PayProTec Overview

Are you a decision maker with PayProTec? Claim this review.

An Indiana-Based Merchant Account Provider

PayProTec (payprotec.com), formerly registered as Payment Processing Technologies, LLC, is a small but growing merchant services provider that serves over 10,000 merchants in a wide range of industries. PayProTec appears to resell the services of or is otherwise affiliated with North American Bancard. Established in 2006, the company is headquartered in Warsaw, Indiana, at 929 E. Center Street and is a registered ISO/MSP of Wells Fargo Bank, N.A., Walnut Creek, California. Matt Hoskins is the president and CEO of PayProTec.

Not Affiliated With PayProtec Oregon

There appears to be some confusion between PayProTec, a Warsaw, Indiana-based company, and a formerly affiliated company of Securus Payments that went by the name PayProtec. The latter company was based in Portland, Oregon, and, as far as we can ascertain, was unrelated to PayProTec of Indiana.

PayProTec Review Table of Contents

  • Costs & Contract: PayProTec appears to offer a multi-year contract through North American Bancard with an early termination fee of $250 or more.
  • Complaints & Service: PayProTec has received approximately 10 public complaints.
  • BBB Rating: PayProTec has an “A+” rating with the Better Business Bureau and has received eight complaints in the past three years.
  • Sales & Marketing: PayProTec appears to hire independent sales agents but has received only a few complaints about its sales practices.
  • Rates & Fees: How Merchants Got The Best Rates With PayProTec

PayProTec Statement Analyzer

Find hidden fees, pricing errors, and overcharges in your PayProTec merchant account statement. Not with PayProTec? That's ok, we can find excessive fees in any statement. In fact, We've found $798,496 in hidden fees in 2019 already! Submit a recent statement to try it out for free!

  • Accepted file types: pdf, doc, docx, png, jpg, xls, xlxs.

Products & Services Offered

Types of Businesses Served

  • Retail
  • MOTO
  • E-commerce
  • Mobile
  • Restaurant
  • Public sector

Our unbiased reviews are supported, in part, by helping you find highly rated merchant accounts. You can learn more here.

PayProTec Rates, Fees, and Costs

Key Points

Swiped Rate 1.00% - 4.99%
Keyed-in Rate 1.00% - 4.99%
Early Termination Fee $900+
Annual Fee $79
Monthly Minimum Fee $25/mo
Setup Fee $95
Service Fee $10/mo
Equipment Lease Terms 48-Month (locked)

Multi-Year Contract

The standard PayProTec contract offered through First Data (available below) lists a $95 setup fee, a $79 annual fee, a $25 monthly minimum fee, a $10 monthly basic service fee, and a tiered pricing schedule. It is unclear how long the standard term length is for a PayProTec contract, but we have seen merchant complaints describing a long-term agreement with a $900 cancellation fee. This agreement also includes a mention of North American Bancard in very small print, which all but confirms an association between the two companies.

Equipment Lease Complaints

We have found one merchant complaint that names Northern Leasing Systems as PayProTec’s equipment lease provider, but the company’s response to this complaint indicated that a company named Mazuma (which may be affiliated with the Oregon-based PayProtec) actually established this account. It is unclear whether PayProTec of Indiana has an equipment leasing partnership with Northern Leasing. Regardless, merchants are encouraged to purchase equipment for a fair market rate whenever possible rather than lease it. Overall, the company’s contract terms are close to industry averages, and we have therefore scored them as such. See the PayProTec/First Data Merchant Agreement.

Are you happy with your PayProTec fees? Tell us about them before your go!

Response from PayProTec

Are you a representative of PayProTec? Add your voice to this section for free!

PayProTec Complaints & Customer Reviews

Key Points

Total Online Complaints 10+
Live Customer Support Yes
Most Common Complaint N/A

Low Complaint Total

We have located approximately 10 PayProTec complaints across various consumer protection websites, none of which accuse the company of being a ripoff or scam. We have done our best to exclude complaints filed against PayProTec Oregon, but it is possible that some merchants have posted negative reviews on the wrong profile. PayProTec’s low complaint rate is a positive sign for the company, but its affiliation with North American Bancard suggests that some PayProTec reviews could instead be funneled to North American Bancard’s online profiles. The few available complaints cite a variety of seemingly isolated incidents with no clear theme (“I was told that I would be reinbursted for the early termination fee from my previous processor,” “Early termination fee, minimum of $295, and it takes 30 days to cancel, so I have an extra month of fees.”).

PayProTec Support Options

The PayProTec website provides live chat support and a small knowledge base, but it does not offer phone or email customer support. This falls short of our expectations of the top-rated merchant account providers for great customer service, and it may be a dealbreaker for merchants who require more immediate contact information.

Do you have a complaint or testimonial about PayProTec? Make your voice heard before you go!

Response from PayProTec

Are you a representative of PayProTec? Add your voice to this section for free!

PayProTec BBB Rating Summary

Key Points - BBB

Product & Service Complaints 2
Billing & Collection Complaints 2
Advertising & Sales Complaints 2
Guarantee & Warranty Complaints 0
Delivery Complaints 2

Under 10 Complaints

PayProTec has been an accredited business of the Better Business Bureau since 2008 and currently has an “A+” rating. PayProTec’s page shows eight complaints, with two related to the product or service, two having to do with an advertising or sales issue, two due to a billing or collection dispute, and two related to a delivery dispute. One complaint was resolved to the merchant’s satisfaction, while the remaining seven either were resolved to the dissatisfaction of the merchant or did not receive a final response from the merchant.

What Merchants Say

PayProTec has also received three negative informal reviews to its BBB profile. One recent review describes a long-term equipment lease:

They will scam you into a long-term terminal rental you don’t need, and then when you cancel it after a lengthy contract, they won’t actually cancel your payments.

Merchants can potentially avoid this situation by taking the steps to cancel their merchant account without paying a fee.

An “A” Performance

Given PayProTec’s complaint total and resolution ratio, we agree with the BBB’s rating at this time.

How has PayProTec treated you? Tell us about it here!

Response from PayProTec

Are you a representative of PayProTec? Add your voice to this section for free!

Truth In Marketing & Advertising

Key Points

Employs Independent Resellers Yes
Advertises Deceptive Rates Yes
Discloses All Important Terms No

Outside Sales Team

According to a post from a PayProTec representative in the comment section of this review, PayProTec employs independent sales agents to market its services. This is a common practice within the industry that often results in an untrained and unregulated sales force, and, as a result, more complaints. Although some independent sales agents may be completely transparent about contract terms, it is our policy to hold the parent company responsible for the behavior of all of its agents. PayProTec has received only a few complaints about its sales team, and there does not appear to be a systemic issue with misrepresented rates and fees at the company.

EPX EDGE Cash Discount Program

PayProTec has recently launched a cash discount pricing plan called “EPX EDGE” that enables merchants to assess a surcharge to customers who pay with a credit or debit card in order to offset the merchant’s processing fees. This plan has generated a few complaints from merchants who appear to be confused about how it works. We have seen no evidence that PayProTec misrepresents the way that its cash discount program works, but merchants are advised to make sure they understand the nuances of cash discounts and surcharges before signing up.

PayProTec Rate Quotes

At the time of our previous update, the PayProTec website included a “Rates” page that detailed the card present and keyed transaction rates offered by the company. Unfortunately, this page only displayed the “Qualified” rates and failed to mention the “Mid-Qualified” and “Non-Qualified” rates that merchants will pay for the majority of their transactions. We consider this type of rate quoting to be deceptive, since it might give merchants an unrealistic expectation of the rates they’ll pay under a PayProTec contract. The removal of this page has improved the company’s rating to an “A” in this section, but merchants should still ensure that they are receiving a full rate schedule when dealing with this company.

Did you get what you expected from PayProTec? Tell us why, or why not.

Response from PayProTec

Are you a representative of PayProTec? Add your voice to this section for free!

PayProTec Marketing Example

PayProTec Logo

Our Opinion of PayProTec

A Decent Payment Processor for Most Business Types

PayProTec rates as an above-average processor according to our rating standards. The company can improve its rating by offering more flexible contract terms and revising its hiring practices to ensure greater control over its agents. As always, merchants are encouraged to thoroughly compare the conditions of any contract they sign to those offered by top-rated merchant services providers.

We rely on your feedback about PayProTec to keep this review accurate and up-to-date. Please take a minute to tell us about your experience. We and the small business owners of this world thank you!

Thank you for reading my review. I hope that it has helped you with your research.

My Qualifications

I'm a former credit card processing sales director who left the industry to start my own a small business. From the time that I starting working in the merchant services industry to when I left to write about it, I've been on the pulse of payments for nearly 15 years. It didn't seem fair to keep this insider knowledge to myself, so decided to build this website to help you research which providers to use and how to save money on rates and fees. I've reviewed hundreds of companies, read thousands of user reviews, and learned the pricing tricks of every provider. If you have questions about credit card processing, you can find the answers here. Simply scroll to the top of the page to find the search bar. You can also message me if you need any guidance.

Need help understanding your rates and fees? Submit a recent statement and I'll take a look at it for free.

Submit a Statement

  • Accepted file types: jpg, png, pdf, xls, xlsx.

23 Reviews Leave Your Review for PayProTec Below

  1. Becca says:

    The people are very nice when you call for a problem, which is good because you will be calling them all the time. Plus, they took $900 for a machine I had already returned, and when I called to complain, they said (and sent me an email confirming) that it would be refunded. Its taken 3 phones calls and I am still not 100% convinced I’ll have my money in 2 days when they say I will.


    This post will help: Best Payment Processors for Great Customer Service

    -Phillip

  2. Terrible company. Signed us up very quickly for on line payment processing know exactly what we sell, CBD. Within 10 days we are shut down. Sales rep said, “sorry, that is over my pay grade”. Obviously was a scam to get a sale, and then it left us high and dry, no payment processing, and it takes 20 days to get a new one. Don’t use them!!!!!!!


    This post will help: Best CBD Merchant Accounts

    -Phillip

  3. Jason Woods says:

    Great team that helped me with my statup. Highly recommend them.

    1. Phillip says:

      Hi Jason,

      Please reply to this comment with your business name and location in order to authenticate your testimonial. Thanks!

  4. Paul says:

    Hand down the absolute worst company I have tried to do business with in my 42 years on this planet. Was told no contract and no cancellation fees upon signing up. Tried to cancel today and told there will be a $900.00 cancellation fee. Never once received emails from the company due to them having an incorrect email address…I could go on and on….DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THESE PEOPLE.

    From The Editor
    This Post Might Help: Cancelling a Merchant Account Without Paying a Fee

  5. Is there a -0- Start rating? Should be.
    I was introduced to this company by a independent agent and I felt I was done a disservice.
    Terribly run system for merchant processing.
    Firsty, they took almost 2 months to “approve” me Because I was a “consultant”. I never had more than a day for approval from any other company.
    2nd- their Virtual Terminal may be the worst terminal portal Ive ever seen.
    Difficult to maneuver, data was either unavailable or incomplete most of the time and invoicing was unwieldy.

    Lastly, the held funds for about 4 months with out warning or a legitimate reason why. No notification or any communication.
    At this point I would rather not even take CC payments then have to deal with a company like this again.
    My advice is NOT use an independent agent or broker for merchant services but go through your payroll company like Paychex or even through your bank.
    You re going to pay through the nose for processing no matter how you slice it, but at least you can get better service or attention

    From The Editor
    This Post Might Help: Top All-Purpose Merchant Account Providers

  6. Mary Ulanet says:

    Stay away from this company! Lower than poor in customer service and reporting!!!!!

    From The Editor
    This Post Might Help: Best Merchant Accounts for Great Customer Service

  7. Dean Jackson says:

    One of worst company i ever i did business with lies and they take your money.

  8. Huge RIP OFF Horrible Customer Service no follow up got lured into a 4% surcharge program and they opend 2 accounts and they are charging above 10% STAY AWAY

  9. Jesse Wilson says:

    I had the pleasure of speaking with two people at Payprotec which I would like to be very clear is different than PayProtec Oregon LLC/Securus. Payprotec, the company this page is referring to seems to be a very upstanding company and I am sure the better part of the bad reviews that you see here are for Payprotec Oregon/Scurus, and rightfully so. Payprotec Oregon/Securus is perhaps the most unscrupulous company I have EVER dealt with.

    Please make sure you are reading reviews for Payprotec and not Payprotec Oregon LLC/Securus.

    1. CPO Admin says:

      Hi Jesse,

      Please reply to this comment with your business name and location in order to authenticate your testimonial. Thanks!

  10. Juan Barrera says:

    This company does not provide you with the terms and conditions when signing up. I was told by my sales person that there was no contract. come to find out im into a 3 year contract and there are heavy penalties for breaking it. Before you sign anything with this company make sure you know what you are signing because they will make it seem like everything is ok and its not. I was also told that if i remain compliant there wouldnt be a compliance fee. Lies!!

    1. Earlene says:

      I agree the same happened to me, I didn’t even know who to call to cancel so I called my sales rep Michelle Malone she didn’t even give me the company phone number to call and cancel with them. She had me send the credit card machine back to her instead of the company. I called her and as soon as I ask her where the machine was she hung up and blocked me!!! Every number I call Leads to the same 3 people! Please do not sign up with this company. They will tell you anything to get you to sign up! She even pretended to be the company I was already with! Told me she was going to call the company I was with and cancel for me! I never signed a contract! I’m going to complain every where possible to expose. Payprotec you are who works for you!

  11. Kanwal says:

    Absolute worst company I have ever dealt with. Their agents will lie and say anything to get you to sign the contract which is disguised as a simple application fee, will NOT let you read the terms before hand and then tell you there is a $900 ETF because you’re now locked in for 3 years.

  12. wild cody says:

    darin docken is the biggest thief he took 2800 out for the machine I sent back from my account.
    then sent me to collection for 1300 how the hell does that add up this is a scam and now im going after him he gave me a bad address he is in Portland Oregon. close to me now its his turn.

    1. Willaim says:

      The company that that took all the cash from your account for the terminal is not the same PayProTec that is headquartered in Warsaw Indiana.

    2. Darin Docken says:

      1st off yes we did sign them up and yes they leased a terminal with us which we did go over and, we ran a savings analysis with a guarantee letter which was all signed by the owner of the business and, yes they signed it and agreed upon our program. So “NO” I am not a “THIEF” nor do I steal money. I’m a man with a lot of integrity!

  13. Although I am no longer involved with the restaurant industry, I had the pleasure of dealing with Payprotec for the past 2 years; after having to be at the mercy of merchant reps whom I will only call money-hungry agents. When I went through no less than 3 processors in 2 years, I found that I was finally treated respectfully by the management of Payprotec. They were as good as their word. I was provided with a Free machine and the lowest rates I’d come across. Could I have found better? I don’t know, I just know that in business, you only have so much time to research so much.
    Consequently, although being approached constantly by merchant service provider agents, I refused to even listen to their pitch.

  14. josh says:

    This company is totally the worst possible criminals who lie and deceive for money. Weather you call them Payprotec, Securus, north american bankcard, wells fargo or first data. Its all one big group of thieves.
    Equipment is not free as they say. It is a very expensive lease that you cannot cancel without 20 calls and 10 emails before they respond back. Then they take money directly out of your bank without permission because you cancelled. Their machines do not work, they have no tech support or anything resembling customer service.
    Ryan R signed us up with his lies and then ran away. The company will give no refund for any reason and cares nothing about its customers. Do NOT sign up with any one of their many names.

  15. Dimitry says:

    I wrote a review of Phone Swipe and now, of PayProTec. Here’s what happened. I added on to my phone swipe account, to support a website. Basically, a separate merchant account, it turns out.

    Here are the fees I’ve been charged monthly:
    Minimum Billing Fee – $25
    Fixed Acquirer Network Fee $4
    Monthly Basic Service Fee $10

    For a grand total of $39 (in previous months it was a few bucks lower and grew over time)

    Early termination fee, minimum of $295, and it takes 30 days to cancel, so I have an extra month of fees. If you like to pay fees, this is the company for you.

    They’re a D in my book.
    Also, note that my monthly bill has NorthAmericanBancard on it.

    I wish I found this site several years ago.

  16. Ed says:

    Hi Debby,

    PayProTec (PPT) employs independent agents and I am one of them. Unfortunately, your rep, was either unfamiliar with the program or flat out lied to you. It’s unfortunate that actions like this reflect the company directly. But, I, for one, can vouch for PPT’s integrity. I personally know their CEO, I know his values, principles and the business model he developed. Personally, if it was me, I would’ve paid your early termination fee out of my own pocket. Just to correct any misunderstandings and make sure you are a happy merchant.

    For what it’s worth, I apologize for your reps actions and if I can turn your negative experience to a positive one, feel free to reach out.

    1. Willaim says:

      Ed,

      SAME HERE! Unfortunately, there are independent sales reps that are unscrupulous and you will find them in any organization that is sales driven wether they are payment processors or not.

      Sales reps like Ed and me are are hard to find it seems. I also had a long time client who closed their business and I returned their terminal for them. Being in the business for 17 years I have many, many used terminals stored in my garage. Somehow (I cant figure how) I returned the same terminal type, but not the original free terminal that was originally issued. NAB returned the terminal saying the serial numbers didn’t match and that $1,500 would be charged if the originals were not returned. To save my life I could not find that darn terminal!! My merchant was charged $1,500 and it was deducted form their account. I got out my check book and wrote my guy a check for $1,500! It was the right thing to do. It hurt, but still the right thing to do.

      I’m sorry this reviewer was not treated well. He just didn’t have the right representative.

  17. Debby Hayden says:

    I switched to payprotec in November 2012. My salesman was Alleb Burns. I was told that I would be reinbursted for the early termination fee from my previous processor. I was not told that there was a mininum amount that had to be charged out per month for my reinburstment. I called and was told I would need a bank statement showing where they had charged me for the termaination fee. I calledI was on hold for 30 minutes and was told I didn”t qualify for reinburstment, as I am a small business and don’t have the minumim charges. I would never have switched if I had known this. I feel I was not told the whole and complete story. I do not feel this company is reputible, I would not reconmend it to anyone and would try to discourage any one from using them.

Leave a Review for PayProTec

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please do not use profanity or ALL CAPITAL LETTERS in your review. Reviews must provide a detailed account of your experience. By submitting a review or comment to CPO, you are agreeing to our Comment Policy.