of the contract. They just bring you the signature pages to sign. They continue to debit your account for all kinds of fees. Very scary that they can drain your account!! BEWARE!!

  19. Pat says:

    Jason Bostow is by far the greatest. He got me the best rates possible…all I have to do is pick up the phone and Jason is right on it. I must say in the 4 years I have been with Transnational I have not had an issue. What Jason promised is what he delivered. Won’t go anywhere else.

    1. CPO Admin says:

      Hi Pat,

      Please reply to this comment with your business name and location in order to authenticate your testimonial. Thanks!

  20. Sam kight says:

    Poor customer service…… forced to buy new machine , they do not offer the same service as before now I am not able to make charge anywhere I go. No return phone calls…..run from this company!!!!

  21. Jeff says:

    I was lied to by sales rep Duffy in 2010. Hidden cost yes. Still dealing with court in New York. Northern leasing system still trying to sue me to this day. I am small business that never used machine. Sent machine back. Costing me several thousand dollars. Reps at translational no help at all. Worst business ever.

  22. Smith Security Safes Inc. says:

    They promise the best rates but then charge huge monthly rates. I was told the $500 cancel fee would not apply to me if I gave them a shot. I tried them for 11 months and they were higher then my old company. Mike said I did not give them a fair shot because I never gave up my old company. Thanks God I did not. I believe they make all there money on the $500 cancel fee.

  23. Dennis Gipe says:

    pushy – arrogant – lied about negative reviews. Hung up on me when I told him I didn’t want his services

  24. To combat all the negative comments, I want to say that Transnational has been wonderful to us at our business. Super Fast Processing, and we have not had any problems whatsoever. Jason, who is our representative, I believe from out of Tampa, has been very attentive to our business needs. Anytime we have run into a situation, that we need help with, he quickly responds, and has helped us out several times in the past several years. With all the businesses trying to compete with each other, in the processing of payments, I will not even consider changing companies because of the service we have received from Jason, and we feel that the costs of Transnational are very reasonable for their superior services!

    1. Dianne says:

      BEWARE! They have an automatic lifetime renewal! Make sure you check out the cancellation policy and fees!!

  25. Tommy LeBlanc says:

    I was contacted and signed up with this company in April,2015. My original processor continued to process my credit cards. As of today, 11/26/2015, they have yet to process my cards. I sent in a cancellation earlier this month. Haven’t hear anything from them. One month they hit my account for $398 for not processing. Just wanted others to know about this in case they get marketed as I was and believing what they had to say. Buyer beware.


    Are you with TransNational? Learn how to resolve this complaint.

  26. Nancy Lewis says:

    Worst company!!! And I had been in business for 26 year. I sold my business. It took me 5 weeks to cancel my contact with them. No one would return my calls. When they finally did they tried to charge me for one month I never used and a $400.00 cancellation fee. Its not like a switched processors, I sold my business. Beware!!!! Worst, most unprofessional service ever. Now they are trying to send me to collection. I was told by Robert when I signed up there would be no cancellation fee, as I knew I was going to be putting my business on the market. Read the fine print. Do not trust them. Looks like I am not the only one to get this service

  27. Jody says:

    This company is ridiculous!
    I am an independent hairstylist I rent a chair I used transnational for almost 3 years now because that is what the contract stated. I’m not at the salon all the time and just rent when I want so I haven’t had many transactions. I knew my contract is up this September so I sent in a 60 day notice that after September my contract would be over and no longer wanted to work with transnational. Just today I was charged 250 for termination. I can’t help if my clients don’t use a card but I pay monthly fees to keep the machine so why does that matter how much I use it. I need help and any advice would be appreciated.
    Go with any other company besides this one. So many hidden fees and agreements it’s been such a headache. Worse experience I’ve had

    1. Dianne says:

      BEWARE! Cancellation fee is now $500.00!! They do NOT supply you with the contract either. They just give you the signature page!!

  28. John Calhoun says:

    This Comany is a fraud. They signed my company up to process credit card transactions with a 10% reserve on our account. After we processed $150,000 and they have $15,000 along with another $15,000 that they never funded to my account, then they call me and say I need more documentation to continue with the account. They’re a complete fraud. Contact the Attorney General in the state of Illinois at the address below.

    illinoisattorneygeneral.…

    1. Jody says:

      Did you follow through with an attorney or get any of your money back? I am just curious because I am not sure what I should do. I’ve been charged all this money and sent in a letter for my 60 day notice to stop services and then they charged me a termination fee for 250$ because they say I haven’t processed enough transactions. I am an independent hairstylist so I am not employed I just work at the salon when I want. I need help and any advice would be greatly appreciated.

  29. Tim says:

    VERY SHADY COMPANY!!! Hidden fees all over the place! Sales reps tell you one thing but it is far from reality. AVOID Transnational….period!

  30. Transnational is a scam says:

    Terrible and deceptive business practices. They are NOT honest from day one. You will have to fight them month to month with all the fees they attach on your statement. It is a nightmare to deal with them. They switched phone numbers more than multiple times and very hard to get a hold of them.

    They are still trying to charge us money even after 4 years of contract is expired with them. They are bullying, pressuring, dishonest and terrible customer service when you need them. They will get you in a 4 year lease for a terminal to run your credit cards and you will end up paying $1500 for a machine you don’t even own anymore. I have never seen a worse business practice then these IL based company does. I have filed with every authority and I will be posting anywhere I can find. They still want to charge us $250 for some whatever they came up with. Our contract done with them 6 months ago and we have never missed a single payment or violated the contract. They are saying we are in a lifetime contract with them and to get out is $250.

    One good suggestion to anyone who is looking to to do business with them. Just go find another company. Do not do any business with Transnational. They have such a bad reputation and terrible customer service with terrible business practices. They will lie straight to your ear on the phone and keep lying to you until you sign the contract, Then you are done ! go find some other company. Do not do business with Transnational Bankcard Inc.

    1. Sarah Troop says:

      I have been with TransNational for 2 years and they are by far the best processor I have worked with in 12yrs of business. I am writing this only for the fact that with any company you will have complaints and those are the ones that are documented. People NEVER write down their excellent experiences. I have seen with within my own business. I have assisted thousands of customers over the years who are happy and they never write a great review. However you have one customer who no matter what you do for them can not make them happy they will write a negative one. It is my opinion that one or few bad complaint should not outway countless you have helped. I did my research upon signing up with TransNational and they have and still have an A+ rating with BBB and they have most certainly lived up to that.

      1. Phillip Parker says:

        Hi Sarah,

        In order to authenticate your testimonial, please reply to this comment with your business name and location. Thanks!

    2. Dianne says:

      Yes they are fraudulent!! BEWARE!!

Leave a Review for TransNational Payments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please do not use profanity or ALL CAPITAL LETTERS in your review. Reviews must provide a detailed account of your experience. By submitting a review or comment to CPO, you are agreeing to our Comment Policy.