About the author

Phillip Parker

Phillip Parker is a former merchant services agent turned small business advocate and the author of "Fee Sweep," which teaches merchants how to dramatically lower their processing rates, eliminate junk fees, and avoid fine-print scams. He founded CardPaymentOptions.com to help merchants enact positive change in the credit card processing industry.


 

Phillip can help you find an ethical and honest processor that will offer you great rates.
Click here to request a free provider consultation.

Permanent link to this article: http://www.cardpaymentoptions.com/credit-card-processors/square-review/

1,239 comments

Skip to comment form

  1. Nigel momongan

    Omg every complaint on this message board applies to me. My customer’s credit card was swiped and the funds withdrawn. $2000 it says. I have been trying to contact someone for weeks. The transaction doesn’t even appear on my dash board yet I still have the receipt. What in the world is going on here???

  2. TM

    I signed up for this service. Did my first transaction. Then Square came back requesting verification information. Sent them everything they wanted. I’ve been in business for 25 plus years and have excellent credit. After four days they said I was a high risk account.

    Couldn’t be further from the truth. I would only be processing a few charges a month in the $1000 to $5000 range and only with clients I have done business with for 15+ years. There was no risk to them.

    They have horrible customer service. You can’t talk with anyone. All done by emails. They will admit most of the people working at Square are young and inexperienced. You can tell by the limited communication they offer and how they respond.

    I would stay away from this company. They are horrible to deal with and completely unprofessional….

  3. Michael Resnick

    I have been using Square for almost a year. I was paying the $275 a month and was very disappointed when they went to the straight 2.75%. I received a call from customer service about a month ago. They asked what they could do to improve service. I told them that I was unhappy about the 2.75% switch and in about 2 minutes they dropped my rate. Although their instructions of the I pad can be confusing I have found no problems with customer service. I do get quick email responses and they have called me to discuss my problems if the emails do not bring satisfaction. We have never had our funds held, whether, they are swiped or keyed and are always paid the next day. Maybe I am the lucky few but Square has been the best deal for me.

  4. Mike Kahn

    I can never find a way to get a question answered right away, no phone number anywhere. I simply wanted to get two more swipers for my employees and it is a pain to do anything with this company, nothing is easy as it should be for a customer.

    1. Beth

      Mike, sign in to your account. In the upper right, you’ll see the Dashboard and an arrow. Click on the arrow to see a drop down menu, one of the choices which is ordering more swipers. They are being updated, so you’ll all need a new one. The old ones will cease to be supported soon.

      1. jay

        well beth, i have a question i need answered before business friday (tomorrow)

        we had an issue last weekend when we were charging from 2 different squares for the same account. they all got bunched together and we had to go one by one and separate which sale was for bar and which sale was for the door.

        we now made 2 groups but need to know if we did this correctly to not run into the same mistake again this weekend. how will we know if we partitioned it correctly and moving forward what is the proper way to take payments so we know what purchase is for what>

        please help

        1. Beth

          I’m sorry I didn’t see this earlier. I am not a rep for Square, but I’m quite sure that having two readers won’t allow you two separate transactions if they are linked to the same account. Contact Square for help.

  5. In and out auto clinic

    DO NOT waist your money and do not pay your busness to Square.com . They do not have live customer service and they send you email only and the people they send you email, are so rud. Any one despute thier payment , means you lost your money. One smart ass customer desputed for $850 on me and square didn’t even ask me what was going on and just took the found from my account and i never saw it . It means i lost over $1300 , because of square a.holls. Do not support this company.

  6. tom poulos

    you rated this company, if we could even call them that, poor, you are to kind, why can’t you just say it like it is. they suck, they are scum bags, we will be reading about them soon on how they scammed a million people then claimed bankruptcy . I deposited 700.00 dollars three weeks ago. haven’t seen it since. there e-mail said it might take as much as 80 days to get my money. People beware, If you want to throw away money, send it to me, after doing bussiness with qurare inn i need it. P.S. start telling it like it is. tom paulos [screwed bussiness man]

  7. will

    I opened an account 3 weeks ago wasn’t happy with any of there services they screwed up my account at my bank and now I don’t need them any more. I’ve contacted square 5 times so far in one week to cancel, never got a response back, they are very unprofessional. like the mafia once your in you can never cancel. If anyone reads this, be sure your ok having an account with them for life and that you will never be able to cancel. and in my my case never receive a response to their e-mail questions. You can get better prices and customer service at your bank, and talk to a real person…Run from these people !!!!!

  8. Peter

    I have to ask the question, are all these problems occurring with swiped cards and customer signatures? I’ve processed as little as $10 in a week and over $5000, all with signatures and have never had a email or warning or hold on any funds.

  9. Michael

    Square sounds like really good technology and seems to work nicely at first, with transactions in the hundreds of dollars. But if you’re using it for business and growing, and your transaction volume gets in the thousands – DO NOT USE Square.

    They hold YOUR money indiscriminately with only email or web forms as support. Then we also got the “high risk” email and they closed the account with no explanation. This is using valid customer purchases for goods sold and with customer consent. Never had a chargeback or customer complaint issue, it just seems Square wants to park my money in their account to earn interest on for as long as they can, and there is no way to talk to a person for resolution.

    Avoid this company and find a more established reputable mobile processor – unless it’s just an occasional personal card transaction. Square is definitely not for small business.

  10. Den

    I don’t presently accept credit cards, but am interested in doing so. Someone close to me is convinced I’d see an increase in sales. While that’s probably true, I provide a niche service to a niche clientele and am not about to risk my relationship with my customers to a start-up that seems more interested in fulfilling their needs than that of their customers. There are far too many complaints here for me to feel comfortable using this service.

    I want to thank all those who’ve posted here and described the problems they’re suffering. It seems clear that I should avoid Square, if only because I can then provide better customer service to my customers than Square does for its’ customers.

    THANKS again.

  11. Jared

    After using Square for 4 years, they deactivated my account due to “high risk activity”. I made a larger than normal charge and they sent me an email explaining my account was being investigated. After supplying all of the information they asked for in order to make sure I ran a legitimate business, they deactivated my account. After searching through their legal contract, there is no definition of what “high risk” is. If something is high, then logically, there must be a low…and there is no definition of what “low risk” is either.

    They refuse to explain why my account was deactivated, and upon reading their legal contract, there is a sentence stating something along the lines of, “We can deactivate your account for ANY REASON or NO REASON, anytime we want to.”

    I believe they know what they’re doing, and purposely eliminated their customer service sector because of it.

    This is the worst merchant service company I’ve ever dealt with.

  12. Peter

    I don’t understand most of the reviews I’ve seen, to little is mentioned about the type of transactions and the type of business. Square is meant to be used in a face to face business, where the card is present & signature captured. For all others trying to use it for anything else. Please read the disclosures, terms and conditions. Just look at the videos, face to face, signatures, I process thousands of dollars and ask for signature for even the smallest sale $2. The fraud protection provides @ 90 days for customer to dispute payment…. You are not the customer, you are a service provider… your customer is the person being protected. All I can say is, stop trying to use it for something is not intended, “non face to face businesses” “large transactions”

    1. Wayne

      I tend to agree with Peter (March 20). We’ve used Square for a long time without any issues for amounts sometimes totaling multiple thousands, and always keyed in, and not face to face.
      We’ve always emailed Square ahead of time to tell them we needed to be upgraded so we could run thousands. We got a confirmation and the money was always deposited to our bank the next day.
      If you’re not something like a tarot card reader or a babysitter trying to run thousands you probably won’t have a problem.

    2. Ruth

      Your comment will yield a lot of angry responses but I also have wondered about this. I have been using Square for 2 1/2 years after being gouged by another company who took at least 25% of my charges. I had no issues at all, after I process the payments, the money is in the account the next day. I’m a small business and set it up so my customers have to sign when they charge 25.00 or more. For me, my single charges are never over 200.00 which I think that it is the niche that this company works best for. The only issue I have is that credit card reader will stop working after a couple of months but I just go to Walgreens or Rite Aid and buy another one. For the savings I’m getting, the 10.00 I have to pay doesn’t bother me. When I contacted Square about the reader issue, they told me to just email them the receipt and they would pay me for the new readers, I just never bothered to do it.

    3. Teresa

      I don’t agree at all and in fact I tend to think that this is not from a real square user. I have had the exact same issue that everyone else had here. The biggest problem is that Square does not have ANY customer service. This is unacceptable no matter how good or bad their service is. When you are handling people’s money and thus their livelihood you better be accessible. Can you imagine your bank not having a customer service number and service reps? No, I didn’t think so.

      I have been in business for 26+ years and have had merchant account services through my bank. I paid a very good rate but there was a monthly service fee for the account. I am an independent consultant and designer and many of my customers paid cash. I decided to try square because (though their fees are high) I figured the ease of use would at least compensate for the monthly fee I would be eliminating. I WAS WRONG!!! I can’t even begin to tell you what a nightmare they were. My bank actually warned me about Square! They said they have had many customers do exactly what I did and lived to regret it. Of course, I thought they just were trying to get me to stay with their merchant account.

      Anyway Square ended up trying to keep $7000 AND charge me 3.75% for no reason. Fortunately my bank helped me out and I recovered my money. These people are frauds, I found a lot about this company, much more than what they want you to know. All I can say is good luck because when (not if) they decide to arbitrarily hold your money you will have no recourse. That is of course assuming you are legit because they do have an army of spammers that create posts like yours to counter all of their bad publicity.

    4. Laura

      I am sure Square has tons of “Reputation Repair” folks out there posting positive reviews trying to cover up the thousands of complaints. If Square is a swipe only $200 or less transaction amount niche company then they should limit their transactions to that and NOT accept card not present or higher transaction amounts. Unfortunately they choose to hide the facts until Merchants have built up thousands of dollars in sales and then POW square freezes those funds! For me they froze over $70,000 in funds and held much of it for over a year. I was able to refund some of the transactions and run them through another processor. The balance they would not allow me to refund, they held for over a year. Even after a year I had to send many e-mails and tweets to get my money back. They are indifferent to the fact that these tactics have ruined many businesses, families and lives. Their practices are abhorrent! It is truly my belief that they do this purposely to profit from the interest on funds held.

    5. Sherri

      We started using Square about a 18 months ago at our local non-profit community theater. Our patrons enjoy the convenience of being able to pay with credit card and the ability to purchase tickets online through the Square Marketplace. We’ve never had any issues with Square and our money has always been deposit the next day. I love the reports and the breakdown they give, pinpointing exactly what areas our sales have been. It’s been a perfect match for us.

  13. Windsor

    I have a square and I have had nothing but trouble with it since I got it. Won’t put money into my account are they are freezing it until I try to reach them. The web-site is down more than up to connect them with a problem. They also don’t supply a phone number to contact them with any issues with the product. This is very frustrating to me since I drive a cab and have know time for this nonsense.

  14. Heather

    At first using square was great. That was until there was a chargeback on my account. I spoke to the patient that questioned the charge and he immediately called his bank to cancel the dispute. I have sent several e-mails on the contact page with no response and finding a number to speak to someone is impossible. They have the worst customer service ever! I spoke again with patient and his bank told him that the funds were released a few days after he spoke with them the first time and the dispute was canceled. Yet over a month later square still has not posted the funds back to my account nor responded to any e-mail. I even filled out two of their chargeback dispute forms and faxed it to them a week apart. It says you will receive a confirmation e-mail when it is received. That didn’t happen either. I have tried to get on the web site to cancel and remove my bank account info, and it wont allow me to. So once they have your account info there is no going back. They can take money out of your account at anytime they choose ( mine was three months later) for any reason and all you get is an e-mail saying they took it. I would be very surprised if I ever get it back.

  15. Peggy

    Square will not give you a phone number to talk to a human. This is a problem when they are holding
    YOUR money. What are they hiding ?

  16. Kim. B.

    My funds usually deposit Monday morning when a transaction is made on the weekends. This time no funds, I sent an email to the customer service support and received a reference number this morning and no reply. I think that was the last time I will ever use the square. Searching online now for another reader that has a live customer service contact number

  17. Shaun

    I am a personal trainer. I used square 9-15 times a month for the first 2 months I had them then in January I opened my own gym. And started using square more often never having an issue. When we opened the gym the plan was to start auto billing the eft for march. Well the setup didn’t happen in time and I was in a bad spot so on Monday march 3rd I did the monthly gym charges manually so we could have the funds for rent ect. It ended up being 91 transactions so square notified me by email Tuesday of my account being under review and on temporary hold. I then submitted all the paper work they requested. Then I called them Tuesday just before close of business with my passcode and the gentleman was very weird and didn’t seem to want to talk to me. Then on that evening I recieved a call that I was deactivated due to being high risk and my $1716.20 was going to be held for 90 days until they would deposit in my account. I then spent all of Wednesday in between my busy day searching for a phone number. The email system they have wasn’t working. So on Thursday I decided to try the one number I found for them. And when u call in it loops you back to the message after every time it plays. So I started to play the extension game and after each time you press a button that starts to lead to am extension it would give u a pause. Well 2 hours later I got my first working extension and it went to tech support and I blew that extension up until they called me back and refused to help me. After hanging up on me twice. I then started my mission again. And this time I got to a live person name Shawn. Well after going back and forth he helped me. He worked for the IT department. He seemed impressed at how much effort I put in to getting a hold of a person. Within four minutes of hanging up I had a email that my funds were suddenly released. And then this morning march 7th the funds were in my acct. I would say that yes this was extreme but they had MY money and I needed it. I will never speak a positive word of square ever!! I would say if your in the same situation as me play the same angle I did. It worked. Any questions u can email me. Hope I helped someone.

    1. Rob

      Hi Shaun,

      Any chance you can send me the phone number and extension? I have money held for 90 days and need some answers.

      Thanks Rob

      1. Gary Cairns

        I would also like that number….Thanks Gary

    2. Michele

      Sean, I am having the same problem. What number and extension did you use? Thanks for the help!

    3. Lozen

      Wow nice going!!! That’s fantastic… I can’t see why something can’t be done about square… They advertise it loads on tv. Too bad they don’t do it like commercials for medication with all the side effects…

      Square we help grow your business: side effects are we are a bunch of theives that take your money in the night and you won’t ever get anyone to help you…. Something like that… Putting it nicely

      Shaun I’m happy for you…. Would you please post the phone number maybe we some of us can get our money back… Thanks for the glimmer of hope.

      Take care Lozen

    4. Christie

      Help. Square is holding my money hostage.

      1. Christie Mitchell

        Maybe I should have elaborated on my comment. I am a freelance graphic designer. i have a very small company just starting out. I started using square three months ago. I have ran large transactions through and had no issues. All the sudden my account is deactivated as high risk and now im waiting for 5400 dollars. You may be angry with my post but seriously thats what Square is doing. I have found several lawsuits against Square and have shared my experience with the law firm. I personally dont care what the people have to say on here. I am just expressing my opinion of the company. Thank God we live in a country where i can do that!

        The just of this is you are mistaken if you think Square is not a fraud….because eventually it will happen to you. Wait and see( to all the rude comments I have recieved that “Square is wonderful”…well you will retract that statement when you are in my shoes!) I AM BEING HELD HOSTAGE FOR MY MONEY! That is fact. The customer service should be a clear indication on the shady operations of this company. if they had nothing to hide they would have a help line. Thats just common sense business practices. They are thieves plain and simple. I will be very surprised if I ever see my money.

        To all the people in the same boat as me ….I will share my info as I recieve it from the law firm. There is recourse. Unfortuantly it will not be a speedy process. i dont care! I just want MY HARD EARNED MONEY!

        Christie

  18. kevin stricker

    I verified my bank account several months ago but did no transaction now I have transactions and they want me to verify my account again yet its been 10 days and they have yet to make the required deposits and withdraws necessary to verify my account so they are holding my funds and I have left they many many emails with out even 1 response from them. I am not sure when or if I will ever get my $$ I will be contacting any and everyone I can to hopefully have these crooks stopped they are thieves. please do not use these guys they are the worst of the worst they should be in jail easily the worst company I have ever had the unpleasantry to work with.

    1. Kimberly

      I am in the same situation and its bankrupted my travel agency. I’ve been a travel agent for over 20 years and this company destroyed it within 5 months. They withdrew thousands from my account and then deactivated it saying they were holding the funds for 70 days. Then 90 days, then 180 days….I don’t have the funds and it’s been 5 months almost.

      I’ve contacted the Attorney Generals Office in Ohio, Mike DeWine. They gave me a telephone number that redirected me to go to the website to submit my inquiry. As you all may know from your own experience, you’ll receive the same email over and over and over.

      I’ll add that now I am being sued by several people because their trips were lost, my reputation with my vendors that I have worked with for 20 years … Lost, my health lost and much more.

      Class Action Lawsuit is the only way to pull together and go after them. Please please someone email me, I’d feel so much better if I knew I was not the only one. I’m scared, very scared of these suits. I understand 100% why the clients are doing this but I never stole anyones money, square did.

  19. Joshua g

    I used square to accept a payment back in June of last year. It was for a balance of $3000. After waiting several days to finally receive payment, the money did get deposited into my account. Approximately 3 months later I received an email informing me the money was being taken back out of my account. Apparently the customer was claiming fraud. Square requested any proof I may have had to defend my case. I emailed copies of receipts and signed thank you card from customer. I then received another email informing me, it might take up to 90 days to argue my claim. Now, in February of the next year square sends me a threat email, demanding payment immediately or face collection agencies! Customer service at its best! Loath not having a person to talk to about the matter.

    1. Kimberly

      They have done major damage to me and I’m now going through an investigation with the Attorney General and the local sheriffs department for fraud because my clients funds were involved. I’m looking at jail time over this and I’m a single mother of a 7 year old daughter. My life has been turned upside down because I’ve tried everything known to get Square to give my money back. It’s a no win situation for me unless I want to go into a class action, which I would but I’ve only had 3 people interested. This is the worse thing I have ever been through in my life. No one, AGs office, BBB or the police believe this is happening to us.

  20. Remini

    I have been a Square user for several years now, and up until a week ago, if asked about my experience with them, I — like Bruce — would have said Square is ‘a dream to work with.’ But as I have recently learned the hard way, Square is a dream to work with . . . until there is problem. Square may have no early termination fees and no monthly minimums, but it also has no customer service . . . as in zip, zero, zilch, nada, none.

    Oh, sure, Square provides the *illusion* of customer service: You can call its misnomered ‘customer service’ phone number and reach a recorded message that refers you to Square’s online ‘help’ center and then hangs up on you . . . or you can go to the aforementioned online ‘help’ center and find a form that allow you to submit your inquiry / request for help, which will get you an automated email response informing you that your request has been received and will be responded to ‘as soon as possible,’ and then you can wait hopefully by your inbox for days on end awaiting help that may or may not ever come . . . or you can attempt to connect to someone via their Twitter support service and experience radio silence there as well.

    In short, you can expend a lot of energy spinning your wheels, and in the meantime, your problem — which started out as a molehill that might have taken 10 minutes to resolve had you had the opportunity to actually TALK to somebody — is now a true mountain of epic proportions because it has not been dealt with in a timely manner.

    What an interesting business model . . . Square has obviously invested tremendous resources on the advertising/marketing end of things, giving short shrift to — if not completely eliminating — its direct interface with its PAYING clients; instead it publishes a plethora of information on its website addressing frequently asked questions and labels that a ‘support’ center that is intended, apparently, to completely supplant actual communication with its customers. News flash: This is not customer service . . . this is a farce. At best. Beyond that, it is a travesty . . . and totally unconscionable and unethical, if not outright illegal. One only has to read some of the stories below to see how Square’s policy to totally insulate itself from its clientele has caused untold grief and financial mayhem in so many people’s lives.

    I am still waiting for a response from Square on my particular issue . . . and to see what my damages will be at the end of the day. But one thing is certain: I am DONE with Square.

  21. Max Q

    I have used Square for one year collecting payments for over 100,000 USD.
    In the last few days I couldn’t get payments with Amex and this is causing major problems to my business since my customers are not physically present and I just key-in their card’s info
    Square has a non existent customer service. Sent multiple email and called the USELESS phone # I have found on line. Nothing.
    I will give my 4,000 $ in commissions to some other company this year. It is unacceptable such a poor service especially for a device/system mostly used by small businesses like mine.

    1. Christie Mitchell

      HI,

      I just recently started using Square my first payment and guess what account deactivated.
      NO FREEKING REAL HUMAN EVER REACHED! JUST STUPID MESSAGE. Also the 90 days to recieve my funds
      JUNE 10th. I read the fine print and it said nothing about holding my $$$. My customers have both been paid.

      We will see if that happens….. Mean while my business is suffering and my account became over drawn thinking I had threatened to sue and ask for court costs and punitive damages. I also reported to BBB and attorney general in my state and California. I believe if we can join together get a facebook going against them we will find so many people with same stories

      If we can get enough people we can get a lawsuit going. That will show their emails ect. I guarentee some atty would jump at this if we have enough people.

      GOD I WAS READY TO FLY TO SAN FRANCISCO AND HACK THE HECK OUT OF EVERY IP ADDRESS I CAN FIND!

      Ive tried hacking their system (no backdoor I can find. not what you know its who you know!) and have an even better hacker friend (hes really good!). We want to see what info we can get…… Dont erase any contact youve had with Square. We will need that if it goes to court. I dont know but you should mark your day for the first payment due and 90 days if you do recieve answer…We can move from there. Sincerely C Mitchell

  22. Orlena Lawson

    I requested a square account over 6 months ago. I had to submit documents to verify my business and received a card reader in the mail. I did a transaction to test out the machine and everything was fine. I then used the machine February 11, 2014 and the transaction of $550.00 went through. The funds were supposed to be funding on my account the second business day being that the tranaction took place after 5PM. I received an email on the 12th stating that my account was now permanently deactivated and the funds will be held for 90 days. They stated that I have the option to refund the transaction back to my clients account but when I enter the site to reverse the transaction, they lock me out. There is no contact number where you can directly speak with someone and I keep getting responses that someone will contact me shortly. This is an embarassment to my business and has caused me irreparable damages. Thank God my business is not high risk because I am able to contact all my clients to dispute the charges on their account and submit proof and evidence in support of their disputes. This is deceptive business practices on part of square. This is a nightmare.

  23. Gary Cairns

    I just got my card reader in October. I own an auto repair business. I rarely get asked to take credit cards and deal in checks or cash. I thought Square would fit my business well. I had a customer who did not have the money available to pay me and wanted to put it on his credit card. I swiped the card and it did not work. I then ran his numbers through. The payment was accepted and I got and e-mail saying so. The amount was for $1808.51 and the amount of $1745.06 would be deposited in my account in the next 2 business days. I was very pleased. The next day as I was getting ready to leave for a weeks vacation I received an e-mail stating the my deposit would not be made for at least 90 days and that they considered my business as a high risk and I could no longer use my credit card reader. The bottom paragraph then stated they did not have to tell me why they consider me a risk. I have no phone number to call………….no phone support…….and they even resist my online attempts to reach them…….can this really be legal?

  24. JERRY SMALLWOOD

    I sell in a farmer’s market and have generally had no problems with square until about a month ago when the hardware stopped working. I have experienced all the same customer service problems that many of you report. It seemed just easier to hand enter the the card numbers until I find a better alternative to this company which I will stop using ASAP. My problem this morning is that when I go to the site to login the link doesn’t seem to work as I’m getting a “web page has expired ” page everytime I try to login. Is any bodu else having that problem and can anybody provide a solution?

  25. Bruce

    We’ve been using Square for two years with only one issue. We have worn out two card swipers. We click on the link on their website and they send us a new one. They charged us $10.00 to replace the first one, second replacement was free. We had to key in card numbers for a couple of days while we waited for our replacement.

    We run a couple thousand dollars in peak months and have never experienced any of the problems listed above. As a matter of fact, Square has been a dream to work with!

    By comparison, we let one of their competitors (Momentum) talk us into switching to their 4-year contract and it’s been a nightmare! They couldn’t get their swiper to work with our Android and sent us a second unit. It didn’t work either. Then they threatened to charge us “up to” $1,925.00 for the non-working unit if we didn’t return it. That $1,925 unit looked just like the $10 unit from Square and served the same function! We returned both of their units and cancelled the contract within our “free look” period. Six weeks later we are trying to get them to close our account and stop drafting punitive fees from our checking account.

    Square doesn’t have an early termination fee, no monthly minimums, we get two Emails for every transaction. The first shows clearly how much was charged and how much will be deposited. The second confirms that the funds have been deposited into our account. We always know how much money they are holding, and they never hold it longer than what we experience at our bank. Our Momentum experience has soured us on the rest of the card processing industry, we’ll stay a Square customer as long as they don’t become like the rest of the industry!

  26. Manoel Pereira

    I sign up with them in october of 2013, than i have 3 transaction with them with no problems.On february of 2014 i have two more transactions with them that is when the problem begin. They acepeted the the transaction and they do not deposit the money but they did send me a email asking me now for verification of my account.I did send them all the information that they ask me for and then they decided to close my account because I was a high risk to them, wich is fine with me. What I did not liked was for them to not advised this before the transaction. Now I have create more problems in my company plus they are charge me close to $300,00 for refund fees.Make sure you read every thing before you sing up with them.
    Manoel Pereira
    ALLIANCE lIFT LLC

  27. Darreld Starling

    i accepted charges from amex, a shady customer disputed the charges and they stole my money, i have all the documentation and square will not contact me so i can dispute the charge, they just stole my money out of my account. and i am just out or luck. don’t use them first problem and it will be you that looses their money.

  28. Stephan Tobin

    I accidentally posted a payment from a new client for several thousands instead of a few hundreds. I received an email from square listing the incorrect amount and immediately attempted to contact them via customer support. I emailed the problem and was told that I would get a quick response. I waited several hours and did not get a response. So I got on their website again and found out I could refund the customer but, when I clicked on the Transaction link, I got the spinning ball. I waited awhile, realized I wasn’t going to be connected and finally gave up. I tried that soon after a few more times. Then when I woke up the next morning I got an email from them indicating they had posted the incorrect amount to my checking account. Minus a $618 fee! This should have been $5.63. I again sent them another email demanding an explanation and was again told, on their website, that I would get a reply soon. It’s now 10 hours later and still no reply.
    I intend contacting the BBB with this complaint and will certainly not use their service again. It’s unbelievable to me how they can get away with this. I’d like some ideas, if there any, about how I can get a refund of this fee. Or what other action I can take.

    1. Ruth

      This is one of my biggest fears so I always double check when I entered the amount to be charged to the customer. I wasn’t aware that they can still charge you the full 2.75% despite the fact that you cancelled the transaction. Did you cancel the transaction right away after you realized the mistake?

  29. Stuart Scheinman

    This is a warning to anyone and everyone that is using square or considering using square for merchant services. Please be advised that square is holding $12,000 for transactions that were done in the normal course of our daily business. We processed a transaction for $12,000, the client picked up their merchandise and signed for the merchandise. Square has decided to hold this money even though there are no disputes. After numerous calls and emails, all representatives of square state that they can do whatever they want. According to Ellwood, the last representative I have spoken to, they dont consider this stealing, really ?!? I am seriously considering a class action suit against square. Please advise if any other companies have run into this situation.

    Stuart Scheinman
    Managing Director, Movie Star News
    [Phone number redacted]

    1. Tasha Harris

      I would be interested in this lawsuit! They are holding 17k in our funds!

  30. Ashley Mallett

    I just started using Square and I HATE IT! I accepted some credit card payments last weekend and the money never came to my account. Finally I figured out that they are saying it’s not a valid bank account which is hogwash! My account accepts debits AND credits so there’s no reason it’s not a valid account. But fine..I’ll play along and put in a different account. Only the problem is it won’t let me edit my account!! It just keeps rerouting me to the same “verification unsuccessful” message but will never take me to add another account. No one responds to the “online support” and there’s no contact numbers listed online. I had to google Square phone numbers just to get some kind of number. However, those numbers just take you to a freakin messsage that says to go back to the online support (newsflash I’ve already tried that!) and then it hangs up on you! So my money is hanging in limbo somewhere and I can’t access it! That’s MY money. My business..My customers and My customer’s payments to ME! I will NEVER use Square to collect payments again..not a single more swipe! I advise anyone who’s even considering it to use another company!

  31. debra smallwood

    Square is hold your money with no explanation accept to say my account was deemed high risk.I have been waited 3 months for 1800.00. I am not a wealthy person and I need my money. I was informed by square via email that they were gonna hold any funds in my account for 90 days. I have struggled and waited..the 90 days have passed and still the funds have not been deposited into my account.

  32. Shane

    Customer support is extremely bad. In the past I have received payments the next day. This time they arbitrary decided to held the funds. They are not a reliable company and they have lost my trust as a company that delivers. In the business community I need to rely on a company that delivers what they say they will do and have some kind of live customer service. Going to look for another source for CC merchants

    1. Shane

      Update: I made a mistake, it turned out that entered the amount as cash, not as a credit card. They never received the payment. My complaint is still no customer service, it took 4hrs and another set of eyes to discover my mistake. When they did response to my original help request it was three days later. I entered in the payment amount again the day I discovered my mistake and received the money the next day. This whole cycle could have been addressed in a short amount of even with a rapid email response. I wouldn’t be eating crow at this time and time wasted.
      I found my bank offers the same service at the same rate. I would pay $10 a month plus a one time $25 devise fee and 24hr live customer help. Considering what I went through, it is an option I am most likely going to do.

      1. TERRY BENNETT

        Shane how did you change it from cash to credit? I put 2 in 5 days ago as other, and need to change it to credit. Still no response from SUPPORT. I figured maybe I could get some help from you or someone could help me

        1. Shane

          Nothing was ever deposited to my account. They just sent me a receipt saying it was run as cash. It took another pair of eyes to point out my mistake. The client was never charge because it didn’t take. I called the client and they verified nothing was charged to their account. They check with their bank and no transaction had taken place. I had to run the card again, this time I had to manually entered it due time constraint. I had a very understanding client when I explained the situation. I received the money the next day. If you can check to make sure your clients card wasn’t charged. If it wasn’t,run the card again.

  33. SANDRA CHRISTAL

    Does anyone know the procedures to cancel an account with Square Inc.?
    I am unable to do this thru the icon that was downloaded from the app store.

    1. Doug

      Just stop using them… there is no contract so there is nothing to cancel. If you fear them taking money out of your account… close the account and open a new one..

  34. Thuan Nguyen

    My Dealings With Square Support. Start From Bottom To Top.

    Unfortunately our return and refund policy are aligned with VISA’s return and refund policy. Which is any return or refund is to be credited back to it’s original form of payment. I’m unable to issue a return or a refund to a customer who’s payment is not in my possession. Simply put, I can’t return something I don’t have. I do not want those funds to be deposited into my account, because those funds do not belong to me, they belong to my customer. So if you are unable to provide me with a reason to relay back to my customer to excuse you from your choice of response, then I will be withdrawing my involvement in this transaction. I will inform my customer it is no longer in my hands and will be providing my customer your company’s name Square Inc, so that this dispute may be resolved directly between the involved parties; my client and Square Inc. My client will be contacting you directly and your failure to respond or resolve this matter may or may not result in law enforcement recovering missing/stolen funds.

    By the way, you should not assume that people will understand your intention to retain funds, or refusal to return funds for the reason of being unable to. It is an unprofessional response, not to mention your failure to provide a viable solution to resolve a problem that’s a direct result of your dysfunction.

    Sent from my iPad

    On Jan 23, 2014, at 10:34 AM, Square Support Team wrote:

    Hi Thuan,

    Thanks for writing back. We are unable to process this refund, and the funds currently in your account will be held for 90 days before being released to your linked bank account.

    If you are able, you may refund your customer outside of Square and then receive the funds in 90 days. Alternatively, you may wait 90 days to receive the deposit.

    Thank you for understanding.

    Crystal
    Square Account Services
    Accepting internet and phone orders? Please take a minute to review leading merchant practices when accepting internet and phone orders.

    thuanqyen
    JAN 23, 2014 | 06:18PM PST
    That’s hilarious. What is square doing hiring high schoolers? Jesus, that’s okay, I’ll give you another chance, here’s a hint: please refer to the original inquiry at the bottom of the e-mail, and for one million dollars… Is that your final answer?

    Whatever your answer is I would like to take a moment to educate you by providing you an example you can relate to. So Olivia, you owe your friend Griffin money, your too busy so you ask your other friend Dawn to help you return the money. Along the way, Dawn decides she has more important things to do and runs her own errands and forgets about returning your money to Griffin for you. Griffin finally calls you and asks when you will paying him back, You tell him not to worry and that Dawn should be arriving shortly to pay him back on your behalf. The next day you meetup with Dawn and she totally forgot to complete your errand. You ask her if she has returned the money to Griffin for you and she replies oh noooo I was unable to because you didn’t give me enough money to pay him back completely so I didn’t meet him up. Then Dawn tops that off with a, you should probably pay him back yourself with your money and walks off minding her own business without returning the money to you. So Olivia, what would you do in this situation? Obviously you can’t pay Griffin back the money that’s in Dawn’s possession can you?

    Ordinary Guy,
    Thuan
    Hello,

    Thanks for writing in. I took a look at your account and see that we were unable to process this refund due to insufficient funds in your linked bank account.

    If you would still like to refund this payment, you must do so via an alternate payment method, such as cash or check. If you issue a refund outside of Square, we recommend providing your customer a receipt and keeping a copy for your records.

    Please let me know if you have additional questions.

    Olivia
    Square Account Services
    Accepting internet and phone orders? Please take a minute to review leading merchant practices when accepting internet and phone orders.

    Hello,

    Thanks for writing in. I’ve gone ahead and forwarded your email to our Support team. A team member will reach out to you shortly.

    Thanks for your patience.

    Roxie
    Square Account Services
    Accepting internet and phone orders? Please take a minute to review leading merchant practices when accepting internet and phone orders.

    thuanqyen
    JAN 22, 2014 | 02:24AM PST
    Original message
    Hi just to make sure I prevent you from successfully stealing my customers money, I’ve been informed that I must notify you of any situation changes and in the event you do not return my clients money would you please provide some sort of reason my client needs to initiate a chargeback and is unable to recover their funds
    For your reference this is Case #: 2659903

  35. SANDRA CHRISTAL

    I registered two days ago with square. I have had problems trying to set up and swipe cards. I have sent three emails and the only response is that they will contact me shortly. Shortly is two days ago. I really hate doing business with a company that does not have a phone number for you to talk to someone in tech support. I realize that the registration and the square device is free, however, they will be getting a stipend off each transaction, isn’t that enough for them to offer better customer service?

  36. Jeff

    WOW at the comments. I thought the Square was a solution to the; annual fees, monthly fees, annual compliance forms and delay in deposits. Our single sales range from $65 to $2000. We settled a batch last Wednesday and it was just deposited today(six days, weekend and holiday), however it should have been there in two.
    We are not a fan of any entity having the ability to reach in to our bank and withdraw funds at will. Isn’t that what invoices are for?
    Thanks for the comments: the negative out weighs the positive, our opinion!

  37. Francisco

    I sell at flea markets and take square
    I have never had a dispute before and I did with square for 400.00 dollars
    square does not take phone calls only emails
    I did all they ask me to do to prove that the person made the purchase I had the receipt which I resend it and the details of the transaction with the signature
    never got any email back, never got my money I regret to this day to use square, is a one way communication company like Ebay
    I did all they ask me through emails to do and I’m still waiting
    I lost the fur coat and the money thanks to square
    don’t trust this company if you use it, do wherever it takes to protect yourself from people wha knows who easy is to make a false claim with square and get away with it

  38. Jake

    Please im being honest. don’t go with the square they are crooks. They took all this money out of my checking account. Then I got another business and they deactivated me and kept $700.00 If you know anyone that can help me get it back please email me at [email redacted - reply to comment for communication] thanks so much and don’t let them get your money like they did me.

  39. Timothy

    Square is a joke. Customer service is non existent. The combination of payng them a fee PLUS a 30 day money hold is a ripoff. Their advertising never mentions the money holds or arcane operating policies. I had several sizeable amounts paid on the same day. I would have preferred not using Square but my customer wanted to pay before year end. Square froze my account. Then via email, Square had the nerve to ask for 3 months of my checking account statements and the contracts with my customer. Then they asked me how I knew my customer! (My customer is a $2 billion dollar/year publically traded company!) It is amazing to me that Square wants to be in this business but can’t seem to understand how to make it work or realize who their customer is. Hint: IT’S ME!. I paid them several thousand dollars in fees this year and yet can only communicate via email with someone who has no sense of business or customer service. Ultimately Square refused the transaction and told me to refund the money. Which I am actually fine with because I don’t have to pay them a big transaction fee and watch them sit on my money for a month or more.
    It reminds me of the old adage, “if you can’t stand the heat, get out of the kitchen” Square offers them selves as a great innovator in our quest for a paperless e-commerce world. In reality, they are nothing more than a middle man making up their own rules. Who wouldn’t like to be in the business of getting paid to hold someone’s money for 30 days or more. Pay the extra 0.5% to a traditional card processor and at the least, you’ll get your money instantly. Good riddance Square

  40. Timothy Walter

    Square has no customer service. Yesterday I received a disputed charge email which stated my customer was disputing a charge and if I wished to respond to the dispute provide invoice and tracking, etc. Within one hour of receiving the email I sent invoice, a fedex tracking number where the product had shipped and I also called my customer who apologized for his oversight in not recognizing the charges and filing the dispute and said he would contact the credit card company immediately. This morning I received another email from square stating they were debiting $1100 from my account, and after checking the bank, they did debit the funds. I called my customer and he reassured me he called the credit card company reversing his claim right after we spoke.

    While it is clear I have no rights and while I think I understand why they debited the funds what really makes me mad is the fact that I have been with them for more than a year consistently running credit cards with no claims, and I don’t have a voice, and further, there is no way to talk to anyone. I have sent three emails with 0 responses. I followed their process to include sending the requested documentation as quickly as anyone could, provided detail and did follow up, but nothing. It will be interesting to so just how quickly this mistake is corrected and they refund “my money” back. I’m not going to hold my breath.

    1. Mike Cornwell

      I found Square phone # here it is 415-375-3176 hope this help my friend has been trying to get his money from them the last 2 Months. The same e-mail would sent him said that they are look at his account , but all fund have been held from his account.
      I think I want be using their service no more.
      Hope this helps dot

  41. Denny Kainrath

    I am a new business owner opening a restaurant in August of 2013. I use the Square register and I am completely satisfied with everything involved with the system. The reports are nice, the programming easy, and the customer service is quick. For my business which is typically smaller transaction it works great and the money is in my account within a day or 2. I have read all of the complaints and I am truly sorry for your issues but I am being honest when I say that it is a wonderful tool.

    1. Phillip Parker

      Hi Denny,

      To authenticate your testimonial, please reply with your business name and location. Thank you!

    2. Doug

      All is good until you have a problem, get a charge back, someone knows you use square and takes advantage of the chargeback procedures that are in Squares favor then your problem is multiplied 10x as you as a merchant are out those dollars and if you ever get to see those dollars again it will be months as Square HAS NO LIVE CUSTOMER SERVICE OR ANY CUSTOMER SERVICE IN regards to merchants at all……………..Dont know what you dont get there tough guy but good luck talking to an e mail when an issue does arise and it will sooner or later!

      1. Bonnie

        You are so right. I had a charge back two days ago. Thursday Square told me about it and Friday the money was out my bank account. $401.98. I call the girl and told her I was on my way to see my lawyer with my receipt and surveillance tape and for everything that goes overdraft in my account she was getting sued for it. She claim she didn’t do it and call the card bank so now i’m waiting to see if Square going to reverse the transaction. But for Square to not even give you a timely notice to hear your side of review proof is bogus. I will not use this service any longer. I rather deal with PayPal, at least I know my money is secure.

  42. John Mruskovic

    I keyed in a credit card and did not see it in my bank account yet is this normal?
    This is the first time I have keyed a card in.

    1. Phillip Parker

      Hi John, How much was the transaction?

  43. Dean

    We’ve had no problem with square. But when it comes to bookkeeping it has been a huge problem. They end deposits around 6 PM, but when you get the account activity spreadsheets it shows only the activity for the whole day, so it has been a huge headache trying to figure out which transactions go to which deposit.

  44. Hector

    I am a new business owner who is trying to get his business off the ground and square up card reading system has been a disaster. This is my second time trying this form of payment system and its been a complete unsatisfactory for both. #1, they hold your money for a good amount of time in the start-up, then they said they have to deactivate my account due to it being “High Risk” as they call it. What is the high risk?? They asked for proof of business asking you a whole bunch of questions to legitimize your business and they still label your account as “High Risk”. Then, on top of that, any payment that you have taken with this system you have to refund to your customer which is so unprofessional to your customers. will not recommend this form of payment for any serious business owners or entrepreneurs who are trying to start their business.

  45. Ruth Steinberger

    Square creates and holds an account for each card user, whether or not they want an account with their card to be created. Unlike other large vendor services like Amazon or Overstock, you cannot delete an account. You are also not aware that you have used a Square vendor until the transaction has taken place, and then you suddenly get an email from them. If you use and travel with a debit card, this means that at any time, if Square is hacked, you will be a hacking victim. I asked them to delete my account, it cannot be deleted and there is no way to unsubscribe from their e-mail list.
    Essentially, Square is a transaction service that creates an account which you cannot delete and have no say over creating until it is a done deal.
    I would be very happy to join in a legal complaint against Square.

    1. Ruth

      Are you referring to online purchases? Isn’t this the same thing that all retailed do, don’t they save your credit card information? Target just got hacked and the hackers also have all the information including pins which I think it is even worse. With Square, I only process transaction as credit. I think with all retailers even if you delete the account, the credit card information is already in their system. I have used Square for a year now and had no issues. After I created the account and entered all the required information and processed transactions, the amount was in my account the next day.
      I have been lucky so far, I’m a very small business and process small transactions so this is ideal for me. I hope I don’t have any issues in the future.

  46. veronica

    Square is a fraudulent company. everyone should stay away from them. They have debited my client’s account on December 11, I still haven’t received the funds. It is impossible to reach anyone from this company.

  47. Seth

    Recently and without notice, Square froze my account and blocked all deposits for approximately three weeks, holding a significant amount of money which I required access to during a period of expansion in my business.

    I attempted to resolve this by contacting Square customer services, but found that only email was available. When I attempted to contact Square customer service by phone, I was re-routed back to the only option Square provides, which is email.

    I contacted a friend at the Department of Justice who advised me that this is a policy issue that they have heard of before. I was advised to file a complaint with the San Francisco Police, Financial Crimes Division as well as contacting an attorney to discuss potential damages.

    After three days with response from Square, I wrote another letter demanding immediate release of my funds, referencing the above advice and my willingness to pursue all measure of legal remedy as well as sharing my story with contacts in major media both locally and beyond. Less than 15 minutes after posting my email, Square funded the entire amount and stated that no-more holds would be placed on my account.

    Without a change in policy that is both published and made clear to customers, and until this company understands that confidence is best bestowed when “risk management” takes at least an equal place to “customer service and satisfaction” they have lost my, and all my professional contacts business. Too bad too, because they have a really slick service and great potential.

  48. Willliam

    Does anyone know if you can go to your customer and and have them stop payment so there credit card is refunded and they can pay a different way? Square has held $6600.00 for 17 days now and it has left me in financial ruin. I am a remodeling contractor that has used them for about a year for small transactions this was the first big one. After checking there BBB profile and reading comments here I am highly concerned about getting paid. THIS IS SHOCKING! You think you could trust a company that advertises on national TV.WOW!

    1. teresa

      William, Yes, go right away to your customer hand have them cancel the transaction. This same thing happened to me with a $7000 transaction for flooring. My client cancelled the charges and I went to his bank and signed a letter stating that I was not going to dispute the action. In fact his banker told me that they have had problems with Square customers before. Once the transaction was cancelled, I had to go to my bank and (unfortunately) had to close my business account and reopen with a new account number. This was somewhat of an inconvenience but worth it in the long run. If you don’t do this Square will still keep a large percentage of your transaction even if you cancelled the transaction.

      I try to warn people whenever I can about using Square and in fact I refuse to do business with any merchant that uses Square unless I they will take cash. Please warn as many people as you can and join the effort to not patronize businesses that use Square. We don’t want to hurt the small businesses but a message needs to be sent.

      I would also post your dissatisfaction directly to their Facebook page as they don’t check postings very often. I know that I have saved several people from being scammed by Square by posting to Twitter and Facebook.

  49. Tonya

    Square is bad for even small businesses. I learned this week that a transaction that had been handled, just like all of my other transactions, had been voided. I guess there is a void transaction X in corner of the screen, that the customer can hit at the point of signing for their purchase, either on purpose or by accident, that voids the transaction. And since I did not know about it, I was not checking me email immediately after each transaction to make sure it went thru. I am not out a lot of money, but for a small business, every dollar counts. Who would create a mobile credit card processing system that allows customers to void the transaction (after it have been “approved” or “authorized”)??? I have to hand them my phone to sign for the purchase. They can void the transaction instead of sign for it? Hand me back my phone, smile and walk away. Are you kidding me?

    1. j

      This really does not make any sense, as after a customer signs their name, it goes to the reciept prompt. If that didn’t show up, then it should have triggered you about it.

      With that being said. I’ve been using square for nearly two years now, running a small business. I process small ammounts, about 1-300 a week, with an average sale of $20 and I have never had one problem with square depositing money into any of my accounts.

      My only complaint is the reader is terrible at reading old cards, meaning I have to type in the card and pay the extra percentages, but those rates are still lower than I was paying for my old credit services.

      1. Ruth

        I used to have a lot of problems with the card reader. I bought 3 of them and after a little while they would stop working. I would have to run it 6-10 times to get it read. Recently I purchased one at Rite Aid and have no issues now. The card is read on usually the first try which makes it much easier for me and my customers. Try purchasing a new reader. If you contact square, they will give you the 10.00 back. I’m also a very small business and had no issues in two years. Love the flat fee and the fact that I don’t have to pay the 100.00 + compliance fee every year. I had another company who was robbing me blind.

        1. Jen

          You know they are getting rid of the flat fee, right? I was a huge supporter of Square until they got so many of us to switch over by luring us in with the flat fee and their new Square Stand. I pre-ordered the stand, and then saw Best Buy selling them before mine was even shipped. Now they are nearly $200 less, just a few months later. Once everyone converted over to Square due to the flat rate monthly pricing, they pulled the plug on it and now we are all kind of stuck paying the per-transaction fee, just like with every other processing company. It’s total crap, and my opinion of them has totally changed. We, like so many other small businesses, will be almost forced to pay thousands of dollars more a year due to this. I never would have bought the system and invested in it only to pay per transaction pricing, which I was already doing. Square is now a company motivated by greed and has no morals. Sad and pathetic.

  50. Ken Kloss

    I will never use this “service” again. I had a deposit done on the 5th of December and I still don’t have the money. The complete lack of customer service is atrocious. How can you not respond for days. Completely unexceptable.

  51. Jim Harrison

    very displeased with the service of the square and thier disclosures of limits and no ability to talk to an individual when needed would not recomend this processing company to anyone

  52. Sam

    In my opinion, Square Up is a fraudulent company allowed to operate legally! I have a customer whose goods I shipped to Germany, he gave me a deposit via Square Up in September 2013. On December 15, I received an email from them that I have 15 days to prove my case to them. First, they deactivated my account so I cannot send them proof and today the 17th two days after receiving their email I noticed a debit in our account. I contacted my bank, on my way to them with all proof and to informed them that I need not order Square Up to debit my account and demanding they cancel the hold on my account. Everyone needs to do this. The bank on the phone told me that they will proceed with this once it is debited. I am on my way there to make sure that they hear it directly from me …. I did not authorized this debit and they need to cancel it NOW!

    I suggest everyone flood the internet to stay away from Square Up.

  53. Catherine

    I have a small home based business and I think or thought the square would be a perfect way to add a convenient service to my clients. When I tried to download the app onto my smart phone the first thing that comes up is a list of “App Permissions that the user is required to accept in order to install the register on the phone. The list reads like this” APP permissions- Square register needs access to: Microphone (record audio), your location (through your phone’s GPS), Camera (to take pictures and videos), Phone calls (read phone status and identify-this one actually makes some sense), full network access to my Wi-Fi. At the bottom of the list to the left it says “See all”. When that area is tapped another list surfaces with a list of App permissions that actually makes more sense. Still the requirement is that I allow whoever these people are access to my audio settings, system tools (protected storage), affects battery, all of my applications Network communication (of course to receive internet data, view Wi-Fi connection and network connection, and access to all the accounts on my phone (of course so they kind find the account that is registered with them, but I have no intention of allowing them a general access to my accounts that I manage on my phone. I like the idea of this little CC processor but unless someone is willing to clarify these concerns, which means a real person to talk to I think I will wait until something comes along that doesn’t feel quite so shady.

    1. Doug

      The hardware issue is the least of your worries with this company have you read the posts!? STAY AWAY from square

    2. Ellery

      Microphone: needed for reader, it’s how the data is transmitted from swiping the card.
      GPS: Needed for location of transaction, if tax is automatically applied, it pulls from this information.
      Camera: Can use the app to take photos/videos of items being sold.
      Phone calls: (no idea)
      Network access: To transmit purchase data.

    3. anthony

      I COMPLETELY AGREE!!!! SQUARE is a HORRIBLE, unforgivable company. They should be removed from the internet immediately and not allowed to do business. The exact same things happened to me that happened here. SUE SQUARE, CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT – LET’S DO IT NOW.

      1. Karen

        I will tell EVERYONE I KNOW how horrible Square is! I had a customer request what Square calls a “chargeback” in the amount of $602.97. The company didn’t even ask me about it. They chose to deduct the amount from my checking account! Does this mean that if a customer gets a burr up their butt that they can just lie to Square and automatically get a refund? I have tried calling them, filling out Cancel Account requests, e-mail…..you name it! Square is a crooked company and should be removed from all types of business!

  54. Henry

    I bought the square stand. It’s a junk. There is no customer service. The program is garbage. I have a Bakery Cafe. It’s wasting time and money. I bought it for $299+tax after a month they are selling it for $99. BestBuy ssell it for $79.

  55. Richard

    I wish I would have found this article before I signed up with Square. Seemed like a cool and hip company at the beginning, but they are truly misleading with their easy signup policy, only to embarrass you with a client when you need to process a bigger transaction.

    I had a merchant account with Elavon for years with my previous company. That worked great for the many transactions we were doing. Having sold that business, I am now an independent consultant and I thought it would be great to use a card merchant service with a pay-per-use model since I do not expect many credit card transactions. I had two transactions around $500, then about two weeks later, I had a client who wanted to pay by credit card for $2800. It was declined on the first try. Tried a second time, same thing. Went into my account and Square suspended my it, no reason other than they are reviewing my account.

    About an hour later, there was a message on my account as I logged in, that I had been permanently deactivated. Wow!

    I tried to inquire, first by phone (not one to be found), then through their support. My inquiry is clearly attached to an autoresponder which points you to the direction of their legal agreement. I went through it, and really, just as the article indicates, they can terminate for any reason whatsoever.

    To me, this is a company that might work for the small transactions, and not the big ones. Lesson learned on my part. Back to working with more traditional gateways.

    My suggestion is to thoroughly check out Square’s reviews, especially the BBB. There are hundreds of complaints scattered about, and these are initially masked by their own search engine positioning, by likely employing good reputation management experts skilled at burying negative reviews on deeper in the search engines. Do check out BBB.

  56. Juston Smith

    If you process say for a lemonade stand or baked goods sale, by all means, use square. If you’ve got a company, expenses, bills to pay – stay far away from square. I so wish I had done my homework on this company. I hope they go out of business.

  57. Sherri

    Square does business incorrectly. They dont even have a good phone line customer service help. Everything is through email. They issue refunds on the drop of a dime just to someone that wants their money back.

  58. William Johnson

    Having used Square since April 2013 in my business, which is golf cart rentals to the public for driving on the island streets and beaches, I can honestly say I’ve got no complaints. All transactions, including refunds, have been handled quickly and efficiently. Yes, I would recommend Square for low volume businesses and transient vendors,sic flea markets etc.

  59. Vicky

    I’m having problems with the stand not recognizing the iPad. I have to keep taking it in and out and finally, it will connect. I want to know if this is under warranty. Also, our business uses my personal iPad and I take it home every night. So, it is being replaced each day. Can the USB connection get worn out. We only started using it October 1st.

  60. Stephen

    We may lose our biggest client because we chose Square Up to process our credit cards.

    Don’t do it, or look for someone else before it’s too late for you, and you experience something like this:

    …So our 10-year-old LLC started using Square Up back in April 2013 when we saw their funds delivery turnaround time and easy mobile app access, and everything seemed to be going well at a pace of ~$6,500 per month in transactions, until…

    …one of our clients needed ~$12,000 in equipment yesterday (December 4) to recover from a fire that has shut their business down until this equipment is replaced, and after approving the transactions where they intended to hold the funds could be held for three days even if we decided to reverse the charges, SquareUp sent us a permanent cancellation email with no explanation.

    Even after visiting the help section of their site, which was only a single point of contact in the form of a help request web page, and explaining our situation with a customer that they had been capturing funds from previously, they simply resent their original communication.

    I don’t know how we are going to get out of the horrible situation that they have put us in, but looking completely unprofessional is just the tip of the iceberg with our client.

    Be smart, and find someone else with a smartphone app to process your cc transactions.

    They didn’t pull this trick on us until we had already processed three transactions totaling ~$12,000 and unless you are able to function without an entire day’s number of transactions, plus the time to find another processor, I would strongly recommend anyone who sees all these frustrated people take a warning.

    …it’s definitely not worth the risk.

Leave a Review or Comment

Your email address will not be published. All reviews and comments are held for moderation prior to publishing. If the above article is a review, this comment section is reserved for user reviews and testimonials. Reviews that contain ALL CAPS, contact information, solicitations, profanity, false accusations, or are suspicious in nature may be denied publishing or subject to deletion. Reviews must use professional language and provide a matter-of-fact account of your experience. By submitting a comment you agree to the terms of our Comment Policy. Required fields are marked *

 
Follow Us
 :  :  :  : 
Sitemap | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | User Review & Comment Policy | FTC Disclosure
x 
Get Rate Quotes