CardConnect Overview

Are you a decision maker with CardConnect? Claim this review.

The Independent Sales Arm of First Data

CardConnect, formerly known as Financial Transaction Services, is a rapidly growing merchant account provider that operates as an independent subsidiary of First Data. Founded in 2006 by CEO Brian P. Shanahan before changing its name and moving to Pennsylvania, CardConnect was acquired by First Data in 2017 and is now the primary independent sales network used by First Data. The company has previously partnered with FTV Capital, Bank of America, and SecureNet Payment Systems to expand its products and services.

CardConnect Location and Ownership

CardConnect’s headquarters are located at 1000 Continental Drive, Suite 600, King of Prussia, Pennsylvania 19406. Jeff Shanahan is listed as the president of CardConnect.

CardConnect Review Table of Contents

  • Costs & Contract: CardConnect usually offers a multi-year contract through First Data with a variable termination fee.
  • Complaints & Service: CardConnect has received more than 50 public complaints.
  • BBB Rating: CardConnect has an “A” rating and has received 35 complaints and 1 review in the past 3 years. The company has been accredited by the Better Business Bureau since 2019.
  • Sales & Marketing: CardConnect hires independent sales agents and has received a moderate number of complaints about its sales practices.
  • Rates & Fees: How Merchants Got The Best Rates With CardConnect

CardConnect Statement Analyzer

Find hidden fees, pricing errors, and overcharges in your CardConnect merchant account statement. Not with CardConnect? That's ok, we can find excessive fees in any credit card processing statement. We've already found $1,156,834 in hidden fees this year! Submit a recent statement to try it out for free!

  • Accepted file types: pdf, doc, docx, png, jpg, xls, xlxs.

Products & Services Offered

Types of Businesses Served

  • Retail
  • Mobile
  • E-commerce
  • MOTO
  • B2B
  • Enterprise-level

Our unbiased reviews are supported, in part, by helping you find highly rated merchant accounts. You can learn more here.

CardConnect Rates, Fees, and Costs

Key Points

Swiped Rate 2.32% + 0.25% + $0.07
Keyed-in Rate 2.32% + 0.25% + $0.07
Early Termination Fee Up To $750
Monthly Minimum Fee $25
PCI Compliance Fee $8.25 Per Month
Monthly Fee $9.95
Equipment Lease Terms 48 Month (locked)

Variable Contract Terms

CardConnect doesn’t disclose its contract terms on its website, but we have seen reports in the comments section of contracts up to 5 years, a PCI compliance fee charged each month for $8.25, high early termination fees (up to $750) and other monthly fees. Recent complaints mention an annual fee of up to $288 that is applied retroactively at the end of the relevant year. A copy of the company’s standard application also lists a monthly minimum fee of $25, a statement fee of $5, and a PCI non-compliance fee of $19.95 per month. The agreement also references an equipment lease, which is likely through First Data Global Leasing, considering the company’s affiliation with First Data.

CardConnect Transaction Fees

Some sources indicate that the company offers bucket pricing starting at 2.32% for “Qualified” transactions, although CardConnect does openly promote interchange-plus pricing on its website. A class action suit against the company alleges that its fees are deceptive as the company attaches a second agreement to its initial contract, adding 0.25% plus $0.07 to the agreed upon rates. Because CardConnect’s contract terms are average to below average for the industry, we do not consider it competitive with the cheapest merchant account.

Are you happy with your CardConnect fees? Tell us about them before your go!

Response from CardConnect

Are you a representative of CardConnect? Add your voice to this section for free!

CardConnect Complaints & Customer Reviews

Key Points

Total Online Complaints 50+
Live Customer Support Yes
Most Common Complaint Hidden Fees

Moderate Complaint Total

We have found over 50 CardConnect complaints, some of which express the opinion that either CardConnect or Financial Transaction Services is a ripoff. The company has responded to many of the complaints found in the comments section of this website, albeit with what occasionally appears to be an automated or copied response. Many of the complaints on this website report poor customer service despite what appears to be an active effort by company representatives to contact frustrated clients. It is also worth noting that two of the complaint rebuttals issued by what appear to be FTS/CardConnect reps were less than professional and bordering on rude. It does not appear that either individual is still employed by the company, so we will favorably assume that these comments are not reflective of the company’s present culture.

CardConnect Payments Lawsuits

In 2016, CardConnect was sued through a class action lawsuit in the matter of Kao et al v. CardConnect Corp. The suit alleged that the company misled merchants with contractual language that bound the merchants to rates that differed from those within their respective contacts.

CardConnect Customer Support Options

To its credit, CardConnect offers 24/7 live phone support. This is a degree of customer support that we expect from top-rated processors for great customer service. Unfortunately, CardConnect’s complaint rate has increased over the past year, likely due in part to its accelerated growth and acquisition. This negative trend has lowered its score in this section to a “C.”

Do you have a complaint or testimonial about CardConnect? Make your voice heard before you go!

Response from CardConnect

Are you a representative of CardConnect? Add your voice to this section for free!

CardConnect BBB Rating Summary

Key Points - BBB

Product & Service Complaints 19
Billing & Collection Complaints 16
Advertising & Sales Complaints 0
Guarantee & Warranty Complaints 0
Delivery Complaints 0

Note: We have adjusted this company’s BBB rating according to our own standards. To better understand why we adjust BBB ratings, please see our Rating Criteria.

Rising Complaint Total

The BBB has awarded CardConnect a rating of an “A” although the company’s complaint total has risen to 35, Of these complaints, 18 were related to product or service problems and another 16 were due to billing or collection issues. The company had resolved 16 of these complaints, while the remaining 19 either were not resolved to the merchant’s satisfaction or did not receive a final evaluation from the merchant.

What Merchants Say

The company also has 1 negative reviews filed with the BBB. The informal review describes poor customer service:

Do not choose to do business with Card Connect. I have been with them for about 4 years, always horrible service. Finally decided to cancel my services with them and not only has it been 7 weeks of calls and emails, always with a different rep, but my account still has not been cancelled by them AND they charged me for another month. Last rep I spoke to was abysmal and was what finally led me to write this review and warn others. Please go elsewhere for your credit card processing service.

A “B” Performance

Given the company’s complaint rate and resolution ratio, we have adjusted the BBB’s rating to a “B” for the purposes of this review. Merchants should note that there are good reasons to be skeptical of the BBB’s rating system.

How has CardConnect treated you? Tell us about it here!

Response from CardConnect

Are you a representative of CardConnect? Add your voice to this section for free!

Truth In Marketing & Advertising

Key Points

Employs Independent Resellers Yes
Advertises Deceptive Rates No
Discloses All Important Terms No

Outside Sales Team

CardConnect is itself a vast independent sales department of First Data, so its sales team is distributed across the country. CardConnect appears to be more forthright than most companies about the services it provides and its relationship to other companies. As a subsidiary of First Data, the company primarily markets its solutions for merchants and other ISOs on its website. The site doesn’t seem to advertise any specific rates or deceptive guarantees.

CardConnect Sales Complaints

The comment section below this review includes several reports of deceptive sales practices, including one direct allegation of forgery. Despite a proactive response by CardConnect’s customer service department to some of these comments, we are inclined to award the company an average grade of “C” in this category for now. If you suspect that a CardConnect representative has snuck hidden fees into your contract, we recommend seeking a third-party statement audit.

Did you get what you expected from CardConnect? Tell us why, or why not.

Response from CardConnect

Are you a representative of CardConnect? Add your voice to this section for free!

CardConnect Marketing Example

CardConnect

Our Opinion of CardConnect

An Average Option for Most Businesses

CardConnect’s (also sometimes misspelled as “Card Connect”) acquisition by First Data has coincided with a nicer website and faster growth for this company, but its complaint rate and contract terms indicate average performance. The company can improve its rating by lowering or eliminating its early termination fee and improving its sales practices. Merchants are encouraged to compare CardConnect’s pricing to that offered by top-rated merchant account providers.

We rely on your feedback about CardConnect to keep this review accurate and up-to-date. Please take a minute to tell us about your experience. We and the small business owners of this world thank you!

Thank you for reading my review. I hope that it has helped you with your research.

Why I'm Qualified to Write About Credit Card Processing

I'm a former credit card processing sales director who left the industry to start my own a small business. From the time that I starting working in the merchant services industry to when I left to write about it, I've been on the pulse of payments for nearly 15 years. It didn't seem fair to keep this insider knowledge to myself, so built this website to help small business owners research which service providers to use and how to save money on rates and fees. I've reviewed hundreds of companies, read thousands of user reviews, and learned the pricing tricks of every provider. If you have questions about credit card processing, you can find the answers here. I can help you save money with your current merchant account or help you find a new one. Message me here to get started.

Get started right away! I've help businesses save $1,156,834 this year alone! Submit a recent statement and I'll take a look at it for free.

Submit a Statement

  • Accepted file types: jpg, png, pdf, xls, xlsx.

73 Reviews Leave Your Review for CardConnect Below

  1. Kyle says:

    Terrible service they accuired Bluepay, which was awful. I had 2 merchant accounts, I send a certified letter over 3 years ago and have not used the account since but get charged monthly there their monthly service fee and pci compliance scan failed test penalty of $39.99 per month even though I don’t need pci compliance usimg PayPal as my merchant service. I did a DocuSign form from cardconnect to cancel both accounts they have failed to close them and still charging me monthly


    This post will help: Cancelling a Merchant Account Without Paying a Fee

    -Phillip

  2. Farhan Q says:

    They are scammers. The representative named Mandy Hendrickson is definitely scam. Avoid the company as a whole. I was looking for merchant services in 11/2018 and signed up with this company. In negotiations I made sure that I will not be charged the Early termination fee and representative agreed to it and confirmed in email. They left the space of ETF in actual contract blank and when I questioned, she stated that she has made it $0 and that is why it doesn’t show anything in that space. Fair enough, 7-9 months later, customers don’t want to switch payments from PayPal to a different company. So I have no option but to cancel the plan which I emailed her to cancel without ETF as we agreed. She processed the cancellation, next statement I received the charge of $750 Early Cancellation fee. I called Mandy Hendrickson out of panic, I didn’t realize initially that she was in West Coast, so I called an early hour, as soon as I realized I hung up and called after 9 am PST. I called her twice and left her a voice message to please return the call.

    I texted her the details of being charged the ETF. She texted me that it was unprofessional me calling her 3 times, to an extent I agree but on the other hand she gave me the number herself and stated I could reach her there. Anyways she had a family loss and stated I reach out to her colleague Phillip Larson. She became nasty on my texts while i kept it professional, she even got to the point where she was almost cursing at me while I still kept my calm. After an hour of everything she actually texted she was not going to help me at all as I was not her customer anymore.

    This is what ticked me off but I still gave her benefit of the doubt that she was stressed out due to the loss of her family member. I contacted Phillip Larson, he stated to forward the emails and texts from Mandy confirming the no ETF. I sent him and he promised to get back in 3 days. It has been 7 days now and still no response from him. No response to my emails or calls. I called the cancellation department and they asked to forward the email to their cancellation inbox email and they will process refund based on that.

    The tricky part is that the contract space being left blank per their terms means that the general policy of theirs will apply which had ETF of $750 which I never agreed to and was not provided.

    NOTE: If you signup with this company, ensure you do see $0.00 Early Cancellation Fee, no field should be left blank. They even increased some price while I was offered 5 years price guaranteed.

    By the way I worked for a bank when I got the service, I told her that my merchant services was unable to give pricing compared to what CardConnect gave but my rep was giving no contract and ETF and that is why Mandy agreed to it.

    It has been almost over a week I have notified Card Connect. Hopefully they refund me the charge and I will update my review based on the facts, if not I will certainly dispute it through my bank or go to small claims court.


    This post will help: Cancelling a Merchant Account Without Paying a Fee

    -Phillip

    1. Thom K says:

      They pulled the same crap on me I signed a 12 mo contract then was told it was a 48 mouth contact when I tried contacting Jack Moles he had a family emergency and would not be able to get back to me. I sent emails and got nowhere it’s a scam company and needs to be shut down on the good side the FBI has Peter Moles on a watch list as part of card connect so if everyone sends letters to the FBI naming key person’s who scammed them they might finally do something about it


      This post will help: Cancelling a Merchant Account Without Paying a Fee

      -Phillip

  3. Heidi D says:

    I have tried multiple times to get a hold of my representative Ryan McKenzie with absolutely NO SUCCESS! He was to transfer our customers from one merchant service to card connect (card pointe) and that was over two months ago. Called the customer service number and got transferred several times before I was told by Samantha that a supervisor would call me back. I am still waiting! I feel like I have put my customers in complete jeopardy by trusting Card Pointe! Absolutely beyond irritated. Do No Use!


    This post will help: Best Merchant Accounts for Great Customer Service

    -Phillip

  4. SHON says:

    This company is very bad for small company!!
    All different charges add up to more than 5% of your total processing!!! but first, they will promise you that they gonna have less than 3%.


    This post will help: Find and Eliminate Hidden Fees in Your Monthly Bill

    -Phillip

  5. Kristin says:

    We have never done business with CardConnect, and never signed a contract. We never even heard of them until they started taking money from our account. When we put a stop on the direct withdrawal through our bank, they tried to take us to collections. When we try to call we get a customer service rep who says management is too busy to talk. We think our old processing company (who we finished our contract with and returned gear to) sold our information to CardConnect. They are stealing from us and should be put out of business. We will be filing a complaint with the BBB and contacting our lawyer. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY!!!


    This post will help: Cancelling a Merchant Account Without Paying a Fee

    -Phillip

  6. Tamme says:

    I have been waiting over a month to simply process a bank change form w/card connect. Absolutely ridiculous at the amount of wrong information i have received, creating this extremely long and unnecessary delay. When voicing my frustration over the phone for the 4th time, I’m still not getting any apology or even empathy. When they told the office mngr that they needed HER information to process the change, a month ago, she specifically asked, why don’t you need the owner’s information. Now a month later, they are saying that they need the owner’s information. Now we’ll wait another few weeks for what should’ve been a 24 hr turn around. so disappointing in their processes, procedures, and customer service.


    This post will help: Best Merchant Accounts for Great Customer Service

    -Phillip

  7. CS says:

    CardConnect will charge hidden fees (charged me $53/month in hidden fees) I had to call and cancel my account several times because they would tell me it was cancelled and then the following month just charge my credit card another $53 (even though I never once used the service.) I finally got them to cancel my account… and a month later I recieved a collection notice demanding I pay a $30 cancellation fee! Never use CardConnect… they will lie to you and rip you off!


    This post will help: Cancelling a Merchant Account Without Paying a Fee

    -Phillip

  8. Tonika Outerbridge says:

    Stay away from card connect. They treat small businesses like criminals but really they are crooks. I changed to a new bank and they don’t want switch my account so they’ve holding my funds for over 3 weeks now. They’ve been dismissive about the whole issue. shame on them.


    This post will help: How to Make Your Payment Processor Release Your Money

    -Phillip

  9. Ed Burris says:

    As a W2 Senior Advisor for CardConnect, I sympathize with all the folks that have been hosed by the 1099 salespeople mentioned. 1099 in our industry means no regulation on salespeople. This is why the W2 (ACE’s) were created. W2 means regulated and held accountable.
    For CPO; why don’t you require validation from those who complain about the companies on your site? I agree with accountability but it should be for all, don’t you think?
    I have been employed by a couple Credit Card Processor sales teams. CardConnects platform out performs all I have been a part. Now it is down to the sales representative, correct? All these complaints are directed at CardConnect but end up being caused by 1099 sales representatives. There are fantastic 1099 salespeople out there but are very few and far between. If I were a merchant searching for a good fit I would research credit card processors with W2 Salespeople, has PCI-Validated Encryption and find out the secondary features and benefits to see if they can create the best outcome for my business. Then, start discussing price. If you are searching for a merchant service provider based on price, you probably will get much less than you wanted. If you’re asking about rates first, you are setting yourself up for disappointment. If the merchant service provider starts out with price you will probably be disappointed. Go with a W2 salesperson and you will have layers of sales support even if the salesperson fails. It usually goes in some form like this; salesperson, manager, VP of Region, SVP of sales. 1099 goes something like; you get a 1099 salespeople and you are done. Thanks for letting me rant and I truly hope I helped business owners with this.
    Thank you Phillip for this platform. The goal is always truth and helping others in truth, right? Thanks!

    This post will help: Our Testimonial Policy

    -Phillip

    1. Darren Watzman says:

      Hello Mr Burris
      I strongly disagree with your review on W2 vs 1099 sakes agents. To say a merchant gets better service using W2 is about the grossest lie I’ve ever heard coming from a person who answers to a credit card processor vs a 1099 who answers to the merchant. Just look at Heartland Payments to validate this lie. 1099 are entrepreneurs taking the risk of there own pocketbook to build a business without any corporate support or shareholders to report to. 1099s report to merchants. They don’t have quotas or sales managers beating them up to produce. Sure you gave bad agents as this industry is not licensed like insurance or mortgage agents. The bad agents don’t last and I blame the card processing companies. The same people you are employed by that allows this to occur. 1099s bring more value as the have more autonomy and descretion to service there clients. W2 can only offer what there companies allow them too. Talk about support? Tell me one company that will drive out to a merchant location on a Saturday night when a machine fails? You got to be kidding if you think a W2 can outperform a successful 1099 on support. 1099s set the price and if they want to survive they better be competitive or they won’t survive. Your thesis makes absolutely no sense as you never took the risk starting and growing a business. You need to work for Heartland and offer just a machine and rate, Thats what I call a successful W2 employer

      1. Ed Burris says:

        Darren, you are correct! I apologize for my statements, they were uncalled for. I reacted on emotion rather than facts, I am totally wrong. The 1099’s built CardConnect and there are bad apples in every bunch. I applaud your passion and envy the 1099’s that get it done. Understand that no one at CardConnect holds my ill-stated opinions. All 1099’s that get it done, I respect you all and wish you great successes. You are connected to a good processor. I owned a business for 11 years and would like to own one again. My career started as a 1099 for a local ISO, it was great. And you are correct, when the banks and employees went home, I was traveling 2 hours on Friday night or a Saturday morning, I miss it. If you would like a conversation, look me up on LinkedIn, Thanks!

  10. HUI JUN Li says:

    Fraud Company, said no fee at the very start and comes with a buttload of fees and extra charges and charged $800 later for cancelation fee like wat?


    This post will help: Cancelling a Merchant Account Contract Without Paying a Fee

    – Phillip

  11. Stay Away!!
    When we first started with this company many years ago everything was upfront and very clear. Then things started changing. Our monthly statements stopped being generated. Our fees being paid for processing started going very high. Started at 4% up until this year when they became upwards of 11% we through in the towel. Even after being PCI compliant and shaving just about every service we were still paying close to $100 monthly , plus the annual fee and, and, and……They even went as far as pulling a monthly service fee from our bank account the month after our contract was terminated. I tried working with the “cancellation team” to clear this matter up. All they did was regurgitate the obvious and do nothing. Do yourself a favor….Stay very far away from this company. Huge fees, poor at best customer services for the merchants.


    This post will help: Best Merchant Accounts for Dental Offices

    – Phillip

  12. Mark Hasty says:

    I would stay away from them. Card Connect has more fees than you can imagine along with an annual renewal fee for virtually nothing that cant be had for free at other companies. Their rates are not any better than other places without all the charges. Pay close attention to anything you receive from them because it generally means a new fee has either been increased or added to your original agreement.

    From The Editor
    This Post Might Help: Find and Eliminate Hidden Fees in Your Monthly Statement

  13. Lucy I Aspinwall says:

    I caught this company in the act of Forgery from February of 2018. It was lies from the beginning and I would never recommend working with them.

    From The Editor
    This Post Might Help: How to Report Bad Credit Card Processors

  14. Kim says:

    My advise – AVOID THIS COMPANY
    Appears CardConnect needs additional revenue. What kind of company will put in fine print on a Nov 2018 statement that you will be charged a $199 Annual Membership Fee (in all the years we’ve done business with them we have NEVER paid a “membership fee”). I was told that it is to support the platform?! and it was for services provided in Jan-Dec 2018. Does not seem ethical to me that at the end of the year they impose a fee for you doing business with them in the prior 12 months. Wish I could blind side my customers with “hey, thanks for doing business with us in the prior 12 months, as a gift we are charging you $199”
    Maybe their customer service will improve with the additional funds they raised this way, but we’ll never know as this is the last straw for us with this company.

    From The Editor
    This Post Might Help: Best Merchant Accounts for Great Customer Service

    1. Anna says:

      Samething happened to me Kim! I called and was transfered to several people, all to get a rude associate stating he was the “Supervisor” over the whole department and was hung up on after asking that very question you asked. Why are you charging retro? I have been a customer since 2012 and never been charged an annual fee! My annual fee I was charged was $288! Talk about a totally being blindsided! I canceled as well and currently on hold with my bank to dispute the charge! Warning stay away from this company!!

      From The Editor
      This Post Might Help: Best Merchant Accounts for Great Customer Service

  15. Victoria M Dunn says:

    DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY- READ THIS FIRST. When I was first introduced to this company I had a gut feeling and I ignored it. Though I did not feel as though my business had reached a point of volume that required this, the salesman called and emailed me anywhere from 5-13 times a day for three weeks. I repeatedly said I was not interested or that I was weighing my options. After weeks of pressure, I reluctantly agreed to utilize the services.
    I was never told that it was a three year contract. When I left the business I was leasing from, I canceled all services associated, believing that they were all connected to the spa. When I called Merchant Services to cancel, they did not tell me I was in a contract or that there was a $750 cancellation fee or that I did not need to cancel as I could use their service independently. After taking the $750 from my account they agreed to refund the money and reactivate my account. I have emails that state this. MANY, MANY emails that all contradict each other. The original emails state I would be refunded in 30 days. Follow up emails state I had to receive 30% of what I was originally collecting: still no refund. Then I was told I had to collect my original volume (which varied greatly! $30 – $200). In the mean time, I did not receive any refund, yet they continued to take money from my account monthly, in total another $295.
    The customer service is dishonest, I have emails to prove it. They take money from your account without permission. Please search my google review – it will have copies of all of the emails for the last year. You will see the deceit, redirect and awful ways they treat you. I have filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau and joined a class action law suit. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY!

    From The Editor
    This Post Might Help: Best Spa Merchant Accounts

    1. Dina says:

      IN reply to Victoria Dunn’s comment. How can we find the class action lawsuit. I’m in a similar situation to yours.

  16. Don Murray says:

    I signed up as a new merchant with Card Connect under some very specific criteria. Our little dog grooming business needed lower rates and better equipment. I asked for a full color screen on our card machine. (which is what pictures on their website show) The machine we got, the “IFC250” NEVER had color and always said “BOLTED”? I spent multiple phone calls and multiple hours on hold with tech support to try to get a resolution but none arrived. I additionally asked that our new credit card machine have the ability to offer our customers “pre-set tip amounts” like 15%, 20% 25% or custom amounts because that feature increases the money for our staff. That critical feature was never installed either and I was told by tech support that they did not know how to do it. They actually told me to “GOOGLE IT” … After weeks of phone calls, lower tips, network issues and what essentially amounted to ZERO customer support I decided to cancel. I requested to return my non-functioning machine but they declined me. I was told that any return needed to happen within 30 days and I was at 36 days. I noted the multiple calls to their tech support AND their customer service departments but my request to return their faulty equipment was further denied. I spent another week emailing every department my whole story but as of the date of this complaint filing I have yet to hear from a single person who is willing to help or listen. All emails to their “Deployment Team” were not returned. RUN FROM THESE CROOKS! I am seeking legal action.

    From The Editor
    This Post Might Help: Best Merchant Accounts for Great Customer Service

  17. Dina Garcia says:

    if you are a small business, or micro business like myself, run as fast as you can. Card connect has terrible systems in place and horrible customer service, not to mention they rip you off. Card connect purchased/acquired my original merchant account. Once they took over they started charging me monthly fees every month and a new annual fee. These fees are not part of my original contract. I called to ask for a refund and they told me no refund but I could cancel my account for $490 if I didn’t want to keep being charged these fees. So basically they can break the contract and charge me new fees but if I want to break the contract I get charged. On top of that every rep (except 1) was super rude and didn’t care at all that they were ripping me off. I was told that my local rep had to process the refunds, he says that customer service declined the request. I called back to customer service and they said he never put in a request to begin with. They have me running in circles. Next stop… filing a complaint with the BBB.

    From The Editor
    This Post Might Help: Best Merchant Accounts for New Businesses

  18. Kevin Heck says:

    Investigated CardConnect for our second location as we were in a 3 year contract with another processing company. We were a referral to CardConnect from another business owner…..Well 1.5 years later we found out that we were scammed by rep Mike Steffens and was put into a 5 year contract and not the 2 that we initially spoke of and the referral friend was also in. WHY WOULD I SIGN A 5 YEAR WHEN I DIDN’T WANT TO BE IN A 3 WITH MY OTHER COMPANY????? Be warned. SCAMMERS. $750 early term fee. This rep doesnt recall??? Seriously be warned. scammers.


    From The Editor
    This Post Might Help: How to Get Out of a Merchant Account Contract

    1. I had been with Card Connect since 2016. A friend of mine recommended I go with them since she knew the sales guy. I canceled and got a $750 early termination fee as well. Right before Christmas and tax season. The early termination was never stated upon signing up with them, and when I called to cancel I got a “We will absolutely take care of that for you” with no further information about any charge being taken. I am now making it my personal side mission to make sure everyone knows about this terrible company. Very poor communication upon signing up and when calling customer service. I’m so very disappointed and will never forget this. I’m going to do everything in my power to keep my little business afloat and when I get to the top, I will never give them my business. I will also continue to inform any business owner I know about Card Connect and their hidden fees.

      From The Editor
      This Post Might Help: Cancelling a Merchant Account Without Paying a Fee

  19. Michelle says:

    I was a former Cardconnect client. I cancelled today due to all of the fees that they add that they don’t tell you about. I won’t go into details as its not worth my time. I owna medspa and an academy. I would suggest everyone go to SQUARE as they are a great company. They don’t have fees that you don’t know about. Also, they don’t charge your $115 fee for closing your account. Keep your money and go with square!!! You won’t have to pay PSI or yearly fees.

    P.S I’m so much happier with square and also all of my fellow spa owner friends.

  20. Thom Kraak says:

    was scammed by Jack moles July 2014 he is working under the umbrella of Northern Leasing of New York. The New York Attorney General has filed suite agents northern leasing and the FBI is now investigating CCI Peter Moles jacks Father who has spent time in jail before for fraud, and Jack him self for fraud. He miss represents the contract and lies about what it is Don’t trust the guy or his fathers company. we have been fighting it in court in New York and won now we are going after him in Wisconsin and in Illinois. Scam company. and has a track record to prove it just look up peter moles and Northern Leasing New York


    From The Editor
    This Post Might Help: How to Report a Bad Credit Card Processor

  21. Calvin says:

    I start with the company call merchant services and somehow I got switched to cardconnect didn’t get any notice the company or the salesperson that’s name j p I kept getting charged for 3 months from both companies for the same transactions I never get a penny back after discuss it with my salesperson many times and get ignored for months finally I decided to disconnect my services and they finally charged me for two transactions a full month pay and the month before one transaction for a full month pay they are thieves do not deal with them because they are Crooks


    From The Editor
    This Post Might Help: Best All-Purpose Merchant Accounts

  22. Yuki says:

    We used their service on Feb 2018, They scammed and held our transaction for over 4 months, and they keep avoiding and procrastinating deal with this issue, It caused us a huge money loss.

    We have totally lost our trust on them, This is the worst experience that we have ever had with all our bank service.

    We wish everyone who’s seeing this seriously consider their decision on this company, we won’t makeup anything fake to shame others.

    Let’s boycott this company, and make them realize how they are supposed to treat their customers.

  23. Sherri Hess says:

    Do not use this company . Sales associates decides how to set your contract . For some no charge cancellation fee. For others Charging $ 450.00 cancellation fee on a 3 year contract. I was told no contract no fee .

  24. Thom says:

    Was scammed by CCI jack moles stated he and CCI could cut the cost by 50% instead we got hit with all kinds of monthly charges and other fees that more than double the cost. They also are part of northern leasing of New York who’s under investigation by the FBI and they are currently being sued by the New York States attorney. Stay away from this scam

  25. AngelaPerko says:

    I was a customer for the various mutations of what is now Cardconnect for 20 plus years. It always seemed that the fees were rather high, (all said, they ran around 5%) but a certain inertia on my part kept me with the company. In the last year or so, I fell into what is known as non PCI compliance. PCI compliance required filling out an extensive questionaire and I was normally notified by e-mail when it was due. This last time I was not notified. According to customer service, notification would have occurred somewhere on page 3 of my 5 plus page statement- though they couldn’t tell me exactly which statement that was. They let me go over a year in non-compliance, (no second notice) charging me $40. per month. Obviously I should have noticed it on my statements, but it is among lines and lines of fees, some as little as a penny. Statements were never all that easy to access, (not to mention difficult to understand) as the company changed its name and website often. Also they charge a $20. fee/ mo. for extra security that I wrote and told them was unnecessary and unwanted on my part, but still I had to pay. I have to take a good amount of responsibility here, but I am not unlike many small business owners who’s workload is heavy and can only devote small amounts of time to these sorts of details. I have now cancelled my account, with the $75. cancellation fee, the February fees added up to over 30% of the total processed, and now in March the fees still keep coming, apparently they are retroactive. Its a bitter pill after twenty years with a company, with never a charge-back or complaint. So there is no customer loyality, very little customer service, and a lot of fees. I certainly do not recommend this company, especially for a small business

  26. Samantha says:

    We are a small business that signed up with cardconnect because thet sync with quickbooks. After a week they said we had a fraud issue and turned off our account. They did not contact us, just turned it off. Our customers informed us it was not working. We call all day friday and everyone said our sales rep must handle the issue. We called Mark and he said he was contacting fraud dept. He then said we would get an email we never got. Then, he said he would resend and never got. After we called 6 times reaching voicemail he called back and said he cant get a hold of anyone. Then the weekend with no payments and excuses to customers of technical difficulties. Monday we heard nothing. We had left 20 emails and voicemails. On Tuesday we went to the bank and they took $21000 out of our business account. We filed fraud with the bank and got a new merchant that works with the bank. We finally reached someone and they said they had 3 invoices in question. We send receipts and invoices to the very disrespectful woman we spoke to. She had said she emailed us 3 times prior to our conversation which we never received. We asked why they didnt call. She really didnt have anything to say.

    The invoices added up to 1900$, the letter she sent said they would hold 7700$, and the 21000$ was “just what they do”. We still have not heard anthing back about the “fraud” on our account but the bank got our money back for us. Luckily we caught it before 24hours were over or we would have to deal with the merchants ourselves. We would never have gotten our money back. Mainly because no one answers.

    We signed with Cardpointe that was cardconnect also. Our payment terminal was Instantaccept. The bank statement listed Merchant bankcard financial as the company that took the $21000.

    We are still worried about our customers and them taking more money from our account. We are closing the account all together as soon as the bank says so. DO NOT GET WITH THESE PEOPLE! First data seems to have bought them but we never spoke with anyone from first data. Go directly through them. This could have shut down our business.

    1. Sam Hammel says:

      I know what you mean, the government should take this over.
      I have been ripped off by 2 companies in the past.

  27. Daniel B says:

    They seemed fairly good, and would probably be good for larger than very small businesses. I wouldn’t suggest it for folks with a hobby business. Lots of little fees that if I were doing larger amounts of revenue, the decreased % would deffinitely payout, but not on my little revenue.

    I liked them while I was using them, good rep and seemed honest, my issue came when trying to cancel. They don’t handle everything themselves, so when I canceled apparently I didn’t cancel EVERYTHING, so I was still charged monthly for a few things. Never got refunded for the small things but they did refund the yearly renewal that shouldn’t have been charged.

    Hope that was helpful. Go with square or something like that if you have a small hobby business, much easier and streamlined for those types of businesses in my opinion.

  28. Julia Perry says:

    After changing my merchant service company for many many times during 28 years of business I learned one thing.

    It doesn’t matter which merchant company you deal with, what matters is how honest your rep is.

    The rep can screw you or take care of you.

    I am happy with Card Connect, not because of the company but because my rep has been upfront and honest with me.

    Been with them 6plus years.

    1. CPO Admin says:

      Hi Julia,

      Please reply to this comment with your business name and location in order to authenticate your testimonial. Thanks!

  29. Stephanie King says:

    I am so upset with this company. Never have I been so deceived by a so called legitimate business. I have been in business for 20 years and I have had other merchant vendors and have never had an issue in the past. ON December 15th, 2017 I received a letter that my contract was bought by Cardconnect and I would be charged a fee of $199 if I continued service past 12/31/2017. Ridiculous to receive 15 days notice of erroneous fees for a contract they decided to purchase. I then looked elsewhere and found a merchant who was nearly $90 less per month and decided to cancel. I sent in my cancellation letter so avoid my $199 fee. I have no contract and my documents do NOT state a cancellation fee and I am charged almost $500 to my checking account as a deposit that was debited out of my account and rantings from my sales person that I was charged fees for cancelling. How is it possible that I am to be charged $199 if I continue with the buy out and then I cancel as indicated as choice and I am charged nearly $500 for cancelling. I own all my equipment outright I have no contract and I never committed to this company. This is outrageous. I don’t care how nice any review is on this page read all the BAD ONES and be mindful of how they will charge you and STEAL YOUR Hard earned money. This company is crooked all the way.

  30. Bryan says:

    Stay away! They are thieves. They owe me me $30,000 & won’t pay because I switched companies. Awful customer service

  31. Thomas Troyer says:

    If I could give these guys a negative rating I would. The sales person altered the contract after he left my business. He lined out the early termination fee since I was going to be closing my business then changed it and they company still wants to charge it to me and won’t back down from it. Nothing but crooks.

  32. I don’t even know where to start with Card Connect. I run an art gallery. We had a huge client come in and purchased a commissioned piece of art. We had in contract all sales are final and we also had her write she understands this is non-refundable. We put her card through and American Express paid them and a few days later Card Connect called and told us to go ask our client for money or a check but they would not give us the funds collected because we were ” high risk” after much debating I had to go ask my client for a check! then I get my card statement and there was a $2500 fee for a payment they would not give us!!! they called it an interchange fee. I thought it was in error obviously, but they told us no even though they wouldn’t fund us after collecting the money from American Express they still are charging us the processing fee. How can this be fair?

    1. So I did call American Express and they said “YES the interchange fee should be credited back as CARD CONNECT returned it to American Express due to you being a “high risk”.” The problem is American Express is not our merchant, Card Connect is, and they said without a number generated by american express they can’t get in to see my account. My merchant needs to put the claim in and they will honor it. So I call Card Connect back and tell them what America Express said and they tell me there is nothing they can do. Then said “would you like to just cancel your account with us?” WHAT!!!!!! No not without getting my money back! This is a $2173.00 charge to an artist…not McDonalds an ARTIST!!! That is A LOT of money. I am livid. This is FRAUD.

  33. CardConnect is a scam. They’ll send you a teaser Schedule A, but then when it comes down to it, they won’t honor it. Read: Bait and Switch. Avoid them if you don’t want to waste your time.

  34. Francis Monroe says:

    If you are a good company that is honest and sometimes get charge backs that you should not lose DO NOT GO WITH THEM!! Card Connect, Bank Associates Merchant Services (BAMS) and Charge back system holding are the worst credit card processing company to have ever been in business. They hire people that don’t do their job as simple as notate an account when someone calls and make you lose your money by not providing accurate information. They’ll tell you a dispute is in your favor and the next day say you were supposed to respond and you failed to do so and now you lost your money and there isn’t anything that can be done. They never blame the rep on the phone that made a mistake and didnt do their job. They claim I never called or spoke to anyone on a specific day even though I have an actual fax that came from them dated and timed, call recording with the rep discussing the dispute in question, and optimum call log proving I was in fact on the phone with them that day discussing the charge back they claim I never called about! They are scam artists and will blame the customer before their employees even if you have actual proof and facts that you are truthful! The worst experience with a company. The Manager Audrey ID # 3401182 hears only what she wants when discussing a concern with a customer and will put words in your mouth to make her position in the matter better. She yelled, spoke over me, cut me off while speaking. She is the worst. After she said there is no proof I called that day and I said I do have a recording call you can hear with the rep discussing this dispute with me, she attempted to terminate the call, said she can’t accept that as proof and she can’t help me. Stay away if you’d like to make sure your hard work pay stays in your account.

  35. Linda O says:

    I’m very upset with this company and would NEVER recommend anyone to sign up unless you read ALL the contract’s fine print.
    My sales rep Anthony Vigil, lied to me about cancelling my former card processing contract and paying for the fees. He also did not tell me of all the extra fees that would be charged to my account. He rushed me into signing the contract even tho I wanted to read them first.
    Never sign contracts unless you read them over!!!!!!!!
    I’m really angry of the way they take advantage of small businesses like mine.
    I plan on cancelling my services with card connect. It’s sad how you can’t trust anyone anymore.

    1. Fadi says:

      Same thing happened to me with the same sales rep Anthony Vigil.
      I am stuck with Northern Leasing on top of this scam

  36. M.M. says:

    I had canceled my account with CardConnect back in August 2016 because they were no longer compatible with the POS system that I was using. In fact, the CardConnect swipe device just stopped working one day with no warning, which as I understand, was a function of CardConnect’s doing.
    Then, just two weeks ago, on January 3, 2017, I saw a charge to my bank account from CardConnect. I called them to determine why they still had access to debit my account and to see what the charge is for. They mentioned some sort of charge from MasterCard that they passed on to businesses, however there was no paperwork to back this up. I complained that it was unauthorized, as since we ended our affiliation with CardConnect over 4 months ago, they should no longer be authorized to debit my account. I was told I would receive a refund for this amount. I called again today follow up since I hadn’t seen a credit to my account, and spoke to Rich from the Cancellations Department. He was only able to see a note from the last person I spoke to but couldn’t tell if the refund had been issued or not. My main complaint here is that Rich was not overly helpful and incredibly rude with a very sarcastic attitude that I did not appreciate. This kind of service makes me want to warn people against using CardConnect as a merchant services provider, not to mention the unauthorized charge. I am very glad that I have canceled my account with CardConnect.

  37. Bo says:

    Had a great start with these guys, but after the first month of service couldn’t get any response back to my e-mails about questions regarding the machine they provided. My boss finally doubled down and said we should cancel, got an email from one of the customer service guys without so much as an apology. Only after I was halfway done with the form did I get an email from the rep I had originally dealt with, who didn’t even tell us he would be moving out-of-state and that someone else would be taking over our account 100%. Terrible communication!

  38. Jay says:

    CardConnect is one of the best merchant service companies in the industry for any business. I noticed the complaints are about agents and sub ISO’s using CardConnect’s name. You have to remember it is the same with any merchant service company. It all depends on the sales agent. I saw another review where a merchant said they noticed CardConnect got rid of two agents who were being dishonest. As a merchant, that means to me that they care and don’t just worry about signing up merchants. I didn’t see one complaint about the actual company. They were all about agents and other smaller companies using their name. Before I signed up for a merchant account, I called a bunch of merchant service companies just to see how the customer service team handles calls and how long wait times would be if I ever needed help. I found CardConnect to be the best with response times and handling any issues I might have as a merchant. The reporting features they offer my business are the best I have I have seen. I have other friends that own a business’s and I all I hear about is I can never get ahold of my credit card company. Again that just showed my homework paid off. I have used a few merchant service companies as a business owner and none of them compare to the professionalism of CardConnect. Not once have I had an issue with hidden fees. The customer service team is always willing to help when I call them or my agent (Scott) who is very responsive. When I had trouble with other companies and agents, the company would never respond or would never be willing to help. I realized I needed to do my homework also on the agent which I didn’t do before. You can’t go wrong by using CardConnect.

    1. CPO Admin says:

      Hi Jay,

      Please reply to this comment with your business name and location in order to authenticate your testimonial. Thanks!

  39. Michael,
    I just wanted to thank you (again) for your amazing customer service and for a seamless, simple, and fair credit card processing service. It is literally night and day from my previous experience. I need to pinch myself to make sure it’s real. Many thanks!!!
    Nanette

  40. Beth says:

    I have been working with Frank at the Chicago office for a little over a year now and could not be more pleased with my services! My expectations with Card Connect have been exceeded with Frank’s constant willingness to solve problems quickly, stay on track of activity and keep in contact with customers. Because of Frank, so much stress has been lifted off of me as a business owner knowing that I have someone I can rely on for help and that my business is in good hands!

    1. CPO Admin says:

      Hi Beth,

      Please reply to this comment with your business name and location in order to authenticate your testimonial. Thanks!

  41. Scott Fracalosy says:

    Just another company that tells you one thing, and then erroneous charges popping up that were never discussed with me. It seems like every single page company is just sucking money out of clients for BS services. I am pissed off. they lied to me, total BS lies when I signed up. I’m going after them for my money, at this point, its the principle. DONE go w the company, you’ll be MUCH better off using the square. Thanks for lying to me Dan Santoli. Anything for a sale and commission. Im pissed and will take legal action. POORLY operated company. Another large company raping small business. Wait to go guys, how do you guys sleep at night, maybe you don’t.


    Are you with CardConnect? Learn how to resolve this complaint.

  42. rudy orona says:

    very unhappy with the services from card connect. their sales agent are very dishonest and trick you into signing documents for the home office ! the home office will complete the forms for you and turn them into the leasing company. Terrance Blackmond is a independent sales rep for card connect . he convinced us that the clover system would be a good fit for our business. after 3 days in out store he gave up and never returned ! then the home office tried for 10 day to get programming right .the system never worked he had to pay a it guy to reinstall my old system so we could conduct day to day business. only to find out that card connect reported to northern leasing the the system was installed and up and running correctly. they have violated totally crossed the line! deceptive trade and misrepresentation . Terrance Blackmond is a thief. please save the trouble do not do busines with this company!

  43. Dwight Perry says:

    I have had the pleasure of dealing directly with Frank Bernacke and Card Connect/Financial Transaction Services for the past 10 or so years. During this time Frank and the staff were always there to support me 100%. Anytime I had any kind of problem or needed to borrow an additional machine it was handled immediately. If there was a technical question I could always count on getting the answer without getting the run around. The only reason I’m leaving their services now is because of retirement. If anyone were to ask me to give Card Connect/Financial Services a letter grade for the years I’ve been dealing with them it would surely be an A+.

  44. Renee Tomasello says:

    I have been a customer with Card Connect for the last 2 1/2 years. I am extremely happy with their rates, equipment and outstanding customer service. In addition, I appreciate how easy the statements are to read. Frank Bernacke is my contact and he is incredible. I had a problem one evening with the credit card machine and I called Frank who promptly returned my call. Keep in mind that I am on the West Coast and Frank is in Chicago. The machine worked fine but somehow I pushed a wrong button. \Within minutes the problem was fixed and I was able to process my next transaction. Another time I had a problem on a Saturday (I created the problem) and once again, Frank returned my call promptly and the problem was resolved. I cannot express my satisfaction and appreciation for the service Card Connect and Frank provides. I am so pleased with Card Connect that I referred one of my colleagues and she recently signed up with Card Connect. Keep up the good work!

    This is the same site where I left my first review. I sure hope this review is posted.

    Renee Tomasello

    Dress Up Consignment Boutique

  45. Michael Genoveswe says:

    Listen, if I tried to count how many times day I get this call to change company’s and how they have this and they got that and the money I would save please all B.S. Come on it’s all about the attention you receive, and the customer service that you get . All I can tell Frank is off the charts with his service UNBELIEVABLE!!!! If everyone ran this way WOW the world would be right where it belongs. Again not to get into certain instances but today to find people with integrity and honest well it almost on the extinction list. I’ve saved BIG Money with Frank and his Company. Without out them in my corner fixing, glitches and mistakes that where even sometimes our fault it would have cost me money. End of store .

    1. CPO Admin says:

      Hi Michael,

      Please reply to this comment with your business name and location in order to authenticate your testimonial. Thanks!

      1. CPO Admin says:

        This comment has been authenticated.

  46. Absolutely the best service and rates from this company. Very transparent, no hidden fees. This credit card processor is far ahead of others in the way we get our reports and ease of doing business.

  47. Steven Klink says:

    I simply wanted to express how much I appreciate the wonderful assistance of Mr. Frank Bernacke of CardConnect! My experiences with CardConnect and with Frank have been excellent. He is readily available and always extremely helpful.

  48. Alan James says:

    Very deceptive “agents”, and I HATE ALL THE TELEMARKETING CALLS FROM CARD PROCESSORS anyway.
    Her opening line was she was “Calling to inform me of changes to my Merchant Services account. When I pressed her she illuded that Card Connect was a tier above in the chain; as if my bank actually dealt with them.
    There are so many shady people tryng to sell me their contracts. I wish there was a way for Visa MasterCard etc. to not supply them with my business name. NONE of them have ever actually presented proof of saving me any significant money. I’ll stick with my bank that I know is legitimate, helpful & honest and it really doesn’t cost me more $.
    As for Card Connect….NEVER!

  49. Mark says:

    I had a similar problem with AdvoPay. They are only a middle man for Card Connect or Financial transaction services or whatever they are calling themselves today. At no point do Advopay reps mention Card Connect. Advo Pay acts like the top processors, right under First Data and no matter how the try to squirm out of it, they mislead customers. The biggest problem is that AdvoPay signs you up with a third party (Card Connect) and ties you into a 5 year contract with a $750 ETF. That ETF must be incredibly important to Card Connect because after AdvoPay claimed to terminate our account simply for asking about closing the account, Card Connect sent our the $750 to collections. Apparently we could have kept the account open for a minimum fee of $7.50 /mo. until at some time in the future we decide to start processing again, but considering that Card Connect works with a scum bag organization like AdvoPay, they can send it to collections. It will go disputed. Take us to court if you like, any sane judge in the world would throw it out for misrepresentation. The whole bunch gives me a bad feeling.

  50. Kay's Kollections Texas says:

    Horrible company to work with. Still trying to get this account cancelled after 6 months. DO NOT USE THEM BEWARE.

  51. Christine says:

    On December 15th, 2014, around 1:30 p.m. Gina M Kapiskosky entered our place of business located in Waldorf, Md 20601, for the first of several visits. Gina M Kapiskosky was offering credit card machines and services of the company Card Connect/Advopay located in Fisher Indiana. She stated they were having a special on credit card machine new accounts. I told her flat out from the beginning, I was not interested. Gina returned 12/16/2014 to discuss the machines once again and leave information for the owner to review, (which were blank). On 12/17/2014 she returned to see if the owner had reviewed the pages, and I told her they were blank and he doesn’t do business like this. She then stated she would e mail the contract completely filled out to see if they could save us money. On 12/18/2014 she did send an e mail to my personal e mail. On 12/19/2014 she called back and spoke with another employee concerning my whereabouts. The employee informed her I was gone until 12/29/2014. On 12/29/2014 she showed up in office stating her boss, Greg Perry of Advo Pay, shipped her a machine for us to us free of charge, no contract no fees for 60 days. It was an end of year special. I stated, if it has no contract, no fees, nothing for 60 days, then we will try this. Gina Kapiskosky returned with the credit card machine and set it up at the Waldorf location. She offered to get another credit card machine for our second location in Fort Washington, Md. and I told her we did not need it. That location was going to be shut down.
    On January 6, 2015, I called Gina concerning credit card processing fees and machine cost taken from the company account in the amount of $77.89. She came to the office and told me Advopay would be refunding the company bank account the $77.89, it was a computer error. I asked how could they just randomly take money from the company account, and she had no answer, but assured me I would get all the company monies refunded. I once again stated there was no signed contracts and it was illegal for people to just randomly take money from our company bank account.
    January 8th, 2015, Gina Kapsikosky came into the office and explained her boss Greg Perry of Advopay sent her another credit card machine for us to use at our Fort Washington, Md. location. I explained that location did not need one since we were going to most likely shut down the location. She explained the credit card machine was free of contracts and fees for 60 days, so why not just take advantage of it. I once again reiterated no contracts or fees, which she agreed, and then I said ok. Gina Kapiskosky also stated Katelyn Haddad (from Advopays main office located in Fisher Indiana) would be calling us to set up the credit card machines to be PC compliant, and she stated we just ignore her call. I asked what this meant and entailed, and she stated she would show me the information the next time she came into the office. She also stated it was something we had to do online for the security of the credit card machine and clients information.
    On January 12, 2015, Gina installed the second credit card machine at the FT Washington, Md. address. She went back to FT Washington location on Jan. 13, 2015, and Jan 14, 2015, to see how the machine was working.
    January 21, 2015, Gina stopped by to see how things were going, and I asked her again about the January fees, ($77.89) which needed to be refunded to the company account. She stated her boss, Greg Perry, was working on it, and it would be put into our bank account soon.

    On Feb 12, 2015, I called Gina concerning the January withdrawal of fees ($77.89) which had not been refunded and now there are two more withdrawals from February 3, 2015, in the amounts of $152.29 and $61.97. I explained to her that I was not going to put up with this, and I requested the money to be refunded immediately. I also reminded her that the owner had never signed any contracts or anyone else, and our company has no intention of doing business with a company who has habits of taking money illegally. I told her at any time she could pick up the machines and take them. She stated she wanted to earn our business as a client.
    On February 13, 2015, another credit card competitor came in to the Waldorf, Md. Office to offer his company’s credit card machines. I told him I was not interested, due to the issues I was having with AdvoPay credit card services located in Fisher Indiana. When he asked to see the contract to compare machines and rates, I told him I did not have one. I explained to him that we are on free trial for 60 days, no contract, and no fees. He stated by law, we needed had to have one. This of course, raised my eyebrow after he left.
    The week of Feb. 16, 2015 to Feb 23, 2015, I called Gina daily reminding her I wanted the money put back in our company account and there was no contract ever signed, and no fees were to be charged. Once again she stated she wanted to earn our business as a client for her company.
    Feb 23, 2015, Gina came into office to show me an invoice, on her cell phone, stating they would be refunding the original first charge of fees etc. in the amount of $77.89. I asked her to e mail, and she did send the e mail to my personal e mail.
    On Feb 26th, 2015, I called Gina around 1 p.m. I told her there have not been any monies deposited into our bank account and she had until 3 p.m. to bring our money to the office or I would remove all machines, and there would be charges filed for illegally taking our company funds without our permission. She stated the money would be deposited on Friday, February 27th, 2015. I told her she was out of time, and I was done with all the lies. I also reminded her at no time did anyone from our company ever sign a contract or agree to any fees being charged. This was all free of charge for 60 days, no contracts, and she agreed.
    Sometime between 1:30 and 2:30 p.m., on Feb, 26, 2015 I called Katelyn Haddad at Advopay, located in Fisher Indiana, to file a complaint on Gina M Kapiskosky. She informed me very rudely that we did sign a contract and she also had recordings of the owner accepting and acknowledging the contract. I told her that was impossible. He has never signed anything and has never done any recordings. I asked to speak to Gina’s boss, and she transferred me to Greg Perry. Greg Perry of AdvoPay, once again was sarcastic and rude. Greg Perry told me he was working on a credit of $77.89, for the company as a courtesy. When I asked what the courtesy was, he said to keep us happy because we did not understand the contracts we signed and the recordings to acknowledge the credit card machines and conditions. I stated several times there were no signed contract or contracts, and I asked that he e mail them. Greg Perry of Advopay immediately emailed the contracts, and I read them. I immediately knew both contracts for the credit card machines were false and the signatures were forged. I informed Greg Perry and he stated to me there was nothing he could do, since he had The owner on recordings. I told him, he did not have anyone on recordings, since the owner has never been in the office when Gina M Kapiskosky was here. The owner has never once met Gina. Greg Perry told me the only way he would believe me was for the owner to file a police report. I immediately called the owner on his cell phone, explained the situation, and he went straight to the Charles County Sheriff’s Office located in LA Plata, Md. To file a police report, and to pursue charges being pressed for Identity theft, Fraud, Forgery etc. Returning home on the 26th of Feb, 2015, I checked my email to see that I received 4 new e mails from TrustWave Security stating the owner created two accounts, (one for each location) and completed the online PC compliance for each machine. I called another employee to see if she had heard of TrustWave, and she had not.
    On 27th Feb, 2015 I called Trustwave located at 70 West Madison St. Ste 1050, Chicago, IL. 60602 in and spoke with Magda. After testing my computer, she confirmed the compliance was not done from our IP address. Magda escalated the matter to a much higher source to contact AdvoPay concerning fraud. Magda from Trustwave was supposed to call me back by March 3, 2015. When she did not, I contacted the Trustwave and spoke to Rich. He said she would call me on Monday March 9th, 2015. When I did not receive a call by March 13th, 2015, I called back and as of this date, no one will call me back. Greg Perry, Katelyn Haddad, and Caroline have all called and left messages to speak about a contract that does not exist. I have not returned any calls, since Charles County Police advised me not to.

    In closing, Gina Mae Kapiskosky has falsified two contracts, forged signatures on both contracts, obtained the Identity of the owner by theft, created two online accounts and completed the online accounts utilizing a stolen identity. AdvoPay and Trustwave are both trying to cover up the forged contracts, the online accounts and compliance.

    If anyone has any complaints concerning ADVOPay/Cardconnect, please contact Charles County Sheriffs office , Det. Gilroy at 301-932-2222.
    Listed below are the names of all the people and companies involved:
    AdvoPay/Card Connect 888-570-2386
    9865 E 116th St Ste 800, Fisher IN, 46037

    Gina M Kapiskosky [REDACTED – personal information]
    [REDACTED – personal information] Sales Representative for Advopay/Card Connect

    Katelyn Haddad, Merchant Engagement Coordinator 9865 E 116th St, Ste 800 Fisher In 46037
    Greg Perry, Customer Service Director, 9865 E 116th St Ste 800, Fisher In, 46037
    William H Wise IV, President, 9865 E 116th ST ste 800. Fisher, In 46037

    TrustWave. Security PC Compliance 877-257-0239
    70 West Madison St Ste 1050 Chicago IL 60602

    Employees
    Magda
    Rich
    Dave

  52. Chamindri Wijemanne says:

    I have had the same problem with this company from day one of getting the card reader. Jason Ryband does best of what an Account Manager does. He can talk the really well. I will give him that much. He can talk so well, that he got me to switch to their company because their services were suppose to be cheaper than the previous one I was using. The Card connect did not perform up to standards that were promised verbally and in writing. I have tried several times to contact Jason Ryband but all I got was story after story of excuses as to what was happening. The Card connect dose not perform and there are full of it. I after giving them so many chances, I went ahead and finally decided to cancel the account. Closing the account was ridiculously difficult. They require you to return their card reader (at your own cost) in order to close your account. I return their incompetent card reader and was ready to be done with their services but then I get an email from Jason Ryband saying they still can’t close the account because there is another card reader they had sent us 3 months ago. I never got that card reader in the first place! Also if you plan on closing the account at the brink of the month be prepared to pay for that month even if you have not used it.

    I AM JUST WARNING CONSUMERS TO BE AWARE OF THE UNETHICAL PRACTICES DOWN BY SAID COMPANY. THEY SAY THEY WORK WITH BIG COMPANIES WHICH IS HARD TO BELIEVE WITH THE PRACTICES THEY DO. PLEASE DONT USE THEM. IF YOU DO GOOD LUCK!

    1. Laurie Bryan says:

      Hello Chamindri-

      Thank you for your feedback on the mobile swiper. We are currently researching the reason why in your case the mobile swiper worked for many months and then did not perform to the standards that were promised to you verbally.

      As a courtesy to you we have your March fees waived and you may keep the swipers we have sent to you at no cost. We do hope in the future you may give us another chance to assist your Business as we do so many others.

      We have an A+ BBB rating and are trusted by iconic companies such as Adobe, The New York Times, General Electric and over 50,000 other Businesses, but this is no excuse for your mobile swiper not working. I understand it can be completely frustrating.

      Again, thank you for bringing this to our attention and if you should need further assistance please do not hesitate to contact us directly. We most certainly valued your being a customer for the past 14 months.

      Laurie Bryan

  53. Marla says:

    I have had the same problem with this company. My Rep: Richard Fisher and his associate, Bridgette O Neil, from Chicago Illinois, would not return my calls, when I saw these charges, he seemed to stop answering my calls. I was charged all these extra charges. Many other issues with this company. Took weeks for them to get back with me, just to dance all around the situations. Needless to say was promised things that were all lies. Now they have my personal information and they seem to be able to do as they please. Will be reporting them. Totally agree with comments above from Javid

    1. Nick Sarnecki says:

      Hi Marla,

      Sorry to hear about the problems you have had getting in touch with Mr.Fisher and Ms. O’Neil.

      I’m Nick Sarnecki from CardConnect’s customer service team and I want to help you figure this out. At your convenience, could you email or call me so that we can talk more about your experience and do our best to make it right? You can reach me at 484-581-2924.

      At CardConnect, we only condone absolute transparency and we are extremely disappointed that this has not been your experience so far. Thanks for bringing this to our attention, Marla. I look forward to speaking with you.

      Nick

  54. Javid says:

    To all customers worldwide
    sales representative named Larry Frazier affiliated with Card connect met with me at my restaurant January 6th 2014 and convinced me to switch to their company because their services is cheaper than previously one. The moment i received the first monthly statement i realized that there were much higher charges and the Card connect did not perform what was promised verbally and in writing. I have tried several times to contact MR Larry Frazier, but he never call me back and also tried to called the company and each time my phone number was taken and nobody bothered to call back. I AM JUST WARNING CONSUMERS TO BE AWARE OF THE UNETHICAL PRACTICES DOWN BY SAID COMPANY.

    1. Nick Sarnecki says:

      Hi Javid,

      My name is Nick Sarnecki from the customer service team at CardConnect and I want to make this right.

      I’m very sorry that you have had such a negative experience with a representative of CardConnect. We value transparency and customer service above all else, and we are extremely disappointed to hear that you have not been treated with the care that we expect our agents to deliver.

      I would love to speak with you further about this to get more details on your conversations with Mr. Frazier, review your contract with us and figure out a solution together.

      You can reach me at 484-581-2924. I look forward to hearing from you, Javid.

      Nick

      1. Paul Sidhu says:

        CardConnect has been debting my bank account for 10 months by fraudulently claiming I had signed up as a customer. I started getting mail and statements from CardConnect, a company I had never heard off or had any contact with. Initially, I ignored their mail assuming it was junk mail. After 2 or 3 months I called CardConnect to inquire why I was getting statements from them given they were not my credit processor. I was told that someone representing me had signed me up. They gave me this persons name ( it was the sale man/intermediary that I had used to sign up with the credit card processor that the business was using when I purchased the business). I called and texted this individual but he did not respond. Not realizing Cardconnect was debiting my bank account for a monthly fee ranging from $55 to $161 a month, I ignored their statements. When I discovered Cardconnect had been debiting my checking account for 10 months, I was furious and called their customer service number. The agent told me I can cancel their service but no refunds were due to me. My call was passed to a manager who told me the same thing. I have since called my bank to report fraud and seeking a refund of some $600 to $800 taken from my account. These people are worse the fraudster that run scams from overseas.

        1. Nick says:

          Hi Paul,

          I just wanted to post a reply to your post, as we had issued you a full refund for the requested amount on September 22, 2014.

          As we discussed, there were no indications of fraudulent activity associated with the account. Again, I apologize for the frustration that you experienced and appreciated the patience you showed while we resolved this matter to your satisfaction.

          We want to make sure every business that works with CardConnect is satisfied with our payment processing and payment security solutions. Should you need anything else, please be in touch.

          Thanks, and glad we were able to get everything resolved.

          Nick

Leave a Review for CardConnect

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please do not use profanity or ALL CAPITAL LETTERS in your review. Reviews must provide a detailed account of your experience. By submitting a review or comment to CPO, you are agreeing to our Comment Policy.