Elavon Review


Overall Rating Breakdown
Sales & Marketing Tactics
Costs & Contract Terms
Complaints & Service
BBB Rating

Elavon Overall Rating

C Rating

Top Processors | Get Rate QuotesUser Reviews


Jump to: Sales Tactics | Costs & Contract | Complaints & Service | BBB Complaints

Elavon Overview

Elavon Logo

Elavon Logo

Elavon (elavon.com) is a large merchant account provider and credit card processor that also supplies e-commerce solutions, hosted gateways, gift & pre-paid card services, electronic check services, and PCI compliance programs. The company was formed from a merger of NOVA Information Systems and euroConex and is part of U.S. Bank’s (U.S. Bancorp’s) payment services division. Elavon is based out of Atlanta, Georgia, and has been in the credit card processing industry since 1991.

Elavon claims to serve over one million merchants worldwide, with a primary focus in North America and Europe. The company’s equipment lease subsidiary, Ladco Leasing, is a major supplier of credit card terminals and other payment processing equipment. Elavon also has its own online payment gateway called InternetSecure and can integrate with other gateways such as Authorize.net. For international businesses, the company offers settlement in 16 currencies and a platform that can provide authorization in 85+ currencies and can convert international credit card purchases into the cardholder’s home currency in 48 different currencies.

Elavon Sales & Marketing Tactics | C

Key Points – Sales & Marketing 
Uses independent resellers? Yes
Promotes deceptive rate quotes? No
Discloses all important terms? No

Elavon relies heavily upon resellers, sub-ISOs, independent agents, and partnerships to market and sell its credit card processing services. This marketing strategy is common among large merchant account providers and can often prove harmful to a company’s reputation, as it appears to have done for Elavon. One of the company’s most notable resellers is the grocer and retailer, Costco. In fact, Costco Merchant Services is often mistaken as its own credit card processing company when, in fact, Costco is simply acting as a sales agent of Elavon.

Elavon itself does not appear to use any deceptive advertising or rate quoting tactics on its website. The company has recently added a pricing page that lists specific rate quotes, promising 2.65% plus $0.19 on swiped transactions and 3.5% plus $0.19 on keyed-in payments. These rates seem to apply to both credit card terminals and mobile processing. The company also lists a $10 monthly fee on this page. These rates and fees do not appear to be misleadingly quoted at this time.

Most of Elavon’s accounts are established by resellers who use their own sales and marketing strategies. In a few cases, it is apparent that some of Elavon’s resellers are using misleading tactics based on reports from merchants. The company and its resellers are also notorious for signing merchants up for expensive, non-cancellable equipment leases through Ladco Leasing as part of their merchant services packages. Elavon usually enforces the terms of the agreement even when merchants claim that they were deceived by an agent.

[Related: Get quotes from a provider with “A” rated sales policies]

Elavon Costs & Contract Terms | C

Key Points – Costs & Contract Terms
Swiped rate: 2.65% + $0.19
Keyed-in rate: 3.5% + $0.19
Termination fee: $195-$295 or none
PCI compliance fee: $29-$59 per month
Equipment lease: 48 mos./non-cancellable

Elavon’s pricing and contracts terms may vary by merchant based upon processing volumes, business types and risk variables. Not only that, but some Elavon resellers have the flexibility to adjust contract terms, rates, and fees within specific guidelines as set by the company. As if these two factors weren’t complicated enough, Elavon appears to have made a number of recent changes to its contract terms, so merchants are reporting many different rates and fees at this time.

Prior to February 2013, the company’s standard merchant account contract included a three-year service agreement with a $295 early termination fee if cancelled within the first year, or $195 if cancelled within the second or third year. Since February 2013, it appears that Elavon has ceased to include an early termination fee in its standard contract. It is unknown whether this policy change affects contracts signed or renewed under the former terms. Merchants should also keep in mind that resellers may be able to adjust the service agreement to up to five years and add cancellation fees if they desire. Elavon also formerly charged PCI Compliance fees that varied from $59 to $29 per month; however, the company’s recent promises of no more “hidden fees” would seem to indicate that it has abandoned this practice.

Although Elavon appears to be rebranding itself as a more transparent processor, the company continues to own and operate the equipment lease provider Ladco Leasing, which has a very poor reputation among merchants. The standard Ladco Leasing agreement is an expensive, non-cancellable 48-month equipment lease that often costs up to ten times the actual price of the equipment. Elavon seems to go to great lengths to conceal the relationship between Ladco and Elavon, probably due to the fact that there are very few positive reviews of Ladco to be found online.

Click to watch a local news story about one merchant’s Ladco Leasing lawsuit

Elavon Complaints & Service | C

Key Points – Complaints & Service
Total complaints: 250+
Live customer support: Yes
Most common complaint: Hidden fees

It is important to keep in mind that Elavon is a huge processor and that the bigger a merchant service company becomes, the more complaints it will have. With that said, Elavon has over 200 complaints in the comment section of this review and over 40 on Ripoff Report, with many more filed against Ladco Leasing. This is an average amount of complaints compared to other processors of its size. Merchants primarily report problems with sudden holds and freezes, unexpected fees, billing disputes, equipment lease problems, and poor customer service. The common theme appears to be that the smaller a merchant’s business, the harder it is to get problems resolved. You can read actual merchant complaints in the comment section at the end of this review.

Elavon BBB Report | C (CPO Adjusted)

Key Points – BBB Report
Product/service: 90
Billing/collection: 128
Advertising/sales: 25
Guarantee/warranty: 1
Delivery: 3

As of this update, the Better Business Bureau (BBB) is awarding Elavon an “A+” rating despite having 247 complaints filed in the last 36 months. Of the total complaints, 128 are due to billing and collection issues, 90 with problems regarding products and services, 25 with advertising and sales issues, three related to delivery problems, and one due to a warranty issue. The BBB report states that 189 complaints were resolved but that 58 left the merchant dissatisfied with Elavon’s response. We have adjusted the BBB’s rating to a “C” for the purposes of this review based on how our criteria would have scored it. You can learn more about why we adjust BBB ratings in our rating criteria.

Bottom Line

Elavon is one of the largest credit card processors in the world. Due to this fact, this processor seems to be a better fit for businesses with high processing volumes ($100,000+ per month) and/or ones that need international payment acceptance. Although the company has numerous complaints, it serves over one million merchants globally and is bound to have a few unhappy customers. Due to this processor’s large size, we have set Elavon’s rating to a “C” since most businesses processing less than $100k per month would be better served by smaller providers that are able to supply better customer service to these types of merchants. Elavon can improve its score by enacting more favorable contract and pricing policies and by resolving complaints before they become public.

This review was originally published on 8/27/2010 and last updated on 6/12/2014.

Leave your review of Elavon in the comment section below:


Elavon Review

Rated 2.5 Out of 5 Stars
Reviewed by Phillip Parker
Reviewed on 2014-07-07 09:50:30

Elavon (elavon.com) has an average amount of complaints compared to other processors of its size, and many of these negative reviews accuse the company of being a ripoff or a scam… Although the company has numerous complaints, it serves over one million merchants globally and is bound to have a few unhappy customers. Due to this processor’s large size, we have set Elavon’s rating to a… Learn more in this Elavon review.

 

Top Rated General Use Processors (Retail, Service, E-Commerce, etc)
View Website See Review View Website See Review
Top Rated Mobile Processing Apps (iPhone, Android, etc.)
View Website View Website See Review

See All Best Rated Processors

Top Rated General Use Processors (Retail, Service, E-Commerce, etc)
View Website See Review View Website See Review
Top Rated Mobile Processing Apps (iPhone, Android, etc.)
View Website See Review View Website

See All Best Rated Processors

-OR-

Find Your Merchant Account Match



Getting paid to re-write this page? Click here to earn a reward.

Copyright © CardPaymentOptions.com (Digital Fingerprint: 0d38c6720f0d78a701b74d58653af608)

About the author

Phillip Parker

Phillip Parker is a former merchant services agent turned small business advocate and the author of "Fee Sweep," which teaches merchants how to dramatically lower their processing rates, eliminate junk fees, and avoid fine-print scams. He founded CardPaymentOptions.com to help merchants enact positive change in the credit card processing industry.



 
Phillip can help you find an ethical and honest processor that will offer you great rates. Click here to request a free provider consultation.

Permanent link to this article: http://www.cardpaymentoptions.com/credit-card-processors/elavon-merchant-services-rating-review-complaints/

240 comments

Skip to comment form

  1. Kevin McDowell

    We signed up for Elavon through our bank many years ago as our credit card processor. Their rates were reasonable. But over the years, burying rate increases in small print their rates went through the roof. Some cards they were collecting close to 8%. When questioned they blamed the rewards cards and said their hands were tied. Not true! Other processors had rates half of Elavon’s for the same cards. Please read your bill- and do not use Elavon.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  2. Pam Blanch

    I would never recommend Elavon to anyone looking for a credit card processor. This is what happens when you do want to cancel your service:

    1. Sent written notice to cancel our account 9-27-2014 in the regular mail.
    2. Received my request back in the regular mail on 10-1-2014 with a notice that they would not cancel the account by written notice. We would have to use a website.
    3. Went on the website and cancelled on 10-2-2014.
    4. Received yet another bill for October, 2014 in mid November.
    5. Called customer service today; hold time was about 15 minutes.
    6. Asked for the charges to be reversed for the month of October, 2014, as we had cancelled in September in writing by mail.
    7. Denied by the first agent because we didn’t cancel properly the first time.
    8. Asked for a supervisor; denied, yet again.
    9. Absolute refusal of a concession for charges that were assessed after cancellation.

    Please do not use this processor unless you want fees taken out of your account even after you cancel their services. I will be reporting to the Better Business Bureau as well for extremely poor customer service.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  3. Esther

    I initially signed up with Elavon because they are affiliated with Costco. I thought they were reliable through Costco partnership. Boy, I made a big MISTAKE!!
    1. Their rate for American Express Card is inconsistent as it is listed on the contract. I called in and trying to get an answer from them. I was put on constant hold and was told someone would call me back later with an explanation. THEY NEVER EVER DID. My concern is left unsolved until today.
    2. Awful customer service – after I present with my issues, they will have to put me on a very LONG hold over the phone or simply disconnect on my hold! Then I need to call back over and over experiencing the same thing. The customer service is very much lack of professionalism in terms of handling issues and concerns brought up to them.
    3. I can’t usually the problems solved over the phone at once. They either don’t explain it well and left with more potential problems where I had to call them back multiple times — my last calling experience was painful waiting and holding for literally one hour.

    I am searching for a new merchant service.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    1. James Stanovic

      It doesn’t seem to matter what customer service tells you. I had been told repeatedly that my contract was up and that I could cancel on a month’s notice without a penalty. I spoke with customer service and was told the same thing again. I said fine, then I want to cancel. He switched me to their cancellation staff..who told me that my contract had automatically renewed! Stay away!!!

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  4. Malcom McManus

    Elavon is a scam – they skim credit card transactions made abroad, by defaulting option to pay in “home” currency and charging 3.5% for that. Credit card company provides this service for free already, so this is just stealing money.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  5. Glen

    We began signing up with Elavon and LADCO because US Bank told us our software company couldn’t process our virtual merchant needs. After 2 months of confusion and tech support calls with US Bank/Elavon/LADCO we discovered our software company could indeed take care of our needs and for a fraction of the cost. When we tried to get out of our contract – that’s when the fun began! What a nightmare.

    Here’s one example. US Bank folks said I had to get Elavon to cancel our contracts. Elavon told us only LADCO could approve the cancelation. LADCO said only Elavon could… At one point I was talking with Jenessa at LADCO who told me only Elavon could cancel our contract and that she had no idea who Elavon is or how they work. So I again called Elavon and after the 8 prompts one goes through to connect with a person guess who answered the phone …Jenessa. Yes, the same Jenessa at LADCO who had just told me she had no idea who Elavon is!!!

    We did finally get out of our contracts (so they say) but only after a full day of phone conversations with 12 different people in all 3 companies. This is US Bank! Ouch.

    Stay away!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  6. Drew

    We have been with Elavon for a number of years and mainly good experiences. I like Mr. Parker’s summary as our volume is anywhere from $7K in slower months to just over $30K.

    Recently we rented 2 terminals from Elavon for a short term – they were quick to ship and help set them up – yet billed us for an extra terminal (billed for 3) – several calls and several months later we are still waiting for them to stop billing for the extra terminal (all are returned now, yet last month still hit my account for 1) and still waiting on a credit for the billing.

    I’ve spoken with a few representatives that agreed we shouldn’t have been billed for 3 terminals and promised a refund and stoppage of the billing for almost 4 months. Our bank is now involved and has indicated we should see a credit next week – thankfully!

    My biggest issues are – how can they ship two and bill for three – is there no quality control? Even after I identified the problem, they researched and agreed, yet they still continue to wrongfully withdrawal the funds – three months after I first contact them.

    I would think if we were a larger processor we may have some better resolution – I hope that getting our bank involved has truly resolved the issue – I’ll see if we 1) get the refund and 2)have the billing ceased.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  7. Jacob Montgomery

    tried signing up with them but never received anything and now they tell me I owe them 1400 bucks … now there taking money right out of my account I don’t even have the terminal these scam artist are horrible do not use there services im having such a hard time dealing with these crooks

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    3 / 4 found this review helpful.
  8. Jacob Montgomery

    they tricked me into signed up never gave me my machine and now there saying I owe them 1400 no matter what and there going to take it out of my account for give me bad credit. I don’t have a machine I don’t have customers to take credit cards from so why do I need your service and why do I owe u 1400 for nothing????

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    3 / 5 found this review helpful.
  9. Philippe

    How many cancel requests must one make? Erroneous charges for their incompetencies…Terrible service, difficult and painstaking to deal with to summarize. They have slow response (I had to request service cancelation on 2 different occasions), slow turn around, they bill client for delayed delivery of return package (you pay if the parcel isn’t delivered). My assigned representitive Tamara simply passed the bucket once she new I wished to cancel their services (yet she was designated as my account representative). She didn’t offer to follow up on my behalf nor did anyone offer an apologee. This outfit is more focused on following their own precedures rather then provide any kind of customer service… Thought I would try them out (tried 2 providers) and glad I found how much cheaper a competitor was (savings of about 30% based on real actual data). I love Costco and go there all of the time I’m shocked them they’re doing a JV with such a poorly operated company. I wish them Chapter 11!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    3 / 4 found this review helpful.
  10. david palatnik

    If you thinking about joining Elavon do yourself a favor and don’t do that, They charged my bank account $8000 in one week for no reason and no one over there seams to care about that, I don’t think I’ll ever see the money back- maybe I’ll go to court on that issue, this company is a death penalty for small business, go to Square or something similar.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    8 / 11 found this review helpful.
  11. Nick

    PHANTOM, UNACCOUNTABLE, INVISIBLE THIEVES !!! DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THESE IRRESPONSIBLE & PERVERTED CROOKS!! BAD FOR BUSINESS!!! AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE!!

    They miss-sell inappropriate card terminal contracts through “bonus hungry” agents! They then find excuses to freeze your account whilst it has huge sums of money settled and authorised that belong to merchants, leaving merchants in the dark for weeks about what’s happened to thier money…and then send out letters cancelling merchant contracts, whilst informing them that thier unpaid funds will (and I quote) : ” Without further notice to you, apply the funds held in Reserve against any outstanding or future payment obligations.

    They have put my successful business in total jeopardy because of this… Not to mention other irresponsible cock-ups that they are fully to blame for, yet shrug off any blame with thier disfunctional system that is far too big and dissjointed to cope.

    If you think getting a card payment authorised with Elavon means you are paid as a merchant..?
    THINK AGAIN!! I AM OUT OF BUSINESS RIGHT NOW THANKS TO ELANON!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    11 / 12 found this review helpful.
  12. Dave

    Elavon does Not have cancellation fees. What are you guys saying? And if you signed up with Costco or other Elavons sales office (ISO) you should contact them for all your issues.
    I am a sale rep and my office works with Elavon and all our merchants call us for anything they need. We never charge for terminals or any cancelations fees and if a merchant wants to close their acccount for ANY reason, we have Elavon close the account the SAME Day that merchant request it.

    You guys must of signed up with the wrong sale offices (ISO). Elavon is a GREAT company.

    Before signing any contracts or agreements with Any processor you must Trust your salesrep more then trusting the company behind him. We the salereps could do a lot to help merchants resolve problems. I always give my cell number to my merchants. You should always ask your salesrep for his/her cell number and ask him if there is any issues is he going to help you or the processor?
    A good salesrep Will and Can ALWAYS help merchants better.
    Good luck to all :-)

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    3 / 13 found this review helpful.
    1. Jeff

      Dave must be paid off by Elavon

      We were charged a $500 cancellation fee to close our account, despite having been with them for over years.

      Elavon is a company that will screw you at any and all opportunities. They are a company that should never
      be dealt with, and would make a lot of people happy if those crooks were finally put out off business.

      To call them thieves really not fair to all the honest thieves out there.

      I would strongly suggest anyone looking at using Elavon to look elsewhere.

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

      13 / 14 found this review helpful.
      1. Wes

        We had the same problem with getting rid of them. Approaching the end of our 5 year contract, we called with 3 months remaining and they told us we could get out of it but we had to pay them, otherwise we were supposed to give them 6 months notice! They’re leaches and they won’t let you go even if you are totally dissatisfied with their service. We have fought them for the entire 5 yrs we were with them! RUN if they approach you!

        Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

        4 / 4 found this review helpful.
        1. Dr. C.

          You have to be 10 steps ahead of them. I spent 1/2 hour, yesterday, giving them SEVEN MONTHS notice that I want to terminate 3 days after my contract end date for next year. I was told that I didn’t have a contract and that it was with EMS whom they bought out and with whom I was originally signed up. Made them accept 7 months notice, anyway, (just in case they suddenly decide to charge early termination fees). Told them that I would ship the terminal back, registered mail, before the termination date. They said that the terminal was not theirs and that I should keep it because it was between me and EMS, my original processor. (I will ship it, anyway, in case they try to charge me $395 for it as was stated in the contract with EMS.) I asked for email confirmation of our conversation with my termination date. The rep, Robbie, said that they do not do that, but there is a transcript of our conversation, which I can request, later, if I need it around my termination date. And, she said that an email of termination will be sent at that time, in March of 2015. And, after all this conversation, she says that they do not have my merchant number in their system and only have it because I gave it to her. I told her that I gave them that number because that is the one on the statements that they send me, monthly! Are these people for real??? Robbie talked in circles and vaguely and kept having to “consult three supervisors”. Do they train these reps to converse like that, vaguely? Well, in the end, I DID get an email confirmation of my termination dale (that she said that I could not get until next year), right after the phone conversation, and it does have my merchant number. These people are scary! Maybe, it is just that the reps are extremely poorly trained? Or, are they trained extremely well, to leave loopholes? I don’t know which it is, but I am getting the h—- outta there! I have had these runarounds with their customer service, in the past. And, with a whole lot of “passing the buck” Robbie claims that Elavon is transparent, but I think NOT! (Now, to take extra steps to protect my bank account so that they do not get more than they are entitled to.)

          Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

          1 / 1 found this review helpful.
    2. Gail Ream

      If Elavon is so great why all the bad reviews? I was with Elavon for over 12 years before I finally got fed up with the poor customer service and the constant adding of services I couldn’t use but got charged for. I’m now with my own bank Wells Fargo and I’m very pleased. The customer service is good, there are no “extra” fees and the money is in my account the very next day and I take payments on my phone or tablet. I’m so glad I made the change.

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

      7 / 8 found this review helpful.
  13. Bob Alexander

    We became familiar with Elavon when our credit card merchant was absorbed by Elavon so it was not our choice. On the phone their staff tends to be cold and often “NAZI” types who will judge you and often penalize you without actual proof of having done anything wrong.

    I feel dealing with Elavon is not worth it, they’ll require a great deal of personal information and then give you BS excuses why. The real reason is they want to make sure if anything happens they can go after you personally. The truth is there are many better and more professional companies out there. Even cheaper options. Like anything with time technologies change and better options often replace the problem companies like Elavon.

    You can go into your local hardware store like Home Depot and pick up a card reader for your smartphone for $10 and even sign up over the internet for online credit card merchants for less cost. Elavon is currently working with Costco however they are not the same quality company with the same standards as Costco.

    Avoid Elavon at all costs, their Virtual Merchant online software is out of date and medieval. Its also far more complicated and harder to set up. Nothing about Elavon to like, their prices, staff, fees and rates. Do yourself a favor and look elsewhere for a credit card merchant.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    12 / 13 found this review helpful.
  14. Jeff Fleischmann

    Elavon is a company not to be trusted or given business. I had been a customer for over 5 years, as Elavon
    had bought out the company I originally had a deal with(Tangerine Concepts). After they raised their rates by over 75 basis points, I told them I wanted to cancel my contract, which with the original firm was a 2 year contract . I was then told that Elavon automatically renews the contract every 2 years, and that I would have to pay $500 to have the contract ended. So the numbers you read above are incorrect.
    Elavon will try and gouge you at every opportunity, I would suggest anyone looking to find a payments processor to avoid Elavon, they are not a company with which you would want to do business. They use every legal trick they can, and you had better read every single word in their contract, as they will stick it to you at each and every opportunity. They are nothing but thieves masquerading as a payment provider.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    8 / 8 found this review helpful.
    1. Darek

      This is not true. Elavon never had auto-renewable contract. They even stopped charging early termination fees in 2012. They also recently lowered lease pricing and added additional paperwork so the customers can’t claim ignorance when they don’t need the credit card terminal anymore and want to get out of the lease. I think some of the complianers here are no different than their customer who stiff them by starting chargeback proceedings against them.

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

      3 / 9 found this review helpful.
      1. Gail

        Darek you must work for the company. I’m sure some of the complainers may go a little overboard but that’s what dealing with Elevon does to you. When I would call in with a question I usually got a rude customer service agent. They added fees and more fees. After they list the regular fees they list “other” fees. They built a website to help their business customers and then charged $35 or so even if you didn’t use it. They told me it was “good” for me. I was so happy the day I called and closed my account. It was fun.

        I’m now with a company that actually did what they said and they have not charged me any “other” fees. Also the money is in my account the next day even on the weekend which never happened with Elevon. Best of all their customer service agents are nice and helpful.

        Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

        12 / 12 found this review helpful.
        1. Oscar Blanco

          Gail, could you provide the name of the company you’ve had a good experience with?

          Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

          1. Gail Ream

            The card processing company that I now use is my own bank Wells Fargo. They recently added a service similiar to “Square” where I can process my customers credit cards with either my iphone or my ipad. I’m extremely happy with their service.

            Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

            2 / 2 found this review helpful.
      2. Jeff

        This is absolutely true, it is precisely what happened to our company, One small 2 sentence line on a end of month statement saying that within 90 days rates are going up 0.5%, which for most people translates to a 1/2 of one per cent increase, as opposed to the 50 basis point, or approximitely 20-25% increase in rates. In fact, we purchased our machine over 5 years ago, so whatever it is you are talking about in regards to leasing does not apply in our case, as none of the equipment was leased. So maybe next time you could come back with a somewhat informed
        opinion, Are you being paid by Elavon?

        Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

        5 / 7 found this review helpful.
  15. Kim

    I equate their level of customer service and trust/reliability with ATT, so I’m sure you know where this is going. We terminated our agreement with Elavon/Regions months ago, but are still being charged 34.00/month. I call every month, get a call ticket numner and a promise for a refund. Still nothing. The new rep always blames it on the last rep not submitting some form. Seriously, beware. You will never rid yourselves of them. Ever.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    5 / 5 found this review helpful.
  16. Cassandra Roberson

    I am counting down the days until I can get out of my last contract with them. I, unwittingly, signed a new 3 year contract in exchange for a new free terminal, after my previous one broke down. Now, I have to deal with Elavon for one more year. I, already have Square set up on iPad, easing that in, as I cringe out the end of my contract with Elavon, ending in 2015 with Elavon. I will send cancellation, well in advance of the 120 day requirement, via registered mail and multiple online cancellations (for evidence and documentation) and will return their terminal via registered mail to make sure that they do not find excuses to zap my bank account as they have done to others. Sick of their excessive fees that do not serve me as a small business.I don’t trust them, one bit.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    6 / 6 found this review helpful.
  17. Glenn

    Elavon has been TERRIBLE to deal with. They offered me a “Free Notebook” for switching which ended up costing me more to ship than it was worth. Recently, my so called welcome kit was incomplete twice. The number I called for training put me on hold for 40 miins then 20 mins beforte I could speak to anybody! In the firtst 2 months they have twice sent me a form letter with my company name spelled wrong telling they were cancelling my account without any explanation. This time I am leting them cancel.
    What a waste of time!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    8 / 8 found this review helpful.
  18. Josephine Valino

    I am a customer with Elavon fromerly Nova through Costco for more than five years now. I have made my mistakes before trusting the customer representives over the phone without asking for their names and document my call #. I just overlook it and move on. But this time I am not backing down. Because my cell phone doesn’t support any of the wireless devices, I need to do it the old fashion way of using the knuckle buster on the road and input the info. manually on the terminal. I called customer service to advice me of this standard. The rep on the phone was very nice. He explained to me there are two ways to go about it. The first one is get their cc#, street # and zip. He recommended the second option is voice authorization. He CLEARLY TOLD ME NO EXTRA CHARGE for the service EXCPECT WHEN I SPEAK TO A REP LIVE, then it will cost .90 each transaction.

    I was very happy knowing this info. Today I received my statement and there is a $15 authorization charges on my bill. I was shocked call customer service to clear this issue. The rep was trying to help but not in her power to do much. I was transferred to a manager. He told me that he couldn’t do anything for me because I initialized the transactions. Well, of course I did! I trusted the customer service rep to give me proper information and advice. Isn’t that what we are paying for? I am not concern about the extra $15. Is the misleading information from Elavon. If I know there is a fee, I willing to pay for it. The short of it is that the manger tried to find my call log so he can train this rep properly. But still can’t do anything for me. I am sick of paying for Elavon’s employees’ mistakes! I totally lost faith and trust in this company! I will address this issue up to the Ceo of Elavon and Costco. They are ripping off small business by having untrained employees!

    Lesson learned. Not to trust any financial merchant customer rep over the phone and document my calls! Can’t trust this company anymore!

    JV

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    9 / 9 found this review helpful.
    1. Josephine Valino

      I have escalated the problem up to the PR Personnel. She took my case very seriously. She had the company refund me my fee and wrote a formal apology letter. She listened to my concerns about Elavon and discussed the issues up the chain regarding their customer support department. I am happy that someone does care for us small businesses out there. So, if you guys happened to run into any issues make sure to take it up to someone who can shake some sense out of the company. Lesson learned, always log my calls and ask for the rep’s full name in the future to avoid any unnecessary fees.

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

      4 / 4 found this review helpful.
  19. Guy

    Biggest rip off I have ever been associated with. These people take take and take some more. I have canceled my account two months ago and they are still taking out monthly fees. Telling me I have to talk to my representative. Well I dont have a representative. I am forced to go to my bank and have my bank stop these people from stealing my hard earned money. I compare this to OBAMA care. Tell you one thing and do another. This business should be shut down.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    5 / 5 found this review helpful.
  20. Tracy

    I switched Banks to US Bank and they recommended Elavon for my small business. My first mistake was trusting US Bank. I signed a 3yr contract and by the time I realized all the “hidden” fees attached I still had a year left on contract. A company that does not offer a month to month is the first red flag. I had not used them for 6mo due to the CRAZY high fees. I cancelled and for what ever reason it could not be closed till the 7th of the month. Mind you I have been paying for 6mo already on something I did not use. The lady taking my cancellation said that if they took money out of my acct. to call and they would refund since it was the first week of the new mo. I had been told that twice by 2 different agents. I checked my acct. and sure enough they took out another payment. I called and was told if the contract goes into any part of a new month they will charge and that I was misinformed. I use another company now that tracks my sales and I can see exactly what I am paying. No fees when not being used. That is the way a trustworthy company works. Unless you like throwing money away, run do not walk from any bank that recommends Elavon.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    3 / 3 found this review helpful.
  21. steven

    I am in Ottawa/Gatineau area. I am with Elavon for a few years. I did not check my transactions carefully before. After I paid more attention with my new terminal recently, I found out that many transactions in the amount of thousands dollars were missing since July, 2013. I have to do tedious work to call them to find out which are the missing tansations and credit card numbers and reenter the amounts,

    To avoid the problems, stay away with Elavon.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    3 / 3 found this review helpful.
  22. David

    Elavon has been steadily ramping up my monthly fees and I plan on cancelling my service with them. I’m disgusted that TD Bank recommended them. I only take occasional credit card payments and call in for authorization each time. Even if I process nothing as is usually the case, they take $40.00 out of my pocket each month. Go through proposed contracts with them with a fine-tooth comb. It’s amazing how well they’re set up to scam small businesses who are just getting into credit cards.

    Wish me luck in contacting them and getting this cancelled. I suspect I may need to close the account they draw from to stop them even after I cancel.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    3 / 3 found this review helpful.
    1. Gail

      I had no trouble cancelling. In fact it was fun. The person taking my cancelation order was telling me how much the “fees” helped me. Right. I have been using my new service for a month now and love it. I take credit cards on my iphone and/or ipad. Much better service than Elevon and much cheaper.

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

      3 / 3 found this review helpful.
  23. carla sarvis

    BEWARE SEASONAL ACCOUNTS: I purchased a wireless credit card terminal from Elavon through Costco over three years ago for nearly $1,000. I am a seasonal business person and was informed at that time that in order to avoid ongoing monthly fees i needed to close my account when not in use and then re-open again when ready. Not a problem and I did that for three years.
    So like any regular person I thought I “bought my terminal”…that i actually purchased something to own and it was mine….part of my business and a business expense. I was never ever told, nor did I ever read that being a seasonal account provided absolutely no terminal security……I was never informed (until 2 days ago) that when closed, the terminal’s wireless activity (it’s ESN) would be shut down AND would never work again. That the terminal was useless due to “inactivity”. That I would have to MAIL BACK the terminal i had and Elavon would mail me a used one. That I “was lucky” it didn’t happen to me for three years. They tried to put the blame on Sprint and said it was Sprint who “sold my ESN” due to inactivity. No…I foung out today it is actually Elavon.
    So….the terminal i bought is now useless. After many phone calls, I am told by Elavon that it’s “protocol” to do this to seasonal accounts!!! I would beg to say that this is a SCAM on Elavon’s part as we never really own anything!….you either pay $20/month to “own” your terminal or it is rendered “useless” if you are seasonal. What did I buy for $1,000????? There really isn’t a “seasonal business account” with Elavon and I find it disgusting that they do this. I do NOT recommend them.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    3 / 3 found this review helpful.
  24. Marissa

    BTW – I had the same experience as Michele Dean when I finally cancelled. Got charged for TWO (!) additional months because 1) I didn’t have 5 days advance notice for the coming month and 2) by the time the cancellation people received my form by mail, they had already processed the charge for the next new month.

    Sorry I didn’t post an immediate review about that experience here, but I was just too livid.

    I’ve posted here before probably back in 2011 and even though I don’t use Elavon anymore, I prefer to keep getting email updates from this site. That way, I’m always reminded as a cautionary tale that there are horrible, greedy-ass companies like Elavon .

    It’ was an expensive lesson, but it’s made me a better, wiser, scrutinizing small business owner.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    2 / 2 found this review helpful.
  25. Mike

    Elavon’s business practices are disgusting. I don’t know how some of those people can look themselves in the mirror at night.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    1 / 1 found this review helpful.
    1. Phillip

      Hi Mike, can you expand on your review?

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  26. Gail

    This company should rename itself from Elevon to Fees. Fees, fees and more fees. When you call to find out what the latest “fee” is that you were charged for the customer service person tries to convince you it’s for your benefit. I finally got fed up after years of using Elevon and got so much satisfaction out of cancelling. The lady that cancelled me said everyone loves the fees and the benefits they provide…although she couldn’t tell me what those benefits were. Enough is enough.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    1 / 1 found this review helpful.
  27. Esteban Campodemayo

    Terrible customer service. Waste of time. It took months to cancel. Much better alternatives are available. You have been warned.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  28. MICHELE DEAN

    I HAVE had a account for almost three years, and have used the service twice, i am paying $52.99 per month in fees, i have asked twice to cancel it and have been quoted huge buyout fees. july 1st i requested a close and they submitted a waiver fee to prevent a payout fee, but they didn’t tell me i needed to fill out a form 5 days in advance of the month to get the monthly fee sotpped so it is 8/1 i have a new fee for july and another one for $52.99 which will be billed for August “because i didn’t do the form 5 days in advance”. the customer service rep was awful, read from a canned script and didn’t care either way. this company was the biggest mistake of my life, the fees are horrible. BUYER BEWARE!!!!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

  29. s. cromwell

    I left Elavon because their fees were too high compared with other competitors. I faxed a cancellation notice and they claim they didn’t get it even though I had fax confirmation. They continued to charge me the minimum fee for three months after I closed the account and had to argue with them to get them refunded. They are trying to get additional funds even after account is closed. Don’t recommend them.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

    1 / 1 found this review helpful.
    1. chyerl burton

      where do I find the cancellation form? It’s impossible to locate.

      Thanks!

      Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

      1. Gail

        I just called in and cancelled and made sure I knew exactly what they were going to take out of my final bill. I just got billed and it was for the correct amount.. Get the name of the person you talked with. I didn’t need a “form”.

        Did you find this review helpful? Yes   No

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *