YapStone Review

16 Replies

Credit Card Processors
YapStone Logo
Category Breakdown
Sales & Marketing rated A
Costs & Contract rated A
Complaints & Service rated B
BBB Rating rated B plus

Overall Rating

A rating


Overview

YapStone Inc. (yapstone.com) is a global merchant account provider offering cloud-based web and mobile payment processing. There is some evidence that the company is an ISO of Chase Paymentech. Formerly known as Paymerica, YapStone was founded in 1999 and primarily serves the housing and non-profit industries. Most notably, the company is a payment processing partner of growing vacation rental platforms like Homeaway and VRBO. YapStone offers multiple variations on its RentPayment processing platform, including VacationRentPayment, HolidayRentPayment, StorageRentPayment, InnPayment, DuesPayment, and ParishPay. Yapstone is located at 2033 N. Main St., Walnut Creek, California 94596 and is a registered ISO/MSP of Wells Fargo Bank NA in Walnut Creek, California. Tom Villante is listed as the chairman and CEO of Yapstone.

YapStone Products and Services Industries Served
  • Debit and credit card processing
  • ACH processing
  • Online payment gateway
  • Virtual terminal
  • Payment acceptance via mobile app, email, text message, or phone
  • Integrated payment API
  • Property management
  • Lodging
  • Storage
  • Non-profit

Related: Find The Best Processor For Your Business Type

Sales & Marketing | A

Key Points – Sales & Marketing
Uses independent resellers? No
Promotes deceptive rate quotes? No
Discloses all important terms? No

YapStone appears to market RentPayment through a combination of telemarketing and inside sales agents. At this time, YapStone does not appear to employ independent sales agents. We are also unable to locate any negative YapStone reviews that mention the company’s sales team at this time, although we did find one complaint alleging deceptive rate representation by the company when it went by the name Paymerica. RentPayment’s website does not appear to engage in any deceptive advertising tactics, but we have located some complaints from RentPayment customers expressing confusion about fee structure and how to schedule payments through the service, which occasionally led to overcharges. These complainants do not appear to have been using the service as business owners, so it is unlikely that merchants are experiencing similar difficulties understanding their agreements.

Related: Find The Best Providers By Processor Type

Costs & Contract | A

Key Points – Costs & Contract Terms
Swiped rate: Variable
Keyed-in rate: Variable
Termination fee: Variable
PCI compliance fee: Variable
Equipment lease: Variable

As of this update, the standard YapStone contract terms are unclear. We have located one sample YapStone contract (from the company’s homeowner’s association-oriented subsidiary, DuesPayment) and included a link to it below. This contract is a one-year term that automatically renews for one-year terms and may be cancelled at any time with 30 days’ notice. The company also appears to collect its processing fees from homeowners, renters, and travellers—in other words, the people making the payments—rather than business owners. This is an uncommon pricing model for the industry, and it’s possible that a separate agreement outlines the service’s costs to merchants.

We are unable to locate any RentPayment complaints that specifically complain about the contract terms at this time, indicating that most of the company’s clients are satisfied with their rates and fees. One old complaint filed against Paymerica mentions an undisclosed two-year service length with an early termination fee of $250, but these terms have likely changed since then. If you have any knowledge of the standard YapStone merchant agreement (including any possible termination fees or PCI Compliance fees), please leave that information in the comment section of this review.

See the YapStone Merchant Agreement

Related: Best Processors For Quickbooks Integration

Complaints & Service | B

Key Points – Complaints & Service
Total complaints: 10+
Live customer support: Yes
Most common complaint: Fund holds

As of this update, we are able to locate a handful of YapStone merchant complaints, some of which describe the company as a ripoff. These merchants report slow payouts, withheld funds, and poor support from YapStone with regard to renter disputes.

Most available complaints about the company, however, have been posted by renters regarding its RentPayment service. These complainants express confusion over the company’s policies, as well as irritation with having to pay fees in order to use a credit card to pay their rent. These issues should not affect rental industry merchants beyond the possibility that their tenants might be dissatisfied with the service. Additionally, we have located multiple complaints by current and former YapStone employees who describe a taxing work schedule and low workplace morale. Like the renter complaints, these issues may only indirectly affect merchants, as unhappy employees tend to provide subpar service. Overall, though, YapStone has a fairly low complaint rate and does not appear to provide poor service to merchants.

Related: Best iPad & Tablet Point of Sale Services

BBB Report | B+*

Key Points – BBB Report
Product/service: 8
Billing/collection: 16
Advertising/sales: 2
Guarantee/warranty: 0
Delivery: 0

YapStone Inc. is not an accredited business with the Better Business Bureau. As of this review, the company’s profile appears to have been combined with that of RentPayment and shows an “A+” rating. The company has had 26 complaints filed against it in the last 36 months. Of the complaints, two were filed regarding an advertising and sales issue, eight were in relation to problems with products or services, and the remaining 16 stemmed from billing and collection disputes. YapStone successfully resolved 24 of the 26 complaints, but two complainants report being dissatisfied with the company’s response despite what the BBB determines was a good-faith effort by YapStone. Given the information available, we have slightly adjusted the BBB’s rating to a “B+.”

* Denotes CPO-adjusted BBB score

Related: Best Processors For E-Commerce

Bottom Line


YapStone Review

Rated 4.1 out of 5 Stars
Reviewed by Phillip Parker
Reviewed on 2015-04-13

YapStone rates as a reliable merchant account provider according to our system. We do not currently have a great deal of specific information about the company’s contract terms, but YapStone and its RentPayment platform are showing a low-to-moderate amount of public complaints online. Many of these complaints are only loosely tied to the company’s merchant services offerings. Even when dealing with a highly rated company, merchants are advised to carefully examine all contract terms presented to them.

This review was originally published on 2/8/13 and was last updated on 4/13/15.

Leave your review of YapStone in the comment section below:

Related:


Top All-Purpose U.S. Processors

See The Top Canadian Processors


Copyright © CardPaymentOptions.com (Digital Fingerprint: 0d38c6720f0d78a701b74d58653af608). Getting paid to re-write this page? Click here to earn a reward.

Disclaimer: While the information in the above article is believed to be accurate as of its publish date, the author and publisher make no representation or warranties with respect to the accuracy, applicability, fitness, or completeness of the contents. The author and publisher shall in no event be held liable to any party for any direct, indirect, punitive, special, incidental or other consequential damages arising directly or indirectly from any use of this material, which is provided “as is,” and without warranties. Any and all use of trade names and/or marks are for identification purposes only and shall not be construed as a claim of affiliation, or otherwise, with CardPaymentOptions.com, Inc. ("CPO") in any form. The sole purpose of the material presented herein is to alert, educate, and inform readers. It is not intended as legal or financial advice.

16 comments

  1. Larry fisher

    Yapstone
    This company asks for an unreasonable amount of info to set up payments for VRBO and home away. They ask for paperwork that cannot be produced bank statements with EIN on statement,, tax ID numbers, parts of tax returns EIN numbers. We opted out after they asked for a 40 page 1040 form from tax return (we had provided first page) Web search of “yapstone complaints ” reveals multiple security breaches of VRBO and Homeaway customers and pending lawsuits
    Beware
    They force you to use payment system or lose ranking . We have signed up for stripe & authorize payment systems and have never had to provide this amount of info. We haven’t had security breach … Yapstone has had many breached and many lawsuits. Be cautious.
    Someone should build a service that works like VRBO worked before Expedia bought them.


    Are you with YapStone? Learn how to resolve this complaint.

  2. Patricia McConnell

    I contracted with Homeaway ” book it ” in 2014. Yapstone is the payment processing company that Homeaway presently uses for this service., The payments for my rentals all came in on time except for one. I did have to follow up with ” yapstone” in order to get that missed one paid out to me. I did receive that payment but they were difficult to reach and it was time consuming. It also made me wary of them.
    I did stop using them, though, after I had a guest dispute. The dispute was a bogus attempt to get a freeby so I sent Yapstone all my paperwork immediately to counter the dispute. Yapstone made an error with my paperwork and they didn’t get the paperwork over to the bank for over a month. They told me that all was fine in the end and that the bank had refunded them the money pending the final outcome of the dispute. They also informed me that they would be keeping that money pending review rather than submitting it back to me, ( the common practice is that the payment processing companies refund dispute money back to the merchant pending dispute review).
    Yapstone then informed me that I had to pay $250 upfront to them if I wanted to complete the dispute. I pointed out that the contract said $25 ( not $250 fees) for any dispute, They blamed the bank and gave me the option to pay $500 to them, only if I lost the dispute. Since the guest complaint was clearly inappropriate and bogus I told Yapstone to follow up with the dispute and I sent them further documentation to back up my counter claim. I was told that the process would complete by Oct 8th, 2015.
    It is now January 15th, 2016 and so far I have heard nothing further from them. My last communication had been August 8th, 2015. I have again contacted them and they claim they have to research to find out why the process never completed and why they never followed up with any contact to me.
    Apparently Yapstone is affiliated with Chase Bank ( Yapstone gave me this info). Furthermore The credit card used by the disputing client was a Chase bank credit card ( Yapstone gave me this info also) Therefore it would be Yapstone ( as Chase Bank) demanding I pay $250 ( or $500) in order to counter my client’s dispute and have my rental fees refunded back to me.
    I no longer use Homeaway ” book it” and I have gone back to using my original payment processing company. I had been using my original company since 2006 and I had never had any issues at all with them, as well they are always easy to reach ( no message machines like Yapstone). My original processing company have informed me that they have never heard of a client being asked to pay out $250 or $500 in order to counter a dispute. The standard fee for disputes is $25, as was on my contract. It was nice to have the convenience of ” book It” but I would not go that route again if I have to go through this company to do so.


    Are you with Yapstone? Learn how to resolve this complaint.

  3. Peter Brand

    I am a holiday home owner so rely on regular income to pay for repairs, cleaners etc. Yapstone is used by Owners Direct and I recently signed up for their automated payments service , essentially to make my life easier. Since this has been live I have not received notification on all payments being received and also started receiving failure to collect direct debit notices. When enquiring about this, I was told to ignore the notices and this is because UK Banks dont accept the Yapstone ‘International payments’ mandate. Clearly a massive breakdown in the operational readiness of being a payments service in the UK. This then means you have to sign up with Clearsettle that do handle UK bank payments. The worst part of this story is that even though I wa ssigned up to receive credits via clear settle , Yapstone managed to block all payments into my account. I have received no satisfactory answer to date, my escalation to a manager is fruitless, which tells me as a customer that either they do not care, or they are overworked. I am currently out of pocket by over £800 and missing 7 payments with absolutely no explanation of what broke down with the process. Shocking and if it had been me not paying them I imagine there would be very swift proceeding against me as a very small buisness owner. Formal complaint in progress with them but I am sceptical based on service? received so far.


    Are you with YapStone? Learn how to resolve this complaint.

  4. Robert

    Yapstone requested very sensitive information in the way of passports, licenses and tax documents in order to process payments for my VRBO account. They declined my request and would not give a reason for doing so. I asked repeatedly for a reason why and also was concerned what they did with the sensitive documents I emailed to the company.
    I’ve been running a thriving rental operation thanks to Airbnb. I’m a five star host and have a 100% approval rating.
    If you don’t have to deal with Yapstone……I wouldn’t.

  5. Adam

    Mixed opinions re: Holiday Rent Payments (we’re based i the UK and have the European version).

    Good points are…

    1. No real issues in regard to receiving payments when guests have booked. The money is usually within the account within 5-7 days. That’s very useful.

    2. I cannot argue that it is the best way to encourage guests to book and pay through the homeaway platform.

    Bad things…

    1. There were two or three occasions when they took a security deposit twice! Luckily we noticed (we have 50+ properties), but to be fair they were fairly quick at sorting it out when we did notice.

    2. Most importantly, they do not support basic fraud prevention technologies like Verified By Visa. This leave the vendor very much exposed to credit and debit card fraud. If a chargeback is raised by the original card holder, they give you very little time to construct a defense (we were given less than 24 hours one occasion), and they seem to have absolutely no interest in properly representing the vendor in the case of a chargeback, whether it was genuine fraud or a mistake. I don’t understand why they don’t do more to protect vendors from this type of fraud. To compare, AirBnB have much more sophisticated anti-fraud tools, and can usually spot problematic bookings within 24 hours.

    Conclusion – When things run smoothly they offer a good service, and it is the best way to encourage bookings. Make sure your accounting systems are tight so that you can spot potential problems like them not paying you or double charging you. By using them you are exposed to credit card fraud and chargebacks, which they will do very little to help you with, so beware. Make sure your guests are who they say they are, otherwise you WILL get stung sooner or later.

    1. Leslie Walker

      This is exactly what happened to me! Guy brought 10 dogs into my home. I asked him to leave. He made a chargeback. I had photos of the dogs and a signed NO PETS contract. He also brought 9 people. 3 over the limit. He was refunded his money because I didn’t let him stay! Found out he had to repay the government over $150,000 in fake Medicare charges at his two eye centers prior to this! This guy should be in jail. They should not expect me to let him stay in my home with 10 dogs and 3 extra humans!


      Are you with YapStone? Learn how to resolve this complaint.

  6. JOHN RINALDI

    BAD EXPERIENCE WITH YAPSTONE/ VACATION RENT PAYMENTS. I am a long time user of Vacation Rentals/ VRBO.com. VRBO offers awesome customer service yet their service breaks down with the extremely bad service of Yapstone/ Vacation Rent payment (vrbo’s payment process vendor). Vrbo is actually rolling out the integrated ability to use any 3rd party vendor for payment processing probably because of the widespread unhappiness with Vacation Rent Payment. We are stuck with Vacation Rent Payment for now but hopefully that will change.

    Last night, the indifference of Vacation Rent Payment was disappointing and her inability to assist with resolving the delay in setting up new processing on a new listing horrible. Vacation Rent Payment is guilty of enjoying exclusive relationships with larger companies that seem to be at an end and clearly had no need to offer good customer service. Bottom line, if you have a choice RUN RUN RUN from this company. ( Expect to see this review posted on other sites where you will not be able to delete it as I am sure you will from your board here.)

    Finally the inability to actually get through to a supervisor or someone with the ability to fix a problem is impossible and the rep last night claims her supervisor did not want to get on the line.

  7. Osterhaus Enterprises, LLC

    Never completed required documents, and chose another company that had better customer services and processes. Then was billed and requested a reversal on the billed amount. Was replied with a message my account was removed…but no reversal. Was billed another month, sent e-mail and told to go to a link to cancel. The link asked for my name and e-mail and returned that we would receive instructions. Never received the instructions, and no reply to issue of being billed when my account did not complete the information requested. Still no resolution to issues.

  8. Geno Johnson

    This is a TERRIBLE company. My experience with them echoes other complaints I have now found about them. They’re hooked up with VRBO and Homeaway and they are certainly guilty by association. They’ll take your renters payment alright, but good luck getting the funds due you. They will offer up everyu excuse you could ever imagine and the best one is “they are really overloaded with requests” Go figure! People want to get paid for what’s coming to them. this practice of theirs will likely not change until a state brings suit against them. Perhaps under violation of truth in lending laws.

  9. John

    The company hold my guest’s payment without any notice or reason. Called customer service department many times, and no one can give me a reason, just told me they have filed a ticket already, any would contact me once they got the feedback from other department. it is a terrible company. Is there anyway I can get my money back quickly.

  10. Nichole Adams

    This company accepts payments for Homeaway, they mis represent how long it will take to get your funds. I had a guest stay in November and my funds have not been released as of December 17. I was told they hold the funds for 30 days. The real ease the funds another 7 days later. I contacted them asking what I could to expedite the payment I was told I could. Have credit check through their company. I did that then I was told that was for another program they had and my funds will not be released. Very deceptive…. If you have other choices please use another provider. Pay pal , square what ever do not use this option on homeaway or vrbo.

  11. Leslie Walker

    This company will not properly represent you if you have a client dispute charges on their credit card. I had a “guest (Tim Conrad ) check in to my rental property who agreed online at the time of booking and again upon arrival in writing that there were no pets and no more than 6 people to be on the property. Shortly after checking in, he had 9-10 dogs in my house and 9 people! I provided the contract as well as photos of the dog pooping in my yard and the extra people and Yapstone allowed his credit card company to take my funds back because we asked them to leave. I lost the income from a fourth of July rental as well as having to pay $200 to have the house cleaned since they had already been all over the beds and the house. I would like to know who would allow someone to stay in their home with 9-10 dogs and 9 people rather than the agreed upon 6.

  12. Bryan

    This company will take your funds from you paying guests for a vacation rental and not release them to you for extended periods of time as in weeks. I would highly recommend not using yapstone in Walnut Creek California but using a different merchant banking service with reputable practices such as Costco credit card merchant processing or directly with a bank such as Wells Fargo or US Bank that does credit card merchant processing.

  13. Harrington

    Their website provides dark-pattern. It NEVER shows how much you have to pay for the service until you waste a lot of time entering your personal information and credit card information.
    At the last minute, it tells you that you have to pay over $16 dollars to make a payment.

    WHY NOT PUT THAT INFORMATION RIGHT ON THE FIRST PAGE OF THE WEB SITE?

    I would not recommend this site. Stay way from it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By submitting a comment on CPO you acknowledge acceptance of our Comment Policy. All comments are moderated prior to publishing. Comments containing ALL CAPS, contact information, profanity, or that lack a detailed account of your experience may be denied publishing or subject to redaction of the offending information.